705 posts

Windows 7

What's New?

What's Coming Windows 7

Windows 7 Beta Customer Preview Program

Engineering Windows 7

Windows 7 Team Blog

Windows 7 Themes, Desktop Backgrounds, Desktop Gadgets and Sideshow Gadgets - Official

News:

Windows 7 RC1 Wallpapers

Reports: Windows 7 has reached build 7079 x32 & x64 9 April 2009

Windows 7: BumpTop you desktop 9 April 2009

Windows 7 Latest: Build 7077 Proceed to Post #3 for more Screenshot from me.

"Microsoft Announces Single-Version Windows 7"

Wiki
Windows 7
Features new to Windows 7
Development of Windows 7

Windows 7 Versions?
Link 1
Wiki

Windows 7 coming soon?
Link 1
Link 2

Windows 7 version lineup revealed: Prepare for disappointment - Any comments on it?

Windows 7 Comparison Chart

What Windows 7 might have looked like

Windows 7 RC download page goes up early, coming in May.

Windows 7 Build 7068 Wallpapers & Extra

This post has been edited by deepcool0922: Apr 26 2009, 04:22 PM
samurai1337
post Mar 28 2009, 09:28 AM

@_@
11,594 posts

Thread pinned for reference purpose
TSdeepcool0922
post Mar 30 2009, 08:28 AM

705 posts

Experiences on Windows 7 Build 7068

More!

Experiences on Windows 7 Build 7077

Windows 7 7068/7077 Installation:

C drive: Vista os

We can install to D drive: Windows 7 os

So we can boot between this two os!

Windows 7!

Wallpaper

This post has been edited by deepcool0922: Apr 9 2009, 02:22 PM
ericmaxman
post Mar 30 2009, 08:37 AM

-
7,951 posts

Erm, how come yours is Build 7068? Mine is Build 7000.

Have they fixed any bugs in 7068?
TSdeepcool0922
post Mar 30 2009, 08:41 AM

705 posts

QUOTE(ericmaxman @ Mar 30 2009, 08:37 AM)
Erm, how come yours is Build 7068? Mine is Build 7000.

Have they fixed any bugs in 7068?
Send Feedbak on top right is removed. You can subscript Microsoft TechNet. Pay yearly. Then you can download whatever you want.
ericmaxman
post Mar 30 2009, 12:27 PM

-
7,951 posts

Ahh..In that case, I'll stick back to 7k. I need that "send Feedback" thingy..
kuntawakaw
post Apr 4 2009, 12:20 AM

imma tag fag!
3,795 posts

even in 7000, the send feedback can be remove...go google..
JTKlover
post Apr 5 2009, 02:00 AM

89 posts

A Silly Question here... How bout if microsoft shut down the BETA mode? we need to pay it?
TSdeepcool0922
post Apr 5 2009, 02:21 AM

705 posts

QUOTE(JTKlover @ Apr 5 2009, 02:00 AM)
A Silly Question here... How bout if microsoft shut down the BETA mode? we need to pay it?
no need shut down. there is a period for beta. then we have to purchase a final copy of 7 and clean install.

Added on April 7, 2009, 8:22 pmSingle Version Windows 7......good......but don't know how they pricing....

This post has been edited by deepcool0922: Apr 7 2009, 08:22 PM
FarCry3r
post Apr 9 2009, 02:27 PM

Where did my ♥ go?
6,543 posts

QUOTE(deepcool0922 @ Mar 30 2009, 08:41 AM)
Send Feedbak on top right is removed. You can subscript Microsoft TechNet. Pay yearly. Then you can download whatever you want.
Dude, just admit that you just download the leaked 7068. There's no such thing as 7068 downloads on TechNet subscription download page. I have a subscription and there's nothing 7068 in it.
TSdeepcool0922
post Apr 9 2009, 02:35 PM

705 posts

QUOTE(FarCry3r @ Apr 9 2009, 02:27 PM)
Dude, just admit that you just download the leaked 7068. There's no such thing as 7068 downloads on TechNet subscription download page. I have a subscription and there's nothing 7068 in it.
You have subscription? Then how much you had paid? This pay for yearly. How much did you paid?
FarCry3r
post Apr 9 2009, 06:55 PM

Where did my ♥ go?
6,543 posts

QUOTE(deepcool0922 @ Apr 9 2009, 02:35 PM)
You have subscription? Then how much you had paid? This pay for yearly. How much did you paid?
I got it for free for one year. I'm going to pay next year after the subscription period is over.
TSdeepcool0922
post Apr 9 2009, 07:25 PM

705 posts

QUOTE(FarCry3r @ Apr 9 2009, 06:55 PM)
I got it for free for one year. I'm going to pay next year after the subscription period is over.
but they dint free you a benefit access number
FarCry3r
post Apr 9 2009, 07:55 PM

Where did my ♥ go?
6,543 posts

QUOTE(deepcool0922 @ Apr 9 2009, 07:25 PM)
What benefit access number? I can get all kind of Microsoft stuffs including Office and Servers (except Visual Studio as it's part of MSDN subscription) but not any other build than Windows 7 build 7000. The only other builds I can get from Windows Ecosystem program is checked & unstaged builds of 6801 and 7000.
mervinr
post Apr 9 2009, 09:58 PM

73 posts

QUOTE(deepcool0922 @ Apr 9 2009, 07:25 PM)
Please visit me at Microsoft Malaysia's office and show me how you could download builds of Windows 7 from Microsoft TechNet apart from build 7000. You can send me a video also of you doing this if it is more convenient.

If you can show me this, I will GIVE you a FREE original copy of Windows 7 Ultimate (32-bit or 64-bit your choice) when Windows 7 is officially released.

I am serious.
TSdeepcool0922
post Apr 9 2009, 10:05 PM

705 posts

QUOTE(mervinr @ Apr 9 2009, 09:58 PM)
Please visit me at Microsoft Malaysia's office and show me how you could download builds of Windows 7 from Microsoft TechNet apart from build 7000. You can send me a video also of you doing this if it is more convenient.

If you can show me this, I will GIVE you a FREE original copy of Windows 7 Ultimate (32-bit or 64-bit your choice) when Windows 7 is officially released.

I am serious.
You don't know i having fun here? Only Windows 7 Build 7000 from Microsoft. Others build is leaked from some one from Windows 7 Teaam.

April Fool Microsoft Announces Single-Version Windows 7 and extension version April fool lol

This post has been edited by deepcool0922: Apr 9 2009, 10:07 PM
arren86
post Apr 10 2009, 01:19 AM

189 posts

Very funny...
FarCry3r
post Apr 10 2009, 07:41 AM

Where did my ♥ go?
6,543 posts

QUOTE(deepcool0922 @ Apr 9 2009, 10:05 PM)
You don't know i having fun here? Only Windows 7 Build 7000 from Microsoft. Others build is leaked from some one from Windows 7 Teaam.

April Fool Microsoft Announces Single-Version Windows 7 and extension version April fool lol
That is certainly not something you should make fun of since all of us subscriber didn't get any other builds than 7000 and we're pissed off.

Added on April 10, 2009, 7:43 am
QUOTE(mervinr @ Apr 9 2009, 09:58 PM)

I am serious.
Chill mervin, I was about to lose it too, but, chill out sweat.gif

This post has been edited by FarCry3r: Apr 10 2009, 07:43 AM
TSdeepcool0922
post Apr 10 2009, 11:38 AM

705 posts

QUOTE(FarCry3r @ Apr 10 2009, 07:41 AM)
That is certainly not something you should make fun of since all of us subscriber didn't get any other builds than 7000 and we're pissed off.

