Is Nintendo DSi worth the upgrade?, Please vote. Thanks!

TSSWATwolf
post Apr 2 2009, 04:40 AM, updated 17y ago

431 posts

Hi fellow Nintendo gamers! I hope you can spend time answering my survey question and also vote the following poll question.
Many Thanks!

p/s: This is for my final assignment purpose regarding the US release of Nintendo DSi. Hope you can help me out! smile.gif

General Info
1) How old are you?

2) How many years have you been living with Nintendo video game system?

3) Do you own a Nintendo DS or Nintendo DSlite?

Opinion regarding NDSi
4) Do you think the camera system for NDSi is useful? Why?
Rate from 0 (lowest) - 5 (highest)

5) Do you think the voice recording for NDSi is useful? Why?

6) Do you think the music player for NDSi is useful? Why?

7) Do you think the Free Build in Internet Browser for NDSi is useful? Why?

8) Assume that if you buy a NDSi within a period of time and you stand a chance to win to E309/TGS09. Would you buy a NDSi and participate the competition?
a) Yes
b) No

9) In the future, DSi shop will bring GB/GBC/GBA games and DSi exclusive games and software to be purchased and downloaded into your NDSi and play. Does the DSi Shop plays a big role in the Nintendo DSi to you?
a) Yes
b) No

10) What is the most attracting feature about NDSi that grabbed your attention?
a) Camera
b) Voice Recording
c) Music Player
d) Free build in Internet Bowser
e) DSi Shop
f) Larger Screen
g) Others: Please Specify
h) None

11) Do you think Nintendo need to improves their NDSi?
a) Yes: Please Specify
b) No
PaiGeWonG
post Apr 2 2009, 05:05 AM

219 posts

General Info
1) How old are you?32

2) How many years have you been living with Nintendo video game system? since i was 8-10 i guess (since 1st Nintendo console)

3) Do you own a Nintendo DS or Nintendo DSlite? Yes, last year 2008

Opinion regarding NDSi
4) Do you think the camera system for NDSi is useful? Why? It be useful for those who doesnt has a camera. i guess (RATE 2)

5) Do you think the voice recording for NDSi is useful? Why? Personally i dont use voice recording , so i dont think its useful unless u mean video recording. (RATE 0)

6) Do you think the music player for NDSi is useful? Why? Personally not for me (RATE 0)

7) Do you think the Free Build in Internet Browser for NDSi is useful? Why? Yes, i think so cos you can also purchase download games, i think. (RATE 5)

8) Assume that if you buy a NDSi within a period of time and you stand a chance to win to E309/TGS09. Would you buy a NDSi and participate the competition?
a) Yes
b) No

9) In the future, DSi shop will bring GB/GBC/GBA games and DSi exclusive games and software to be purchased and downloaded into your NDSi and play. Does the DSi Shop plays a big role in the Nintendo DSi to you?
a) Yes
b) No

a) Camera
b) Voice Recording
c) Music Player
e) DSi Shop
f) Larger Screen
h) None

a) Yes: Please Specify Probably Much Larger Screen
b) No

This post has been edited by PaiGeWonG: Apr 2 2009, 05:15 AM
esca_flo
post Apr 2 2009, 06:21 AM

just learned how to do custom title today.....
770 posts

General Info
1) How old are you? 28

2) How many years have you been living with Nintendo video game system? never

3) Do you own a Nintendo DS or Nintendo DSlite? no

Opinion regarding NDSi
4) Do you think the camera system for NDSi is useful? Why? no opinion on this
Rate from 0 (lowest) - 5 (highest) 3

5) Do you think the voice recording for NDSi is useful? Why? same as above

6) Do you think the music player for NDSi is useful? Why? i think got better music player to use
Rate from 0 (lowest) - 5 (highest) 2

7) Do you think the Free Build in Internet Browser for NDSi is useful? Why? dont know what is this
Rate from 0 (lowest) - 5 (highest) x

a) Yes <<
b) No

a) Yes <<
b) No

a) Camera
b) Voice Recording
c) Music Player
e) DSi Shop
f) Larger Screen
h) None <<

b) No <<
corez
post Apr 2 2009, 06:59 AM

Glory Hunter
2,018 posts

General Info
1) How old are you?

