Easy to crack RAR achive with password protection?, Pls recommend the best way to protect...

TSonemilimeter
post Mar 25 2009, 02:04 PM, updated 17y ago

1,132 posts

To prevent other from accessing the content of the WinRAR archives, I enable the password protection of the archive. However, I'm aware that there are software that can be used to crack the password protected RAR archives. I'm wondering how effective those RAR crackers are. Do you think those crackers are able to crack a RAR archive protected by a pass-phrase (e.g. with more than 15 alpha-numeric characters)?

If RAR password protection is not secured, could you pls recommend other reliable options?

exsea
post Mar 25 2009, 02:19 PM

656 posts

everything is hackable.

if u really want to secure ur file, maybe rename it to a weird extension like u winrar it to file.rar , then u rename the file to file.wmv

high chance people will just assume it is a corrupt file (unless theyre ppl like me)
WaGeS
post Mar 25 2009, 02:36 PM

30 posts

i think RAR password cracker is brute-forcing, so, just have to make ur password with numbers and alphabets, then it's safe already.
WaCKy-Angel
post Mar 25 2009, 02:37 PM

PeACe~~
21,963 posts

QUOTE(exsea @ Mar 25 2009, 02:19 PM)
everything is hackable.

if u really want to secure ur file, maybe rename it to a weird extension like u winrar it to file.rar , then u rename the file to file.wmv

high chance people will just assume it is a corrupt file (unless theyre ppl like me)
zip password especially rar password are extremely hard and almost no way to crack, unless maybe using paid software which i never have that i can try with
SUSjoe_star
post Mar 25 2009, 02:54 PM

Serving the Servants
1,810 posts

make it a really long (no less than 10) alphanumeric password. Brute force methods with current hardware can take years to crack those
eXPeri3nc3
post Mar 25 2009, 03:31 PM

It's coming! 3ɔu3ıɹǝdxǝ ♥
9,257 posts

It's crackable but not feasible (not within the time frame of the data validity), which means it will be years before people can get access to what's inside the archive.

Unless you use like 1234567890 as your password then glhf.

Alphanumeric + !@#$%^&*() = very secure already for now.
n8210
post Mar 25 2009, 05:05 PM

2,678 posts

Yeah, I have tried running brute force for 2 days to check on my own password, it is quite secure lar. I used around 10 alphanumeric only. Then only I let others service my laptop.
QsasaQ
post Mar 25 2009, 05:32 PM

221 posts

the best way is use chinese character , the brute force still no any way to crack chinese password yet.
TSonemilimeter
post Mar 27 2009, 06:45 PM

1,132 posts

QUOTE(QsasaQ @ Mar 25 2009, 05:32 PM)
the best way is use chinese character , the brute force still no any way to crack chinese password yet.
Thanks for your suggestion. I'm not aware that we can use chinese characters for the password of winrar.

t3chn0m4nc3r
post Mar 27 2009, 06:56 PM

Teh Necron Lord
4,139 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Mar 25 2009, 02:37 PM)
zip password especially rar password are extremely hard and almost no way to crack, unless maybe using paid software which i never have that i can try with

for US$25...? sweat.gif

QUOTE(onemilimeter @ Mar 27 2009, 06:45 PM)
Thanks for your suggestion. I'm not aware that we can use chinese characters for the password of winrar.

i also dunno bout tat... shocking.gif

ok... juz tested... need to tick "show password" den can type in Chinese if have chinese(prc) input... shocking.gif

This post has been edited by t3chn0m4nc3r: Mar 27 2009, 07:08 PM
-Torrz
post Mar 27 2009, 06:57 PM

◕‿◕
2,095 posts

lol usually all my rar files come with a password if its pw-protected
fluotone
post Mar 27 2009, 08:21 PM

street.cat.tales
2,631 posts

easy stuff... bruteforce it.. question: how come u dont have the password for the rar? if its legally yours then u should have the pw am i right? hehe
eXPeri3nc3
post Mar 27 2009, 10:51 PM

It's coming! 3ɔu3ıɹǝdxǝ ♥
9,257 posts

QUOTE(t3chn0m4nc3r @ Mar 27 2009, 06:56 PM)

LOL got password = no password wtf
QsasaQ
post Mar 31 2009, 11:45 AM

221 posts

for US$25...? sweat.gif

ok... juz tested... need to tick "show password" den can type in Chinese if have chinese(prc) input... shocking.gif

i think you have miss some step when setting the password ,
this encryption type are popular in the Chinese forum

btw,u can copy and paste the chinese character to input the password
abubin
post Apr 1 2009, 06:30 PM

10,429 posts

for US$25...? sweat.gif

Those software that claim can crack the password, I really doubt. I think they are using some hash calculation method which is some sort of brute-force. It will take years to crack if you have a well protected password like 8 characters long, using combination of small big alphabet and special characters.

