University Multimedia University, Anything related to MMU

sexualpower
post Mar 22 2009, 10:53 PM

1,964 posts

QUOTE(RainJR @ Mar 21 2009, 01:14 PM)
i send adi my application to MMU,but i havent receive any letter which inform me they had receive my application. when i'm checking online admission status, keep on error. I sent my application also to TAR College on the same day with MMU's. But,TAR College already replied and my application at there under consideration. May I know what is going on ?
do u even see any MMU advertisement in The Star newspaper? i see none, this is how serious the admin of MMu has become~

Added on March 22, 2009, 10:56 pm
QUOTE(RainJR @ Mar 21 2009, 01:47 PM)
Oh ya,does MMU Law CLP recognised ?
Law faculty started for an estimated 3 years, it's best that you call MMu to ask~ by the way, also bear in mind that MMu has not been providing information regarding policy change that may be a valid reason for accreditation termination~

Added on March 22, 2009, 10:58 pm
QUOTE(ISFJ @ Mar 21 2009, 04:04 PM)
Can I know the fees for a bachelor's degree in Electric & Electronic Engineering or Electronic Engineering majoring in Telecommunications in MMU for the 2009/2010 intake? I've searched the MMU website but I couldn't find anything about it.

Also, when is the deadline for the application for the June intake?

Thank you  smile.gif
should be around 44k

Added on March 22, 2009, 11:03 pm
QUOTE(Bigblock @ Mar 21 2009, 04:37 PM)
Hows is mechanical eng in MMU? in melaka?the lecturers and all? i am a diploma tele grad from there, but i left in 2008. never knewe much bout the university after that since the new president took over Dr.ghauth's seat. I heard the situation is getting bad is it true?
2nd year students amounting to 50% had failed their Fluid Mechanics and the appeal to have a class to avoid prolonging graduation has been replied with 3 words -> "not enough manpower" pls look at the earlier link regarding the abolishment of W model issue for the answer to your question regarding the new administration after Prof Ghauth went to UM, 1 dean and 2 lecturers went over to UTAR

Added on March 22, 2009, 11:06 pm
QUOTE(Bigblock @ Mar 21 2009, 04:55 PM)
I see... but what are the current prices? hows the new president?since your an src rep in melaka?
there has been rumours on TM giving out MMU tender but no one accepted~ if this were to be true, is it a case of TM selling MMu? could it be linked to the lack of advertisements and sudden increase of failure rates if all these are true? just food for thought

Added on March 22, 2009, 11:10 pm
QUOTE(Bigblock @ Mar 21 2009, 05:13 PM)
Coz i heard the situation is gettin bad there? but what else to do bro so thats why i am askin you since you opened this thread for any inquiry. So i dont thing its right you answer me in this manner, not to flame you here but its best if you answer the questions correctly not by saying "u want to know u talk to him urself and see lo... muahaha". This aint funny to me by any means.
i believe that enquiring is good only if u get answers~ here, take a look, u be the judge~ President's "Foreword" page, "Coming Soon" even when the President is here for almost a year

Added on March 22, 2009, 11:12 pm
QUOTE(gavinfernando @ Mar 21 2009, 05:31 PM)
sorry but i dont mean anything much... truly apologize... Let me put it this way, since im in src, i can barely see the president in melaka.. mostly he will be in cyebr except wednesday where he will be in the office... but the thing is, much thing has happen before... They had change the president. The first president then went to utar... on the way, some lecturers left mmu for utar as well.. and now he is in UM. Then comes in this president... I really cannot comment on this part cox personally I carnt see him often. So, I could not comment. The sentense i put, might upset u or what... and again a apologise.. The meaning behind it... was that even most of us carnt get to see him, and u think everyone can see him? thats the idea... and i dun think u catch it... so, im here to make it clear...

and again... sorry.
it's true that Ghauth is no more in MMu and that lecturers and even a Dean of FOE has went to UTAR, are the new policies which are implemented even in the exam unit and the bell curve from the new president?

