> Is it illegal to sell poker chips in Malaysia? Serious Talk

TSyo el rey
post Apr 1 2009, 03:43 PM, updated 17y ago

83 posts

I wasn't able to find any poker chips in shops in Malaysia, is it illegal to sell poker chips in Malaysia?
Somewhere around CNY there was this guy on LYN selling poker chips (300pcs) for 300RM, which I think is ridiculously high for a low quality set as his. But maybe he can ask this price because it's illegal?

Please enlighten me, thanks!!

angelbratz
post Apr 1 2009, 03:46 PM

Same Shit Different Day
539 posts

I saw 1 shop in Sunway Pyramid Selling the poker chips. Not just that, they are selling roulette table (not fullsize), Mahjong peices & poker cards.

But the Poker chips damn nice....comes with a steel briefcase.

Shop still there...Infront of Giant.
joe_mamak
post Apr 1 2009, 03:47 PM

363 posts

Don't think so. It's just chips.
TSyo el rey
post Apr 1 2009, 03:48 PM

83 posts

QUOTE(angelbratz @ Apr 1 2009, 03:46 PM)
I saw 1 shop in Sunway Pyramid Selling the poker chips. Not just that, they are selling roulette table (not fullsize), Mahjong peices & poker cards.

But the Poker chips damn nice....comes with a steel briefcase.

Shop still there...Infront of Giant.
Thanks for the tip! Do you remember what the price was? And maybe the name of the shop?
angelbratz
post Apr 1 2009, 04:03 PM

Same Shit Different Day
539 posts

Ermmm....Price im not sure....But the shop still there....Im going there later today to the pet store in pyramid....

The shop is at LL2 right in front of Giant. Selling all those weird and unique stuff...Dice ashtray, clocks...etc etc

Ill take a look at it....
kliprift
post Apr 1 2009, 04:03 PM

135 posts

QUOTE(yo el rey @ Apr 1 2009, 03:48 PM)
Thanks for the tip! Do you remember what the price was? And maybe the name of the shop?
600 chips in metal casing, reasonable price will be RM 260-RM300
ntdote
post Apr 1 2009, 04:08 PM

324 posts

po po po poker face po po poker face
TSyo el rey
post Apr 1 2009, 04:09 PM

83 posts

Thanks for the info guys, I hope I find the time to have a look at it this evening, I'm actually looking for 13.5-14 grams poker chips.
Angel86
post Apr 1 2009, 04:11 PM

222 posts

ROOM in Mid valley
TSyo el rey
post Apr 1 2009, 04:13 PM

83 posts

and where is is this ROOM in mid valley because it's easier for me to get there then Sunway
ntdote
post Apr 1 2009, 04:14 PM

324 posts

look at the directory dude!
TSyo el rey
post Apr 1 2009, 04:16 PM

83 posts

QUOTE(ntdote @ Apr 1 2009, 04:08 PM)
po po po poker face po po poker face
QUOTE(ntdote @ Apr 1 2009, 04:14 PM)
look at the directory dude!
You're very helpful kid.... rolleyes.gif

Anyways I found it :
ROOM@MidValley MegaMall
Telephone
03 2287 7133

This post has been edited by yo el rey: Apr 1 2009, 04:17 PM
SUSklentix606
post Apr 1 2009, 04:20 PM

14 posts

u can buy from lyn lor

playbook he sells poker chip lor
TSyo el rey
post Apr 1 2009, 04:24 PM

83 posts

QUOTE(klentix606 @ Apr 1 2009, 04:20 PM)
u can  buy from lyn lor

playbook he sells poker chip lor
I checked his topics and signature and he isn't selling poker chips, just poker cards and poker card guards
kayent
post Apr 1 2009, 04:49 PM

213 posts

yea ROOM at MV has it. fren bought few weeks ago. build quality not that nice la...very plastic. they having discounts i think for those briefcases one

at 1U also got. forgot shop name but its opposite roti boy. better quality but more expensive
Bakmoi
post Apr 1 2009, 04:54 PM

64 posts

My friend got a whole set of chips with the brief case around Rm300 in Hong Kong.

