Malaysia iPhone Apps & Games Developers Thread, No JOB ADVERTISING ALLOWED!!
bizkutrai
Oct 9 2009, 12:31 AM

QUOTE(Shoki @ Sep 29 2009, 01:46 PM) Any developer plan to create an app for LYN Forum? How app it will be? Could you suggest me some idea? I just love web apps. I am kind of experimentation with web apps now. We can use Appcelerator or PhoneGap with assistance of JQTouch or iUI to develope web based apps. Currently I am developing an app for retrieving Malaysian Ham Radio info from MCMC site. It's called MYCallsign. Actually this app already be done into Java2ME app by mypapit, 9W2WTF his callsign , LOL yes it's WTF and he is a cool guy. He gives me permission to port this app to iPhone and Android. Here is an early mock-up for the app This post has been edited by bizkutrai: Oct 9 2009, 12:32 AM
bizkutrai
Oct 9 2009, 12:21 PM

QUOTE(TeK_KeN @ Oct 9 2009, 06:30 AM) just back home from HITB Conference. I see 1 of the speaker showing his ipod touch running his own script. very amazing, inspired though. perhaps we can capture IVS through iphone someday? Airodump (aircrack package) doesn't work well yet because lack of Atheros drivers on mac platform. even on desktop mac aircrack is still not available. oh I missed the conference. I used to attend it every year. But here few screenshot of my iphone to show the power of iphone/ipod touch! LightTPD + PHP LighTPD + Django (Python framework) They all run on the iphone itself!!
bizkutrai
Oct 13 2009, 03:00 PM

QUOTE(TeK_KeN @ Oct 13 2009, 11:54 AM) that is awesome but is it iphone use atheros?i thought broadcom this year HITB not very happening like last year, and I've missed the night party  just a quick question bro, did you succesfully interfacing your iphone using any linux distro? Actually it is Marvell on iPhone 2G http://www.reghardware.co.uk/2007/07/02/ip...sies_conducted/I am not sure on 3G thou. So far on 3.x firmwares, I only can interface linux with SSH, no other method.
bizkutrai
Oct 18 2009, 09:47 PM

QUOTE(daydreaming @ Oct 18 2009, 09:35 PM) whoa, i din know we have some active iphone app developers in malaysia. i recently bought apple macbook pro and since i have the mac os x, i'm now trying to learn how to develop an iphone app. but i'm a complete newbie. java + python developer here. =_=" anyway, i have 2 questions here, hopefully you all can help me answer. purely newbie questions.  - if i were to get a device to test my app, do you think i should get the new ipod touch, or iphone (which needs to wait like 3 weeks). - will testing my app on the device (after simulator testing) kill my device =_=" mmm i currently trying to learn as fast as possible... hopefully i can be on par with most of you here. but i reli no training la. i do know about the MDEC but not sure what other grants do they have. I know they have one grant for independent developer....not sure details though. 1) You need to learn whole new language either Obj-C or web 2.0 with ajax if you want to use some frameworks like phonegap. iphone doesn't use java and python but your java+python experience would be handful too. 2) It's up to you but if you like to dedicate it only for development, choose ipod touch 3) Development won't kill your device, or you can claim warranty from Apple if it does Happy coding!
bizkutrai
Oct 22 2009, 03:57 PM

QUOTE(daydreaming @ Oct 18 2009, 09:57 PM) yeap, i know iphone app dev is bout Cocoa Touch, Object C or even C. Nothing to do with Java or Python. PhoneGap, i've read somewhere that App Store tends to reject applications made using PhoneGap. Also, I believe that if you want to do something, u better use their platform for better performance. Mmm of coz not jz for development if possible lo. well, if (3) is okay, i shld b getting iphone lo. Initially scare i will break the phone if doing deployment. hahaha anyway, thanks for the reply.  Apple NOT rejected PhoneGap apps ANYMORE!! Do you ever go into PhoneGap system structure? it's Obj-C with 100% of iPhone SDK so Apple has NO RIGHT to reject the apps! it tends to be a RE-USABLE code so you don't need to construct same codes over and over again for different apps. So, don't give a wrong idea to Malaysian developers.  You should follow their mailing list more http://groups.google.com/group/phonegapPlease read here about Apple issues http://nachbaur.com/blog/open-letter-to-ap...veloper-supportPlease do research before write anything if you want to be a developer. you don't want to re-do your work after 90% done and realize your mistake.
bizkutrai
Oct 25 2009, 02:31 PM