Added on April 10, 2009, 7:43 am
Chill mervin, I was about to lose it too, but, chill out sweat.gif
=.=' they havnt finish yet mah the leaked is from some one in windows 7 team. but the rc will realease to subscriber 1st. i think tonight bah. i heard is on 10 april 2009. that means in Malaysia time is After 10th April 2009 11:59pm. The leaked is the windows 7 team when they reach the target bar, then will compile the version. I think 7077 not is RC.

This post has been edited by deepcool0922: Apr 10 2009, 11:47 AM
FarCry3r
post Apr 10 2009, 11:58 AM

Where did my ♥ go?
6,543 posts

QUOTE(deepcool0922 @ Apr 10 2009, 11:38 AM)
=.=' they havnt finish yet mah the leaked is from some one in windows 7 team. but the rc will realease to subscriber 1st. i think tonight bah. i heard is on 10 april 2009. that means in Malaysia time is After 10th April 2009 11:59pm. The leaked is the windows 7 team when they reach the target bar, then will compile the version. I think 7077 not is RC.
I can't properly comprehend your post. Would you mind reconstructing your sentences in clearer English?
TSdeepcool0922
post Apr 10 2009, 12:15 PM

705 posts

Is the the real RC or RC 1 or should we wait till 7078 7079 0r 7100?

Source: http://news.softpedia.com/news/Windo...9-109019.shtml

With Windows 7 evolving toward the Release Candidate milestone, Microsoft remains mute on the platform's post-Beta development process, making no attempt to clarify the chatter around the progress done with the pre-RC builds of the operating system. Information leaked in the wild now indicates that Windows 7 is up to Build 7079. At the same time, there is also talk of Windows 7 Build 7105 having already been compiled over in Redmond. The software giant offered absolutely no confirmation related to Windows 7 releases from the RC branch following the availability of Beta Build 7000 on January 10, 2009.

Windows 7 Build 7079 has 6.1.7079.0.090407-1902 as the complete build string according to Wzor. The version number reveals that the code for the milestone was wrapped up on April 7, 2009, just a couple of day ago, and only a few days after Windows 7 Build 7077, which has already been leaked in the wild and made available for download via torrent trackers. At the same time, Microsoft is reportedly past Build 7078.0.090406-1758 with Windows 7, compiled on April 6, 2009.

While offering information on how to bypass the upgrade block of Beta and pre-RC builds of Windows 7 from being transitioned to full-Release Candidate, Microsoft mentioned Build 7100 of the next iteration of the Windows client. It is uncertain at this point in time, whether Windows 7 RC will in fact be Build 7100, but reports indicate that Build 7077 is the official RC-Escrow. Escrow is a label used in the development process to signal the fact that any code changes have been frozen, and that the focus has moved on confirming that fixes for reported bugs are in place, and that no regression issues have been created with the latest changes. Microsoft was expected to offer the RC-Escrow of Windows 7 in April, with the full-RC planned for May 2009.

But at the same time, the software giant apparently also compiled Windows 7 Build 6.1.7105.0.winmain.090404-1235 on April 4, 2009. Although the Build number is reported as real, I can confirm that the alleged Builds labeled 7105 leaked in the wild are fake at this point in time. The latest development milestone of Windows 7 that has indeed made it to BitTorrent websites is Build 7077.

Even if Build 7100 ends up being the fully fledged RC of Windows 7, fact is that there is nothing stopping Microsoft from compiling builds from the RTM branch, even ahead of delivering the release Candidate to the public. The same was the case with Windows 7 Beta. The Redmond company had started on the RC-branch in December 2008, approximately a month before Windows 7 Beta Build 7000 was in fact available for download as a public release.
mervinr
post Apr 10 2009, 03:41 PM

73 posts

QUOTE(deepcool0922 @ Apr 9 2009, 10:05 PM)

No, I didn't know. Your posts have no hint that it is a joke. Even if it is, you should realise that many people depend on forums (especially forums like these) as reliable sources of information. As Farcryer pointed out, people might misunderstand and think that not all TechNet subscribers are treated equally or fairly and that levels of access depend on how much you pay which is totally untrue.

I'm not upset, I just wanted to get to the correct facts. smile.gif

Due to strict security restrictions, I can't reveal a lot of information regarding Win 7 builds or the release dates. But I would like to point out one important fact. Builds are a normal process of software development. A build might be created due to the inclusion of a new feature or to fix a bug in an existing feature. In adding features and fixing bugs, those same features and bug fixes might conflict with another feature or fix. So a following build might be just to fix that issue.

For a product like Windows 7, there are several teams working on different areas & features. Whatever they create has to be consolidated and cross-checked to ensure compatibility and progress towards the overall product design goals. So, numerous builds can be created and as the article pointed out (please take note that this does not mean I'm verifying or confirming that what the article says is true) this does not mean builds are not created anymore even after a version is ready for release. Read the early posts in the Win 7 Engineering blog for a view of how the teams are organized.

So for us end users, what does this all mean. It means that having the latest build (whether its even true is also debatable) does not mean you have access to all the features or that all the features work properly or that the build itself is stable. Which is why Microsoft does not release interim builds but Beta -> RC -> RTM -> GA. With RTM already being a stable, full-featured release. We also have to bear in mind that Beta & RC builds are 'works in progress', so they should never be used on production machines or machines where loss of data can have negative consequences.

So we can be content with Beta (build 7000) and then RC (which will require a clean install anyways). Be patient guys...RC is coming soon.... icon_idea.gif
TSdeepcool0922
post Apr 10 2009, 03:57 PM

705 posts

yup RC coming soon. Wish tonight... icon_idea.gif
mervinr
post Apr 13 2009, 07:48 PM

73 posts

A word of advise directly from the Windows 7 Engineering Team (extracted from their latest blog posting):

One other related caution is INSTALL ONLY OFFICIALLY RELEASED BUILDS FROM MICROSOFT. It will always be tempting to get the build with the “mod” already done but you really never know what else has been done to the build. There’s a thrill in getting the latest, we know, but that also comes with risks that can’t even be quantified. For the RC we will work to release a hash or some other way to validate the build, but the best way is to always download directly from Microsoft.
eclectice
post Apr 29 2009, 10:37 AM

2,734 posts

More news (maybe it has been posted here so a reprise):
Review: Windows 7 RC1 adds speed, UI improvements -- and promises more to come...

Microsoft has made an impressive OS even more so with a number of useful tweaks. But Windows XP Mode is still in the wings.

http://www.computerworld.com/action/articl...ticleId=9132211
[+]
post May 5 2009, 07:22 AM

1,939 posts

Hey I see the MSW7 site the touch quite awesome leh,
need special touch screen monitor?
SpIcYjOe
post May 5 2009, 01:15 PM

Lookie at my many staries...
1,953 posts

Exclusive: Windows 7 RC download goes live

The wait is over folks, Microsoft has published the download page for the Windows 7 RC. As we noted earlier, the download was scheduled to launch tomorrow and was to be available worldwide. Coming straight from the download page, here are Microsoft's notes for the release candidate:

* You don't need to rush to get the RC. The RC will be available at least through July 2009 and we're not limiting the number of product keys, so you have plenty of time.
* Watch the calendar. The RC will expire on June 1, 2010. Starting on March 1, 2010, your PC will begin shutting down every two hours. Windows will notify you two weeks before the bi-hourly shutdowns start. To avoid interruption, you'll need to install a non-expired version of Windows before March 1, 2010. You'll also need to install the programs and data that you want to use. (Learn more about installing Windows.)
* Protect your PC and data. Be sure to back up your data and please don't test the RC on your primary home or business PC.
* Tech details/updates: Before installing the RC, please read the Release Notes and Things to Know for important information about the release.
* Keep up with the news. You can keep up with general technical information and news by following the team blog. And, you can get non-technical news, tips, and offers by subscribing to the monthly Exploring Windows newsletter.
* Keep your PC updated: Be sure to turn on automatic updates in Windows Update in case we publish updates for the RC.
* Installation: You can install the Windows 7 RC on a PC running Windows Vista without backing up the PC—but we encourage you to make a backup for safe keeping. If you're running Windows XP or the Windows 7 Beta, you'll need to backup your data, then do a clean installation of the RC, then reinstall your applications and restore your data. If you need to do a backup, please see How to back up your PC for more details and a suggestion for how to backup a PC running Windows 7 Beta or Windows Vista.

