Period Cramps, Too painful to tahan

TSMuskaan
post Mar 27 2009, 02:42 AM, updated 17y ago

23 posts

I have suffered this pain since puberty...sometimes i get wif fever...the pain starts a few days b4 the cycle...n the 1st day is the worst...sometimes feel like fainting...any remedies ???
myremi
post Mar 27 2009, 07:32 AM

1,846 posts

I take Evening Primrose Oil. Natural remedy. I do try to take it daily and during the period pain period, I sometimes take 2 instead of one. Then the pain will lessen but the bloating feeling may still be there.

Cheap bottles will do provided it's from a reliable source. I think the cheapest in the market is either from 21st Century or Cosway. These were from my student days. It was good enough and no side effects.

Plus, my skin glowed and my hair shinier. smile.gif
SUSPerseus
post Mar 27 2009, 09:11 AM

198 posts

Try to see a doctor, make sure it's not another underlying symptom such as endometriosis.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Endometriosis

King83
post Mar 27 2009, 09:59 AM

I'm the guy your mother warned you about
5,237 posts

heard from my mom ginger chicken soup with extra ginger helps...
no, not for me..... for my previous ex cos she had this problem.
chibi_tenko
post Mar 27 2009, 11:24 AM

I see. I pinch. I squeeze
1,250 posts

Period cramps are different for every girl - some of us experience painful/unbearable pain, some experience constant minor cramps that makes us uncomfortable for days before/after period.

One thing tho - girls, don't simply take 2-3 tablets of Panadol everytime there's a cramp. Those are not candies that can be taken on whim. I myself use a towel soak in hot water (then squeezed<--for lack of other words-- the towel dry) and lay it on my stomach while lying down.

It helps a bit for me
Syd G
post Mar 27 2009, 11:29 AM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

I take Ponstan. Cheap and works like magic.
xavi5567
post Mar 27 2009, 11:34 AM

\(●'Å'●)/
3,348 posts

QUOTE(Syd G @ Mar 27 2009, 11:29 AM)
ponstan is actually jus pain killer.. sure it work like magic becos it cut off ur pain nerve path.. hence u dont feel or forget bout the pain..
these kind of pain may be lessen by preparing urself for the period.. cook urself some "pak chen, and hong zao" which is a chinese traditional remedies for period pain.. go to chinese medicine shop ask whether got these "pak chen and hong zao" u can also ask the shop owner regarding how to cook it..
Kain_Sicilian
post Mar 27 2009, 11:38 AM

Not So Friendly
844 posts

QUOTE(Syd G @ Mar 27 2009, 11:29 AM)
Ponstan is quite commanly used for acute period pain. It stops the pain relatively quickly but should not be used on a long term basis.. You should not take it if you have gastric problems. EPO (Evening Primrose Oil) works from person to person. I guess there's no harm in trying EPO because there have been many successful cases. However you must have the committment to take it on a daily basis otherwise it's very likely that it will not work. EPO is quite safe to take, but there are some girls who do complain that they put on some weight ever since they started on EPO.
myremi
post Mar 27 2009, 12:16 PM

1,846 posts

I used to take Ponstan but then I have another side effect : gas strict and stomach pains, rather than pain from the womb. That's why I switch to Evening Primpose Oil (EPO).

Any painkiller in the market will cause your stomach to bleed. And blood clots flying around in my body is something that I really really want to reduce. One can argue that menses also may yield blood clots but that's something I can't stop. Taking painkillers I can.

The Ginger soup does help because Ginger will heat up the body. Concept of hot food and cold food (chinese medicine thinking). It's a temporary relief but it does work. Just need to prepare a lot of it. Or, you can just put the ginger with hot water and drink it (home-made ginger tea). You can sweeten it with honey I guess.

This post has been edited by myremi: Mar 27 2009, 12:16 PM
Kain_Sicilian
post Mar 27 2009, 02:09 PM

Not So Friendly
844 posts

QUOTE(myremi @ Mar 27 2009, 12:16 PM)
Any painkiller in the market will cause your stomach to bleed. And blood clots flying around in my body is something that I really really want to reduce. One can argue that menses also may yield blood clots but that's something I can't stop. Taking painkillers I can.
There are painkillers that do not cause stomach bleeds, but they are not applicable here, hence I will not eloborate much.