DSlite

Opinion regarding NDSi
3. Don't think I will use it unless it is required in the game

5. I like to surf the internet anywhere.

a) Yes

a) Yes

a) Yes: Should have made it with 2 touch screens and/or incorporate the multi touch ability like the iPhone.

musha
post Apr 2 2009, 08:33 AM

63 posts

General Info
1) How old are you? 24

2) How many years have you been living with Nintendo video game system? NES generation for 5 years, after that stop and now NDSi

3) Do you own a Nintendo DS or Nintendo DSlite? No but now NDSi

Opinion regarding NDSi
Rate from 0 (lowest) - 5 (highest) 4, For people in Japan, there is a software about the Train System, almost every single line and station and you can take picture as an extra note example Train Schedule

Rate from 0 (lowest) - 5 (highest) 3, After recorded, you can play with the sound, is depends on people as some people does not like this kind of trick.

Rate from 0 (lowest) - 5 (highest) 4, when you feel bored with current singer voice, then u can change voice to higher or lower, faster or slower, as question No.5, depends on people.

Rate from 0 (lowest) - 5 (highest) 5, does not need to buy an extra

b) No

a) Yes

e) DSi Shop

a) Yes: more NDSi exclusive game

This post has been edited by musha: Apr 2 2009, 08:35 AM
xtreme~~
post Apr 2 2009, 09:09 AM

206 posts

General Info
1) How old are you? 17

2) How many years have you been living with Nintendo video game system? own a NES way back.... now a DSL

3) Do you own a Nintendo DS or Nintendo DSlite? yes

Opinion regarding NDSi
4) Do you think the camera system for NDSi is useful? Why? no. lower pixel than my phone camera ler.....
Rate from 0 (lowest) - 5 (highest) 2

5) Do you think the voice recording for NDSi is useful? Why? no. can record few second only.....
Rate from 0 (lowest) - 5 (highest) 1

6) Do you think the music player for NDSi is useful? Why? no, my phone can play more audio format......

7) Do you think the Free Build in Internet Browser for NDSi is useful? Why? yes, brows.gif brows.gif
Rate from 0 (lowest) - 5 (highest) 4

a) Yes
b) No

a) Yes
b) No

a) Camera
b) Voice Recording
c) Music Player
e) DSi Shop
f) Larger Screen
g) Others: Please Specify better D pad compared to DSL.
h) None

a) Yes: Please Specify higher resolution display.
b) No

rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
feyhime
post Apr 2 2009, 09:37 AM

257 posts

General Info
1) How old are you?

About 10 years

Both

Opinion regarding NDSi
Rate from 0 (lowest) - 5 (highest) 1 I don't find it useful, if I want to take pictures, I'll use a proper camera.

Rate from 0 (lowest) - 5 (highest) 0 What's the point of having it? It's not like I can record a lot.

Rate from 0 (lowest) - 5 (highest) 1 Everyone has MP4/MP3 with awesome sound system at this age.

Rate from 0 (lowest) - 5 (highest) 4 Nice, I don't have to buy it laugh.gif

a) Yes
b) No

a) Yes
b) No

a) Camera
b) Voice Recording
c) Music Player
e) DSi Shop
f) Larger Screen

h) None

a) Yes: Higher resolution display, utilize the touch screen and voice command more!
b) No

neogeocdz
post Apr 2 2009, 09:44 AM

698 posts

General Info
1) How old are you? 30

2) How many years have you been living with Nintendo video game system? Since 1993.

3) Do you own a Nintendo DS or Nintendo DSlite? Yes

Opinion regarding NDSi
5. It could open up new way to interact with games, much like what Wiimote and touch-screen does.

5. Same as 4.

0. It doesn't play MP3, and i doubt the interface would be as intuitive as iPods.

3. Not a hot selling point, iPod Touch, iPhones, netbook does that well enough.

a) Yes

a) Yes

f) Larger Screen

a) Yes: Please Specify - Even lower price pls tongue.gif

vincent09
post Apr 2 2009, 09:51 AM

*~ When I was young ~*
1,710 posts

1) How old are you?