This post has been edited by sexualpower: Mar 22 2009, 11:33 PM
sexualpower
post Mar 22 2009, 11:30 PM

1,964 posts

QUOTE(corallinkz @ Mar 21 2009, 06:54 PM)
which courses is popular in MMU? can u recommended me courses under engineering, IT related.do u have IMs (msn/ym/gtalk etc) so that i can further ask u there? Please PM me smile.gif
I recommend software engineering and ISE under FIST faculty~ basically based on the fair pricing for having the priviledge of having lecturers who actually do research and development in the university itself~ lecturers who do that are actually very much towards the academic side~ as for engineering courses, I'm not so sure but I'd strongly recommend that u stay away from mechanical as the failure rate is very high, u can check the failure rates by downloading the list of students who failed in the bulletin board -> bulletin.mmu.edu.my

i happen to have a downloaded file, sem1 of 2008/2009 (change the extention from .doc to .xls as .xls is not allowed in LYN), i counted 83 students failing fluid mechanics, total students were 160, that's 50%
sexualpower
post Mar 23 2009, 12:03 AM

1,964 posts

QUOTE(Bigblock @ Mar 22 2009, 11:56 PM)
Failure retes are very high in MMU i see..."not enough man power" is really a bad excuse to them paying students.I heard ISO is being used as a standsrd for marking and thats the reason y students fail?
The new president aint doin all good i see...
well, from my opinion, i don't see why MMu don't wanna earn more if they can~ i think u can check from bulletin board that one of the SRC had put on a thread on starting a class, poor fella~ my advice is that u check the bulletin board for the last semester and then talk directly to him and ask, he's still in SRC after all

Added on March 23, 2009, 12:08 am
QUOTE(Bigblock @ Mar 22 2009, 11:56 PM)
Failure retes are very high in MMU i see..."not enough man power" is really a bad excuse to them paying students.I heard ISO is being used as a standsrd for marking and thats the reason y students fail?
The new president aint doin all good i see...And which faculty are you from sexualpower?
standard depends on many factors, supply and demand being one, the government & money being another and nearer to student, it's the professional bodies and in-campus politics~ let me tell u, CPA reported last month that they were not aware of the policy change of MMu, they didn't know about the W model~ so account students, take note~ when a new president comes in with new policies, can u say no to it, i wonder~ will a Dean say no? everyone is working for a payslip at the end of the month and dare u say no to the boss?

as for the W model, it has been implemented and will not be changed from what I've read in the SRC blog

i'm in social university aka working, fortunately~ my sis is in MMu~

This post has been edited by sexualpower: Mar 23 2009, 12:08 AM
sexualpower
post Mar 23 2009, 07:39 AM

1,964 posts

QUOTE(corallinkz @ Mar 23 2009, 04:05 AM)
thanks for the recommendation. just want to confirm, SE is not under any of the ENGINEERING in the MMU?
and any chances to go to abroad in MMU? there is no twinning program ?
SE is only on software~ there is a course called Electronics majoring in Computers, this is the one on hardware~ I'm aware of partnership with China's university but I've never heard of any twinning programs in MMU~ so far, no twinning program for MMU students~ closest I've heard is the student exchange program to Japan for 1 semester~
sexualpower
post Mar 23 2009, 07:35 PM

1,964 posts

QUOTE(corallinkz @ Mar 23 2009, 04:05 AM)
thanks for the recommendation. just want to confirm, SE is not under any of the ENGINEERING in the MMU?
and any chances to go to abroad in MMU? there is no twinning program ?
the word "engineering" means "the process of making"~ most of the time, in profession, the word refers to physical and tangible objects and therefore, we get electrical and electronics engineerings (circuit board), mechanical engineering (engine), robotics engineering (automation) but when it comes to software engineering, u'll be making softwares through building computer codes and then compiling them to become programs~

Added on March 23, 2009, 8:07 pm
QUOTE(elhh82 @ Mar 23 2009, 08:01 AM)
I don't think it is a fair comment to say that just because a university has a high failure rate, therefore it is bad. For certain truly difficult subjects, it should not be unexpected to have failures.
u're right, it's not fair to say that high failure rates makes a university bad~ in my opinion, asking "why would high failure rate happen in the first place?" would be a better question~ thanks for your post and lets have a look. here are some possible opinions to why there are high failure rates :
- One of Utar's professor who is an associate dean mentioned that there are measures that ensure that failure rates as high as 50% would not happen (logic : there may be a thorough discussion prior to a policy and not just implementing)

I would be worried if nobody fails in a particular university. That would mean that the standards in that university is extremely poor, and any tom d*** and harry will graduate. In the long run, someone who has a degree from there would find it worthless as potential employees would shun it like the plague (ask around the industry and most hiring managers have a list of local unis to avoid for particular fields).
- who will be responsible when students fail? (logic : 1) the intake policy, 2) lecturers' final questions relating to what he/she has taught 3) the quality of the education from the aforementioned lecturer, 4) policies which does not have space for any adjustments in case of human error like the abolished W model, 5) the students' studies) even if it is the students who are at fault here, it wouldn't be as logic as the aforementioned logic 1 - 4, i wonder "which student doesn't want to pass?" by the way, do u know that if u get just a credit in science and maths, you can be admitted to MMu in the year I enrolled?

