read my link in post 310, recommendation is to have 120 hours burn-in for the brand new set using the method given in that link before doing the setting.
Panasonic TH-P42X10K & TH-P50X10K Thread, New 2009 X-Series Plasma from Panasonic
Apr 26 2009, 07:04 PM
2,234 posts Joined: Feb 2007 |
read my link in post 310, recommendation is to have 120 hours burn-in for the brand new set using the method given in that link before doing the setting.
Apr 26 2009, 11:57 PM
dig up some charts done by D-nice@avsforum, showing before and after calibration done on X1(not x10 plasma though
![]() ![]() another set of charts showing colour accuracy with respect to rec. 709 HDTV standard: ![]() ![]() inside bullseye circle, must be pretty much accurate! This post has been edited by neb: Apr 27 2009, 01:04 AM |
Apr 27 2009, 02:52 PM
you guys got any dead pixel on the plasma panel?
is this how you access the serviceman menu: hold down "volume -" on the plasma, then press "info" button 3 times on the remote? This post has been edited by neb: Apr 27 2009, 02:57 PM |
Apr 27 2009, 07:47 PM
great! we have lowyat member who can read the chart.
however the charts are for x1, wonder anyone in malaysia has the equipment to do the calibration and publish the result for x10 and the settings for diy calibration. the calibrator is using PR-655 spectroradiometer, the price of one unit can buy you 15x P42x10 |
Apr 27 2009, 08:23 PM
delta E 1994 for green and cyan is over 3 so no good? so how will these manifest in the plasma display?
This post has been edited by neb: Apr 27 2009, 08:29 PM |
Apr 27 2009, 10:32 PM
so samsung LCD TV has full 3D CMS(Colour Management System) and manual colour temperature controls? panasonic should add those in their future plasma.
This post has been edited by neb: Apr 27 2009, 10:58 PM |
Apr 28 2009, 02:36 PM
QUOTE(xrossf1re @ Apr 28 2009, 10:50 AM) Sifu, one thing i never understand is why can't Panasonic tune to the best setting in the factory? Why tune to crappy setting and sell to end users and have end users tune it again? I am no sifu the panasonic plasma panels needed to be break-in for at lease 120 hour before calibration can be done on them, if they calibrate on the new set the final result on screen will be drifted away from the target standard anyway. It is simply not economical for them to waste 5 days' electricity to break-in and hold up the assembly line. If they calibrate every set before leaving factory, the final plasma price will be very high for consumers. QUOTE(anfieldude @ Apr 28 2009, 01:12 PM) For this I would recommend the free AVSHD709 disc. It has the test patterns you need to do the brightness, contrast and sharpness and it is free. This disc can be burned into a standard DVD but will only play in a BD player (because it AVCHD). You can PM me and I can guide you on how u can set the brightness and contrast. I just downloaded the AVSHD709 v1.2b calibration disk from avsforum, is this the right one?The good thing about the DVE is it has a tutorial, but with guidance the AVSHD709 can achieve the same thing. GREYSCALE & COLOUR CALIBRATION FOR DUMMIES! This post has been edited by neb: Apr 28 2009, 04:09 PM |
Apr 28 2009, 07:15 PM
QUOTE(anfieldude @ Apr 28 2009, 06:53 PM) .... Maybe I should start a thread for calibration that would be perfect! like what D-Nice has done, publish the offsets so that we can diy calibrate X10 plasma and other display as well without any tools.Eye-One Display 2 = US$279, quite reasonably priced actually, might get one of those meter myself. |
Apr 30 2009, 02:17 PM
astro max has 2 tuners inside, although can't watch 2 channels simultaneously, record 1 channel and watch another is possible.
This post has been edited by neb: Apr 30 2009, 02:50 PM |
Apr 30 2009, 11:31 PM
QUOTE(sotong168 @ Apr 30 2009, 09:57 PM) hi all, how long can a plasma last? as durable as conventional crt tv? my mom is using 7-yr old 29" crt and is still alive & kicking; plan to get one for her as mother's day gift, she is an astro fanatic (>10 hr on avg) so plasma should be a right choice eh? thks~ 30 years panel life claimed by manufacturer, should give us 30 years warranty to back up their claim |
May 2 2009, 04:54 AM
QUOTE(termite9 @ May 2 2009, 12:44 AM) still no sifu can help answer me meh? izzit the 42x10 PQ abit dark? contrast already increase to 100 still look like dark dark 1.fell like watching old movie. izzit normal? please advise it would help if you can snap a picture showing how dark is the screen when you are watching from what source, and you current setting |
May 2 2009, 04:24 PM
if altering user accessible settings can not improve the brightness any further, a few options are avaible to improve your set:
buy colourimeter and calibrate yourself, or pay calibrator to do it for you, or waiting for someone to be kind enough to publish their calibrated offset for X10 |
May 2 2009, 06:49 PM
strange, normally manufacturer calibrate their set to display in vibrant and bright colour mode to attract more customers to buy.
check your source machine and cable. last resort is to lodge a complaint to panasonic, may be they will calibrate your set for free This post has been edited by neb: May 2 2009, 07:16 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0274sec
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 07:29 AM |