> Telekom got AIG Insurance?, anyone received this call??

TSmaximus85
post Mar 27 2009, 03:52 PM, updated 17y ago

O.M.F.G~!!!
605 posts

Just now... got this dude that claim that he's from Telekom and he got my contact thru the streamyx customer database.

He told me that they now provide some sort of insurance from AIG..

told me lots of things and the he explain really kinda professional...

at the very end he asks me about my credit card number.. i had it wif me but i told him i dun have it right now.....

i just wanna ask /k/.... did anyone here receive this kind of call about this service b4?? blink.gif

just scared that its a scam.... becoz

Additional info:

tomatotomatomy
post Mar 27 2009, 03:53 PM

242 posts

oo another case.. a few kopitiamers also encountered the same thing

Alvinleong
post Mar 27 2009, 03:54 PM

Never give out your credit card details (or any other personal information) over the phone unless you know 100% who you're talking to.

As for insurance agents, "sorry I am not interested" is sometimes difficult to say because they can be very persuasive and persistent, but just repeat it a few times and they'll leave you alone.
TSmaximus85
post Mar 27 2009, 03:55 PM

O.M.F.G~!!!
605 posts

oh really?? hmm.gif

mind to share anything that u found out?

he told me that he gonna send me the policy thru the streamyx mail account.... and also asked for my address... i gave him my hometown address coz no harm will be done by sending me the mail right.... somemore i go back hometown also once every few 4months like that...
SkyNet000
post Mar 27 2009, 03:55 PM

PPP AMO
937 posts

It's a scam .

ChinaPress got report about it smile.gif

Don't fall into it .
ODST_MARK X
post Mar 27 2009, 04:00 PM

151 posts

He want to buttsek you brother....may the force be with u..
chuagb
post Mar 27 2009, 07:45 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(maximus85 @ Mar 27 2009, 04:52 PM)
Just now... got this dude that claim that he's from Telekom and he got my contact thru the streamyx customer database.

He told me that they now provide some sort of insurance from AIG..

told me lots of things and the he explain really kinda professional...

at the very end he asks me about my credit card number.. i had it wif me but i told him i dun have it right now.....

i just wanna ask /k/.... did anyone here receive this kind of call about this service b4?? blink.gif

just scared that its a scam.... becoz

Additional info:

oohh..ya, i received a call from CIMB bank that offering AIG INSURANCE COVERAGE for many many thing....i also never concentrate to hear she are saying, cos the english.....damn bad......
i just reply..hmm...hmmm...hmmm...hmm....nearly about 15min phone talk.....and she want my credit card number rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
i thought she from CIMB, should have my card number right... shocking.gif shocking.gif
at last i say...ooohh...sorry....i need rush for meeting....call you back....... bye..bye... whistling.gif whistling.gif
codex
post Jun 11 2009, 06:01 PM

231 posts

just got this call just now, i told them to call me back in 10 minutes time because im driving and i didnt pickup back the calls from that Private Number =)
sabilfikri
post Jul 8 2009, 08:55 PM

26 posts

i just got the same call this evening, the lady said shes from AIG insurance and i have been selected for TM promotion.. at first she clarify my TM account which is absolutely 100% correct... after 15 minutes of her talking ( i kept on like 'mhmm'.. all the time) she asked for my Debit/Credit account.. and i was toooo foolish to give it away my Maybankcard Debit ATM card number ( the 16 digit number in front of the card). Only then I realised that it might be a scam or something... i tried calling the number she gave me, something like call center (1800xxxxxx) and yes, IT IS an AIG operater number.. but its already past office hours so I couldnt get through anyone. Then i called maybank just to ensure everything is ok with my account. What the maybank operator told me that this kind of thing is TOTALLY LEGAL because you are the one who gave out your information to them, thus allowing them to access to your account (They may deduct certain amount from your account) regardless of your permission, as for this case the AIG thingy is possibly true and not a scam.. BUT BEWARE! what they could possibly do is they charge your account without you even knowing it. so just to be on the safe side is to cancel the ATM Card and reapply for a new one. so for those who are unaware, be careful and dont be stupid enough to give out your card numbers, NEVER GIVE IT TO ANYONE THROUGH PHONE! just like i did.. this is a lesson for me though. hope this information helps.
choonsyen
post Aug 20 2009, 11:20 PM

i juz too s2pid to give out my numbers.. don do dat.. like sabilfikri said..
swordfishskin
post Nov 6 2009, 06:43 PM

27 posts

haisshhh..you all arr..don't jump to conclusion ... people earn their leaving through telemarketing maaa..
If you are interested to enrol, just make sure you get the things correct.. if not interested, politely excuse yourself..

The product offering might benefit you all especially the Personal Accident due to the high rise accident and snatch theft case.
Some product even cover cancer and sort like that.. You never know that some parent might by for themselves and put you as a beneficiary.

