GATHERING OF VICTIM OF NVIDIA 8400M, PLEASE STAY AWAY OF NVIDIA 8400M & 8600M

astria
post Jun 26 2009, 10:35 PM

an apple a day keeps the doctor away
22,158 posts

9500M GS is a revised 8600M GT...

so they probably did sth in the BIOS to keep the card cool to avoid it from ka-booming like the 8600M GT...

anyway, allrightall, when comes to computer hardware, 90% are made in China, and 5% in Taiwan, and the rest in Malaysia/Mexico/Vietnam/etc
astria
post Jun 26 2009, 11:01 PM

22,158 posts

well, i though Dell offer extended warranty like HP???
astria
post Aug 6 2009, 09:53 AM

22,158 posts

well, u can still play games on it... juz that u dun know when it will boom on u again...

used to own a laptop with 8600M GS, 3 services in 1.5yr...
astria
post Aug 6 2009, 04:35 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(forrest @ Aug 6 2009, 06:23 PM)
hahaha...
One of my best friend who are working in DELL as a technical support, he also advice me not to buy DELL laptop with the nvidia or ati chipset, because they are not stable and easily spoil, he received and receiving a lot of calls regarding this issue...
The intel chipset working very well and very stable..
but offers no performance at all...

seriously, besides the GeForce 8M and Radeon X700, it really depends on how u take care of ur laptop...
astria
post Aug 6 2009, 07:13 PM

22,158 posts

new bios merely make the fan spin earlier...

it's not really a fix to the problem...
astria
post Aug 12 2009, 09:46 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(dagnarus @ Aug 12 2009, 08:41 PM)
my 1520 died today a few months after the warranty is finished. called DELL and obviously they said that they cant help, since only those listed at the site

http://en.community.dell.com/blogs/direct2...#commentmessage

are under the extended warranty program.

today, Sony admitted that their nvidia gpus are indeed faulty, and are offering 4 YEAR extended warranty for the respective problem... bloody hell, 4 bloody years for ALL the model involved, not just specific like dHELL.

man we should sue dHELL as soo bad, they'll plead us to stop.

i'm not about to stop and will continue harassing dHELL customer service until i get my justice. this is not about a specific model but the ENTIRE OF dHELL's model which carries 8400 and 8600 GPU. THEY MUST REPLACE OUR GPU AND MOBO!

HERE'S HP list of affected Model (free repair even after warranty finished.. add another 24 months respective warranty)

http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/documen...1842189〈=en

HERE'S SONY list of affected Model (free repair even after warranty finished.. 4 years from teh date of purchase)

http://esupport.sony.com/perl/news-item.pl...=EN&news_id=349

HERE's APPLY list of affected Model (upgraded 2 year warranty for specific problem)

http://support.apple.com/kb/TS2377?viewlocale=en_US
THOSE WITH THIS GPU PROBLEM SHOULD NEVER REPAIR THEIR LAPTOP, THEY ARE ENTITLED FOR A FREE REPAIR FROM THEIR VENDOR. THOSE WHO WAS REFUSED, NEED TO QUOTE THE OFFICIAL SITE, SCREW THEM. STAND FOR OUR RIGHT!
go sue Nvidia if u re really interested... it's not Dell's problem, it's not HP's problem, it's not Apple's problem, it's not Sony's problem... it's Nvidia's problem...

i can only say, u re suay... as for ur problem with Dell, they are not obliged to extend the warranty in the first place... anyway, i dun think there's use making noises now, since it's been 1 yr since the issue was first reported... so it's already more or less settled...
astria
post Aug 12 2009, 10:43 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(dagnarus @ Aug 13 2009, 12:17 AM)
it is not settled.

and IT IS DELL's problem now, that NVIDIA paid the comp manufacturers 150-200m USD.

it's up to them to serve their customer.

and astria, please stop making remarks wethout knowledge.

SONY has just released admission that their NVIDIA equipped laptops are faulty... yesterday. so it's not an OLD issue. the issue is still here, that DELL refused to admit that the GPU they use are FAULTY from beginning. if you sell some faulty stuffs to your customer, whether or not it's under warranty you are entirely responsible.

I suggest you go do some reading before trolling
it's Nvidia who's denying a problem with the GPU all the while... in the way they put it, Nvidia will go bankrupt if they do admit...

while they did fix the G84M using the older material, the G86M still has the problem...

dun assume when u dunno... i ve used BenQ S41 with 8600M GS before... 3 services in 1.5yr...

if Nvidia refuse to bear the responsibility by admitting that there's a problem, why should the OEMs take it? they need only to pt their fingers at Nvidia and problem settled...

funny thing is, Sony, being an internationally renowned consumer electronic maker, never uttered a word (or at least to my knowledge) regarding the problem for the past 1 yr... all the while it was mainly HP and Dell who were making the noise... so y now? cuz they are prepared to do so in the first place... by announcing now, they are making themselves look good... "we re providing extended warranty so stop whining" afterall, it's basically 1-2yrs more than the normal extended warranty, they dun ve much to lose... Nvidia paid them, they refurbish the parts...