So without further a-do folks, click here to go to Microsoft's download center and download the Windows 7 RC. Microsoft has also launched the Technet download which you can find here. On a side note, it appears as if you will be issued a new product key for the RC. It is most likely going to give you the extended time for using the RC if you have downloaded from another source. Installation instructions can be found here.

If you're wondering what has changed from the beta release to the RC, click here to read our guide. Is your system up-to-par for Windows 7? Microsoft has confirmed new system requirements for Windows 7, click here for more information.

For info here: http://www.neowin.net/news/main/09/05/05/e...nload-goes-live
athlonia
post May 13 2009, 01:38 PM

22 posts

thanks for the info guys... i have seen the OS live and the performance is quite promising. however, i am not quite confident to say that Windows 7 RC will not have the usual windows-related issues like poor memory management, hangs and more. yet i am looking forward to see the various connectivity options available and better functionalities of its windows media center module (is it a module?). I would love easier setups of video (including supports for VIDEO_TS folder videos) and better browsing experience of other media content.
FarCry3r
post May 14 2009, 02:01 AM

Where did my ♥ go?
6,543 posts

QUOTE(athlonia @ May 13 2009, 01:38 PM)
thanks for the info guys... i have seen the OS live and the performance is quite promising. however, i am not quite confident to say that Windows 7 RC will not have the usual windows-related issues like poor memory management, hangs and more. yet i am looking forward to see the various connectivity options available and better functionalities of its windows media center module (is it a module?). I would love easier setups of video (including supports for VIDEO_TS folder videos) and better browsing experience of other media content.
Poor memory management? Windows 7 (and Windows Vista, respectively) have good memory management, if your memory leaked, it's not Windows 7 (or Windows Vista) fault, it's the poorly coded applications.
cybpsych
post Jun 3 2009, 07:47 AM

---------------------
65,334 posts

just an update:

Microsoft said Tuesday that Windows 7 code will be finalized and sent out to manufacturing (RTM) in the second half of July.

The OS will then be made generally available October 22.
samurai1337
post Jun 3 2009, 11:21 AM

@_@
11,594 posts

More details here:
http://www.neowin.net/news/main/09/06/02/m...be-october-22nd
MYN92
post Jun 24 2009, 10:24 PM

178 posts

want ask...W7 is really good than vista?
SpIcYjOe
post Jun 25 2009, 10:53 PM

Lookie at my many staries...
1,953 posts

Hey guys, i got news about windows 7 upgrade option, home premium pre order upgrade only cost USD 49.90... u think as me a vista home premium user should upgrade?
tech3910
post Jun 26 2009, 02:02 AM

Anonymous
5,644 posts

windows 7 final prising

http://www.pcgameshardware.com/aid,688325/...-revealed/News/
leosia
post Jun 26 2009, 01:01 PM

259 posts

how come there is a popup that says my win7 rc will expire on 30 june i.e. only a few days to go???
FarCry3r
post Jun 26 2009, 02:25 PM

Where did my ♥ go?
6,543 posts

QUOTE(leosia @ Jun 26 2009, 01:01 PM)
how come there is a popup that says my win7 rc will expire on 30 june i.e. only a few days to go???
Are you SURE you have installed RC and not Beta or pre-RC?
SurFerZ
post Jun 27 2009, 02:47 AM

438 posts

QUOTE(FarCry3r @ Jun 26 2009, 02:25 PM)
Are you SURE you have installed RC and not Beta or pre-RC?
Actually i wanna know how do can i know that my version of windows is RC or not?the only thing i know is that at the bottom right hand corner of my screen it stated "Evaluation version,Build 7201"..maybe u could relieve me on this? icon_question.gif
afifdaud
post Jun 28 2009, 05:49 PM

so whats new about windows 7?i've already have vista..should i change my os to w7?i need your help guys.. blush.gif
FarCry3r
post Jun 29 2009, 07:30 AM

Where did my ♥ go?
6,543 posts

QUOTE(SurFerZ @ Jun 27 2009, 02:47 AM)
Actually i wanna know how do can i know that my version of windows is RC or not?the only thing i know is that at the bottom right hand corner of my screen it stated "Evaluation version,Build 7201"..maybe u could relieve me on this? icon_question.gif
7201 should be post-RC, but using unofficial builds will get you different kind of probblems. Just stick to official RC build 7100.
xemse89
post Jun 29 2009, 06:34 PM

LIFE IS Go0oD
1,357 posts

QUOTE(tech3910 @ Jun 26 2009, 02:02 AM)
omg...so expensive.....
mervinr
post Jul 2 2009, 10:09 AM

73 posts

QUOTE(xemse89 @ Jun 29 2009, 06:34 PM)
omg...so expensive.....
It doesn't help that our Malaysian Ringgit has fallen in value in relation to the US Dollar...

Unrelated info: Packaging for Windows 7 looks like this = Windows 7 Packaging

This post has been edited by mervinr: Jul 2 2009, 10:14 AM
FarCry3r
post Jul 2 2009, 12:47 PM

Where did my ♥ go?
6,543 posts

QUOTE(mervinr @ Jul 2 2009, 10:09 AM)
Unrelated info: Packaging for Windows 7 looks like this = Windows 7 Packaging
Thanks mervinr for the packaging info notworthy.gif
MSWindowsOS
post Jul 3 2009, 04:21 AM

Microsoft Activates Windows 7 Beta Kill Switch
Windows 7 Activation “trick” by JovoCop
Touch in Windows 7 : Just for show?
Pre-RTM activation product keys reportedly no longer working
Windows 7 Home Premium could have family licensing
Windows 7 Build 7266 – A new build in the RTM branch
The fake Windows 7 Build 7279 wallpapers

This are the latest news about Windows 7 for June 2nd
enemyofgod
post Jul 3 2009, 12:51 PM

Blu-Ray™ Geek
1,431 posts

Today's news..

http://www.techspot.com/news/35222-microso...e-programs.html
SUSAzlan96
post Jul 5 2009, 07:29 PM

310 posts

WZor confirms that Windows 7 Build 7300 and Windows 8 Pre-Alpha is FAKE

http://www.techinvaders.com/wzor-confirms-...-alpha-is-fake/

Added on July 6, 2009, 6:58 pmWindows 7 RTM build to be revealed in Poland

http://www.pcadvisor.co.uk/news/index.cfm?newsid=118588

This post has been edited by Azlan96: Jul 6 2009, 06:58 PM
defaultname365
post Jul 8 2009, 02:48 AM

Windows® 8.1 | Xbox 360™ | PlayStation® 4
1,098 posts

Windows 8... biggrin.gif

OMG... the things they have on the internet these days
AsuKi
post Jul 12 2009, 01:56 PM

♥C.S.I♥
1,144 posts

QUOTE(Azlan96 @ Jul 5 2009, 07:29 PM)
WZor confirms that Windows 7 Build 7300 and Windows 8 Pre-Alpha is FAKE

http://www.techinvaders.com/wzor-confirms-...-alpha-is-fake/

Added on July 6, 2009, 6:58 pmWindows 7 RTM build to be revealed in Poland

http://www.pcadvisor.co.uk/news/index.cfm?newsid=118588
it true W 8 is fake? ah i heard it true rclxub.gif
SUSAzlan96
post Jul 23 2009, 06:59 PM

