Wedding Photography, What is our role?

TSSeng_Kiat
post Mar 24 2009, 02:56 PM, updated 17y ago

5,580 posts

hey guys,

As wedding photography, what is our role? do we need to ask the pengantin to pose? or, our role is just snap whatever they do? hurmmmm.. wink.gif ..
Mavik
post Mar 24 2009, 03:12 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

Both, you role is to take beautiful pictures of the couple as well as document the events of the day so that they couple can cherish it for the rest of their lives biggrin.gif
darthbaboon
post Mar 24 2009, 03:13 PM

Dark Lord of the Sith
2,063 posts

QUOTE(Seng_Kiat @ Mar 24 2009, 02:56 PM)
hey guys,

As wedding photography, what is our role? do we need to ask the pengantin to pose? or, our role is just snap whatever they do? hurmmmm.. wink.gif ..
You mentioning in-studio photography or on the day itself?

If in-studio, then memang is you ask them to pose. But during the day, I think the key is capturing the moments. You may ask them to pose for a few shots when you have a good background or so, but I doubt the bride and the groom would have so much time to pause and pose every few steps for you to shoot.

So yeah... position yourself to capture great moments at the best angles possible.
TSSeng_Kiat
post Mar 24 2009, 03:21 PM

5,580 posts

QUOTE(darthbaboon @ Mar 24 2009, 03:13 PM)
You mentioning in-studio photography or on the day itself?

If in-studio, then memang is you ask them to pose. But during the day, I think the key is capturing the moments. You may ask them to pose for a few shots when you have a good background or so, but I doubt the bride and the groom would have so much time to pause and pose every few steps for you to shoot.

So yeah... position yourself to capture great moments at the best angles possible.
oo .. i got it .. smile.gif .. so .. for the post wedding, we need to ask them how to post, etc .. if during the day itself, just capture the moment and angle is the key .. yeah .. i got it .. smile.gif .. thanks all ..
the_tranny
post Mar 24 2009, 03:37 PM

566 posts

I think there are shots in which you need them to pose during the day of the event and im referring to pengantin Melayu cos im not familiar with non-melayu weddings, the pelamin shots. Im pretty sure you would need to direct them to pose, IF you plan to do Pelamin shots. And most of the time, the Pelamin would be gone / dismantled as soon as the majlis/kenduri ends too.
I personally am not cut out to play main-photographer role for a wedding. I'd settle being the second or third photographer. But thats just me tongue.gif Way to go for you Seng Kiat.
Wedding photography is a very very tiring and meticulous job.
TSSeng_Kiat
post Mar 24 2009, 04:31 PM

5,580 posts

QUOTE(the_tranny @ Mar 24 2009, 03:37 PM)
I think there are shots in which you need them to pose during the day of the event and im referring to pengantin Melayu cos im not familiar with non-melayu weddings, the pelamin shots. Im pretty sure you would need to direct them to pose, IF you plan to do Pelamin shots. And most of the time, the Pelamin would be gone / dismantled as soon as the majlis/kenduri ends too.
I personally am not cut out to play main-photographer role for a wedding. I'd settle being the second or third photographer. But thats just me tongue.gif Way to go for you Seng Kiat.
haha . i am not up to that level yet .. i just ask to know .. smile.gif .. maybe one day, I will try but not now .. i only have kit lens .. hahaha .. tongue.gif ..
Kaivr
post Mar 24 2009, 04:42 PM

36 posts

quoted for truth wink.gif
i'm not tall enough to beat the crowd, so its better to have an assistant who is.

ahmadpi
post Mar 24 2009, 04:45 PM

157 posts

the role is not simple, especially if you are charging them in very high price! high price, high expectation! you can't just snap all candid photo, you need to be the director most of the time to produce nice photos! easier said than done!
timothyy
post Mar 24 2009, 04:53 PM

Do Not Underestimate the "Pawa" of the Dark Side
4,504 posts

Ha! Ha! Ha! Tiring? Definitely. Imagine... u are at all time on alert mode for the whole day if not 2.
I still have painful butts since last Saturday... a 18 hours long wedding. And about 2 hrs rest. Can't call it rest actually coz we were doing he Post Process for wedding slide show. (zio did it).

My personal view - For the wedding day itself, we should not be the director demanding things from the couple or anyone around them. It can be pre arrange but not on the day itself unless if the couple have some free time. Usually while waiting.

We saw 1 videographer get scolded before for asking the couple to post right after the tea ceremony in the afternoon. He! He!
By saying this, it doesn't mean cannot at all. You still can do it but be considerate of the whole situation.

Capturing moment? Well, after few rounds of doing wedding shoots and do some research, you will notice that most of the time, it is very repeatative. So... all depends on how ready you are.