HP and Dell (and Apple as well iirc) were the quickest to respond to the situation, threatening to sue Nvidia (together with Asus) if the problem is not settled... the 2 of them, being the largest OEM in the world, were also the first to announce their warranty extension plans as well, as early as late Aug/early Sep last year, roughly 1-2 mths after the whole thing was first reported...

Apple also had their own plan soon after HP and Dell... and BenQ, though never had announcement, seemed to adopt the "no question asked" policy... as long as it's related to the GPU, no question asked... they even refined their policy earlier this year, offering to swap into S42 hardware (9600M GT) if the laptop was serviced 4 times or more in a year...

most of the major laptop OEMs have announced their own plans almost 1 yr ago... that's y i describe it as more or less settled...

so now the problem is: why didn't u, together with other users of the same model, argued with Dell back then, 1 yr ago, to include ur model in the list as well??? u may not succeed, but at least u would get an explanation from Dell... this issue was so blown up that if u did step into this forum or visit any tech news sites from July to Sep 08, u would surely have known that...
astria
post Aug 13 2009, 09:57 AM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(dagnarus @ Aug 13 2009, 11:44 AM)
tsk, for those not in the know, they'll be lead to PAY for the repairs when they are supposed to get it for free, read through the thread and you know people are paying for it, when they can simply refer to the official site for a free repair.........

it is an old issue, but it resurfaced when sony declared that ALL the models with the 86 adn 84 are faulty. DELL still hanging on with their argument that only select few are affected, when the matter of fact is EVERY single one of the models are defect.

WHY on earth do you think these comp manufacturers are offering free repairs out of warrant for those affected? it's definitely not out of spite
ur problem now is not whether Dell is willing to cover ur model...

it's why didn't YOU argue with Dell 1 yr ago...

for Sony's part, it's only 2 more yrs of warranty, since the first laptop model with GeForce 8M came out with Santa Rosa (ie July 07), they ve been paid, they refurbish the spoilt cards, seriously they ve nothing to lose, and even make themselves look good in terms of PR...

and it only drop a bombshell on u juz becuz it's Sony who made the announcement... there was no hoo-haa at all when BenQ made their announcements early this year, that they are willing to replace the 8600M GS with 9600M GT provided conditions are met... this is wat i call a permanent solution, and yet nobody, at least in this forum, besides BenQ users, made noise abt it...

the OEMs need to offer repair cuz Nvidia refuse to take the responsibility... yes, we all know it's not a permanent solution, but as long as Nvidia dun take up the responsibility, the OEMs and us users only can suck thumbs... the next best is extend warranty...

it's no use whining here now... as i said, the whole issue is settled, and ppl accepted wat the OEMs offer, since last year... and YOU should ve acted 1 yr ago to fight for ur rights, not 1 yr later...
astria
post Aug 14 2009, 02:51 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(onnying88 @ Aug 14 2009, 04:07 PM)
Guys, how does G105M perform? anyone using this GC? any problem?
I think this is a rename version of 9series right?
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1109389

here...
astria
post Aug 27 2009, 10:10 PM

22,158 posts

juz tell them, GPU problem, that's it...

they will replace the mobo, together with the GPU...

then u pry hard that it will not boom... though u can be sure it will... it's juz a matter of time...
astria
post Sep 1 2009, 03:55 PM

22,158 posts

it wouldn't help at all...

This post has been edited by astria: Sep 1 2009, 03:55 PM
astria
post Sep 17 2009, 07:07 AM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(kepalapening @ Sep 17 2009, 08:41 AM)
And a notebook as well.
that depends on how demanding u re and how much money u ve...
astria
post Sep 22 2009, 03:17 PM

22,158 posts

they will never admit...

from the way they put it, once they do do, they will go bankrupt immediately...
astria
post Oct 6 2009, 11:46 AM

22,158 posts

buy a new laptop...

that's the best way...
astria
post Oct 6 2009, 11:59 AM

22,158 posts

better u go Dell... since the card is soldered to the mobo...
astria
post Oct 6 2009, 12:12 PM

22,158 posts

well, in that case, get a new one...

since even if u fixed it (one way or another), u won't know when it will ka-boom again...
astria
post Oct 6 2009, 12:34 PM

22,158 posts

repair also wast money only, imho...

maybe sell to those 2nd hand shops, try to savage watever u can... then get a cheap one like Asus K40Ab...
astria
post Oct 8 2009, 05:21 PM

22,158 posts

wat laptop re u using???
astria
post Oct 8 2009, 09:24 PM

22,158 posts

warranty extension is always the most expensive... can be even more than the price u sell it off...
astria
post Oct 20 2009, 02:21 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(ik3da @ Oct 16 2009, 03:09 PM)
S41 here as well... Sigh, BenQ Singapore quoted me SGD600 to fix the mobo. I was like "WTF", guess I will have to hike back to KL to find someone to fix it - can't afford another machine for now.
did u buy in Singapore or Malaysia???

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0242sec    0.98    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 03:31 PM