310 posts

Windows 7 Has RTM'ed Officialy

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1105903
Royland
post Jul 28 2009, 09:20 PM

32 posts

YES, i just read from newspaper that its confirm launch on 22 OCT, lets hope the price will be more reasonable and with more advanced touch screen function included (reiew version still undergoing improvement and final touch up i guess).
FarCry3r
post Jul 29 2009, 06:55 AM

Where did my ♥ go?
6,543 posts

QUOTE(Royland @ Jul 28 2009, 09:20 PM)
YES, i just read from newspaper that its confirm launch on 22 OCT, lets hope the price will be more reasonable and with more advanced touch screen function included (reiew version still undergoing improvement and final touch up i guess).
Touch functionality are built into Windows 7, it's up to the software developers to take up the SDK and implement it in their softwares. Don't go blaming Microsoft if <INSERT_YOUR_FAVORITE_APP> doesn't support advanced touch functionality eh? tongue.gif
SUSAzlan96
post Jul 30 2009, 07:40 PM

310 posts

QUOTE(FarCry3r @ Jul 29 2009, 06:55 AM)
Touch functionality are built into Windows 7, it's up to the software developers to take up the SDK and implement it in their softwares. Don't go blaming Microsoft if <INSERT_YOUR_FAVORITE_APP> doesn't support advanced touch functionality eh? tongue.gif
but you need to have a touch screen PC like HP TouchSmart to use that function right?
JusticeDeserves
post Aug 29 2009, 10:11 PM

1,914 posts

This page needs to be updated. I mean the first post. If possible, use this image to replace the beta fish.

dont forget the center tags.
msn83235502
post Aug 31 2009, 03:26 AM

ผู้นิยม
2,862 posts

@deepcool0922, sorry if my question is too noob. but how u get Google beside ur start button.
JusticeDeserves
post Sep 2 2009, 07:04 AM

1,914 posts

The Device Experience in Windows 7 - UPDATED
http://windowsteamblog.com/blogs/windows7/...-7-updated.aspx
enemyofgod
post Sep 10 2009, 08:32 AM

Blu-Ray™ Geek
1,431 posts

God d**n expensive. MYS should look at the price cut though..
eastwest
post Sep 15 2009, 09:56 AM

1,608 posts

Just want to know...GA stands for what? notworthy.gif
Beta -> RC -> RTM -> GA
FarCry3r
post Sep 15 2009, 09:58 AM

Where did my ♥ go?
6,543 posts

QUOTE(eastwest @ Sep 15 2009, 09:56 AM)
Just want to know...GA stands for what?  notworthy.gif
Beta -> RC -> RTM -> GA
General Availability. It's when you get to buy Windows 7 at retailers.
blacktubi
post Sep 15 2009, 10:46 AM

-
8,417 posts

Anyone know that windows 7 build 7600 RTM is official or not?
eastwest
post Sep 15 2009, 12:10 PM

1,608 posts

QUOTE(FarCry3r @ Sep 15 2009, 09:58 AM)
General Availability. It's when you get to buy Windows 7 at retailers.
Ok, thanks... rtm means for the oem system? btw, when will retailer start selling windows 7?
FarCry3r
post Sep 15 2009, 12:13 PM

Where did my ♥ go?
6,543 posts

QUOTE(eastwest @ Sep 15 2009, 12:10 PM)
Ok, thanks... rtm means for the oem system? btw, when will retailer start selling windows 7?
RTM = Release to Manufacturer. In this stage, OEM, ISV, System Builders, TechNet/MSDN/MSDNAA subscribers get Windows 7. Windows 7 should be available publicly on 22nd October 2009.
DikkieD
post Sep 22 2009, 08:57 PM

296 posts

Anyone knows what the official Malaysian prices of W7 will be? When will it be officially available. Where to buy a genuine version instead of a fake?..
samurai1337
post Oct 6 2009, 05:24 PM

@_@
11,594 posts

QUOTE(DikkieD @ Sep 22 2009, 08:57 PM)
Anyone knows what the official Malaysian prices of W7 will be? When will it be officially available. Where to buy a genuine version instead of a fake?..
The general global retail launch date is 22 October

Sale of retail / OEM version should be started after that. You can buy it in most of the computer shop in Lowyat/Digital Mall, or get from Software Exchange
wah chai
post Oct 7 2009, 01:18 PM

717 posts

hi,i have window 7 ultimate x64 build rc . after official release of window 7,do i need to buy window 7 or my previous window 7 still can continue use ? any different with current window 7 and official release window 7?
fulat
post Oct 7 2009, 05:33 PM

8,472 posts

QUOTE(wah chai @ Oct 7 2009, 01:18 PM)
hi,i have window 7 ultimate x64 build rc .  after official release of window 7,do i need to buy window 7 or my previous window 7 still can continue use ? any different with current window 7 and official release window 7?
Unsupported Upgrade Scenarios

Upgrades to Windows 7 from the following operating systems are not supported:
Windows 95, Windows 98, Windows Millennium Edition, Windows XP, Windows Vista® RTM, Windows Vista Starter, Windows 7 M3, Windows 7 Beta, Windows 7 RC, or Windows 7 IDS
• Windows NT® Server 4.0, Windows 2000 Server, Windows Server® 2003, Windows Server 2008, or Windows Server 2008 R2
• Cross-architecture in-place upgrades (for example, x86 to x64) are not supported.
• Cross-language in-place upgrades (for example, en-us to de-de) are not supported.
• Cross-SKU upgrades (for example, Windows 7 N to Windows 7 K) are not supported.
• Upgrades from Windows Vista to Windows N, Windows K, Windows KN, or Windows E are not supported.
• Cross-build type in-place upgrades (for example, fre to chk) are not supported.
• Pre-release in-place upgrades across milestones (for example, Windows 7 RC to Windows 7 RTM) are not supported.

do i need to buy window 7

unless u can get it for free.

any different with current window 7 and official release window 7?

not much different maybe some small patch needed to install due to bugs

This post has been edited by fulat: Oct 7 2009, 05:39 PM
wah chai
post Oct 7 2009, 05:42 PM

717 posts

QUOTE(fulat @ Oct 7 2009, 05:33 PM)
Unsupported Upgrade Scenarios

Upgrades to Windows 7 from the following operating systems are not supported: 
Windows 95, Windows 98, Windows Millennium Edition, Windows XP, Windows Vista® RTM, Windows Vista Starter, Windows 7 M3, Windows 7 Beta, Windows 7 RC, or Windows 7 IDS
• Windows NT® Server 4.0, Windows 2000 Server, Windows Server® 2003, Windows Server 2008, or Windows Server 2008 R2
• Cross-architecture in-place upgrades (for example, x86 to x64) are not supported.
• Cross-language in-place upgrades (for example, en-us to de-de) are not supported.
• Cross-SKU upgrades (for example, Windows 7 N to Windows 7 K) are not supported.
• Upgrades from Windows Vista to Windows N, Windows K, Windows KN, or Windows E are not supported. 
• Cross-build type in-place upgrades (for example, fre to chk) are not supported.
• Pre-release in-place upgrades across milestones (for example, Windows 7 RC to Windows 7 RTM) are not supported.
do i need to buy window 7

unless u can get it for free.
any different with current window 7 and official release window 7?

ok.tq.
prasys
post Oct 8 2009, 02:20 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

QUOTE(wah chai @ Oct 7 2009, 01:18 PM)
hi,i have window 7 ultimate x64 build rc .  after official release of window 7,do i need to buy window 7 or my previous window 7 still can continue use ? any different with current window 7 and official release window 7?
Well you can still continue to use till somewhere around March nxt year (once you have made up your mind that is) (Note : I am not sure about the date , do check Microsofts site or your e-mail from Microsoft. It tells you when the product expires). Once it has expired , it will shut down for every 2 hours or so , randomly.