I don't think it's illegal to buy it or sell.
angelbratz
post Apr 1 2009, 09:46 PM

Same Shit Different Day
539 posts

Bro, just got back from Pyramid.

I checked the shop. Its called Folio or Foolio...something like that...Lupa write down...

Anyways, the chips now sold out already. Stocks coming in after 10th of April. They are bringing in different type of Chip Sets.

Currently what they carry is:- (but out of stock, check back after 10th April)

300pcs Poker Chip with Case = RM199.90 (Plactic Chips)
500pcs Poker Chip with Case = RM299.00 (Got Ceramic Inside 1)

I dont really get what she means by ceramic or normal....other then that other type also coming but they dont know the pricing yet.

Hope this helps.

This post has been edited by angelbratz: Apr 1 2009, 09:46 PM
joe_mamak
post Apr 1 2009, 09:49 PM

363 posts

Mahjong chips not good enough? I wouldn't spend RM100+ on chips.

angelbratz
post Apr 1 2009, 10:00 PM

Same Shit Different Day
539 posts

For Some people....

They like to Gamble with Class... Salute!

Not like some....Still gamble with half torn Decks to play poker....Lolz

Different people different case.

This post has been edited by angelbratz: Apr 1 2009, 10:02 PM
joe_mamak
post Apr 1 2009, 10:02 PM

363 posts

Yeah, different strokes for different folks.

Well, we used to play with mahjong chips with RM1000+ on the table.
TSyo el rey
post Apr 1 2009, 10:34 PM

83 posts

thanks angelbratz, I will check the 10th of april, I also checked at Midvalley, they were also out of stock, the only set they had left was a 100 chips set for 499RM biggrin.gif
Or maybe I just bring them back from Europe when I go there in May. Professional Pokerset with 300chips only costs 10 euro that's not even 50RM smile.gif

http://www.detectorshop.nl/diversen/pokers...ultimate300.php

joe - You're right that it doesn't matter what you play with, beans, beads, toothpicks etc will do the job as well. And at the moment I am playing with Mahjong chips but it just isn't the same as playing with 13,5/14 gr chips. You can stack them making it easy to count them and you can do tricks with them while other people are thinking what to do smile.gif

joe_mamak
post Apr 1 2009, 10:45 PM

363 posts

Yeah, I understand. At one time me and my mates used notes. Oh, that was fun. The notes were real, too real. It really hit home when one loses, how to pay the rent....
xDjWanNabex
post Apr 2 2009, 12:22 AM

932 posts

A shop in bangsar village sells it for RM 45. My friends bought a box last mth
Playbook
post Apr 9 2009, 12:02 PM

316 posts

QUOTE(yo el rey @ Apr 1 2009, 03:43 PM)
I wasn't able to find any poker chips in shops in Malaysia, is it illegal to sell poker chips in Malaysia?
Somewhere around CNY there was this guy on LYN selling poker chips (300pcs) for 300RM, which I think is ridiculously high for a low quality set as his. But maybe he can ask this price because it's illegal?

Poker chips are not illegal to sell in Malaysia (In fact, Malaysian customs collects a 30% charge on imported chips). Actually, they are just gaming chips at the end of the day.

Gaming chips, such as the standard ABS 13.5g Composite Chip (widely known as the striped dice chip, because of the dice symbols running along the edge) are widely available in specialty gaming shops in Malaysia. If you are looking for this chip set, which I unfortunately don't carry in stock, I have access to the local sellers in Malaysia who can distribute it to you for about RM350 per 500-chip set, inclusive of a dealer button and the standard aluminium carrying case. These chips are manufactured by the millions (if not billions) in China, can consist of a standard metal insert in the chip to give it its weight.

You also have higher end variations such as Lucky Bees, and even higher end product such as Nevada Jacks, etc.