I think prior to abolishing the Bell Curve marking system, the quality in MMU has been in decline (have been hearing this often from my friends in industry) due to looser enrollment standards (bound to happen as we have far too many unis, and there are only so many top quality students, universities have to cari makan and will have to let in a quota every year) and poor quality control.
- quality of MMu declining before the abolishment of W model? any proof on this one? (logic : I've seen with my own eyes the past year question papers available from the library and I advice u to have a look as well)

I think seeing more failures in MMU is a positive development. It is not like you have only 1 chance to pass the subject. If you couldn't make it through the first time, retake the subject and work harder the next time around.
- pls be aware that there has been pre-requisites in all courses in MMu at this moment~ any failure of most of the subjects, i estimate 90% of the subjects, would mean that a student has to extend at least 1 year in order to graduate if he/she doesn't want to squeeze that particular subject into the already packed university schedule (logic : an estimated 95% of the subjects offered will only be offered in 1 specified semester and none other, if a person fails a subject, he/she has to wait 1 academic year in order to retake it) will the future students of MMu have to grad with 4 - 6years as opposed to other university students? we're here to learn, not only here to be forced to waste time and be graded~

Lecturer quality can of course still be improved, and i think it is being done with the new policy that is targeting full PhD. academic staff in the near future. The new administration is also taking complaints against lecturers seriously. I know of some who have been hauled up to the disciplinary board because of their poor class performance.
full PhD academic staff... I'll vote u as student representative, my friend~ but not as a president~ no pain no gain~ full PhD academic staff would burn a hole in every student's wallet, as well as having low efficiency for those PhD staffs because they are the only ones who can provide Masters~ if they are going to provide Masters, these students have to choose between part-time or full-time~ If part-time Masters pursuers are not allowed to be lecturers, the cost of maintaining the academic staff would be tremendous and then the square one question arises, why not let Masters qualified PhD pursuers be part-time lecturers to save cost? I guess that shed some light~

thanks for your questions, I think u helped a lot in clearing doubts~

This post has been edited by sexualpower: Mar 23 2009, 08:07 PM
sexualpower
post Mar 23 2009, 09:05 PM

1,964 posts

QUOTE(irix @ Mar 23 2009, 08:48 PM)
you're one of the src, aren't you suppose to encourage students to enter MMU instead of promoting other universities?
i guess everyone here is "encouraging students to pick the most suitable place" instead of "encouraging students to enter MMu"~ i think that regret is one of life's biggest enemy~ it is the "I should have found out more before I make that decision"~ I hope this thread will help by giving information without censorship and without bias~ I was thinking about when someone would actually ask about the benefits of studying in MMu that can't be found anywhere else in other institutions~ I don't think there is anything special in MMu~ it seems like a regular higher learning institution that is having some unresolved issues that are affecting students since June 2009~

MMu may have jurisdiction over at SRC like the previous anti-corruption agency before the MACC was formed~

gavin may be tight-lipped but whether it is tight or loose, I will try to encourage students to have minimal regret~ there are many other issues that are in play concerning this~ how about the 3 years courses that the government is encouraging? look at Utar's accounting course, it's 3 years~ now take a look at MMu and u see the old system of 4 years~
sexualpower
post Mar 24 2009, 09:38 PM

1,964 posts

QUOTE(purplelized @ Mar 24 2009, 09:15 PM)
If i have a diploma in Telecommunication and i am interested in taking teh engineering in Telecommunication in MMU.
My question is, how many years can i skip in MMU?
1 year and a few subjects in my opinion~ u have to ask and fill in form for credit transfer if not mistaken~
sexualpower
post Mar 28 2009, 10:47 AM

1,964 posts

QUOTE(gavinfernando @ Mar 27 2009, 07:34 PM)

Added on March 27, 2009, 7:51 pmFrom: Sexualpower

it's true that Ghauth is no more in MMu and that lecturers and even a Dean of FOE has went to UTAR, are the new policies which are implemented even in the exam unit and the bell curve from the new president?