Think about it..you all online right now..see how many accident happen today.. or perhaps 1 second ago.. think again and open your mind on this.
Bottomline you can enrol and how long you want to keep it, it is up to you. It is not like other insurance which u have to pay until u r 55 yrs old..

Okay..maybe Lowyatt need to have education forum for insurance so ppl aware of important having insurance. You never know also, disaster like earth quake also cover under certain insurance.. nowadays..everywhere happen now.. recent case on ppl drowning also is part of insurance coverage.

weh...grave yard nowadays not cheap leh.. parent finish money pay ur school and electricity bills.. think again.. get covered now.
little ice
post Jan 14 2010, 10:05 AM

PROFESSIONAL TROLL
3,242 posts

i enrolled, paid a few months, everything sounds alright UNTIL i want to get the darn thing canceled.

they WON'T cancel for you unless you confirm with them by calling a few times and now i think i'll have to write in something to cancel it. i called in to cancel during NOV but they still charge me for DEC!! freakin cunning if you ask me.

if you want to apply insurance, DON'T APPLY IT VIA TELEMARKETERS!!
nuar3108
post Apr 7 2010, 06:07 PM

i also got the same call...but i haven't make any confirmation with them...they told me that i only need to pay rm35/month...

the benefit that i will get:

1. 3k max per treatment
2. if admitted, they give rm300 allowance per day
3. 300k for permanent disability
4. they will cover me worldwide
5. they even cover me if there are any nature disaster

is this true or scam?bcoz i just check with TM...they told me that they dont have any partnership with AIG...they only have partnership with ING...should i sign up to this insurance or not?

another question, i google "aig malaysia"...i found the www.aig.com.my website...when i click on the link, it forward me to http://www.chartisinsurance.com.my/Chartis...ex.jsp<---is this AIG Malaysia official website?but the number that the agent left me to call back is 1 800 88 8811 which is the same number for "CONTACT US" in this website http://www.chartisinsurance.com.my/Chartis/index.jsp
knicherschauff
post May 23 2010, 03:02 PM

35 posts

Chartis formely known as AIG. Please check at the FAQ section in that website.

check this out: http://www.malaysiainsurance.info/?p=3163
DDSFan8
post Jul 29 2010, 11:06 PM

1,278 posts

yes, memang got such thing. Chartis selling insurance through Telekom
Cryin'
post Jul 29 2010, 11:07 PM

cold call
max_cjs0101
post Jul 29 2010, 11:13 PM

Tarp hater and detector
1,368 posts

QUOTE(little ice @ Jan 14 2010, 10:05 AM)
i enrolled, paid a few months, everything sounds alright UNTIL i want to get the darn thing canceled.

they WON'T cancel for you unless you confirm with them by calling a few times and now i think i'll have to write in something to cancel it. i called in to cancel during NOV but they still charge me for DEC!! freakin cunning if you ask me.

if you want to apply insurance, DON'T APPLY IT VIA TELEMARKETERS!!
Obviously you will need to write in if you want to cancel a policy.
accitzone
post Jul 29 2010, 11:22 PM

399 posts

telemarketers.... i just askd them 1 Q, no need for them to explain..... so u need payment? if the answer is yes, then i'll reply with a No Thanks, followed with end call button.
alister88
post Jul 29 2010, 11:59 PM

1,367 posts

I got this call yesterday while i was driving.
He told me the samething as he's calling from AIG and got my info from Streamyx.
But I already not using it for a year! LOL!
I shoot him back... LOL!
akihoshi20
post Sep 9 2010, 12:26 PM

Yeah, I too, got a call from a telemarketer named Fadzil Atan claiming he's from Chartis Insurance previously known as AIG (effective 7 Dec 2009) last month.

He said that it's regarding a policy called "Identity Guard", collaboration with TMNet - it's an offer to all Streamyx users.

He claimed that TMNet has given him all my details regarding this and starts to go through my information, asking me to confirmed it. After confirming the details, he asked me for my credit card number. I told him no a few times but he kept calling. In the end, I (admit that I was stupid at the time cry.gif ) decided to give him my credit card number to get it over with. unsure.gif

He also claimed that they will send me the info to my personal email but until today, nothing.

Right after his call, I decided to contact the support number that he gave me: 1800 88 88 11 and got the Chartis Insurance support. The girl confirmed that there's a person name Fadzil Atan who is their telemarketer. Ok, not a scam. Although I was a bit shocked because when I told them about the Identity Guard policy, they told me there's no such thing. They only have snatch guard, accident guard, etc.

Anyways, I finally decided to cancel it few days ago. I called their support line again. Created a report for cancellation.
2 days later, I checked my account, they've credited another RM80 vmad.gif

How can they credit another RM80 just 18 days after the first transaction???!!!

