Travel MAS (Malaysia Airline System), Discussion, Q&A, and others

Ami Tsun
post Jun 17 2009, 12:29 AM

QUOTE(heavenhell @ Jun 16 2009, 06:41 PM)
Hi guys ,just bought a ticket thru grab a deal from mas (bali to mas) , and it looks like it doesnt include the travel insurance ? or they only offer the insurance if the departure location is from malaysia ?

Doesn't really matter lah.. You can buy travel insurance from your agent, or if you don't have any, go to any travel/tour agency.

For Asia countries, up to 5 days is about Rm$35 and up to 10 days is slightly less than Rm$50.

It's better to get your own travel insurance too. The one offered by airline companies do not cover a lot.

Ami Tsun
post Aug 10 2009, 11:16 PM

You arriving Domestic then want to depart International, are you flying same airline and into KLIA main terminal? What do you mean by "your own transit"?

If same airline, should be able to check in for both leg (at Penang airport?) - get both the boarding passes and check in your luggage through. On arrival, go to transit immigration to "chop" passport (exit country), no need to collect luggage and check in again liao.
Ami Tsun
post Aug 15 2009, 03:16 PM

QUOTE(Seng007 @ Aug 15 2009, 03:01 PM)
Okay, here's the case. I am taking both flights on Malaysia Airlines.
I have a flight at Penang Airport ETA KLIA at 9.50 pm.
I have another flight to Korea departing at 11.30 pm.
It's not a connecting flight as I got the air ticket during the MAS promotion.
That's why I have to pick up the luggage at KLIA before checking in. If my domestic flight got delayed, I think most probably I will GG. :S
Still can ask/try to check in for both leg at the Penang Airport.

If not, to save time:-
1) PEN-KUL, try hand carry, don't check in baggage. (haha, bring less thing, then shop at Korea??)
2) Web check in at home. Print both boarding passes.

Go to MAS web and do a "dummy" booking for PEN to Korea, the system shows a selection of flights combo, if there's something same as what you bought, then you should be ok lah...
Ami Tsun
post Aug 16 2009, 04:28 PM

Good to hear that! Except that since it's under two separate booking, not sure you get to check in for both legs at Penang Airport or not.

One suggestion, see if you want to drop by at the MAS office and request if it's possible to merge the two bookings under the same booking number. Then can be quite sure that you'll get to check in for both legs at Penang Airport. And of course, at the MAS office, don't tell them you book separately to save $$$. Even if they were to charge you a minimal fee for "merging" booking, still worth wor..

This post has been edited by Ami Tsun: Aug 16 2009, 11:08 PM
Ami Tsun
post Nov 25 2009, 04:21 PM

Fly first class - 40kg + hand carry x2 pieces (5kg each)

Or

Pay $10-15/kg for the excess.

Or

Check in 20kg, hand carry 5kg.

0.0357sec    0.76    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 11:39 PM