Reply:
- The new president emphysis the system to be in R&D. And if a change in the new system and etc, does not actually just involve the MMU president but from the senate and other high ranking people within the university..
if R&D it is, would MMu be a centre focused on lecturers and tutors instead of students? is yes, then IMHO, the focus of MMu as compared to other universities are wayyy different, most universities try to cater to students' needs and view them as the heart and soul of a learning institution, without students, there will be no need for any lecturers

the board of directors remain less visible to me~ were politics involved since the MMu president knows many people from his involvement in Uniten (I heard that the reason for him leaving was because of a change in policy, seems similar here) and another public university (disclosed for anonymity purposes)

QUOTE(gavinfernando @ Mar 27 2009, 07:34 PM)

Failure retes are very high in MMU i see..."not enough man power" is really a bad excuse to them paying students.I heard ISO is being used as a standsrd for marking and thats the reason y students fail? The new president aint doin all good i see...And which faculty are you from sexualpower?

Reply:
- Does it mean having low failure rate is good? Says who ISO is not for marketing? MMU is a private sector and I am not surprised that they do so… Most of the time, students are the one who fail themselves… (last minute study) and etc. When they fail, they just blame on the policy where bell curve was being abolished… Why don’t just find out the real mistakes? Attitude? I even see people with the ID 102XXXXXXX… means they came into mmu in 2002… and still now in MMU… during that time, bell curve still exist… yet, the failure rate is still high.

here are some comments i was able to reply... hope i can reply more but i carnt do so due to time constrain. if there is an emergency, contact me at my mobile.

Gavin
low failure rates is good in my opinion because it shows that the system is not as flawed as it is with failure rates going up to 50%, as indicated by Dr. Liang Meng Suan (i asked) from UTAR~ as indicated by Mr Yau Sing Hing @ Yeow Sing Hing, this matter can be brought up to the board of engineers (BEM) for questioning and re-evaluation of the accrediation~

in manufacturing industry, the ISO is internationally recognized and it's viewed as a liability coz it's a cost that brings only a standard~ Malaysia has ISO (similar but not ISO standard) of our own by the way

are students really the ones to blame when it comes to 50% failure rate which has never happened and only appeared coincidentally when the bell curve or W model has been stopped from usage? are there other problems which has been spawned from this policy change?

I would say that there is a large link... a repercussion effect when a policy is implemented~ in my opinion, it is the teaching, the level of examinations, the internal, external and 3rd party review of the exam questions before finalization, the administration in terms of the regulations of marks, and the factor of the vicious cycle, for example, some lecturers are now setting super easy questions in response to the change in policy, that sounds to me like lowering the past years of quality education and past good reputation with the industry which hires the graduates~ what will be their opinion on current and future graduates after this? I guess students can just pray and hope for the best~

i've heard of quotas on the maximum allowable failures implemented for different subjects~ but have u heard of failures up to 3,800 in 1 semester in 1 campus(cyberjaya) alone? this happened in sem1~ the 50% failure rate was in Malacca campus, the whole of MMu is involved~ I have not heard of any measures to compliment this change in policy nor have I heard of any reaction towards any complimentary change in policy to suit this W model policy~

in my opinion, abolishment W model is great, it's superb~ but who benefits from this? are there any benefit in the first place? should current issues relating to the examination question reviewing system, the performance index (KPI) of lecturers being more transparent, and in correlation with the students' academic evaluation system be reviewed in light of the important change of the W model? in my opinion, there are many issues that need to be addressed with the implementation of this new policy but it has been almost a year now and so far, there doesn't seem to be any news, according to the SRC blog~

Added on March 28, 2009, 10:58 am
QUOTE(Enferno @ Mar 28 2009, 12:18 AM)
I'm a final Eng student from MMU. I think I can give some view on faculty of engineering cyberjaya.

true facts:
-ppl cant see any intake ad, but if u flip through classified, u will c MMU is hiring lots of lecturers.. MMU is really short of lecturers. Currently this is my final sem, I'm taking 2 subjects +FYP. imagine the 2 subjects was taught by 2 new lecturer which i can say with no teaching experience.
- 1 president, 2 deans, lots of assoc dean and senior lecturers resigned and move out of MMU. I can say 80% move to UTAR.
- Clubs and association activities is getting lesser and lesser. the campus is so boring now. MMUians should know how "happening" is MMU last year compare to this year, activities like GDC, tournaments and pasar malam..
I know that UTAR is still new, but the one controlling it is MMU ex-faculty of engineering dean aka vice president. He and gauth are the man behind the success of MMU. Why MMU degree was recognised by BEM and industry because he have the know how to set the course outline relevant to current requirements.

So what i can see that, UTAR will be a better Uni. they have tons of money, good research facility and handful of good lecturers. Minus point is, Kampar is a bit ulu la, no entertainment.

if u wan more personal advice, do pm me. will try to help..
This post has been edited by sexualpower: Mar 28 2009, 10:58 AM
sexualpower
post Mar 29 2009, 07:41 PM

1,964 posts

QUOTE(gavinfernando @ Mar 28 2009, 03:30 PM)
to: sexualpower

Believe me that MMU will change as time comes... More plans will yet to come and is all for the betterment of the students. R&D in a sense both parties (students and lecturers).