Its between day and night. One is meant for testing purpose and the other one is meant for production use. You dont get patches , fixes , etc to be delivered for RC
wah chai
post Oct 9 2009, 04:36 PM

717 posts

QUOTE(prasys @ Oct 8 2009, 02:20 PM)
Well you can still continue to use till somewhere around March nxt year (once you have made up your mind that is) (Note : I am not sure about the date , do check Microsofts site or your e-mail from Microsoft. It tells you when the product expires). Once it has expired , it will shut down for every 2 hours or so , randomly.

Its between day and night. One is meant for testing purpose and the other one is meant for production use. You dont get patches , fixes , etc to be delivered for RC
ic.tq.i can't wait to have official window 7 biggrin.gif
FarCry3r
post Oct 9 2009, 09:40 PM

Where did my ♥ go?
6,543 posts

QUOTE(fulat @ Oct 7 2009, 05:33 PM)
There's lots of changes, although not all are significant. Windows 7 RC had it own separate updates (on Windows Update) from Windows 7 RTM (final) updates.
pkh
post Oct 16 2009, 02:17 PM

316 posts

It's been 3 days since I shifted from Vista to Win7. So here's my view on it. I have not explored every corner of it. Infact, I did not take any effort to find out the difference. What I'm doing is to experience it from a regular user's point of view. I did not customize the layout into someting similar to Vista or XP just to get a typical Win7 feel.

Installation
It's almost the same as Vista where you get a nice full GUI installation rather than the blue background from XP's first few steps. I won't say it's quick. Takes around 45 minutes including all the reboot and info gathering. Before this, I have 3 partitions on my hard disk. The first contains the old Vista OS while the other 2 contains my data. All I need is to clear up my OS partition and leave my data partition untouched. Win7 Ultimate consumes around the same amount needed in Vista. Roughly 15GB including the recovery files.

First use
My first impression is how simple it looks. I'm not saying that it looks better than Vista. It's like comparing a Japanese Street Racer with an American Muscle. It all depends which fetish you are into. From a certain angle, it sometimes looks girly. Maybe it's the colour scheme, maybe it's the textless taskbar. Before this, I have no problems with Vista's resource consumption. So, as expected, Win7 Ultimate runs smoothly. Incase you want to know, it's an Intel Dual Core with 3GB RAM. Tried Vista Home Basic, smooth, Vista Ultimate smooth, Win7 Ultimate, smooth. Finding the hardware drivers left me speechless. During the Vista days, I had to download over 100MB from the HP website for my drivers. For Win7, I started off with some unknown devices in the device manager. But at least the video and sound is already present. During first boot, the video resolution can already go up to 1280x800 without the proper drivers (in oppose to Vista's 640x480). I did an update and Win7 automatically registers all the unknown devices - something which I've never achieve before in other Windows version.

Media experience
The new Windows Media player looks impressive. Like I've mentioned before - simple. By default, it feels like you are looking at an iPod Touch. No unwanted menus, no clutter, no ugly toolbars. Plain simple rectangular screen. I was rather impressed when I managed to play AVI files without needing to install any 3rd party codecs, something which the first Vista cannot do. All my mp3 files were previously managed by iTunes. The new Media Player is able to extract the file info (eg: artwork) done via iTunes. I do have a major problem when it comes to media. As I'm a heavy Windows Movie Makers user, Win7 made a wrong sway. I'm ok with that the new Movie Maker is now part of Windows Live. So what on earth is Windows Live? In short, these are the applications not included in the initial installation (eg: Windows Mail, Windows Messenger, Windows Movie Maker). You can download it for free. No problem with that. Downloaded both Messenger and Movie maker at around 140MB. No problem with that too. Messenger works perfectly (it should!). But when I switched on the new Movie Maker, my impression was 'what?'. Before this, Movie Maker is like the most basic of all video editing software. Now, they made even more 'basicer' (if that's even a word). There's no way I can make cool YouTube videos with this junk. It's only useful if you want to create a video from your family Christmas vacation and distribute them to your relatives. Well, there is a workaround. Microsoft allows you to download and install Movie maker version 2. A slapback from Vista's version 6 but better than nothing.

Vista's curse
Unlike others, I don't have a hatred towards Vista. The annoying 'security popups' does annoy once in a while but I can live with it. Win7 does retain the 'warnings' but less. The flickering still exist when applications which are not compatible with the graphic scheme tries to adjust itself. Again, it's there but less. My only 2 real problem with Vista is the 3G modem dialer and Louts Dominos plugin. Since these 2 are like 3rd party stuff, it failed to run. The same problem occurs on Win7.

Improvements
Hibernation is back! Anyway, Vista's standby draws less battery compared to WinXP. I have not tried Win7's standby since hibernation is there. I normally prefer Vista's built-in wifi manager compared to the ones by manufacturers. Simple and fast. Win7 made it even more simpler. The new Windows menu bar is an eye candy but a nemesis for those who wish to fast swap between windows. There are many times when it took me a few thoughts before I can change to another application window.There are many times when an inactive window suddenly pops infront. And there's certainly times when by background wallpaper appeared infront of me. Not good if you have an Avril Lavigne wallpaper in your office.

The Bing
I notice there were several occassions where Microsoft tried to trick users into setting Bing as the default search engine. It's like having many 'click next next next' screen but they've already have the word 'Bing as default search engine' pre-ticked for you.

Hawarizmi
post Nov 8 2009, 10:28 AM

81 posts

so, cool review Mr. pkh
Now i wondering whether to go out there, buy new retail win7 or continue using RC version until March'09.
Does it make any differences for regular end-user?

Current price is RM375 for home premium, it is getting lil' cheaper next year? smile.gif

calapia
post Nov 10 2009, 12:52 PM

689 posts

i just got window 7 professional at rm490..... not sure if the shop overprice it or not....

shift from xp to window 7.... the first bump for me is getting online.... how to online using window 7....T_T... been trying it out for 1 hours only know that nothing to be set.... just create some network connection and it will works...

still have plenty to check out on window 7.... anywhere i can find customize theme?
fulat
post Nov 10 2009, 02:45 PM

8,472 posts

the bing deafult search can be replace by any other search engine u prefer. it can be customise. dont worry.

for windows media experience. the windows media center is pretty useful as an all in one media center. the media center able to play any media as u like if you pre-install it with other player. download the free real alternative player and your media center will be able to control and play RMVB media files.
FarCry3r
post Nov 10 2009, 03:03 PM

Where did my ♥ go?
6,543 posts

QUOTE(fulat @ Nov 10 2009, 02:45 PM)
the bing deafult search can be replace by any other search engine u prefer. it can be customise. dont worry.

for windows media experience. the windows media center is pretty useful as an all in one media center. the media center able to play any media as u like if you pre-install it with other player. download the free real alternative player and your media center will be able to control and play RMVB media files.
However, it doesn't support playing MKV files although I have all required codecs. Oh, rugi la my HD trailers...
fulat
post Nov 10 2009, 03:17 PM

8,472 posts

QUOTE(FarCry3r @ Nov 10 2009, 03:03 PM)
However, it doesn't support playing MKV files although I have all required codecs. Oh, rugi la my HD trailers...
oh... i dont have MKV files to play tho. RMVB, MOV, AVI WMV is good enough for me. kekekek... but overall the media center is impressive for me to be my all entertainment player. biggrin.gif
FarCry3r
post Nov 10 2009, 04:06 PM