TSSeng_Kiat
post Mar 24 2009, 05:03 PM

5,580 posts

oo .. i got it .. smile.gif ..

btw, what is the custom album? is it just a sticky album where we put the pictures?

normally, how long photographer takes to deliver the output to client? do we need to post process with effect, etc? wink.gif ..
timothyy
post Mar 24 2009, 05:13 PM

Do Not Underestimate the "Pawa" of the Dark Side
4,504 posts

How long is depending on u.
Album? Depending on how they pay u. Pay peanuts get monkey.
mybiebie
post Mar 24 2009, 06:16 PM

1,419 posts

for starters no choice la....sometimes hav to give more things so ppl will choose u...when famous already then can demand better price..
achew
post Mar 24 2009, 06:25 PM

Photolithography Engineer
3,807 posts

went to try as 2 days photographer of a wedding..indeed..its so !#$%^ tiring...my hand n fingers are so painful after holding my camera for 2 whole day..lol
TSSeng_Kiat
post Mar 24 2009, 06:58 PM

5,580 posts

QUOTE(achew @ Mar 24 2009, 06:25 PM)
went to try as 2 days photographer of a wedding..indeed..its so !#$%^ tiring...my hand n fingers are so painful after holding my camera for 2 whole day..lol
i gonna try as 2nd photographer la one day .. after i get better lens .. CZ1680 .. brows.gif
mybiebie
post Mar 24 2009, 07:03 PM

1,419 posts

me also want to try.....from my fren comment that wedding photography no easy job....from early morning to nite...must hav good stamina, can't pengsang half way no body take photos rite..
Vincent Pang
post Mar 25 2009, 09:31 AM

1,764 posts

QUOTE(Seng_Kiat @ Mar 24 2009, 06:58 PM)
i gonna try as 2nd photographer la one day .. after i get better lens .. CZ1680 ..  brows.gif
no need CZ1680... i have seen photographer that charges RM299 uses kitlens only smile.gif
goldfries
post Mar 25 2009, 09:33 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

it's not the lens, it's the picture! you have to capture the moment!

as to whether to get them to pose or not - it's up to you.

there are 2 types of photos, 1 is like candid / reporting style. everything captured as it is. then there's the pose, where you direct here and there to get a shot.

i suggest doing both. that's what I do. in some cases I'll get them to do some things, look at me or whatever. other cases I just pay attention to the moments where composition is available. :
hornetEJ
post Mar 25 2009, 09:54 AM

648 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Mar 25 2009, 09:33 AM)
it's not the lens, it's the picture! you have to capture the moment!

as to whether to get them to pose or not - it's up to you.

there are 2 types of photos, 1 is like candid / reporting style. everything captured as it is. then there's the pose, where you direct here and there to get a shot.

i suggest doing both. that's what I do. in some cases I'll get them to do some things, look at me or whatever. other cases I just pay attention to the moments where composition is available. :
A mixture of both styles would be good. Try not to 'direct' the pose too much. I've seen during a wedding that the photographer was trying to 'direct' the entire wedding ceremony where he will stop the couple in the middle of ceremony and ask them to pose for him. That's sort of irritated the couple and the family. shakehead.gif

Anyway, there's quite a good section on wedding photography on this month's DCM if you are interested
goldfries
post Mar 25 2009, 02:13 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

actually some directs are needed. just mix and don't interrupt. because some scenes are best capture natural.
TSSeng_Kiat
post Mar 25 2009, 04:27 PM

5,580 posts

is there any site or information on how to pose? I am kinda out of idea .. biggrin.gif ..
goldfries
post Mar 25 2009, 04:41 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

there no way to tell you on HOW to get them to pose la.

please, that part use common sense la. you're the artist!

i mean think logic la. there's plenty of wedding photos around, just have a look at those.
junglecat
post May 9 2009, 12:55 AM

sometimes it depends on d couple oso.... i think some couples like my fren dun really like to pose, they oni wanted candid shots for their weddin.... so dat is what their weddin photographer did. they wld probably get irritated if he kept interruptin their weddin to ask them to pose... whereas some couple probably like to pose in front of d camera wun... laugh.gif
Maniac
post May 9 2009, 01:02 AM

That Tech Guy Who Use Nikon For Video
5,938 posts

maybe u can read this, http://www.rokkorfiles.com/Wedding101-page1.html
Banzai_san
post May 9 2009, 11:06 AM

Samurai Spirit
1,185 posts

other than candid, capture the moment shot of the brides... I think also interesting to capture the "ambience"... for example in melayu wedding, maybe some shots of the surroundings or the gotong royong actions during the wedding days... the kompang etc...

Just a thought... hmm.gif smile.gif

0.0205sec    0.89    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 10:08 PM