Small Form Factor (SFF) Rev.3

Traveler
post Apr 6 2009, 06:05 PM

Mad HD and SSD Collector
811 posts

Is anyone using the Silverstone NT-06 Lite heatsink in their SG-01? I'm wondering if are comfortable with temps.

I have the NT-06 Lite mounted in my SG-01 with a Silverstone PSU ontop, and it's so flush that I can't put a fan on the NT-06 Lite. Right now am using it on a E8200 (stock, no OCing), and speedfan reports idle temps around 48C (BIOS says around 37-38C, which should I believe?).

I have 3x 80mm CM silent fans on the 3 fan positions for the SG-01, with a PCI slot blower fan sucking hot air from the onboard GPU and out the back, since I was worried about overheating (speedfan reports GPU temps around 78-80C, but I dont know if accurate).

Later I will post pics of the setup so you can see what I mean, now in the office sad.gif
Traveler
post Apr 7 2009, 09:04 AM

Mad HD and SSD Collector
811 posts

QUOTE(jvjh666 @ Apr 6 2009, 08:50 PM)
urs oc gao gao mah....ppl stock clock leh
but i think its ok lar since didnt apply fan on NT-06 lite
my e5200 runs around 50c~55c on killah whale without fan xD
Hah, wanted to post pic but my PC crashed and died. Lucky I saved all my data on HDs and partitions other than the OS partition. Looks like a reformat/install is in order for my main rig. In any case, perhaps my temps aren't so way off then based on your comments. I am running a fanless cooling on the CPU (although the PSU fan is sucking air from the heatsink, the fan is not that powerful).

I just worry if the GPU or CPU can take it when I start loading them. Anyone else experience burning hot onboard GPUs? My mobo is the Asus P5N7A-VM (I think... I always mix up Asus mobo numbers; its the one with nvidia chipset). While installing OS via the optical drive (my completed casing has no optical drives), I had the case open, and used a 80mm fan blowing at the CPU/GPU to keep things cool. Now after closing the casing, I added the slot blower fan to suck air from GPU out the back, and I can feel the air is warm. Problem is the fan is a little noisier than I like. I have another quieter slot blower fan but it moves a lot less air. I am just worried about the GPU overheating.
Traveler
post Jun 23 2009, 12:15 PM

Mad HD and SSD Collector
811 posts

QUOTE(LWRNCH6550 @ Jun 23 2009, 11:45 AM)
The second cause of the heat on the Asus P5N7A-VM is because of the lousy chipset HS, the heat pipe is placed on top of the HS instead of going through the core contact, but you could add a 30mm fan to cool it down. I had to add two 120mm fans into my crowded SG03 to push more hot air out of the case, the noise is a pain in the ears.

Well aside from the new Nvidia chipsets, other chipsets like the intel G4x series or the other platform, like the AMD platforms is a good go.
However, im not sure how cool the new AMD platform runs, but i do know the Intel integrated and older AMD platform perform much more cooler than the GF9300.

Basically, its not recommended to run the P5N7A on SG02, Ive tried it on my other SG02 and the heat was accumulated badly in the case with or without extra exhaust fan.
I have the P5N7A-VM mobo in a SG01 casing. The GPU runs very hot >70C when idle. What I did was to stick on a 60mm Sunon fan (controlled by a Zalman Fanmate) directly on top of the heatsink. At full fan speed, temps go down to about 48C when idle, but fan is a bit noisy, so I usually reduce speed till I get temps just under 60C. This is one of the reasons I am switching my HTPC build from this mobo/SFF casing to a ATX desktop HTPC casing without integrated graphics but much better airflow. With additional cards (TV-Tuner, Sound card, etc) a SFF casing has relatively poor airflow and temps get a bit too warm for my liking.

Traveler
post Jun 25 2009, 05:01 PM

Mad HD and SSD Collector
811 posts

I have a E8200 with the P5N7A-VM motherboard in the SG-01 casing. My CPU heatsink is the NT-06. Normally this setup is a fanless setup, using the PSU's fan to suck air out from the NT-06 and out the back - the location of the PSU fan is right above the NT-06, almost touching.

Under full-load conditions (folding 24/7) the CPU will step down to 6x (I enabled this feature as I was worried about overheating), and at speed (2.0GHz) the core temps are around 60-65C. My concerns over this relatively high-temps led me to jury-rig a low-profile 80mm high-speed delta fan undernearth the heatsink blowing up through the fins and into the PSU. Having it blowing full-blast I can lower the CPU temps by about 3-6C, but the Delta fan has a relatively high-pitched whine which is very annoying, so I usually leave it off.

I have since decided to switch to another motherboard (ATX) in a larger casing (desktop) to allow me to run my CPU full speed (or even OC it a bit) without running extremely high temps.
Traveler
post Jun 25 2009, 11:38 PM

Mad HD and SSD Collector
811 posts

QUOTE(tkaira @ Jun 25 2009, 06:01 PM)
a P5N7A-VM motherboard does run hot with an idle temp of 50-60c if im not mistaken...that already contributes a lot to the high ambient temp...thats the main reason i changed my mind from purchasing this mother board to a P5Q-EM as its idle temp is around 40c so i think that would result in a better setup...for graphics im planning to upgrade to a 9600gt or anything more efficent as newer GPU's will come out by the end of the year from nvidia if im correct...so ur switching to an ATX eyh....maybe its better like that...i on the other hand travel a lot so i need something small hence the SFF...well i hope everything goes well for me  sweat.gif ..
Yeah the combination of the very hot GPU/chipset + hot CPU + my desire to fit in more HDDs let me to decide to move to a larger form factor. I still like the SFF form factor though, I have 3 mATX mobos, so I may still put together another rig with these parts, but not as a HTPC, so I can eliminate the high-end sound card and TV tuner, and only use one HDD, so it may run cooler.

QUOTE(LWRNCH6550 @ Jun 25 2009, 07:56 PM)
Btw, anyone knows any good recommendation on any good 12cm fans below RM50 a piece ? I'm thinking of getting Enermax Volcano.
I like the Enermax Twister Magma - 69cfm but still quiet. The CM "90cfm" fan is pretty decent though I hear CM LEDs tend to die early. Also the Xigmatek fans are pretty good (white LEDs). All relatively easy to find in LYP. For quiet fans, I usually just use the bunch of CM "silent" or LED fans that I get bundled with CM casings.. have a whole lot of them.

0.0164sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 02:27 AM