Panasonic TH-P42X10K & TH-P50X10K Thread, New 2009 X-Series Plasma from Panasonic
anfieldude
May 5 2009, 08:29 PM
QUOTE(tolorati @ May 5 2009, 08:14 PM) guys, what is the meaning of this setting, side panel? and also what is the meaning of color management? thanks in adv!! Colour management is supposed to mean a means of moving the colour points (google CIE chart) in a CIE Chart to match standards (also the luminance (brightness) of each colour that is not shown on the CIE chart). However Panasonic's implementation is different. You are given 3-4 choices. Move the slider to the extreme right. That gives the most pleasing combination to the eyes. This should be good for HD sources.
anfieldude
May 6 2009, 09:21 AM
QUOTE(Jemi @ May 6 2009, 09:12 AM) Anyone do the Burn-In? The D-Nice guide tell to set Picture to Vivid, but X10 doesn't have Vivid setting. Pls do not use the word "burn-in", it is taboo for a plasma display. The correct term is break in. The main reason is to age the phospors evenly. You can use any mode if you still want to as long as you use the full screen colour images. I will try to contact D-Nice to see how I can derive localized settings of the break in. I believe you can use maybe Standard mode and turn the contrast up close to what the vivid setting was at. This is my assumption, I have used the break in disc before and it serves to age phospors evenly past its infancy stage.
anfieldude
May 14 2009, 08:03 AM
QUOTE(slk5538 @ May 14 2009, 07:55 AM) Just my guess, by upscaling to 1080p, you actually have the DVD player to upscale once, and later the TV to downscale to 720p to fit its native resolution, so there are 2 processes involved, and it could be that the TV's processor causes the picture to be a bit soft. By selecting 720p, you only need your DVD player to upscale the source to 720p, and since this is the native resolution of your TV, the TV doesn't has to do any downscaling anymore. Any sifu out there care to clarify this matter? Actually, even outputting at 720p would require one more scaling by the display. This is because the resolution of the display is 768p. Thats why it is best to output at 4800/576p to the display if u want to reduce the scaling times. Another alternative would be to output BluRay at 1080p/24 so it scales only once. There is one thing to remember, based on tests and observations the new X10 series does not deinterlace too well. It is better to send a progressive signal to it, hence a 480p/576p from the DVD player. I believe some display do a better job at downscaling vs upscaling and that could be the reason why 720p might be better if you want the display to upscale. Anyway, trust ur eyes. If 720p looks better than go for it. Just try 480p/576p from the Pio DVD player and see if that looks even better.
anfieldude
May 14 2009, 03:30 PM
QUOTE(danee @ May 14 2009, 03:22 PM) hi.. i am planning to get TH-P42X10K this weekend together with dvd hifi. any suggestion for dvd hifi? budget is within Rm1500.. also any recommended shop in seremban? Seremban...pm htkaki, he can help...
anfieldude
May 17 2009, 07:56 AM
QUOTE(sotong168 @ May 15 2009, 10:32 PM) i dunno if the run-in would really improve the pq or worth the electricity but ppl said this is the shorcut to get the set mature so as less susceptible to ir so i did it. btw, i feel the set is really hot, hope the set could endure the long hour watching frm morning until night time... Don't worry about the heat and lifetimes. The plasmas work at higher temperatures. This is the nature of the panels. They have very capable temperature sensors and overcurrent protectors that will shut off should it reach critical temperatures. This is a requirement. So don't worry about the heat generated and the long hours viewing time.
anfieldude
May 20 2009, 11:51 PM
Just calibrated podrunner's X10 thru WDTV. Excellent grayscale (calibrated in service menu) and very decent gamma. Better response for colour, grayscale and gamma compared to PV80. Great blacks. 1st time calibrating thru WDTV using HD test patterns. Good response. The colour space bug is there for sure. I think they will fix it with a firmware rev soon. Anyway, pleasantly surprised with the X10 post calibrated grayscale.