At the top end, which is the only range I carry (but which I don't advertise on LYN because it is extremely pricey*), is the Paulson Top Hat and Cane Chip. This is a 9.7g clay chip which is exactly the same type of chip that is used at the premier casinos worldwide. (Casino chips traditionally weigh 9.7g-9.8g and are made by the compression of the clay into a chip.

From a purely personal perspective, nothing beats a Paulson Top Hat and Cane Chip. The feel of the chip in your hands is amazing (you can read reviews around the internet). Collectors care for the chip and there are high resale values on auction websites such as eBay. The care for the chip includes applying mineral oil to simulate the oils that the real casino chips soak up over the time they are used in casinos (For those of you who go to casinos such as Genting, you may have noticed the smooth feel of the chips - they are not manufactured that way, they become that way via the interaction of millions of hands, with natural body oils soaking into the chips).

I love my chips smile.gif

*A standard 13.5g ABS chip will cost you anywhere between RM0.50 and RM1.00 while a 9.7g Paulson Top Hat and Cane chip will cost you about RM8 to RM10 inclusive of the 30% customs charge levied by Malaysian customs on gaming chips.

This post has been edited by Playbook: May 28 2009, 12:53 PM
Playbook
post Apr 9 2009, 12:04 PM

316 posts

QUOTE(yo el rey @ Apr 1 2009, 10:34 PM)
thanks angelbratz, I will check the 10th of april, I also checked at Midvalley, they were also out of stock, the only set they had left was a 100 chips set for 499RM biggrin.gif
That's completely obscene.
grunge
post Apr 9 2009, 02:57 PM

356 posts

use real money pls
onejme
post Apr 9 2009, 03:10 PM

183 posts

where u guys usually play..
maybe me n my fren can join sometime..
hehe..
real money or for fun only??
peinsama
post Apr 9 2009, 03:18 PM

Au fait
725 posts

po-po-po-po-po-po ker face
Playbook
post Apr 9 2009, 04:26 PM

316 posts

QUOTE(joe_mamak @ Apr 1 2009, 10:45 PM)
Yeah, I understand.  At one time me and my mates used notes.  Oh, that was fun.  The notes were real, too real.  It really hit home when one loses, how to pay the rent....
Hi - the reason why casinos don't use notes is because people scientifically seem to gamble more readily when they play with chips. Somehow or other people don't associate a RM100 chip with a RM100 note (although they should). This is one reason why casinos use chips - it does encourage the gambling / risk-taking behaviour. The other reason is to avoid forgery by employing standard chip security measures.
Playbook
post Apr 9 2009, 04:32 PM

316 posts

QUOTE(onejme @ Apr 9 2009, 03:10 PM)
where u guys usually play..
maybe me n my fren can join sometime..
hehe..
real money or for fun only??
There are SO MANY places to play poker all over Malaysia. One thing that I have discovered, in selling COPAG cards and poker card guards, and other poker paraphernalia, is that poker (for real money) has really taken hold in the Klang Valley, Penang, Johor and parts of East Malaysia.

You have poker places from Wangsa Maju to Subang Jaya (and beyond, there are poker groups in Klang and Shah Alam). You can find games dotted all around the KLCC area, the Bangsar area, all over PJ, DJ, DU and Taman Tun. Old Klang Road stretches from Taman Desa all the way to Puchong. The games you will find include the under-20s to the over-40s. The Under-20s are paying RM100 for my COPAG cards for their games! That's impressive indeed.

The games you will find range from the RM0.50/RM1.00 all the way to RM50/RM100, so there are plenty of games for you to indulge in, once you get into the right groups. But most casual games are RM1/RM2 with RM200 buy-in or RM2/RM5 with RM500 buy-in.

PM me if you need more details.