Where did my ♥ go?
6,543 posts

QUOTE(fulat @ Nov 10 2009, 03:17 PM)
oh... i dont have MKV files to play tho. RMVB, MOV, AVI WMV is good enough for me. kekekek... but overall the media center is impressive for me to be my all entertainment player. biggrin.gif
Yeah, all other video files plays beautifully and I used WMC to play my media files 90% of the times smile.gif
ka6_jeram
post Nov 11 2009, 03:15 AM

18 posts

Hi, just jump into window 7. Find it really great. For me, it is smoother than Vista. Just a little bit problem with driver but really easy to find one even the window update update my driver, very seldom from vista. Need to look around more for the latest function.
HealthyCoach
post Nov 11 2009, 03:19 AM

77 posts

i just don't like the system cooling policy thing. it makes my pc lag when i'm playing game..this prob does not appear in vista..
fulat
post Nov 11 2009, 08:14 AM

8,472 posts

QUOTE(HealthyCoach @ Nov 11 2009, 03:19 AM)
i just don't like the system cooling policy thing. it makes my pc lag when i'm playing game..this prob does not appear in vista..
maybe u can try the high performance setting.
HealthyCoach
post Nov 11 2009, 11:07 PM

77 posts

QUOTE(fulat @ Nov 11 2009, 08:14 AM)
maybe u can try the high performance setting.
it's still the same brah...no difference..i duno wat's wrong wif it..
ka6_jeram
post Nov 13 2009, 02:54 AM

18 posts

I dun know if u guys got the same problem. I watch movies sometimes with subtitle. The problem is not big. But why cant I drag .srt file to media player to load the subtitle?. Do anyone has the same problem?.
FarCry3r
post Nov 13 2009, 07:20 AM

Where did my ♥ go?
6,543 posts

QUOTE(ka6_jeram @ Nov 13 2009, 02:54 AM)
I dun know if u guys got the same problem. I watch movies sometimes with subtitle. The problem is not big. But why cant I drag .srt file to media player to load the subtitle?. Do anyone has the same problem?.
What player you use to play the movie? I'm using Media Player Classic that comes with latest K-Lite Mega Codec pack and I can drag any subtitle files onto the player without any problem at all smile.gif
ka6_jeram
post Nov 13 2009, 08:46 AM

18 posts

I am using media player classic too. But no biggies.
failed.hashcheck
post Dec 5 2009, 12:17 AM

Neighborhood plant pathologist
2,096 posts

ahh..i just made for myself a free copy of windows 7 ultimate from free windows server 2008 r2 for student.

This post has been edited by failed.hashcheck: Dec 5 2009, 12:17 AM
syahmie93
post Dec 5 2009, 04:58 PM

Microsoft Should Continue Windows 7 Family Pack Licensing

Microsoft has been offering family packs of Windows 7 to customers for a discounted price–while supplies last. It would behoove it to make the family packs a permanent offering.

CNET’s Ina Fried is reporting that the packs have nearly sold out. The packs sell for $149.99, which is a bargain considering that three stand-alone copies of 7 Home Premium list for $359.97.

There are two good reasons why Microsoft should make the family packs permanent: Its Windows licensing revenue is suffering, and Apple has long offered them for OS X. (A Snow Leopard 5-pack sells for $49.99.)

While Windows 7 has boosted Microsoft’s license revenues, netbooks have begun to chip away at the Windows cash cow. Windows 7 has proven popular with early adopters, and anything that Microsoft could do to get more customers to upgrade is a good thing.

Added on December 5, 2009, 5:02 pmThe State of Windows 7 Satisfaction
Windows 7 is scarcely more than a month old. Most of the people who will eventually use it haven’t gotten around to trying it yet; those that have are still settling in. And the Win 7 experience will change rapidly as remaining bugs are squashed, missing drivers arrive, and compatibility glitches are ironed out. Even so, it’s not too early to start gauging what real people think of Windows Vista’s replacement.
So to riff on Ronald Reagan’s famous question from his 1980 debate with Jimmy Carter, Are Windows users better off today than they were a few weeks ago, back in the Vista era? We decided to ask the Technologizer community, a group of tech enthusiasts with a high propensity to acquire new operating systems quickly and push them to their limits. Starting on November 16th, we surveyed our readers (and Twitter followers) about their experiences with Windows 7. Our goal: to do a reality check on the mostly favorable initial reviews of the new OS (as well as our own survey of largely enthusiastic Windows 7 beta testers back in March).
The 550+ Windows 7 early adopters who took our survey mostly echo the positive response that the upgrade has received from professional reviewers, pundits, and users of pre-release editions. A sizable majority say they’re extremely satisfied with the OS and rate it as a clear improvement on both the beloved Windows XP and the widely-panned Windows Vista. Crippling installation problems–the bane of every upgrader’s existence, and always a legitimate reason to postpone switching OSes–were rare.
Our full report follows. But first, some quick facts on the folks who took our survey:
Prior to using Windows 7, forty-six percent of respondents ran Windows Vista, and thirty-two percent ran Windows XP. Seventeen percent ran Vista and XP about equally, five percent ran an OS other than Windows, and a whopping 0.7 percent used a version of Windows other than Vista or XP.
Seventy-three percent upgraded an existing PC to the final version of Windows 7, and eight percent are running it on a PC that came with the OS pre-installed. Fourteen percent are still using a pre-release version, and six percent are running it on a Mac via Boot Camp or a virtualization program.
Sixty-four percent of respondents rate themselves as expert Windows users; thirty-five percent say they’re intermediate ones. Less than one percent call themselves beginners.
Sixty-one percent are using Windows 7 entirely or mostly for home/personal use. Twenty-five percent are using it about equally for home/personal and business use. Just fourteen percent are using it entirely or mostly for business use.
Sixty-one percent are using a 64-bit edition of Windows 7, and thirty-one percent are running a 32-bit version.
Eighty-two percent did a “clean” install of the OS from scratch; nineteen percent installed it over Windows Vista.
Fifty-nine percent say they’ve used Windows 7 extensively, and thirty-six percent say they’ve done so a fair amount. Five percent say they’ve just used it a little so far.
It’s important to note that our goal wasn’t to survey a representative, projectable, normalized sampling of all Windows 7 users. The responses that follow are from members of the Technologizer community who chose to take our survey. Their opinions are their own–but we think they make for interesting reading even if they’re not the last word on how average users will react to Windows 7.
Getting Up and Running
As with all things, first impressions count with operating systems. And if you’ve bought an OS as an upgrade, the first impressions it makes come in the form of the installation process.
As I’ve written before, there’s no such thing as an operating system upgrade that doesn’t cause headaches for some percentage of the people who install it. In the case of our survey takers who installed Windows 7, however, the number who encountered major hassles was very small–presumably in part because Windows 7 is so similar to Vista under the surface. The fact that the vast majority of respondents performed clean installations rather than installing on top of Vista surely helped, too.
Eighty-four percent say the process went off without meaningful hiccups; thirteen percent say it went fairly well. A total of three percent reported major problems, two-thirds of which were resolvable. Pretty impressive–when PC World surveyed Windows XP users shortly after that OS shipped, half reported installation difficulties.

The fact that respondents’ upgrades tended to go smoothly doesn’t mean that they didn’t encounter any issues with their new operating system. Two problem areas stand out: More than forty percent had to try and resolve driver issues, and more than a third needed to deal with software incompatibilities. Other problems, however, were reported by a much smaller percentage of respondents. For instance, eleven percent reported crashes or blue screens of death. And only six percent said that Windows 7’s performance was poor, which is a relief given that the original version Windows Vista quickly developed a reputation as a poky resource hog.
Are the percentages of users who reported problems impressively low, or unsettlingly high? That’s subject to debate. But here’s something that isn’t: Both Windows XP and Windows Vista also suffer to some degree from all the gotchas that respondents said they encountered in Windows 7.