Altough people say that the new president is bad and etc, I carnt comment much as I dont wish to. This is because he just became the President (now one year plus) and there are much plans which will be executed.

The coming one will be the change of semesters (accademic) and the long run will be open book exams and etc. Without R&D, the people expecially the staff could not change the system (without proper knowledge). And as for the students, lecturers will encourage students to do self research with the lecturer's guidance so that the students can get the knowledge and be able to coupe with the outside world after graduation..
lets just help the students with current facts~ the future is something we can only estimate~ if there have been R&D being done, more complimentary policies would have come together with the abolishment of W model~ and besides, when Prof. Ghauth and Prof. Chuah was around (even in Malacca as Dean or in Cyber as Dean in the later years), there has been no debate on this issue, how come a president who has not been in MMu for more than 1 semester (at that time) make such a drastic policy that affects 20k students (the population of both campuses)~

i think i have more than double the years of experience on MMu than you currently have, my friend~ i have been to their open days right after form 5 and until now, i'm still involved in student activities as committee member although i'm working~

there have been a lot of ragging for the past years~ but only by committees towards other committees, =.='
sexualpower
post Mar 29 2009, 11:25 PM

1,964 posts

QUOTE(gavinfernando @ Mar 29 2009, 08:15 PM)
Well, I think I need to agree on you that the future is something we can estimate... And I didnt say as well that I have experience. Opening this trend give me new exposure and new experience as I know most of the seniors do use lowyat forum. I just finish my foundation level and now I am perusing degree in marketing and now is just my first semester in beta. Therefore, there are much and many things that u know more than me or maybe most of us (besides super senior students which is still in MMU- u should know who I meant).

And this forum is mainly to help the public but not for personal interest. But friend, time has brought changes in things. You are a senior of MMU and I do respect you and your points as u have your own stand. But what u know is maybe tru what you heard and read, but I am experiencing it... ( experience it as im in those meetings and interact with the staff and etc). Correct me if im wrong but what u know, mostly the information would be from our SRC website and from your friends. And "ragging"... is it still visible and that bad? I cant guarantee that this thing does not exist at all anymore, and even might be happening under our nose... What I want to point out is, the discipline of the students is still under control (right now) and do correct me if im wrong.
i agree totally, if any of the information that I provided is even slightly inaccurate, do speak freely and I'll edit it on the same day, I'll check this thread daily from now~

I'm here to put all matters in what it should be~ the present is a consequence of the past and the future, the consequence of the present~ I know the past and it has brought us here~ if you are able to forsee a reaction of the future due to some present action, pls don't hide it and let us know~ otherwise, i advice u to see what I have written~

I have been in the meeting with Dean itself at the latest Dean meeting, I know more than just referring to SRC's blog~ your assumption here is not accurate~
sexualpower
post Mar 30 2009, 12:47 AM

1,964 posts

QUOTE(lycan01 @ Mar 30 2009, 12:08 AM)
to sexualpower: if a person is about to enter a uni, which uni would u recommend?
for accounting -> UTAR & local uni (bold and decisively fast to take the step to go from 4 years back to 3 years degree, in line with international standards)
for everything else -> public uni (i don't see anything justifiable in paying 30k - 60k more to get a degree except for a little more in knowledge not taught from books when encountering highly educated lecturers who devote their lives to educating others)

we've all paid taxes so that the government can help us in return by building public uni and subsidizing~ RM3.5k per year for IT courses if not mistaken~ and it's about 10k per year if it's private~ difference = no subsidizing by government if u go private, the tax money you paid is simply given to someone else~ facilities-wise, public uni always win~ what about location? you are free to pick from at least many states, johor UTM, KL UKM UM UTM postgrad etc.

how about the lecturers? the syllabus? the government is well aware when they planned to reduce some of the 4 years courses back to 3 years~ the government is aware of international changes when it comes to education~

you will still see many people going to private institutions~ let me give u a picture, i've worked with inti and i've heard stories of how much the China students spend per day~ 10k on 1 night of leisure~ i've been in MMu and it's almost the same~ i've seen international students pull stunts with their 2nd hand wira, 2nd hand iswara as if they cost nothing~

the reason for their expenditure comes from many reasons~ middle east countries allow scholarships which doesn't rely on results but rely on studying in a foreign country like Msia~ once they get a diploma, they are elligible and will be able to continue towards a degree in any other countries fully paid~

the students from China previously mentioned from Inti have loads of money coz it's "black money", that's what I heard from the people inside INTI~ what better way than to spend your money abroad by transferring your money to swiss bank account and letting your son or daughter access it for expenditure on any assets in a foreign country?
sexualpower
post Mar 30 2009, 11:06 PM

1,964 posts

QUOTE(Layman-kun @ Mar 30 2009, 09:58 PM)
Hi,I'm now taking serious consideration taking Mech eng course in MMU after assessment between Melaka Campus n all Utar campus. I'm just taken SPM results.

