Screen sizes for projector...

TSjchong
post Oct 23 2009, 08:14 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(geforce1999 @ Oct 22 2009, 08:57 PM)
I had 120" screen with 17' distance away and now I'm doing ~150" with 17' watching distance for my new HT.  Come to think of it, may be too big sweat.gif  Let's see how it goes....
Wow, 150" @ 17' is big. Very much like front row seating at the cinema.

The other concern is whether your projector is bright enough to handle that size. Assuming your screen is 1.0 gain, a projector needs to be 1100 lumens to get you just above the recommended 16 foot lamberts brightness.
Docan
post Oct 24 2009, 12:18 AM

132 posts

Gforce,
Mine Only 133" at 18ft, you think its too big?? 150" at 17ft, much too big, practically in your face..
geforce1999
post Oct 24 2009, 07:32 AM

Movie Lover.
1,336 posts

Well... The bigger the merrier mah tongue.gif No lah, I still haven't mouted the projector up, but I can select 142" to 170" base on the calculation http://www.optomausa.com/distancecalculator.asp I will definitely select one that suit my viewing pleasure drool.gif wub.gif

Projection Distance: 17 ft (5.18 m)
Screen Diagonal: 142. - 170 in (360. - 431.8 cm)
Screen Width: 113. - 136 in (288. - 345.4 cm)
Screen Height: 85 - 102 in (216. - 259.1 cm)
Vertical Offset: 13.6 - 16.3 in (34.5 - 41.5 cm)

Added on October 24, 2009, 7:37 amScreen width of 113" (9.4') seem just about right as I'm thinking to have my front speakers placing 2' from my side walls and 3' from my front walls initially and slowly adjusting it...

This post has been edited by geforce1999: Oct 24 2009, 07:37 AM
TSjchong
post Oct 24 2009, 08:08 AM

5,989 posts

Which Optoma are you using?
geforce1999
post Oct 24 2009, 08:24 AM

Movie Lover.
1,336 posts

Lowest range of 1080p projector HD20.
tankteam
post Oct 25 2009, 04:15 PM

43 posts

I plan to buy Optoma HD65 and 106" or 133" Draper screen in double storey living room (24' x 22'). seating distance around 16' from screen.

There are 3 glass sliding door and 3 panel glass windows in the living room.

If I close the curtain in the afternoon, can I still watch movie with this Optoma HD65? is the video quality acceptable?

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0174sec    0.72    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 05:02 PM