Getting the 1st gameboy and stop for it long time. After that get the NDSL for last few year and now joining Wii.

DSlite.

Rate 3. Because I won't take the NDSi for take picture. Else the game need to do so.

Rate 3. Same as camera system.

Rate 2. No, I just focus to play game on NDSi.

Rate 5. I enjoy getting online everywhere.

b) No.

a) Yes, but need depend on cost.

Free build in Internet Bowser
Larger Screen

a) Yes: If can, just make the high resolution display.

gundamalpha
post Apr 2 2009, 09:59 AM

☆彡TITS☆彡
1,450 posts

1) How old are you? 28

2) How many years have you been living with Nintendo video game system? 22

3) Do you own a Nintendo DS or Nintendo DSlite? NDS

Opinion regarding NDSi
No, I just want to play game the old way

a) Yes
b) No
No

a) Yes
b) No
No, I only want hard copies

a) Camera
b) Voice Recording
c) Music Player
e) DSi Shop
f) Larger Screen
h) None
Larger screen

b) No
Yes, more games, less gimmick
zorocaster
post Apr 2 2009, 10:06 AM

50 posts

General Info
1) How old are you?

3 years

Nintendo DS

Opinion regarding NDSi

a) Yes
b) No

a) Yes
b) No

a) Camera
b) Voice Recording
c) Music Player
e) DSi Shop
f) Larger Screen
h) None

a) Yes: Please Specify Better graphics...Its not so much to ask after years of "innovation"
b) No

Kyoyagami
post Apr 2 2009, 10:21 AM

KyoYagami-myed
1,838 posts

General Info
1) How old are you?

DSLite

Opinion regarding NDSi
2. The lower MP is not that good against my cameraphones.

3. Not so much for me to use it except for lecture recordings.

3. AAC format only supported. Doesn't justify why it cant have MP3s also.

3. The internet browser is already of use, but the Free Build option doesn't look tempting.

No.

a) Yes

DSi Shop

a) Yes. There are loads more things that can be implemented like a dual touch screen interface.
PhoenixByte
post Apr 2 2009, 10:38 AM

No school like the oldschool
798 posts

I always tot neogeo is younger than gundam laugh.gif
BTW..good way to know nintendite's age notworthy.gif

General Info
1) How old are you?

Since I am 10 yrs old..so almost 22 years la

Yes

Opinion regarding NDSi
1 - I hope it's useful in game

1 - Why would i wanna do it? Even on the phone i dun use it.

1- Quite happy with moonshell player

3-It's about time!

a) Yes
b) No - If travel with my family..yes

a) Yes
b) No

a) Camera
b) Voice Recording
c) Music Player
e) DSi Shop
f) Larger Screen
h) None

a) Yes: Please Specify - more mature themed games like fps or gta plz! Good work with the rpg though
b) No
penman
post Apr 2 2009, 11:07 AM

142 posts

General Info
1) How old are you?

24 years (if include Game & Watch era, 27 yrs shocking.gif )

NDSL

Opinion regarding NDSi
3 - look forward to Nintendo utilising this features.

2 - cant think of its usefulness.

4 - since it's already a portable device, why not double/tripple it become a multimedia gadget?

4 - well, ppl can access to the web when/where there's internet connections. It'll be perfect, if NDSi can support SIM card! thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

a) Yes

a) Yes

e) Shop

) Yes: Please Specify - however, I'm not sure on what yet! doh.gif doh.gif dual multi point touch screens

This post has been edited by penman: Apr 2 2009, 11:14 AM
hafez13
post Apr 2 2009, 02:26 PM

excited nintendo switch fanboi
1,274 posts

General Info
1) How old are you?