QUOTE(daydreaming @ Oct 25 2009, 02:17 PM) dude, what is wrong with u man? i said i READ IT SOMEWHERE. i did not say when is that article dated. perhaps it was outdated but Apple DID reject PhoneGap applications before this. And that is what I've found based on the article I encountered. If I did not do any research, how would I know? also, ur line "it's Obj-C with 100% of iPhone SDK so Apple has NO RIGHT to reject the apps!" --- Apple reserves the rights to reject any apps that they think are not suitable. ITunes and the entire platform belong to them. *sighs* when people message and ask nicely, please use a nicer tone. no need to so worked up. and for your info, i AM a developer. =_= donno why a friendly message ends up kena flame by people. *duh* so i am sorry..your tone was nice but your mean was not. Please consider quoting "i've read somewhere that App Store tends to reject applications made using PhoneGap." How about quoting " i've read somewhere that App Store tends to reject ANY applications." as you said "Apple reserves the rights to reject any apps that they think are not suitable. ITunes and the entire platform belong to them." That's I agree. You gave a wrong idea about PhoneGap dude. you should apologize all PhoneGap developers here. you gave the nerve. as i said, please consider talking about "rejected by apple" without fact. we develop apps here and they are our "periuk nasi"..if rejected then,,,bump!! you know what I mean "rejected by apple" is a sensitive words to talk nonsense..forgive my sensitivity, you got the idea. no harm
bizkutrai
Oct 25 2009, 10:01 PM

it is not a third party, it uses obj-c.it's called framework. you should know it if you are a programmer. there is no easy way dude, i am programming for more than 10 years and i don't see anything easier.
bizkutrai
Nov 2 2009, 04:54 PM

QUOTE(david888 @ Nov 2 2009, 08:41 AM) H4RRY, thanks for the info, i never thought got this type of solution. i will try again later. anyway, all the while i use the safari browser to download the sdk, will switch to firefox next time. And use DownThemAll from firefox
bizkutrai
Mar 13 2010, 10:24 PM

QUOTE(david888 @ Mar 12 2010, 09:23 PM) i'm really not so used to the Xcode way of doing program, still using the TextEdit way, old way of writing code  . Old way of writing code is using vi
bizkutrai
Apr 12 2010, 04:29 PM

QUOTE(xeNOS @ Apr 12 2010, 03:49 PM) im new to MACs... so a very nb Qs here... can v develop apps under windows os ? thx No
bizkutrai
Apr 16 2010, 12:44 AM

QUOTE(JusticeDeserves @ Apr 15 2010, 09:38 PM) Hi guys, got a few questions here: Anyway to develop apps on a Windows based PC? What do I need to develop applications? How much do I have to pay? you can't develop on Windows because you need Xcode to compile and sign the developer certificate and Xcode is only available for Mac..period. but you can install osx86 on your pc.
bizkutrai
May 5 2010, 11:40 AM

QUOTE(fofodesign @ May 5 2010, 11:20 AM) hoho...i really want to build my 1st apps! hurm..how bout adobe flash cs5?? there come with iphone os export! what do you thing guys? http://www.apple.com/hotnews/thoughts-on-flash/http://flashmobile.scottjanousek.com/2010/...-section-3-3-1/QUOTE "3.3.1 — Applications may only use Documented APIs in the manner prescribed by Apple and must not use or call any private APIs. Applications must be originally written in Objective-C, C, C++, or JavaScript as executed by the iPhone OS WebKit engine, and only code written in C, C++, and Objective-C may compile and directly link against the Documented APIs (e.g., Applications that link to Documented APIs through an intermediary translation or compatibility layer or tool are prohibited)." Please stay away from Flash/Adobe if you want to build iPhone apps..or you will regret if your apps rejected by them later.