Just 1 2 ask few question:
1: Is it all students that come to Melaka campus 1st time live at emerald hostel?
2:Is thr any other hostel/house near campus(walk distance 2 campus) beside emerald hostel?
3:If I fail 1 subs at a trimester, will I have 2 refer(extend 1 yr  2 study again)?
4: I'm currently waiting result 4 matriculation which announces at 17 April, so I was planning 2 appeal if my application fail n the appeal result due 2 announce at 22 MAy. So wat shd I do if I choose waiting 4 the appeal result n didnt reply 2 the MMU letter offer? Will it b late if I accept MMU offer after appeal result fail?
3: yes, need to wait 1 whole year~ reason is that about 99% of all subjects are offered only in 1 particular semester
4: my advice is to apply for all universities and colleges~ application costs only RM10 - 30~ u need to pay only AFTER u get accepted and when u are about to start~

i strongly advice u to stay away from MMU's mechanical engineering due to the 50% failure rate in sem1 of academic year 0809 being from one of mechanical's subject, fluid mechanics, which is one of the 5 subjects in a 3 year pre-requisite~ truth is, those 83 students failed the final exam out of a total of about 160 students~ you have to pass fluid mechanics in order to take fluid dynamics, and in turn, u need to pass fluid dynamics in order to be eligible to go for another 2 subjects in the final year~ in other words, if u fail these subjects called "pre-requisites", you are going to have delay for the related subjects as well

here r the students who failed in sem1 0809, u can view the file after changing the extention to .xls~ taking a look at the fluid mechanics won't do u harm, this is concrete proof though it is in sem1 of this academic year~
sexualpower
post Apr 1 2009, 12:14 AM

1,964 posts

QUOTE(gavinfernando @ Mar 31 2009, 09:46 AM)
in addition to that, MMU is considering to extend students who fail. Since there will be a change in trimester, now there will even consider extending the students. For example, student form FBL faculty failed subject name ABC. Usually, if u fail for the subject, you will take supplementary exam after 2 weeks when the next semester reopens. but for now, as many students take the advantage of supplementary exam, students who fail will have to take the supp paper next semester. Means for now, FAIL=EXTEND. but this policy has not yet be imposed but will do so when the change of semester takes place..
from bad to worse

QUOTE(Bigblock @ Mar 31 2009, 07:29 PM)
Wow this makes me scared i juzz got my online offer for mech today, guys please advice i haven't looked at UTAR
Hows the lab fascility? I am a diploma tele grad frm mmu melaka in 2007 but it has been 2 years since i was out.
no idea about facilities but you should try buying a desktop less than Rm1k or a laptop less than RM2.5k but laptop battery lifespan is 1 1/2 years average

QUOTE(Layman-kun @ Mar 31 2009, 07:40 PM)
Thx wembley 4 ur answer. I appreciate it.

So which field/course do u guys tink mmu strong at? Actually I was trying 2 avoid study at Melaka coz of private reasons(not entertainment, independent or lifestyle problem). N i really really wanna study at MMU coz it is damn great institution n work at oil company(if possible). But the sad thing all the course I like is located at Melaka cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif

So lets say I pick electrical majoring in microwave n communications/optical engineering/nanotechnology, will I able 2 work at oil company?

I JUST WANT an engineering course at Cyberjaya that enable me 2 work at oil company. Any advice or comment from all parties is welcomed.

To Mr Gavin: How can I check the courses structure at MMU website?

