University Multimedia University, Anything related to MMU

NoiZy
post Apr 13 2009, 03:50 PM

460 posts

FCM job prospect is rather good, they mostly revolve in anything which requires creative skills, advertising and stuff... Their coursework mark are 70% if I'm not mistaken, while 30% is for Final's Exam, so if you do good in coursework, you won't fail!
NoiZy
post Apr 17 2009, 12:26 AM

460 posts

QUOTE(Dave91 @ Apr 16 2009, 11:19 AM)
Hi, I have some seniors who are living in Cyberia area they said the rental fees is around RM150-RM200 per month but I wonder why when i call the agent or the one who wan to rent room offer RM270-RM350 per person??
How can i find a cheaper room in Cyberia, can anyone guide me??!!
Really desperate with this issue already.....

Added on April 16, 2009, 12:57 pmanyone plss answer me urgent T__T
Bout 2years ago, Cyberia Condominium type-C cost RM1000+- per unit. Now it cost about RM1200+-, and type-C is the smallest among all, this is for the apartments la, if town/smart house I don't really know la.. I think thats why its more expensive, RM1200 divide by 3rooms, so its bout that price la. Normally when you call agent such as the bi$%h Cindy, they will offer you type-A first, that one cost bout 1600+- I think, not so sure. But also 3rooms, but bigger la.

My advice, either get a bunch of friends and book the town/smart house, or inquire about type-C units. If possible, get a unit in Seri Kembangan, Equine Park, or Serdang, it's a lot cheaper, got lots more food, better and cheaper food (cheaper you need to know where to find la), but then again, you need to travel (waste time and petrol + maintenance money). Add back, more or less the same price but with either good food or a place you can go back to when you have few hours break.

And bear in mind bout the travelling if you like to join activities
NoiZy
post Apr 17 2009, 10:16 AM

460 posts

QUOTE(Fairchild1988 @ Apr 17 2009, 12:53 AM)
I will get into MMU this June and my friends and I had dealt with a housing agent there. We rented a Block B type B unit with RM1300 per month.
The agent ask us to view the unit around the end of april. Still dunno the conditons yet....looking forward to it
My personal opinion, block B is a nice building when compared to block A and C, block A is rather dangerous to me, but don't worry, it is still safe, block C is nearest to Campus and the newest block, still, block B is the best in terms of the lift and condition. If you like either 'futsal' or basketball, block B is perfect, many basketball player at court C and many futsal players at court A. I think type-B RM1300 is rather worth it. As the type C which I might be taking next semeseter (june) cost me 1200.

:cheers:Good luck in your search, and try to cut the cost to 1250/1200 if you can.haha sweat.gif
NoiZy
post Apr 18 2009, 12:17 AM

460 posts

QUOTE(gavinfernando @ Apr 17 2009, 11:52 AM)
hi, just interested to know... How many rooms are there? And the rent covers utility fee? How many people can accommodate in the house? Just wana know... Thanks ya...
Lets see, I'm living in type-C, so what I'm telling is based on it la. 3rooms, 2single + 1master, 2toilets. Comfortably you can live 5people in the house, 2each room and 1in the middle (single) room. Fee bear by ourselves, so rental is 1200, you need to add maybe 100-200 for water, electric and streamyx.

QUOTE(kicko0o @ Apr 17 2009, 06:49 PM)
Hello guys!

Want to ask MMU expert xD... Does PTPTN loan you 100% of tuition fees? when you going to study at MMU. I mean for Diploma and degree courses. I got financial problem to study at MMU university  sad.gif  that why i want to ask about the loan which can give you how many thousand/percent.

Just want to know and confirm about this first.

PS: I'm going to apply 'Diploma in Information Technology' at MMU if PTPTN can loan me about 99% or 100%.

EDIT: Erm, do you mind to share your story about the loan at MMU too? Don't hesitated to share it at here!

Thanks guys~
Dont think they give that much, since Degree cost about that price. When I was in Foundation, it wasn't enough, need to top up a little more, few thousand. But in Degree I think can cover just the degree's cost and maybe spare a little extra for yourself, if you live in Hostel it won't be a prob
NoiZy
post Apr 18 2009, 12:52 AM

460 posts

QUOTE(gavinfernando @ Apr 18 2009, 12:45 AM)
thank you for ur info...

Added on April 18, 2009, 12:46 amfoundation cover only 8K. and the rest need to pay urself. the pptn loan, how much can get was based on parents income...
ur welcome, though kinda pitty you bout some flamming on this thread, zzz. Who never did wrong before! Important is dont repeat and must learn from it, be a better man! Right GAVIN

Ya, I think PTPTN gave 5k for foundation, and my dad top up 3k for me, got a heck of a scolding, as he thought I wasted the PTPTN money buying my stuffs. ZZZZZ
NoiZy
post Apr 18 2009, 01:50 AM

460 posts

cant really rmbr Degree how muc, lazy go dig the files, but foundation is 5k, suggest ask your parents sponsor, then degree only take ptptn, just my 2cents
NoiZy
post Jan 21 2010, 12:09 PM

460 posts

QUOTE(gavinfernando @ Jan 20 2010, 09:27 AM)
had discussion with the chairman of PTPTN the other day and there will be something new. MMU with PTPTN.
What new thing? Going to announce soon? Haihz, final sem d, so maybe nothing to do with me anyways.