Hope u enjoy it podrunner!
anfieldude
May 21 2009, 06:55 AM
QUOTE(sotong168 @ May 21 2009, 02:10 AM) @anfieldude, mind to share the settings? thks~ Added on May 21, 2009, 2:11 ambtw, the setting for hd is applicable for sd also? Sorry, I did not write them down. Anyway, I am not sure if you can use them directly, it will be close, but it depends on your environment and your set. Also it depends very much on your source, SD settings are not really applicable for HD but they are close. Again, it needs to be verified for your set and adjusted. Also depends on what source is used for SD and the connection type.
anfieldude
May 21 2009, 05:33 PM
QUOTE(podrunner @ May 21 2009, 08:46 AM) Was already enjoying it for an hour last night, and will continue again later in the day. Thanks again, and it was nice meeting you. Added on May 21, 2009, 5:15 pmOK here's the settings tweaked by Anfieldude: DISCLAIMER: Each set is different, and as far as service menu settings go, the starting point for each set may be different, so my optimum settings may be different than other sets. (I think Anfieldude can explain better!  ) Mode: Cinema Contrast: 80 Brightness: +1 Colour: 39 Sharpness: 32 (personal preference) Tint: 0 Colour Bal: Warm Colour Mngt: Off x.v. colour: Off Eco Mode: Off P-NR: Off Service Menu Settings: R-Dr: F9 G Dr: DB B Dr: 91 Sub Brt: 7FB R-Cut: 7E GOOD LUCK!!! All the settings that are not in the service menu shd be ok to copy. Pls remember that the numbers in the service menu are not to be followed blindly, each set has a different initial setting. These non service menu settings will work for WDTV and get u close. Might not work for blu ray or DVD player as the source is different. Again, unless u know what u r doing, pls refrain from adjusting anything in the service menu.
anfieldude
May 22 2009, 09:36 AM
QUOTE(apexg2 @ May 22 2009, 08:07 AM) this setting done in service menu eh?not the ordinary menu rite?? Yes the 2nd portion is service menu settings. This is not recommended to copy since ur starting point might be different. Added on May 22, 2009, 9:38 amQUOTE(sotong168 @ May 22 2009, 03:02 AM) thks for sharing but as mentioned, those service menu calibration shud be in how many steps forward & backward as the initial setting is different. anyhow, appreciate the info~~~ thks~ Sorry, I did not keep track of steps forward and backward. This is because on the Panny's there is a bug where the luminance levels in the service menu are half of outside the service menu. So I had to keep getting out of the service menu to check the grayscale after making the changes and saving them in the service menu. But trust me, it tracks grayscale very well.. This post has been edited by anfieldude: May 22 2009, 09:38 AM
anfieldude
May 22 2009, 02:22 PM
QUOTE(podrunner @ May 22 2009, 12:43 PM) @Anfield, will need to book your time mid June for the 47" Samsung Series 6. My dentist wants to meet you too!  Ok...At least I know that my teeth will be well taken care of in Kuching....
anfieldude
May 23 2009, 11:37 PM
QUOTE(HW-Racer @ May 23 2009, 09:44 PM) what is the difference between S10 vs X10 besides more expensive ??? Full HD.
anfieldude
May 25 2009, 08:19 AM
QUOTE(tolorati @ May 25 2009, 12:49 AM) podrunner, if you on x.v color, will it affect the color of the panel when you don't have a player that can output x.v color? Not really sure, I doubt it. Some sets change the colour a little to compensate for x.v. colour. Remind me to check if there are differences next time I calibrate a X10.
anfieldude
Jun 6 2009, 02:21 PM
QUOTE(jchong @ Jun 6 2009, 10:42 AM) That's because anfieldude uses the same calibration software, namely CalMan. You can tell the dude is serious in his calibration by the stuff he uses.  Thanks jchong. Actually the results mimic the results from podrunner's X10. The only difference being the gamma. The calibration of podrunner's X10 was done thru a WDTV and the viewing environment was much brighter. The gamma was around 2.1 to cater for the brighter viewing environment. Also the colour luminance was not that great due to the WDTV known problem with the Sigma Designs chip.