Food Fine Wine, Whisky & Cigar, How many of you enjoy it

TSsliver2c
post Jun 24 2011, 03:46 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(vlad123 @ Jun 24 2011, 03:32 AM)
Anyone drink Blended Scotch? I'm still a student so don't have the big cash for nice single malts but do has some left over for average blended.
what kind of blended scotch do you drink? chivas, black label or? i use to drink this to get drunk during my Uni days
TSsliver2c
post Jun 27 2011, 01:18 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(CHiNO730 @ Jun 25 2011, 04:40 PM)
I'll pick up some of the Balvenie as soon as i can. I had a nice glass of The Oban and was quite impressed. It tastes like a bourbon cask. Very oaky and woody tasting on the transition from palette to finish. Unfortunately, it was quite watered down from just a single ice cube so i was unable to truly appreciate it.

I picked up a bottle of Jim Beam Black to compare to Jack Daniels No 7. I was very pleased. i think I might have to ditch the Tennesee Sour Mash and make a switch.

Whenever i'm in Malaysia i spend most of my time in Penang. Where are you?
Oban is fantastic but its very difficult to find it here in Malaysia. I am not a big fan of Jack Daniels but I love Jim beam small batch and Baker's both are very smooth and just oozes down your throat.

I am always in KL and i used to travel to Penang often in the past years but not anymore since i shut down my office there

Added on June 27, 2011, 1:20 pm
QUOTE(vlad123 @ Jun 24 2011, 07:11 PM)
So far I've tried Whyte & Mckay Special and Teacher's Highland cream. I'm in London so i could get these quite easily. Looking forward to try Black label but they say Teachers is nicer than that so I got teachers instead. I like the Teacher's highland cream as from what I got is smokey, woody and chocolaty smell. Just a beginner though.
You live in London and you are drinking those rubbish? go on and explore some of those excellent single malts its darn cheap and you will love it.

This post has been edited by sliver2c: Jun 27 2011, 01:20 PM
TSsliver2c
post Jul 11 2011, 12:20 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(CHiNO730 @ Jul 11 2011, 11:02 AM)
sliver2c,

The Balvenie 12y Doublewood you recommend is absolutely amazing.  I had a sample at a whisky bar not too long ago, but my appreciation arose from sampling my own bottle.  This is easily going to be one my favourite Scotch's for some time.

I also purchased the Ardbeg and Oban.  Both also very amazing - as described earlier, I sampled the Oban, but having my own bottle and enjoying it over the course of a few evenings is a very different experience.  It's definitely very good, but I'd have to tip my hat to The Balvenie.

The Ardbeg is light on the colour (less reliance on added caramel colouring) but exceptionally smooth and soft on the palette.  It doesn't quite punch you in the face like the Laphroaig.  I'm extremely pleased with it.

Cheers!
I am glad that you enjoyed The Balvenie , I have no doubt that The tree variety you mention above will stick to your palate for some time till you are itching for something more complex.
Are the Oban and Ardbeg purchased at duty free? Or did you found a distributor in Malaysia?

TSsliver2c
post Jul 12 2011, 06:35 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(CHiNO730 @ Jul 11 2011, 04:18 PM)
sliver2c

i actually had to purchase in the states and bring it back to M'sia with me on my most recent trip.

a bit of a hassle but completely worth it.  m'sia is not terribly strict on the amount (ml) you can bring back and i did not have to pay any duty or customs.
I see that you have master the art of hiding from customs, this is something you learn and excel with time biggrin.gif
TSsliver2c
post Jul 13 2011, 05:38 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(CHiNO730 @ Jul 13 2011, 09:29 AM)
actually i think M'sia allows 1.5L of alcohol if I am not mistaken.

I did bring a bit more, but have never had trouble with it.  The bottles arrive very cold though from being in the cargo compartment for 18 hrs.

Also, I have not always had the best of luck w/customs in M'sia, usually when shipping goods via container.
Malaysia allows only 1L of alcohol per person its usually all right to bring in more as long as you don’t get stop by the custom officer i usually bring in 3-5L every time I travel and I have been lucky so far.

It’s never wise to ship anything from outside into Malaysia as this gives customs to make some extra "coffee money"

do you also smoke cigars?
TSsliver2c
post May 28 2012, 05:10 PM

31 posts

been a long time since I post here, whats everyone smoking/drinking these days?

Jundak: your temp is way too high, get a cheap wine cooler to store your stash, does not matter if its with a compressor you can still mantain stable humidity between 63-67 if you know the trick.

Montecristo: you dont need to store your desktop humidor in the wine chiller, you can store your cigars in their original box or singles as well. the key here is proper temp-18-20 c and humi 63-67

Added on May 28, 2012, 5:14 pm
QUOTE(limkoksoon @ Apr 5 2012, 05:49 AM)
anyone need some fine cigars? PM me, i'd some private collection wish to sell off smile.gif
its cheap. trust me.

Added on May 6, 2012, 1:00 am

bro, let say i dun have air tight container,what else i can use as a humidor box?
you need an air tight container in order to preserve your cigars no other way.

Added on June 7, 2012, 3:38 pmGuys i have some cigars from my personal collection to clear anyone interested PM me

There is monte no 4, no 5, some HDM Epi 2 and some Siglo I and II

Added on July 19, 2012, 12:24 pmwhere all u guys disappeared to??

This post has been edited by sliver2c: Jul 19 2012, 12:24 PM
TSsliver2c
post Dec 29 2012, 03:15 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(imahappyklown @ Nov 8 2012, 05:58 PM)
Hello,is this thread still alive?
I don't really know how to go about this but may I just ask straight away?
My parents are about to celebrate their 25th anniversary,so wanted to get my dad somethin special.He used to smoke cigars on special occasions, but money has been tight for years and haven't really seen him lit up. My father doesn't smoke in general, just on those occasions.

I have no idea at all about cigars, so is it possible for me to get any recommendations here?I heard that those cuban cigars goes up to 300 dollars per stick?uh,what can i get for 300 ringgit malaysia instead?Sorry if I intruded. Thanks in advance
too late to reply now, i hope you found something for him if not PM me directly and i will advice accordingly

4 Pages « < 2 3 4Top

0.0248sec    0.24    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 07:28 PM