Added on March 31, 2009, 7:49 pm
My uncle that graduate at Utar 2yrs ago as E&E eng told me UTAR's facilities is not so sophisicated as MMU as from wat my uncle say UTAR is lack of fund 2 provide enough facilities 4 students. In conclusion, MMU is much much better than Utar in all aspect. I post this is not 2 promote MMU but is through assessment between these 2 campus.
who says MMu is "great institution n work at oil company"? O&G, the highest paying company will just hire any grads that fits its criteria~ any idea how many stages of interview u need to go through? u need to firstly apply and go for an initial interview where they will let you talk on a random topic for 20min~ if u pass this, u need to go for a 3-days camp~ then, only 10-15% of the participants get a job which you can't choose at all, they choose the job for you~ u're requested to use newspaper and duct tapes to construct oil rigs and they'll even use a fan to try out the stability of the structure~ at the end, the final interview consists of tests on your knowledge of engineering~

electrical engineers are needed everywhere, no technician can design wiring systems (qualification factor, though experience can teach anyone any skill)

1) why must it be mechanical engineering?
2) do u know that the Dean of MMU Malacca said no longer than 2 months ago that Mechanical engineering in MMU may not be offered anymore in the near future?

by the way, if u're so much into money, why not go for some business course?
QUOTE(Layman-kun @ Mar 31 2009, 07:40 PM)
Some more the mech eng course at utar is not accredited by BEM n the 1st batch of mech eng student is due 2 graduate next yr
how many private universities do u see having no BEM recognition? BEM recognition is for academic purposes, for you to be an academician to gain the faster route towards a professional engineer, Ingeniur, who is someone qualified to have an Ir. title~ anyone going for money won't wanna go the way of the academician~ do u plan on becoming a teacher or earn money?

probably a good question to ask would be "what exactly is your goal"?

sexualpower
post Apr 2 2009, 05:30 PM

1,964 posts

QUOTE(Layman-kun @ Apr 2 2009, 08:35 AM)
I just wanna noe that bside study Electrical Engineering at Uniten, does MMU's Electrical engineering course on par with Uniten as well?

Is MMU's Electrical engineering course is Pure Electrical like UNiten?
definitely not on par, Uniten provides pure Electrical and pure Electronic courses while MMU don't

lecturers' progress in Uniten are being tracked and governed by their own KPI (performance index) system while MMU relies on students' feedback in the form of student evaluation system (totally flawed, with no penalties to control or improve lecturers and non-transparent to students and totally transparent to lecturers themselves, SRC in both campuses are currently busy with this issue)

there are many other issues if you want to compare, do state your most important criterion so that we can help you better~

Added on April 2, 2009, 5:33 pm
QUOTE(Bigblock @ Apr 2 2009, 01:45 PM)
Not to say its nt good when i was doin diploma in MMU time dun hav la... tht was back in 2005-->2007
All foundation was based in Melaka campus ONLY!
MMU changed soooo much since then~ but foundation in Cyber are limited to those courses which are only available in Cyber

QUOTE(fcuk90 @ Apr 2 2009, 04:38 PM)
wait this thread reach 2500+ post just open new 1  smile.gif
the thread-starter is concerned about not having time to edit the first post IMHO~

Added on April 2, 2009, 5:36 pm
QUOTE(spitfire111 @ Apr 2 2009, 10:29 AM)
My application got accepted and now I get the actual offer letter that I must send before 20 April doh.gif ..

anyway, in the academic qualification section, it say that I must enclose certified true copies of all relevant certificates for academic qualification...

does that mean i have to photocopy my peka physic, bio, nilam or my persatuan , uniform, etc. I just a bit confuse...

Added on April 2, 2009, 10:48 am

hi, gavinfernando

I already post in the MMU thread in kopitiam...
don't know if it might help.. smile.gif
yes, certified true copies, means photostate, let pesuruhjaya sumpah, high status government officials or your school headmaster to chop and sign~

how about we talk about food and accommodation in kopitiam?

This post has been edited by sexualpower: Apr 2 2009, 05:36 PM
sexualpower
post Apr 2 2009, 09:02 PM

1,964 posts

QUOTE(jubz @ Apr 2 2009, 07:27 PM)
http://foe.mmu.edu.my/v2/main/undergrad/co..._structure.html

>B.Eng. (Hons) Electronics
>B.Eng. (Hons) Electrical

As for the question on how the courses differ, first 2 years will share a lot of common subjects, you only specialize more towards the beginning of year 3. Those who are interested, do have a look at the programme structure. It's in the same link

Btw, i think your opinion (on not choosing MMU's Mech Eng. degree compared to other uni) is quite biased as you only repeat the same thing : ~50% failure rate for Fluid Mechanics for trimester 1 08/09. I would like to stress that I have no problems with your opinions, but it would help more if you get a steady record.
thanks for correcting me~

i'm glad you put the word "think" instead of "it is a fact that" coz it is a fact that 50% of the fluid mechanics class in sem 1 failed, the estimate is number is 83 upon an estimated 160~ feel free to check the .xls file for confirmation as well as download it from google offline cache or ask any friends who have a copy~ now, this is a fact~ whether i'm biased or not, nothing changes the fact that an estimated 3,800 students over the population of 10,000 cyberjaya students failed in the same semester~

as for a steady record, nowadays, lecturers already confessed in classes that they are taking necessary measures to temporarily reduce the failure rates by setting much easier questions, that is the case of last semester, semester 2 of the academic year~ it's now semester 3~ anyone wants to guess the outcome of the next academic year, 2009/2010?