(In this infographic and those that follow, the scale of 0% to 100% represents the percentage of survey respondents who answered a particular question as indicated by the bars.)

Added on December 5, 2009, 5:02 pmhttp://windows72u.blogspot.com

This post has been edited by syahmie93: Dec 5 2009, 05:02 PM

tarvin
post Dec 20 2009, 09:58 AM

156 posts

im running windows 7 ultimate x64 built 7600..but the only problem is tht whenever i go to sleep mode...memory dump will appear in a blue popup window with black background....my laptop is a compaq cq40..2gb ddr2...amd turionX2 2.0ghz..
matnur_83
post Jan 31 2010, 09:23 AM

683 posts

QUOTE(tarvin @ Dec 20 2009, 09:58 AM)
im running windows 7 ultimate x64 built 7600..but the only problem is tht whenever i go to sleep mode...memory dump will appear in a blue popup window with black background....my laptop is a compaq cq40..2gb ddr2...amd turionX2 2.0ghz..
try update windows rclxms.gif
HolyPriest
post Feb 3 2010, 08:32 PM

Ouhh Hello

İ've A Problem With W7

When İ Setup W7 into my computer after 5-7 days my computer going slowy & when i reboot computer wait 4-5 min. How Can İ Solve this?

4 GB RAM İntel 8400 Dual Core 3,0 Ghz Processor
Nvidia 8800 GTS 512 MB Graphic Card

defaultname365
post Feb 8 2010, 10:44 PM

Windows® 8.1 | Xbox 360™ | PlayStation® 4
1,098 posts

This a diary? OK... so I just received my Windows 7 Ultimate Box! rclxms.gif

Been using Vista Home Premium since... 2007. It has been 7 RC all the time. Finally!

sKyWiR3pT3lTd
post Feb 25 2010, 01:10 AM

Spirits Of Shankly
6,059 posts

QUOTE(defaultname365 @ Feb 8 2010, 10:44 PM)
This a diary? OK... so I just received my Windows 7 Ultimate Boxrclxms.gif 

Been using Vista Home Premium since... 2007. It has been 7 RC all the time. Finally!
Congratulations , welcome to the new world of Windows 7 Ultimate, you have all the opportunity to customize your OS into your own desired OS..

Have fun.. icon_rolleyes.gif
damned_dude
post Apr 6 2010, 03:56 AM

106 posts

QUOTE(HolyPriest @ Feb 3 2010, 08:32 PM)
Ouhh Hello

İ've A Problem With W7

When İ Setup W7 into my computer after 5-7 days my computer going slowy & when i reboot computer wait 4-5 min. How Can İ Solve this?
4 GB RAM İntel 8400 Dual Core 3,0 Ghz Processor 
Nvidia 8800 GTS 512 MB Graphic Card
when you install you w7 are you upgrading your windos or you do clean install?
if you just upgrade your previous version of windows, try clean install your windows 7.
beatlesalbum
post Apr 18 2010, 07:07 PM

1,711 posts

http://d1.it168.com/show/13112.html
does anyone have an english version of this website from the first post of this thread?

Added on April 18, 2010, 7:07 pmthx

This post has been edited by beatlesalbum: Apr 18 2010, 07:07 PM
EyraYus
post May 11 2010, 11:41 PM

sTRe3tHunt3R
2,152 posts

Just re-format my pc with 7 Ultimate, previously using Home Basic.

So apart from the areo part, what other major improvement I can see and use eh?
caspersky
post May 12 2010, 11:10 PM

517 posts

Windows XP Mode.
khairuls
post Jun 24 2010, 11:24 AM

118 posts

hi, what is the latest price for win.7 home?
dlwl
post Jun 24 2010, 11:36 AM

4,789 posts

QUOTE(EyraYus @ May 11 2010, 11:41 PM)
Just re-format my pc with 7 Ultimate, previously using Home Basic.

So apart from the areo part, what other major improvement I can see and use eh?
You can use media center, have more networking options, use bitlocker encryption biggrin.gif
khairuls
post Jun 24 2010, 02:06 PM

118 posts

what is the different between home basic & premium?
Squidoo
post Jun 24 2010, 04:47 PM

177 posts

QUOTE(khairuls @ Jun 24 2010, 02:06 PM)
what is the different between home basic & premium?
1. Home Basic is cheaper than Home Premium.

2. Home Premium is being sold worldwide, while Home Basic is sold only in certain areas.

3. Home Premium has full Aero support, while Home basic only has partial support.

4. Home Premium is able to create and join a home network, while Home Basic is only capable of joining.

5. Home Premium is already equipped with the Windows Media Center, while the Home Basic is not.

sources : Difference Between Windows 7 Home Basic & Home Premium
gundam76
post Jun 24 2010, 05:04 PM

52 posts

Hi there,

I just recently using window 7, and it is very new to me, can anyone help me any website I can learn the tricks and the feartures ??

Appreciate it very much if anyone can show me some guildance notworthy.gif

thanks in advance.. blush.gif
reilablemostaq
post Sep 14 2010, 01:23 PM

QUOTE(deepcool0922 @ Mar 26 2009, 07:39 PM)
thanks for a nice collation.......................................

tanhks
post Oct 16 2010, 12:13 AM

608 posts

this afternoon while using Office 2003 on my Win 7 Ultimate.
some thing weird happen, everything become very slow,
the MsWords also become very slow somtime it display (programme not responding) on the top left bar.
sometime it display message "There is insufficient memory or disk space. Close extra windows and save your work."
although my laptop's RAM size is 4GB and still a lot of disk space (Total harddisk size 250GB, space used only less than 50GB).
My Win 7 has Microsoft Security Essential install and my Win 7's automatic is ON. Seem like the only way to solve the problem is to re-format the whole harddisk and re-install Win7.

So at night i re-format the whole harddisk and re-install everything.
Now (12:43am) My laptop is finally back to normal.

(New update after one week)
After one week, this Win 7 laptop become slow/sluggish again.
look like i should not connect this win7 laptop to internet!

This post has been edited by tanhks: Oct 31 2010, 02:59 AM
fariz
post Oct 22 2010, 07:14 PM

Tan Sri F
16,825 posts

Happy Birthday Windows 7

bday.gif
RiCHBoyZ
post Oct 27 2010, 01:21 PM

1,560 posts

Microsoft Windows 7 Service Pack 1 RC x86 has been released.

This post has been edited by RiCHBoyZ: Oct 27 2010, 01:23 PM
aspirez
post Nov 1 2010, 09:19 PM

420 posts

QUOTE(fariz @ Oct 22 2010, 07:14 PM)
Happy Birthday Windows 7

bday.gif
Happy Birthday tooooo

satoshi.mifune
post Nov 7 2010, 10:59 PM

~Kero Kero Kero Kero~
544 posts

QUOTE(aspirez @ Nov 1 2010, 09:19 PM)
Happy Birthday tooooo
22 oct windows 7's birthday?

Added on November 7, 2010, 11:00 pmah i checked wiki yup 22oct 2009 windows 7 reached general retail availability, lol only 1 person celebrates among thousand of people using so sad sweat.gif

This post has been edited by satoshi.mifune: Nov 7 2010, 11:00 PM
FarCry3r
post Nov 7 2010, 11:04 PM

Where did my ♥ go?
6,543 posts

QUOTE(satoshi.mifune @ Nov 7 2010, 10:59 PM)
22 oct windows 7's birthday?

