Photography The Sony Alpha Thread V23!, The Orange Legion

alpha_company
post Apr 9 2009, 02:17 PM

One Hand Punch Mega
4,016 posts

QUOTE(AlphaBeta @ Apr 9 2009, 02:14 PM)
same reason also..i grabbed a300 + twin kit affordable...this is the best starting point for me as a newbie to DSLR. tongue.gif

Added on April 9, 2009, 2:17 pm
good that u have ur target now.. that thread? they only suggest 1000d and d60 without saying why..but cant say like that also la.. SO many ppl asking there everyday..hard to explain to each 1 by 1.. rclxub.gif
yeah right newbie.. D90 newbie? hahaha... or use d90 just to record HD videos..hehe
alpha_company
post Apr 9 2009, 02:23 PM

One Hand Punch Mega
4,016 posts

QUOTE(neo_lam @ Apr 9 2009, 02:18 PM)
try to hold the A300 in hands.....feel so solid and nice....
yeah..gonna go and get a feel of both a300 and d60.

btw, live view and tilt lcd screen is poison to me now..hehe

just want to confirm.. the lcd can be viewed downwards and upwards right?
alpha_company
post Apr 9 2009, 02:29 PM

One Hand Punch Mega
4,016 posts

hehe.. heck my nick got alpha already..hehe..

got poised mainly because of the live view and tilt screen..

so.. hmm.. anybody can recommend a seller that can give really cheap2 price on a300?

This post has been edited by alpha_company: Apr 9 2009, 02:30 PM
alpha_company
post Apr 9 2009, 02:33 PM

One Hand Punch Mega
4,016 posts

QUOTE(Kul | Mo0 @ Apr 9 2009, 02:30 PM)
Studio Zaloon @ Pudu Plaza. (:
price? i found somebody selling at Sony Alpha A300 Single Lens Kit + Sony 4GB 133X CF Card = RM1860

ok or not.. maybe can get cheaper price? as i can get d60 cheaper than that.
alpha_company
post Apr 9 2009, 02:37 PM

One Hand Punch Mega
4,016 posts

whatt? hehe.. where did u get it from?
alpha_company
post Apr 9 2009, 02:38 PM

One Hand Punch Mega
4,016 posts

QUOTE(electron @ Apr 9 2009, 02:35 PM)
you are from kedah right?
then head over to penang and look for click'n'snap or megastar around the komtar area
do u know the price? it'll be nice to know 1st rather than going there and finding out that it's more expensive.

Added on April 9, 2009, 2:39 pm
QUOTE(signither @ Apr 9 2009, 02:35 PM)
lol.. last time i bought a 3 months old A300 with single lens for only RM1550 nod.gif
u mean 2nd hand?

This post has been edited by alpha_company: Apr 9 2009, 02:39 PM
alpha_company
post Apr 9 2009, 02:56 PM

One Hand Punch Mega
4,016 posts

QUOTE(Kul | Mo0 @ Apr 9 2009, 02:42 PM)
Find in LYN forum la. Best. Or alphanatics. (:
what alphanatics? links?
alpha_company
post Apr 9 2009, 07:00 PM

One Hand Punch Mega
4,016 posts

QUOTE(albnok @ Apr 9 2009, 03:12 PM)
alpha_company,

Nikkor AF-S = Sony SSM
Nikkor AF-D = Sony (normal)

All Sony lenses can use normal Sony or Sony SSM lenses.

The Sony 18-70mm F3.5-5.6 DT is a normal Sony lens without SSM. The focus motor is in the body not the lens. You do not need a SSM lens for the A300.

The Nikon D40/D40x/D60 does not have a focus motor in the body so the lens must have a motor inside (AF-S or AF-I only.) That means the famous Nikkor AF-D 50mm F1.8 cannot be used on such a Nikon.

Yes, Nikon VR is equivalent to Sony SSS. Only that VR is on the lens and SSS is on the body.

A Nikon D60 + AF-D 50mm F1.8, for example, cannot autofocus and will not have VR.

A Sony A300 + Minolta 50mm F1.7 will autofocus and have SSS.

The Sony pop-up flash on the A200/A300/A350 is lower and is a disadvantage. But the advantage is that ANY Sony pop-up flash can do wireless flash. The Nikon D40/D40x/D60 cannot, you need to buy a separate wireless controller.

The Sony A300 screen can tilt up and down. smile.gif

Refer here:
http://a.img-dpreview.com/news/0801/Sony/s...350_LCDdown.jpg

Okay lah cerita sikit:

Olympus 4/3rds/Canon - all focusing is on the lens
Sony/Pentax/Nikon - focus motor is either in the lens or the body

Sometimes, the focus motor in lens is faster; sometimes, the focus motor in body is faster. Depends on the lens and the body also.

The D60 and A300 use the same 10.2 megapixel sensor. So ISO performance is about the same. Only when you talk about the Nikon D90 then it's got much better ISO performance.

