Throttle body and carbon cleaning, Do you think it's necessary?

TSadriankhoo153
post Mar 30 2009, 02:21 PM, updated 17y ago

So many star for what?
4,808 posts

I dun see it in my manual book nor being advice to do so in service center. Do u think we should do TB and Carbon cleaning? My car mileage reach 110k liau and age almost 5 years old dy. What do u think? Some ppl told me if no problem dun pandai pandai go do. icon_question.gif

PS: Is it the same with port and polish? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by adriankhoo153: Mar 30 2009, 02:23 PM
TSadriankhoo153
post Mar 30 2009, 03:13 PM

So many star for what?
4,808 posts

I have offered to do throttle body cleaning for Rm45 and retune engine for Rm45. So total is Rm90. What do u think?
the_catacombs
post Mar 30 2009, 03:19 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

throttle body cleaning and port polish is 2 different thing... basically throttle body cleaning and carbon cleaning is jz brushing away carbon n dirt deposit around the intake and combustion... while porting requires precision cutting and grinding to make the intake port larger and smoother...

example of throttle body cleaning

throttle body before n after cleaning

carbon cleaning of combustion chamber involves removing the carbon buildup (black layer)

carbon cleaning of exhaust valve due to carbon buildup

neotoxin
post Mar 30 2009, 03:20 PM

~Tweeeeeeeeeet~
565 posts

cleaning TB is necessary periodically or when you experience idling problems.

About carbon cleaning, I just make assumption what was offered to you is putting in D-carbo or things like that. I dont have any experience wheter this kind of treatment will give noticeable results or not.

The best decarbonizing is still doing top overhaul .. crack open the head and polish it. That will surely makes a difference
TSadriankhoo153
post Mar 30 2009, 04:43 PM

So many star for what?
4,808 posts

I duno what they gonna do but i heard he said they gonna open duno what to do the throttle body cleaning. Dunno recommended to do so or not.
SonnyCooL
post Mar 31 2009, 03:18 AM

Web Bastard
5,957 posts

QUOTE(adriankhoo153 @ Mar 30 2009, 04:43 PM)
I duno what they gonna do but i heard he said they gonna open duno what to do the throttle body cleaning. Dunno recommended to do so or not.
Mostly is just product gimmick, u can clean TB by ur self (for diy person) and do some de carbon thing by adding some....
D'carbonise is something like "Chinese water torture", the different is chemical and water used (DIY stuff) :)enjoy

please google "Chinese water torture" for more info
TSadriankhoo153
post Mar 31 2009, 08:06 AM

So many star for what?
4,808 posts

Done TB cleaning. Seems like an easy task only. Just spray. It cost me Rm60 to do it. Product is 3M.

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
the_catacombs
post Mar 31 2009, 11:32 AM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(adriankhoo153 @ Mar 31 2009, 08:06 AM)
Done TB cleaning. Seems like an easy task only. Just spray. It cost me Rm60 to do it. Product is 3M.
any improvement after cleaning it??
TSadriankhoo153
post Mar 31 2009, 11:56 AM

So many star for what?
4,808 posts

QUOTE(the_catacombs @ Mar 31 2009, 11:32 AM)
any improvement after cleaning it??
I notice not much different after TB cleaning. Maybe because i am using Fully Syn engine and maintenance it quite well all this while. One thing is when they did this, the exaust part comeout black smoke and smell like bus kilang exaust one. Like those old diesel vechile leh.. shocking.gif
IceCube
post Mar 31 2009, 12:52 PM

319 posts

QUOTE(adriankhoo153 @ Mar 30 2009, 02:21 PM)
I dun see it in my manual book nor being advice to do so in service center. Do u think we should do TB and Carbon cleaning? My car mileage reach 110k liau and age almost 5 years old dy. What do u think? Some ppl told me if no problem dun pandai pandai go do.  icon_question.gif

PS: Is it the same with port and polish?  hmm.gif
TB cleaning you can do yourself. Just buy the cleaner and spray and clean it. On the bottle have instruction how to do it also. Some shop or ppl charge high price since they include workmanship. So, up to you to decide.

If you always high rev, and dont have an oil catch tank, then you will notice the throttle body will be oily and black. So better to clean it. If not, sooner or later some of the sensor will clog and give u wrong reading and cause more problem in the future. Prevention is better then cure.

And this TB cleaning always use on wira EFI model as some of them have idling or some sort of problem with the airfuel thing. Once they go a TB cleaning, the idling is back to normal and easier to start.

About carbon cleaning, its best if you got the money to do top overhaul rather then chemical cleaning (unless you can actually see the inside before and after cleaning). But its cheaper and you might get minor improvement overall. But carbon build up everytime you start your car. For a 110k mileage, just go for chemical cleaning if you really want, unless your car really sluggish and FC is really bad compare to previously then better do top overhaul, change piston ring, measure compression etc etc...

adrian,
do you rev your car much? If not, there would be some carbon stuck on the exhaust piping and when they do the TB cleaning, they rev your car quite high rpm and those carbon will be blown out the piping thus you see black smoke and when its mix with the 3M product (which i think is quite good) it will smell like diesel bus kilang... biggrin.gif

TSadriankhoo153
post Mar 31 2009, 04:09 PM

So many star for what?
4,808 posts

adrian,
do you rev your car much? If not, there would be some carbon stuck on the exhaust piping and when they do the TB cleaning, they rev your car quite high rpm and those carbon will be blown out the piping thus you see black smoke and when its mix with the 3M product (which i think is quite good) it will smell like diesel bus kilang...

