Video/Audio [wta] mixer recommendations, help me find a suitable mixer for church

TSnimrod2
post Mar 28 2009, 12:25 AM, updated 17y ago

the imba one
2,521 posts

hey guys,
i was thinking about it when i was reading thru one of the recording topics and realised that this would be a good place to get help and some info.

i'm supposed to find and recommend a mixer for our church because our old one is failing already.
it is about 8 years old and is the behringer mx3282a eurodesk.

link - mx3282a
it was a 32 channel / 8 bus / 6 aux mixer.

the capacity of our church is from 200 to about 250(max).
so i was wondering, for the budget of rm15,000, what mixer do u think i should get?

my ministry head says that i should try to get a little more headroom in the number of channels so that during special events and performances, there would be enough space. so i'm guessing roughly about 40 channels?
but i guess 32 channels is also fine. because so far the 40 channels mixers that i have seen are really much higher priced from the 32 channels.

the behringer one was really crappy and started to give problems to us after about 3-4 years. so i guess going back to behringer would not be an option. was thinking roughly a higher range product / brand.
maybe soundcraft or mackie? any other recommendations / brands?

TSnimrod2
post Apr 21 2009, 07:15 PM

the imba one
2,521 posts

no ideas?

no replies?

cry.gif
echobrainproject
post Apr 21 2009, 07:47 PM

4,765 posts

im not sure about mixer prices so i cant really suggest any. could you get soundcraft and mackie's for that price?

its also hard to say as we dont know your church setup. things like how many inputs will be needed. although the first thing that struck me was 6 aux, will that be enough for different monitor feeds for all the musicians and singers?

Added on April 21, 2009, 7:48 pmnot to mention if ure running any outboard gear such as compressors, limiters and EQ

This post has been edited by echobrainproject: Apr 21 2009, 07:48 PM
TSnimrod2
post May 10 2009, 01:14 PM

the imba one
2,521 posts

QUOTE(echobrainproject @ Apr 21 2009, 07:47 PM)
im not sure about mixer prices so i cant really suggest any. could you get soundcraft and mackie's for that price?

its also hard to say as we dont know your church setup. things like how many inputs will be needed. although the first thing that struck me was 6 aux, will that be enough for different monitor feeds for all the musicians and singers?

Added on April 21, 2009, 7:48 pmnot to mention if ure running any outboard gear such as compressors, limiters and EQ
at least somenoe replied me. haha but i never checked on my thread.

soundcraft and mackie reaches about 20k lor.

er the inputs around 32-40 lor. roughly there would be good enough. 6 aux is enough i guess. currently using 6 but then maybe 8 would be better.

compressors / limiters / eq and other processing effects are setup after the mixer.
no effects in the inserts.

just wondering if anyone knows a good supplier for mixers and audio equipment.
just suggestions biggrin.gif

0.0139sec    0.68    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 12:31 PM