Painkillers, such as NSAIDs (Non-Steroidal Anti Inflamatory Drugs) will not usually cause stomach bleeds unless you already have a pre-existing condition (such as gastric) or you've been taking it on a long term basis or an overdose or taking other medications that would increase the risks of bleeding (such as warfarin). However, gastric pains is common and if one does experience this side-effect, he/she should stop taking this medication and seek professional help.

By saying "blood clots flying around in my body" I assume you mean an embolism caused by blood clots which is secondary to gastro-intestinal bleeding? Correct me if I'm wrong but this is the first time I've heard of such a complication arising from a GI-bleed. Doctors who hang out here, any comments?
myremi
post Mar 27 2009, 02:56 PM

1,846 posts

Hmm...I'm probably generalizing a bit too much but having read up about how blood clots can cause problems in a female womb due to menses, I'm assuming that similar situations can happen in the stomach. Probably a bad assumption tbh.

Now more research to do.
Syd G
post Mar 27 2009, 05:17 PM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

You guys should read more abt how NSAIDs work.

In the mean time, one sure way of not hving period pain is to get ur uterus removed wink.gif
bubb13s
post Mar 27 2009, 05:18 PM

339 posts

some say dun drink cold water and you will notice that the period pain is a lot lessened. personally...i try not to take so much cold drinks 1 week before the period la. thats if i remember. but i've been taking "bak foong yuen" from Eu Yan Sang for a few mths ledi....seems to help abit in the cramping.

you can give it a try. just an option if u would wanna reduce the intake of pain killers.

i read online on period cramps...it says that to take some pain killers a few days before the period starts. supposed to help reduce the pain apparently.
chibi_tenko
post Mar 27 2009, 05:53 PM

1,250 posts

Wow, if take Ponstan for period cramps means the pain is quite serious already. I've experience very bad pain but not extreme pain though.

Sometimes it's frustrating when guy friends tease us girls for taking MC for period cramps. They just don't know the pain we go through sometimes. sweat.gif
Tatsumaki
post Mar 27 2009, 06:05 PM

152 posts

QUOTE(chibi_tenko @ Mar 27 2009, 05:53 PM)
Sometimes it's frustrating when guy friends tease us girls for taking MC for period cramps. They just don't know the pain we go through sometimes. sweat.gif
You're correct. Men will not understand the pain that women go through when they menstruate or during childbirth. Having said that for insensitive guys like that, beckon them over. Ask them to come really close because you would like to show them something. As they approach with their guard down, knee them in the 'nads - HARD and say the pain women go through is worse than that.

While he's gasping for air probably uttering a silent scream - kick one more time for good measure.
myremi
post Mar 27 2009, 06:26 PM

1,846 posts

QUOTE(Syd G @ Mar 27 2009, 05:17 PM)
You guys should read more abt how NSAIDs work.

In the mean time, one sure way of not hving period pain is to get ur uterus removed wink.gif
A hysterectomy will open up another world of discomfit altogether. smile.gif

Added on March 27, 2009, 6:27 pm
QUOTE(Tatsumaki @ Mar 27 2009, 06:05 PM)
You're correct. Men will not understand the pain that women go through when they menstruate or during childbirth. Having said that for insensitive guys like that, beckon them over. Ask them to come really close because you would like to show them something. As they approach with their guard down, knee them in the 'nads - HARD and say the pain women go through is worse than that.

While he's gasping for air probably uttering a silent scream - kick one more time for good measure.
The funny thing about men is that they laff at many things that females go through.

But ask them to pick up a tampon or a sanitary pad place in front of them and they all quiet down completely. It's like a taboo thing. Haha!

This post has been edited by myremi: Mar 27 2009, 06:27 PM
chibi_tenko
post Mar 27 2009, 06:37 PM

1,250 posts

QUOTE(Tatsumaki @ Mar 27 2009, 06:05 PM)

laugh.gif Nice one
TSMuskaan
post Mar 27 2009, 06:44 PM

23 posts

i have been taking epo for the past 10 years...slightly better but still the pain is terrible...everytime feel like gonna faint n have to take mc...have to keep relying on pain killers...its affecting my daily life

myremi
post Mar 27 2009, 06:51 PM

1,846 posts

You know, there is one other cure. This was recommended by my 60+ year old auntie. She said to go play sports or exercise more. Your pain will be a lot less.
april0493
post Mar 27 2009, 08:21 PM

34 posts

i do sports so i never had period pain haha xD

0.0182sec    1.08    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 09:13 PM