8 years i think
owned a original gameboy

yeah,i own both

Opinion regarding NDSi
4-saw a downloadable game use this camera

3- i want to do a darth vader voice laugh.gif

2-i wish it has a .mp3

yes,and it is easier when u are stuck on a game,u can just go see the faqs laugh.gif ,or just wanna see new update on NDSi

a) Yes
b) No
yes

a) Yes
b) No

yes,since i'm anticipating the DSi shop

a) Camera
b) Voice Recording
c) Music Player
e) DSi Shop
f) Larger Screen
h) None

DSi shop and camera

b) No

yes,a video recorder would be nice biggrin.gif ,or a longer battery hours

This post has been edited by hafez13: Apr 2 2009, 02:26 PM
dario_julius
post Apr 2 2009, 03:36 PM

50 posts

General Info
1) How old are you?

I've a NES, Gamecube, GameBoy, GameBoy Advance SP and Nintendo DS Lite. I'd say about 10 years.

Yes.

Opinion regarding NDSi

It can be used like Sony's EyeToy and also it can function like a webcam. I'd rate it 4.

Yes as it provides option for developers to be more creative with their software. I'd rate it 3.

Yes as people like portable music. I'd rate it 5.

Yes as it provides internet capabilities for the handheld. I'd rate it 5.

a) Yes
b) No

a) Yes
b) No

As long as it works here in Malaysia.

a) Camera
b) Voice Recording
c) Music Player
e) DSi Shop
f) Larger Screen
g) Others: DSi-enhanced carts. Probably the selling reason for me.
h) None

a) Yes: More RAM and sharper graphics would've been nice.
b) No
wiNd
post Apr 2 2009, 04:18 PM

I'm watching you
12,683 posts

General Info
1) How old are you? 26

2) How many years have you been living with Nintendo video game system? Micro Genius counted? 10 years+

3) Do you own a Nintendo DS or Nintendo DSlite? No

Opinion regarding NDSi
4) Do you think the camera system for NDSi is useful? Why? Yes, innovative gameplay using video motion, 4

5) Do you think the voice recording for NDSi is useful? Why? Yes, innovative gameplay using voice, 3

6) Do you think the music player for NDSi is useful? Why? No harm having 1, a bonus, 3

7) Do you think the Free Build in Internet Browser for NDSi is useful? Why? No harm having 1, a bonus, 2

a) Yes
b) No

a) Yes
b) No

a) Camera
b) Voice Recording
c) Music Player
e) DSi Shop
f) Larger Screen
h) None

a) Yes: larger screen, more quality/mature games. movie playback
b) No
Pr1me_Minister
post Apr 2 2009, 04:33 PM

314 posts

General Info
1) How old are you? - 23

2) How many years have you been living with Nintendo video game system? - Since Pokemon yellow came out which means about 10 years.

3) Do you own a Nintendo DS or Nintendo DSlite? - Both

Opinion regarding NDSi
- 4. I can see lots of potential for the camera in games or in other application.
- 1. Can't see any uses for it other than novelty purposes.
- 5. I don't have a dedicated portable music player so it's definately a plus.
- 4. It's natural for a Wi-Fi enabled device to have a web browser. Much more handy than lugging around a laptop that only last about 2 hours at most.
a) Yes
b) No

a) Yes. But I would still prefer gatting a hard copy.
b) No

a) Camera
b) Voice Recording
c) Music Player
e) DSi Shop
f) Larger Screen
h) None

a) Yes: Higher resolution screens and multi-touch capabilities.
b) No
viledante
post Apr 2 2009, 05:26 PM

414 posts

General Info
1) How old are you?

11, I think or 12. around that lah

NDSlite

Opinion regarding NDSi
4, I like camera. biggrin.gif

1, not quite useful for me

4, The editing is kinda interesting

5, portable internet browser for me

a) Yes

a) Yes
THIS IS AWESOME!

a) Camera
b) Voice Recording
c) Music Player
e) DSi Shop
f) Larger Screen

=> Slimmer

Multi touch + Video recording + Video Editing + Greater Camera.

This post has been edited by viledante: Apr 2 2009, 05:26 PM
diN@AltGeinst
post Apr 2 2009, 07:36 PM

31 posts

General Info

1) How old are you?

