for those who plan for a new laptop, myb something u wanto know

TSwayfeel
post Mar 31 2009, 04:10 PM, updated 17y ago

Member of Elite Negotiators xD
2,114 posts

I think for those who plan for a new lappy, tis news is so important http://blog.wired.com/gadgets/2009/03/faulty-nvidia-c.html

basically it related to faulty chipset in nvidia gpu in 2008...and some comments :

" I have a dv2500t that has graphics card NVIDIA 8400M GS which was bought DIRECTLY from HP and it failed. An HP Executive Case Manager told me HP won't admit the chips are faulty until NVIDIA admits they are faulty and release the full list. Meanwhile thousands of laptops are dying because these chips have a severely reduced lifespan of 12-15 months, ironically failing after the 1 year laptop warranty."

" My personal experience was my laptop got extremely hot and I could not longer touch the laptop without being burned. Then I smelled a burning smell. And HP says there is nothing wrong. I don't know whether to laugh or to cry."

another one

" If you read Apple's users forums on the MacBook Pro and now both the MacBook and MB Pro have Nvidia GPU's they have user's with similar problems.
This is not over by a long shot. But when a problem get's too big everyone clams up. I for one avoided this and bought a Intel GPU laptop. It might be slower but I have never had problems with Intel failures. If you want to play games buy a desktop or a game console. Don't buy a laptop."

my fren comment who recently bought a compaq

"holyshit..dun buy hp notebook at the moment lol, u noe, my compaq here sometimes ( once in a week now ) failed to boot, nothing come out from the screen, only led on, but each time i can make it boot by off the power plug, press power button few seconds n turn it on again.... every1 in the forum complaint it ll failed to boot totally after exactly 12 to 15 months when warranty over lol...damn...notebook is so unreliable piece of machine!! but mine not nvidia gpu woh...

it's not a case of lemon product above u noe, so jus research more before u get ur notebook replacement, hp is OUT, so is MAC....i heard similar problem in Vaio too... dell also... so the best approach is , get a cheap notebook with intel gpu now lol..."

TSwayfeel
post Mar 31 2009, 04:22 PM

2,114 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Mar 31 2009, 04:19 PM)
old news... juz sent my laptop with 8600M GS for service, third time already...
old new for some. some even dono hehe
wa third time arh...rly that bad mou?
TSwayfeel
post Mar 31 2009, 06:27 PM

2,114 posts

im not agst any brand here ok
jus that my friend dug these so i thought to share
http://www.mycheaplaptop.net/

TSwayfeel
post Mar 31 2009, 06:35 PM

2,114 posts

QUOTE(nismo91 @ Mar 31 2009, 06:30 PM)
all laptop with dedicated graphic card are "hot".

but, the worst, in my experience, is the acers notebook, both aspire and travelmate than incorporate ATI MR X1600. total of 3 laptops from my friends, having extremely hot laptop due to small fan and ventilation.
without game cpu can reach 100*C already (because they share 1 heatsink).
but the version with the intel GMA is much cooler.

others, vaio FE with Go 7600, also very hot. i put it on in a bag for 10-minutes in a car passenger seat with air-con, cannot touch already.
when used for playing without any cooler & air-con. u cant touch.

my ex acer ati mr 9700, also hot, but is acceptable compared to previous laptops. my current 9600M GT is cool without game, but with game it reaches 80*C GPU temp, but still cooler than the vaio.

hence, both ati and nvidia are hot, on some laptops.
wa...uve very rich experience lol
is it possible acer n HP failure is mainly due to the overheating gpu plus the design flaw thats why many r shunning fr acer?
idk about vaio fe, but premium vaio like SZ is very cool even with hybrid when gaming. partly the premium vaio is made of better heat dissipating material altogether.

Added on March 31, 2009, 6:38 pm
thats why now when i shop for new laptop which i m, i wan find the nb with many bottom airvent, if can of a better material nb. but generally, wit budget, i rarely can get a 13.3 dGPU and naturally go for X4500MHD which can support full HD and DX10 for diablo hehehe which is futureproof to a certain degree, is not entirely a bad choice for non latest games gamers

its interesting this issue is not resolved in anyway, by HP or nVidia

This post has been edited by wayfeel: Mar 31 2009, 06:38 PM
TSwayfeel
post Mar 31 2009, 06:54 PM

2,114 posts

low end card user means G,GS is it. im not so mch abt dGPU but it don hurt to b informed

TSwayfeel
post Mar 31 2009, 08:30 PM

2,114 posts

QUOTE(nothingz @ Mar 31 2009, 07:57 PM)
asus also got warranty problem.... read more then you will find it....
try to avoid those identified faulty models, that's all you can do
i quite agree its a model per se.
higher end models SHOULD be better but not all i..e the >RM4k SXPS seem to experience major heat issues too lol

lazy read can briefly share wat kind of asus warrnty issue? thats very new to me. i tot software issue plague asus nb.

seem like many brands ntebooks r falling apart. even the once almighty toshiba seem to be falling apart, literally.

TSwayfeel
post Mar 31 2009, 08:42 PM

2,114 posts

QUOTE(dattebayo @ Mar 31 2009, 08:34 PM)
its the trade off of the cheaper price in laptops nowadays
for hardcore gaming, there is always a desktop and consoles, for me I won't get any laptop which costs more than RM2k, this is to reduce the loss should anything touch wood happen, like mobo dies, kena rob or stolen.
thats why min 2 yrs warranty is crucial if not, a must. at least hardware r covered foc. 1 yr not enuf nowdays with so many unreliable nb.
thats why im looking at mag alloy nec retailed at 2.8k though freedos but still immaculate from bad brand jus yet.

TSwayfeel
post Mar 31 2009, 09:19 PM

2,114 posts

@ astria

any site u can rekomen so as to understand more on amd? especially its 512mb cache how it works as opposed to intel's 3mb cache? i no the amd has larger L1 cache but overall performance.

i still dubious of amd n their ever laggin behind intel. forgot which site that tested the phenom was slower in almost all aspect even tested agst E8n00 a dual core, what more intel's quad

i donmind the S42 but at almost 3.6k ...not a chance for me lol

This post has been edited by wayfeel: Mar 31 2009, 09:20 PM
TSwayfeel
post Mar 31 2009, 09:52 PM

2,114 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Mar 31 2009, 09:24 PM)
1 site i like is www.guru3d.com... pretty unbiased and comprehensive review on CPU and GPU...

actually with Phenom II, AMD is making a pretty good come back... the Phenom II x4 performance can finally match up with C2Q Q9050, and in some areas, Core i7 as well...and also it's high oc ability and cheap mobo, AMD seems to be a better choice today...
site is so rich in content that its confusin for me lol for my specific interest of how amd is advtgeous over intel especially in mobile since im a notebook user
for a layman, amd still using a 65nm v intel's 45nm n intel's bigger caching tell me intel still superior. amd TDP is higher, making it less wise choice in a notebook.

TSwayfeel
post Apr 1 2009, 12:00 AM

2,114 posts

after googled for turion x2...
no offense, my budget under 2.8k still not THAT poor to get turion x2 nb which is pitted agst the likes of C2D T3n00 which is pretty- old.
HD 3200 around 1200 , 4500MHD around 950 3dmark06 hehe
cheers : )

This post has been edited by wayfeel: Apr 1 2009, 12:02 AM

0.0226sec    0.43    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 02:47 PM