If you don't want people to even see the contents of your rar file. Just double compress it. That means compress once without password. Then you will get a file called, eg filename.rar. Next, you compress that filename.rar with password protection and you will get another rar file maybe called filename-again.rar. So, when people open filename-again.rar, all they can see is filename.rar.
yeezai
post May 10 2009, 06:36 PM

-using no way as way-having no limitation as limitation-
2,531 posts

dun put your important files on your pc ...separate it and put on other hdd or thumbdrive ...
nicholas88
post May 10 2009, 06:39 PM

872 posts

everything is hackable.

Wow !! I never thought of that !
billneedme
post May 14 2009, 01:55 PM

413 posts

everything is hackable.

will this posible? hmm.gif
salimbest83
post May 14 2009, 01:57 PM

♥PMS on certain day♥
8,642 posts

i try crack the password using brute forces..

(using 12 combination)

its take 1000Years plus cracking on my quad core..
shinichi88
post May 14 2009, 02:01 PM

Holy Crusader
983 posts

QUOTE(billneedme @ May 14 2009, 01:55 PM)
will this posible?  hmm.gif
it is possible to to change the extension to whatever name u want.. not only wmv..
u can change it to xxxx.rar --> xxxx.lowyatnet
This also possible.. but some ppl can guess by trying chg the extension to various type, such as, mp3, zip, rar, iso and so on...
salimbest83
post May 14 2009, 02:01 PM

♥PMS on certain day♥
8,642 posts

agreed.. double compression oso great..
(buts take hours to compress and open it back if file too large..ie : Gigs of movies)
shinichi88
post May 14 2009, 02:04 PM

Holy Crusader
983 posts

double compression...?? great idea..
what bout triple compression with password each..
3password + 3 compress file...
it will take 3000 years.. lolz.. that time, the hacker already dead for sure
Vpoint7
post May 18 2009, 12:34 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(abubin @ Apr 1 2009, 07:30 PM)
Those software that claim can crack the password, I really doubt. I think they are using some hash calculation method which is some sort of brute-force. It will take years to crack if you have a well protected password like 8 characters long, using combination of small big alphabet and special characters.

If you don't want people to even see the contents of your rar file. Just double compress it. That means compress once without password. Then you will get a file called, eg filename.rar. Next, you compress that filename.rar with password protection and you will get another rar file maybe called filename-again.rar. So, when people open filename-again.rar, all they can see is filename.rar.
U might check up "Encrypt the file names" box to hide the file name and the content as well without double compress the file.

QUOTE(shinichi88 @ May 14 2009, 03:01 PM)
it is possible to to change the extension to whatever name u want.. not only wmv..
u can change it to xxxx.rar --> xxxx.lowyatnet
This also possible.. but some ppl can guess by trying chg the extension to various type, such as, mp3, zip, rar, iso and so on...
Changing the file format is a good way, but it might be the best if u delete the file format (vp7.rar --> vp7). So that the file will hv an error to open. Aftr that, try to bind it with images using command prompt & limit the file privileges to admin access only, so that a guess user will need admin approval to open the file. There are many ways, but it is jz tricky.
Roht
post May 22 2009, 10:03 PM

19 posts

everything is hackable.

52 61 72 21 1A 07 00
N33d
post Dec 7 2009, 04:31 PM

896 posts

QUOTE(shinichi88 @ May 14 2009, 02:04 PM)
double compression...?? great idea..
what bout triple compression with password each..
3password + 3 compress file...
it will take 3000 years.. lolz.. that time, the hacker already dead for sure
LOL
tat is what i am going to type
mayb wrote a msg and ask his ultra super great grandson to wait for it

This post has been edited by N33d: Dec 7 2009, 04:32 PM

0.0184sec    0.44    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 12:05 PM