17-18 years i think... since i own a NES.

DSLite

Opinion regarding NDSi

3 - Nope, I already got camera on my phone happy.gif

1 - For what?

3 - Nope, My phone music player more quality happy.gif

4 - Yes, a portable internet.. i like it.

a) Yes
b) No

a) Yes
b) No

a) Camera
b) Voice Recording
c) Music Player
e) DSi Shop
f) Larger Screen
h) None

a) Yes: Please Specify = more graphical improvement, wide screen and large screen
b) No

This post has been edited by diN@AltGeinst: Apr 5 2009, 09:46 PM
ashchia
post Apr 2 2009, 08:00 PM

105 posts

General Info
1) How old are you? 22

2) How many years have you been living with Nintendo video game system? since the age of NES

3) Do you own a Nintendo DS or Nintendo DSlite? both whistling.gif

Opinion regarding NDSi
4) Do you think the camera system for NDSi is useful? Why? 3, is it really useful?

5) Do you think the voice recording for NDSi is useful? Why? 0, no point

6) Do you think the music player for NDSi is useful? Why? 0, ds better off as a gaming machine, not a stupid machine that want to competed with ipods or others, it is too bulky for it

7) Do you think the Free Build in Internet Browser for NDSi is useful? Why? 5, we can finally online with ndsi

a) Yes 200% will
b) No

a) Yes i want to play pokemon crystal whistling.gif and zelda so much
b) No

a) Camera
b) Voice Recording
c) Music Player
e) DSi Shop
f) Larger Screen
h) None

a) Yes: Please Specify screw the camera, bring back gba slot
b) No
Compelica
post Apr 2 2009, 09:13 PM

dozing off. zzz.
1,463 posts

General Info
1) How old are you?

5 years

Yes

Opinion regarding NDSi
2 - Aside from taking low quality pictures, it's just not 'spontaneous' enough for gaming

1 - Not very useful, since you have to switch it on and leave it open. DSLs can also do this with homebrew software

1 - No MP3 support. Again homebrews can do that, with even more support so it'll definitely won't be used

3 - Good for quick surfing, and you don't need to haul around the memory pack and cartridge like the DSLs, but thumbs down for the lack of support of current standards (Flash, PDF, etc)

a) Yes
b) No

a) Yes
b) No

a) Camera
b) Voice Recording
c) Music Player
e) DSi Shop
f) Larger Screen
h) None

a) Yes - the changes from the DSL to the DSi needs to be more significant, ie. worth the jump.
b) No
TSSWATwolf
post Apr 3 2009, 05:25 PM

431 posts

please come and give more suggestions! icon_rolleyes.gif

BlueBerry~
post Apr 4 2009, 01:42 PM

I play Dota 2
960 posts

General Info
1) How old are you?

Not sure. I suppose 4?

DS Lite

Opinion regarding NDSi
1. The camera is a nice addition. But not as useful. Pixel count is low. And most camera phones can take better photos.

Depends if the recording is good quality or not. If it is. It'll be rather useful. I'd say 2.

0. Doesnt support MP3 format. A hassle to convert. Other MP3 players can play better.

5. Internet everyway.

a) Yes

a) Yes

a) Camera
b) Voice Recording
c) Music Player
e) DSi Shop

f) Larger Screen
h) None

b) No only because i dont know what more they can improve on it now that they have added the camera and audio playback.
RAMChYLD
post Apr 5 2009, 02:27 AM

1,715 posts

General Info
1) How old are you?