Added on November 7, 2010, 11:00 pmah i checked wiki yup 22oct 2009 windows 7 reached general retail availability, lol only 1 person celebrates among thousand of people using so sad  sweat.gif
Posting it here doesn't mean that person is celebrating it and doesn't post here doesn't mean that person is not celebrating it.
satoshi.mifune
post Nov 7 2010, 11:09 PM

~Kero Kero Kero Kero~
544 posts

QUOTE(FarCry3r @ Nov 7 2010, 11:04 PM)
Posting it here doesn't mean that person is celebrating it and doesn't post here doesn't mean that person is not celebrating it.
Nice answer, you opened my eyes doesn't mean need to post only show someone celebrate right rclxms.gif
FarCry3r
post Nov 7 2010, 11:11 PM

Where did my ♥ go?
6,543 posts

QUOTE(satoshi.mifune @ Nov 7 2010, 11:09 PM)
Nice answer, you opened my eyes doesn't mean need to post only show someone celebrate right  rclxms.gif
Yep, I've organized a party locally at my area to celebrate Windows 7. Only if Microsoft would supply us some party stuff to make it more interesting tongue.gif
satoshi.mifune
post Nov 7 2010, 11:20 PM

~Kero Kero Kero Kero~
544 posts

QUOTE(FarCry3r @ Nov 7 2010, 11:11 PM)
Yep, I've organized a party locally at my area to celebrate Windows 7. Only if Microsoft would supply us some party stuff to make it more interesting tongue.gif
Are you guys related to microsoft in any way or just users hmm.gif
FarCry3r
post Nov 8 2010, 03:57 AM

Where did my ♥ go?
6,543 posts

QUOTE(satoshi.mifune @ Nov 7 2010, 11:20 PM)
Are you guys related to microsoft in any way or just users  hmm.gif
I'm just a normal regular user, but I'm also a Microsoft enthusiast biggrin.gif
satoshi.mifune
post Nov 9 2010, 07:14 PM

~Kero Kero Kero Kero~
544 posts

QUOTE(FarCry3r @ Nov 8 2010, 03:57 AM)
I'm just a normal regular user, but I'm also a Microsoft enthusiast biggrin.gif
Oh i see that explains the love good for you rclxms.gif
najminaruto
post Nov 21 2010, 06:07 AM

Out forever - this place is full of psychopaths
746 posts

After installing Windows 7 Language Interface Pack (Bahasa Melayu - Malaysia)
mengong
post Nov 22 2010, 10:54 AM

QUOTE(najminaruto @ Nov 21 2010, 06:07 AM)

After installing Windows 7 Language Interface Pack (Bahasa Melayu - Malaysia)
Hehe..."BAKAR"
la_Feng
post Feb 24 2011, 11:30 PM

170 posts

hi, failed to update Win 7 x64 SP1 (KB976932)

always gave me Invalid Parameter. any one?
Error:ERROR_INVALID_PARAMETER(0x80070057)

follow the steps MS answers

steps..

This post has been edited by la_Feng: Feb 24 2011, 11:43 PM
Guy85
post Aug 31 2011, 05:17 PM

176 posts

I'm using windows 7, but so far so good. But I saw that microsoft is working on windows 8 now already...
SUSErgoProxi
post Sep 1 2011, 01:38 AM

Aren't I just good enough to eat?
2,702 posts

QUOTE(Guy85 @ Aug 31 2011, 05:17 PM)
I'm using windows 7, but so far so good. But I saw that microsoft is working on windows 8 now already...
Win 8.....
I wonder how well it will perform on my machine....
H4XF4XTOR
post Sep 1 2011, 10:46 AM

【ツ】PANDAMON 【ツ】
3,081 posts

QUOTE(ErgoProxi @ Sep 1 2011, 01:38 AM)
Win 8.....
I wonder how well it will perform on my machine....
pretty much the same as windows 7,just hope it doesnt go near to vista performance
Moonflown
post Oct 31 2011, 11:04 AM

DayDreamer
1,036 posts

QUOTE(H4XF4XTOR @ Sep 1 2011, 10:46 AM)
pretty much the same as windows 7,just hope it doesnt go near to vista performance
Don't worry, they had a painful lesson from it.
topijerami
post Nov 22 2011, 02:42 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(H4XF4XTOR @ Sep 1 2011, 11:46 AM)
windows vista is the worst ever
super macgyver
post Nov 24 2011, 08:17 PM

★~13k Spam Club~★
19,324 posts

QUOTE(topijerami @ Nov 22 2011, 02:42 PM)
windows vista is the worst ever
windows Me also a nightmare sweat.gif
Katana96
post Dec 15 2011, 05:41 PM

37 posts

Can any sifus pls help me?i cant ply my mpg type movie..sorry if i'm in the wrong thread..i'm a newbie..
skeleton202
post May 25 2012, 06:52 PM

Perdana Malaysia ke-9
1,132 posts

is there any way to play game without making the screen smaller that got black bold when we reduce the resolution?
JML
post Nov 25 2012, 08:10 PM

269 posts

didn't get any answer posted outside..
try my luck here..

Sorry, side track a bit and didnt want to create a new thread on this.

My bro said his solidwork software only works on 32bit and not 64bit.
So he purposely bought a Dell ladtop with 32bit Win7 instead of a liter 64bit.
Does this make sense to you?
Cuz it doesnt to me.. Or maybe im wrong..
saturn85
post Apr 16 2013, 12:43 PM

Folding@home
8,686 posts

Windows 7 update can cause cycle of reboots Uninstall advised unsure.gif
A Windows 7 update that was rolled out on Tuesday can cause systems to enter an endless loop of reboots: For those users who are still on Windows 7 (a large population) who have recently installed the latest patch or worse yet, let Windows install them automatically may find themselves with the inability to successfully boot and load the OS.

The patch, intended to fix a vulnerability, is referenced as security update 2823324 and Microsoft is recommending that anyone who has installed it to uninstall it, provided they can actually boot up to do so. In the meantime, they have removed the update from the list of Windows updates to prevent further customer impact. For those on Windows 8, it looks like you are safe for the moment. Those impacted can follow instructions here to remedy the issue.

Microsoft is investigating behavior where systems may not recover from a restart, or applications cannot load, after security update 2823324 is applied. We recommend that customers uninstall this update. As an added precaution, Microsoft has removed the download links to the 2823324 update while we investigate.

This post has been edited by saturn85: Apr 16 2013, 12:45 PM
Awesomezx
post Oct 3 2014, 04:26 PM

59 posts

lol .. window 7 is still to most popular among all the windows.. smile.gif

http://www.hardwarezone.com.my/tech-news-t...-windows-8-date
skylinelover
post Oct 4 2014, 11:48 AM

Future Crypto Player😄👊Driver Abamsado😎😎
11,265 posts

embrace...lets hop 2 the windows 10 wagon yo...the start button has returned laugh.gif rclxms.gif
Here to buy
post Oct 23 2019, 08:38 AM

1,379 posts

R.I.P win7.
Here to buy
post Mar 18 2020, 02:41 PM

1,379 posts

Just of curiosity.
Can we still upgrade win7 to win10 for free now?
FarisCool P
post Jul 10 2024, 08:39 PM

Probation

rindu windows 7
corad
post Sep 5 2024, 08:13 AM

Hard to see, the dark side is.
2,403 posts

QUOTE(glorious @ Sep 5 2024, 08:05 AM)
firefox on win7 still lives on for now
no more updates. if you know how to update firefox on windows 7 please let me know
Jened
post Jun 5 2025, 10:16 PM

128 posts

QUOTE(corad @ Sep 5 2024, 08:13 AM)
no more updates. if you know how to update firefox on windows 7 please let me know
I do not think can update Firefox to Windows 7.
Windows 7 is too old, why still want to use Windows 7?

shinjite
post Jul 24 2025, 10:33 AM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
19,321 posts

QUOTE(Here to buy @ Mar 18 2020, 02:41 PM)
Just of curiosity.
Can we still upgrade win7 to win10 for free now?
No

0.1012sec    0.94    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 12:00 PM