This post has been edited by Playbook: Apr 9 2009, 04:33 PM
RtP|DEV
post Apr 25 2009, 01:49 PM

266 posts

QUOTE(peinsama @ Apr 9 2009, 03:18 PM)
po-po-po-po-po-po ker face
??
You mean Jo Jo Jo ker face?

zeist
post Apr 25 2009, 01:53 PM

Mivec 1800cc
15,182 posts

Go Genting la if wanna gamble. It's nais to see people gamble. Haha.
ALIAS.JG
post Apr 25 2009, 02:04 PM

1,940 posts

Those novelty shops have 'em so why is it illegal?
Playbook
post May 8 2009, 08:01 AM

316 posts

The chips are not illegal.
shahfizan
post May 21 2009, 09:05 PM

QUOTE(yo el rey @ Apr 1 2009, 03:43 PM)

DON'T WORRY U CAN CALL STEVE, 012-3232336...don't forget to mention my name for a discount.
chrissyhia
post May 26 2009, 12:20 PM

57 posts

Hi! any of you interested in PokerStars credit/chips?
Do let me know! I have some available =) so PM me asap!
shahfizan
post May 26 2009, 01:56 PM

QUOTE(chrissyhia @ May 26 2009, 12:20 PM)
Hi! any of you interested in PokerStars credit/chips?
Do let me know!  I have some available =) so PM me asap!
Hi chrissyhia,

Kindly can we talk privately, either YM or email. Im intrested to deposit some amount in pokerstars.
thien211
post Jan 18 2010, 04:56 PM

45 posts

http://sino-poker.blogspot.com/search/labe...r%20Chips%20Set
here can get cheaper one.

it's not illegal of cos, pyramid, mid valley got sell.
pyramid at lg2 opposite jusco if not wrong.
jinw
post Jan 23 2010, 03:43 PM

I'm Selling my 500pcs set. same as above but 13.5gram, as heavy as real casino chips.
Used set, at RM100 less than the 11g at http://sino-poker.blogspot.com/search/labe...r%20Chips%20Set

here: http://www.lelong.com.my/Auc/List/2010-01D...ER-CHIP-SET.htm

This post has been edited by jinw: Jan 23 2010, 03:54 PM
dwin95
post Jan 23 2010, 04:28 PM

wow i finally get to type here since 2009
1,257 posts

sunway toy city got , come with roulette table summore
leyley
post Jan 23 2010, 05:57 PM

2,096 posts

Yup saw that in Toy City before blink.gif
kirashin
post Jan 23 2010, 06:25 PM

108 posts

in-q-box in 1utama,midvalley,sunway pyramid got sell..they even got a full set poker..with cards,chips and etc..for 200++..lols..i juz saw a casino set in toycity in sunway pyramid..lols
PokerFans
post Jul 11 2010, 08:05 PM

Hey guys,can you give me the place that sells pokerchips in MidValley Megamall in KL?the shop is called ROOM?Really?I'm currently finding chips also for home use.
bluhapp
post Jul 11 2010, 08:09 PM

what? i can change title now? OMG
801 posts

bought mine at ROOM. 500pcs set at 299. inside got 500pcs with 5 diff color, 1 dealer chip, 2 deck of cards and 2 pcs of dice. metal case. very nice. still using everytime play poker with my fellow gambler. lolx
PokerFans
post Jul 11 2010, 08:17 PM

QUOTE(bluhapp @ Jul 11 2010, 08:09 PM)
bought mine at ROOM. 500pcs set at 299. inside got 500pcs with 5 diff color, 1 dealer chip, 2 deck of cards and 2 pcs of dice. metal case. very nice. still using everytime play poker with my fellow gambler. lolx
ROOM at MIDVALLEY MEGAMALL BANGSAR there?
PokerFans
post Jul 11 2010, 08:19 PM

I mean can you give me the exact place of the lot at MIDVALLEY MEGAMALL BANGSAR?
Playbook
post Jul 20 2010, 04:54 PM

316 posts

bluhapp, where do you play poker at usually?
ichi_24
post Jul 20 2010, 04:56 PM

480 posts

STOP BUMPING OLD THREAD!

0.0372sec    0.97    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 05:41 AM