Since 1999

Nintendo DSLite

Opinion regarding NDSi
0 - Already have a better digicam

0 - Hand phone already can record

0 - Because I already have two MP3 players, and my phone also can play MP3 cool.gif

3 - Can do, since my phone has to be constantly jacked in when online (battery dying but budget is currently funding more important projects). But since it cannot handle flash (my phone can O.O), it loses points there

a) Yes
b) No
No. Too many phones already EDIT: Just realized that E309/TGS09 not referring to SonyEricsson or cheap Chinese brand phone xD. No anyway, dun like long flights.

a) Yes
b) No
Only if the Brazil hack still works then or if it's officially available to Malaysia

a) Camera
b) Voice Recording
c) Music Player
e) DSi Shop
f) Larger Screen
h) None
I'd say, free built-in internet browser, but even that not really useful. And DSi shop, but then will the Brazil Hack work also? Will the European-release-only Strawberry Shortcake game be released on it? (if any Strawberry Shortcake game gets released on it at all)

b) No
Yes. Firstly, the region nonsense has to go. Next, if they do premiere GB/SGB/GBC/GBA games on DSi shop, emulate link cable using WiFi, and support SGB palette and frame. Lastly, movie playback tongue.gif (GBA officially already can do that wat! I have proof- A GBA Video cartridge) EDIT: Oh, and slide-out QWERTY keyboard.

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Apr 8 2009, 03:37 PM
msn83235502
post Apr 5 2009, 02:44 AM

ผู้นิยม
2,862 posts

General Info
1) How old are you?

since NES

YES - NDSL

Opinion regarding NDSi
2 - only for gaming purpose.remember those on camera phone? that's all.taking pictures? who wants to take picture with the low resolution camera while ur phone has at least 3.2MP.. LOL

2 - not really... ur phone can do it.how much u utilise the function? 1%?

5 - previous NDS dont have this function. as a handheld gadget, yes that should be implemented long time ago.

4 - would love to access the browser with ease if we dont bring a laptop. dual screen is quite nice.but if the speed is like PSP, just forget bout it. lame.

a) Yes
b) No

a) Yes
b) No

a) Camera
b) Voice Recording
c) Music Player

e) DSi Shop
f) Larger Screen
h) None

b) No

Ven
post Apr 5 2009, 02:45 PM

General Info
1)How old are you?

2)How many years have you been living with Nintendo video game system?
5 or 6 years

none (considering the DSi)

Opinion regarding NDSi
4 - playing games using the cameras and apps seems fun and useful

3 - its not that useful.but sometimes its un to troll with the recorder(:

5 - simple.i can carry my favourite songs anywhere plus i can even edit the songs!!

4 - with its touch capibilites.its almost like surfing the web w/ the itouch

a) Yes
b) No

a) Yes
b) No

a) Camera
b) Voice Recording
c) Music Player
e) DSi Shop
f) Larger Screen
h) None

a) Yes: They should ought to make the screen a little larger liem 3inch to 3.2inch rather than adding 0.25 ONLY
b) No
5zal06
post Apr 5 2009, 04:45 PM

195 posts

1) How old are you?

urm..12 years i think

ds lite

Opinion regarding NDSi
3 bcause can be used to play some game that need camera and its 3mp front camera

2.not really bcause i don't really use voice recording unless it has security to check the owner voice

1.bcause many ppl now own mp3 player,psp,no need unless it has good sound quality

4.yes .easy for ppl to go surf and easy to type

b) No

a) Yes

a) Camera
e) DSi Shop
f) Larger Screen
-:longer stylus pen

- improve graphic.
more larger screen like psp
analog

pingy_ping
post Apr 5 2009, 05:09 PM

348 posts

1) How old are you? 21

2) How many years have you been living with Nintendo video game system? sNES

3) Do you own a Nintendo DS or Nintendo DSlite? NDS

Opinion regarding NDSi

4) Do you think the camera system for NDSi is useful? Why? 3, depends on game n app

5) Do you think the voice recording for NDSi is useful? Why? 3, might be handy

6) Do you think the music player for NDSi is useful? Why? 5, at least it can play music

7) Do you think the Free Build in Internet Browser for NDSi is useful? Why? 5, hooray~no more dsorganise browser

a) Yes

a) Yes

a) Camera
b) Voice Recording
c) Music Player

f) Larger Screen

a) Yes, larger screen....gba slot!

TSSWATwolf
post Apr 6 2009, 01:56 PM

431 posts

ping pong, bump happy.gif
TSSWATwolf
post Apr 10 2009, 07:15 PM

431 posts

i guess time to close this thread. thanks for the feedback wink.gif