Kul | Mo0, come for the TT, we teach you wireless flash! It's the easiest thing in the world to activate (compared to a Nikon D90 + SB-800...)
now i fully understand. thanks biggrin.gif notworthy.gif A non biased well put out explaination.
alpha_company
post Apr 9 2009, 07:10 PM

One Hand Punch Mega
4,016 posts

another thing.. a200 and a300 the ony diff is the tilting lcd and live view?

a200 doesnt have live view? so cant take pics using LCD?
alpha_company
post Apr 9 2009, 08:27 PM

One Hand Punch Mega
4,016 posts

so i think after all that reading day and night.. i'm settling with a300k, single lens.

is it worth it getting the dual lens kit a300x?
alpha_company
post Apr 9 2009, 08:36 PM

One Hand Punch Mega
4,016 posts

Thanks Carl, for messing up my upgrade plans smile.gif
On May 18th, 2008 carlj says:
A700 was my choice.

Then I read this. As you know, I've reluctantly handed back the A200 to Amber, but loved every minute of it. Used the 5D on Thursday, and the hunting in af compared to the A200 drove me mad.

So my main field of choice is macro photography, and the LV is the bees-knees (sorry!). The A350 really needs the best glass out there to take advantage of the 14mp on offer, the A300 more forgiving of cheaper glass.

So what do I buy? The A700 for it's buld quality, ergonomics, or the A300 for that killer LV, and the same AF speed?

Decisions, decisions.....

TAKEN FROM:
http://www.alphamountworld.com/reviews/son...view?page=0%2C0

This post has been edited by alpha_company: Apr 9 2009, 08:42 PM
alpha_company
post Apr 10 2009, 12:47 AM

One Hand Punch Mega
4,016 posts

guys.. wanna ask.. having 2nd thoughts about going for a300..and thinking of the cheaper a200.

is the flip lcd really useful? and live picture taking?
alpha_company
post Apr 10 2009, 01:01 AM

One Hand Punch Mega
4,016 posts

live view and flip lcd.. this two is the main thing im thinking about..

weight a200 is lighter right?

so whatever my options are.. better get the single lens kit?
alpha_company
post Apr 10 2009, 01:09 AM

One Hand Punch Mega
4,016 posts

QUOTE(amadeo @ Apr 10 2009, 01:04 AM)
i tell u, live view is gonna be the norm of every DSLR soon lah.. go get A300 and u wont regret.. icon_rolleyes.gif
point taken.. biggrin.gif

Added on April 10, 2009, 1:11 am
QUOTE(dingenius3 @ Apr 10 2009, 01:04 AM)
for me... personally... yes...
furthermore easier to pass around my camera so other user can easily took my picture.. thumbup.gif
yeah.. correct.. really right. can pass around normal digital camera users to take my pic..

Added on April 10, 2009, 1:11 am
QUOTE(KyoLee @ Apr 10 2009, 01:04 AM)
i consult with few pro in DSLR field before..is depend on user hmm.gif(how demand u need for that 2nd lens)
lens u can always purchase another one smile.gif which is more better or more cheaper biggrin.gif
well..i go for single lens+flash(i like to shoot indoor picture) future might upgrade lens~for sure biggrin.gif
yeah.. better get a single lens kit then get a flash...later can get lens if need to

This post has been edited by alpha_company: Apr 10 2009, 01:11 AM
alpha_company
post Apr 10 2009, 01:19 AM

One Hand Punch Mega
4,016 posts

lets say i want to get a300.. what flash should i get.. not an exp one..
alpha_company
post Apr 10 2009, 01:22 AM

One Hand Punch Mega
4,016 posts

new price of both? can maybe find me a 2nd hand?
alpha_company
post Apr 10 2009, 01:25 AM

One Hand Punch Mega
4,016 posts

QUOTE(vandechrome @ Apr 10 2009, 01:21 AM)
F42- if budget not more than rm800
F85 - if budget around rm1.1k (this one really worth to buy)
what is the diff of both? and i noticed f36 and f56 in sony malaysia..?

This post has been edited by alpha_company: Apr 10 2009, 01:26 AM
alpha_company
post Apr 10 2009, 01:30 AM

One Hand Punch Mega
4,016 posts

yeah.. really nice picture.. poisoning me.. hehe

thanks for the comparison amadeo

f42 and f58 old model?

f36 and f56 current model?

alpha_company
post Apr 10 2009, 01:33 AM

One Hand Punch Mega
4,016 posts

QUOTE(amadeo @ Apr 10 2009, 01:32 AM)
it's the other way around.. F36 and F56 are discontinued product..
serously? y sony malaysia still have it?

http://www.sony.com.my/product/CompareProd...odels=HVL-F36AM
alpha_company
post Apr 10 2009, 01:37 AM

One Hand Punch Mega
4,016 posts

ok..

f42 and f58 new model..

f36 and f56 OLD model

new f58 1.1k? if 2nd?

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top