bascially, 38% failure rate in the whole of MMU, Cyberjaya... that doesn't sound logical at all to me, I don't know exactly what caused it but IMHO, it's the new policy, the abolished W model aka bell curve~ even the papers' current international PhD scandal revealed that there is always a measure of "adjustment" to final marks because of a simple logical reason, to handle the imperfect human errors which may be in the sense of final questions being too high level for degree standard~ whether this is a yes or a no, the numbers remain, an estimated 3,800 upon an estimated population of 10,000 in Cyberjaya failed, this is reported by SRC, Malacca representatives, in the education unit~ the 83 students upon 160 is from this attached .xls that you can convert from .doc and view~

Added on April 2, 2009, 9:07 pm
QUOTE(gavinfernando @ Apr 2 2009, 07:07 PM)
im hunted down by police and i might be expelled.
i already submited my src resignation.
IMHO, gavin is a nice, friendly and humble person, i do not believe that he will do anything against the law~

This post has been edited by sexualpower: Apr 2 2009, 09:07 PM
sexualpower
post Apr 2 2009, 11:21 PM

1,964 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Apr 2 2009, 10:31 PM)
There is a KPI system for MMU lecturers as well  smile.gif
are u a shareholder or top level admin staff in MMU? the Dean of FET, Dr. Peter as well as Dr. Alan, who is in examination board as far as i remember has held a meeting with SRC and I in Feb~ they said that there isn't any KPI for MMU lecturers and the only evaluation for lecturers' standard is the student evaluation system, which has been causing troubles for students as it has been rumoured to be transparent to lecturers but not from students to students and not from lecturers to students~
sexualpower
post Apr 3 2009, 09:58 AM

1,964 posts

QUOTE(myin925 @ Apr 2 2009, 09:26 PM)
Hello~ juz wanna ask er dat appication form da lampiran A can be fill in with pen? or juz pencil? Besides can i know wad mean by da Agrigat (sebelum tahun 2000 / selepas tahun 2000) ?
must be used with pencil coz there is a machine that auto-detects your pencil lead to turn the analog input into digital format~ if u use pen, they may have to delay your application and manually fill in the form for you again~ i am not sure whether MMU possess such machine or not but INTI's exam unit has one before year 2000~
sexualpower
post Apr 5 2009, 07:14 PM

1,964 posts

QUOTE(Bigblock @ Apr 4 2009, 11:01 PM)
Go to the kopitiam MMU thread ask for fruity or someone surely they can help.
just link this thread to the cupid corner la~ lol~ fruity i think trade zone~ ask her post pic, if she leng lui, then u go, if not leng lui, then go UTAR lor~
sexualpower
post Apr 8 2009, 12:29 AM

1,964 posts

QUOTE(Bigblock @ Apr 7 2009, 10:47 PM)
Have fun bro congrats!!!

Added on April 7, 2009, 10:50 pm
But kinda worried bout the shortage but well 90% is students hard work so no choice...
generally~ everyone can still choose~ but I don't see why other alternatives or institutions that don't have lack of manpower be at the top of your priority for a higher learning institution of your choice?
sexualpower
post Apr 8 2009, 11:01 PM

1,964 posts

QUOTE(yrh0413 @ Apr 8 2009, 12:48 AM)
I graduated from MMU 2 years back, secured my 1st job in a MNC 2 weeks after I graduated.

Now I am with my 2nd job, already promoted to a managerial position in my company.

Come to think of it, MMU is really a good Uni. Never regret spending 4 years there. smile.gif To my fellow siblings, good luck and all the best in your studies.
most of the time, MNCs are big, when it comes to property, finance, plantation, manufacturing~ MNCs can be small too, especially in the service sector like sales, IT and consultancy where 1 - 10 people can have a branch in a country~ MNC is not totally secured when it comes to jobs~ MNC can re-structure anytime, means fire anyone anytime~ big gigantic berhad in Malaysia as compared to a Sdn. Bhd. can layoff thousands as compared to the smaller ones who may just give voluntary seperation schemes (VSS)~

Western Digital was the first to announce layoff months in advance Q4 of last year~

0.0531sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 12:47 AM