So, I called the support line again - 3rd time! Guess what the person told me.... That Fadzil guy enrolled me twice! So, they're actually charging me on the same policy twice! And in addition to that, they've already charged me with the next payment for the 3rd month, which means another RM40! doh.gif

They mentioned that they will do a refund for the 2nd enrollment and will proceed to cancel the 1st enrollment. An officer will call me after 5 working days to confirm my cancellation. If no, I'll have to call back. Or if I don't call, the cancellation will also proceed... which I doubt so.

Seriously.. next time, call me rude or not, I'll just slam down the phone.

This post has been edited by akihoshi20: Sep 9 2010, 12:27 PM
poohda
post Jul 7 2011, 01:20 PM

QUOTE(nuar3108 @ Apr 7 2010, 06:07 PM)
i also got the same call...but i haven't make any confirmation with them...they told me that i only need to pay rm35/month...

the benefit that i will get:

1. 3k max per treatment
2. if admitted, they give rm300 allowance per day
3. 300k for permanent disability
4. they will cover me worldwide
5. they even cover me if there are any nature disaster

is this true or scam?bcoz i just check with TM...they told me that they dont have any partnership with AIG...they only have partnership with ING...should i sign up to this insurance or not?

another question, i google "aig malaysia"...i found the www.aig.com.my website...when i click on the link, it forward me to http://www.chartisinsurance.com.my/Chartis...ex.jsp<---is this AIG Malaysia official website?but the number that the agent left me to call back is 1 800 88 8811 which is the same number for "CONTACT US" in this website http://www.chartisinsurance.com.my/Chartis/index.jsp
hi, i just got call from unknown number said the same thing.
she said she will email me the document about the insurance...i did not promise anything yet..
so it' not true ehh...?
kingofrave89
post Jul 7 2011, 01:51 PM

191 posts

I am a former telemarketer that doing this thing last time based at VADS plaza, Taman Tun. Its actually not AIG coz now AIG change name to Chartis. and yes, we call the potential customer using streamyx database as we partnership with tm.
thesoothsayer
post Oct 21 2011, 04:06 PM

954 posts

Got a call as well yesterday or the day before.

Told me about the free 6-month insurance for using Streamyx for 2 years. Then he started talking a lot. Started telling me about the cheap RM2+/day plan. He just switched between the benefits of the free insurance to the RM2+/day plan without clear explanation.

When I asked for more info (eg. website or pamphlet) he said can't give me first. They will send it with the next TM bill AFTER I register. Then I said if can't read how to think about it? He said one time call only. So, I told him to forget about it. Do NOT register my name. Told him a few times. Now I need to make sure they don't simply charge on my next bill.

Heard from my friend that they will charge you a large penalty if you register and cancel it.

Sounds like a desperate scam. I'm planning to write to the newspaper and TM about giving out our info to other companies to perform something so opaque (i.e. consumers can't read or think about it before agreeing).
jonn zee
post Oct 21 2011, 04:12 PM

602 posts

ur details being sold to 3rd party. all telesales marketers
V12Kompressor
post Oct 21 2011, 04:39 PM

No carrots here
2,141 posts

hello,

insurance agents dont ask for credit card number or cust details thru phone one aah. Coz they need your signature on the policy/payment form one.
miraclejustin
post Nov 11 2011, 04:52 PM

287 posts

my gf just received their call few minutes ago...private number. Agent from chartis claim that they get the number from telekom/tmnut.

She explain that my gf were among the lucky one that win free 6 month reward protection insurance from chartis. However u can continues the insurance with RM35 per month.

My gf rejected it cause she already bough insurance few month ago.
The agent asks for home address so she can send letter regard the 6 month free rewards. And then she ask for maybank ATM card number because the pampasan for the free 6 month protection will be go through that maybank.

After that, she inform that my gf maybank account will be auto deduce RM35 every months. Ironically my gf already said she dun wan to apply for it. My gf repeat few time that she dun want it, and the agent just pretend she didn;t listen and closed the line.

The agent trick my gf by using the free 6 months protection to bait for maybank card number.

They are very smart to pick the time, cause the bank is closed by now, u can;t even go to the bank to cancel the card. That the story, hope everyone be aware of it and never give your personal information through phone.
hansonmmm
post Mar 15 2012, 09:32 AM

Yesterday I received the same call, let him talk first. They well train to attract me. at first told me i receive 200 point or TM reward when received this call and get free Insurance coverage for few months. then when he said another awards is insurance for just rm35 so i said not interested for few times before end the call.
qiyi
post Mar 17 2012, 02:30 AM

148 posts

Received a (No Number) call at 6.24pm (after office hour) yesterday. hmm.gif
Claimed from TM partner.
Will tell you're among the "Lucky/Selected/Chosen/Premium/Priviledged One"
They will ask for your Personal Information to clarify. IC, Address, Name etc. sweat.gif Lastly will ask for your CREDIT CARD number. shakehead.gif
Will tell you the whole story as above.

0.0255sec    0.53    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 06:47 AM