I seldom rev my car as my car not build for high rev lor. laugh.gif

I think that should sums up wat u said. Seldom high rev and when mix it with 3M, then it cameout all the blackie blackie bus kilang smell. Blow out all the carbon. rclxms.gif

But one thing i am in doubt. I never do TB cleaning b4 and this is my first time. Car age going to be 5 years soon. Logically if the carbon is build inside, i am sure it is not that easy to comeout rite? I mean sure it's already dry and become hard liau mah? hmm.gif
SonnyCooL
post Mar 31 2009, 06:51 PM

Web Bastard
5,957 posts

QUOTE(adriankhoo153 @ Mar 31 2009, 04:09 PM)
I seldom rev my car as my car not build for high rev lor.  laugh.gif

I think that should sums up wat u said. Seldom high rev and when mix it with 3M, then it cameout all the blackie blackie bus kilang smell. Blow out all the carbon.  rclxms.gif 

But one thing i am in doubt. I never do TB cleaning b4 and this is my first time. Car age going to be 5 years soon. Logically if the carbon is build inside, i am sure it is not that easy to comeout rite? I mean sure it's already dry and become hard liau mah?  hmm.gif
basically the black smoke and smell is mixture of ur cleaner and carbon by ratio of 80% cleaner and 20% carbon ...
IceCube
post Mar 31 2009, 08:36 PM

319 posts

QUOTE(adriankhoo153 @ Mar 31 2009, 04:09 PM)
I seldom rev my car as my car not build for high rev lor.  laugh.gif

I think that should sums up wat u said. Seldom high rev and when mix it with 3M, then it cameout all the blackie blackie bus kilang smell. Blow out all the carbon.  rclxms.gif 

But one thing i am in doubt. I never do TB cleaning b4 and this is my first time. Car age going to be 5 years soon. Logically if the carbon is build inside, i am sure it is not that easy to comeout rite? I mean sure it's already dry and become hard liau mah?  hmm.gif
Oh seldom rev. Okie ,problem just carbon stuck inbetween the piping and engine part. And 5 years carbon should very stubborn and hard to remove, thus some chemical are pretty strong and some are not so and some application are different compare to the other.
There are brands like BG which gives you a view of your internal chamber before and after cleaning it, but its quite costly .

Some recommend using RO water to do the combustion chamber cleaning also.

TSadriankhoo153
post Apr 1 2009, 08:54 AM

So many star for what?
4,808 posts

Thanks for the info dude!!
lalachong
post Apr 1 2009, 03:27 PM

294 posts

just clean it... my car sometimes died halfway and idling had issues.. after cleanup.. no problem...

the d'carbon thingy really works... when i changed my top engine gasket the other day... stillvery clean and new inside... car travelled 115k already, but engine smooth...
rakyat
post Apr 1 2009, 03:31 PM

I got stars
1,349 posts

QUOTE(IceCube @ Mar 31 2009, 08:36 PM)
Oh seldom rev. Okie ,problem just carbon stuck inbetween the piping and engine part. And 5 years carbon should very stubborn and hard to remove, thus some chemical are pretty strong and some are not so and some application are different compare to the other.
There are brands like BG which gives you a view of your internal chamber before and after cleaning it, but its quite costly .

Some recommend using RO water to do the combustion chamber cleaning also.
I had my TB cleaned recently and the foreman took out the whole TB and clean it with some solvent.

As for carbon cleaning, the last time I did it the exhaust smoke was thick white smoke not black. How come? Different chemical?

RO water to clean combustion chamber? Wouldn't hydrolock the engine?
SonnyCooL
post Apr 2 2009, 12:56 AM

Web Bastard
5,957 posts

QUOTE(rakyat @ Apr 1 2009, 03:31 PM)

RO water to clean combustion chamber? Wouldn't hydrolock the engine?
They called Chinese Water Torture, is pretty cool, u see a lot of white smoke (i do this every three month when i free) smile.gif

kjyong
post Apr 2 2009, 01:31 AM

when the carbon deposit built up in your car throttle body. This will affect your car idling.

To know whether if you need a service of TB, plug in a scan tools and check the opening angle of your TB's flap. If the angle is great than 2-3 degree under no load condition (a/c off, acc off.. ect). You need to clean your TB. After this you have to perform the learning mixture for your TB through scan tool.

If the TB opening angle is too large, engine check will come out and fault code will be stored in your engine control unit memory. Perharp the service advisor will inform you in your next service.

This post has been edited by kjyong: Apr 2 2009, 01:32 AM
rakyat
post Apr 2 2009, 10:04 AM

I got stars
1,349 posts

QUOTE(SonnyCooL @ Apr 2 2009, 12:56 AM)
They called Chinese Water Torture, is pretty cool, u see a lot of white smoke (i do this every three month when i free) smile.gif
Ah-so the procedure I did was CWT not carbon cleaning coz the ehaust smoke was white instead of black. Mind sharing how this is done? Drip RO water into the TB via vacum hose? What is the difference compared to carbon cleaning?
TSadriankhoo153
post Apr 18 2009, 11:36 PM

So many star for what?
4,808 posts

Is it true that the mechanic told me caburetor car kenot do throttle body cleaning via spraying? He siad it will get the matter worse if use those spray for throttle body cleaning. Most to most is to take out and manualy clean it. Only fuel injection car can do throettle cleaning.

0.0191sec    0.40    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 01:42 AM