NoiZy
post Jan 22 2010, 04:25 PM

460 posts

QUOTE(gavinfernando @ Jan 21 2010, 03:19 PM)
ptptn open wad? Actually now ptptn and mmu will coordinate with each other. MMU will charge students only in long sem based on credit hours. so, short sem will not need to pay to mmu. And PTPTN now come up with a system. They will bank in to students and in few seconds, the money from students account will pay the fees to mmu automatically. get it? haha. Means students no need to even do the cimb clicks... all auto...
Lol, this has been going on but in a different way then what I think you are saying. Instead of banking into our CIMB account the full amount, they bank a portion in to our CIMB account and the rest into tuition fees in our MMU account, so we don't have to pay to MMU. At least that is what friends been telling me. Cause I can't remember when was the last time I paid for tuition fees d icon_rolleyes.gif icon_rolleyes.gif icon_rolleyes.gif .

Is this what you meant?
NoiZy
post Jan 22 2010, 09:39 PM

460 posts

QUOTE(gavinfernando @ Jan 22 2010, 06:02 PM)
nope, they will bank in to ur account. the whole amount of money. For example, if u have full loan, the money will bank in RM8000 to ur account. Then automatically, the bank will transfer for example (rm2500) to mmu (based on financial kiosk). Its all auto and the balance of the money stays in the account. So, students does not need to do any transaction. Currently, PTPTN bank in to the student and MMU account.

But next time, no more. its fully to the students account and based on financial kiosk. the money will straight to MMU.
Oh, like dat hah. Good also la like that. But does that means someone is directing our account to do something, so I guess that means they would need our authorization, so is MMU going to ask students to sign something?

Ei, wanna ask, if there are balance in MMU account, how to get it back r?

QUOTE(anderyna @ Jan 22 2010, 06:07 PM)
For the degree intake smile.gif
doh.gif I'll just wait for June. haha

laugh.gif I can't wait for june to come..
Hehe, still remember when I first came in MMU, excited, wish you good luck and get all the good lecturers and handsome & pretty girls wub.gif wub.gif wub.gif
NoiZy
post Jan 23 2010, 02:11 PM

460 posts

Degree normally is June intake. Other intakes for degree normally 50% less then June intake
NoiZy
post Jan 24 2010, 03:27 PM

460 posts

amount of students
NoiZy
post Jan 24 2010, 07:22 PM

460 posts

I'm in my final sem of BBA (Hons) Marketing with Multimedia. What I know is the IT grads are much more valuable. But for BBA courses, I think we are ok also la
NoiZy
post Jan 24 2010, 07:47 PM

460 posts

Scholarship have a lot to choose, but it will boil down to your result, if you are like me, hehe, big trouble, CGPA average 3.0.

My house-mate, one taking KLSE (or something in that line) de scholarship, my GF taking YTM scholarship, another friend taking JPA. So just go search, I am taking PTPTN loan. Hehe

For my quad core, hehe, work here and there, and during short sem, go work at data-entry company nearby. My rig cost slightly more than RM2000, exclude mouse, keyboard, speaker, HDD. Now finally got money d, want upgrade 1TB HDD, then later when got money again, add 2GB ram. Hehe
NoiZy
post Jan 24 2010, 08:11 PM

460 posts

I recommend Cyberjaya campus la, the reason why I came here due to this reason

@Cyberjaya: BBA(Hons) Marketing with Multimedia
@Malacca: BBA(Hons) Marketing

So whats the difference? But I suggest you take a look at the course structure before you decide, I didn't do this, but lucky enough for me, it turns out well for me. So do check it out ya!
Cyberjaya (Faculty of Management website) **click on Undergraduate then look for what you want
Malacca (Faculty of Business Law website) **Under Undergraduate, click Course Structure

NoiZy
post Jan 24 2010, 08:32 PM

460 posts

Well good luck to you, either way, I won't be able to meet you in MMU since by the time you get in, I graduate d. Haha
NoiZy
post Jan 25 2010, 12:55 AM

460 posts

QUOTE(chittyserv @ Jan 24 2010, 11:38 PM)
Dear students,

FIT students who are interested in the following subject next semester as it is not being offered:-

TCS3211 Algorithm Analysis
TDM3341 Data Mining and Machine Learning Systems

Please mail your Name, ID, Subject & Contact no. to ganeshjiwa51@hotmail.com .

Regards,
Ganesh Jiwa
Dear students,

FIT students who are interested in the following subject next semester:

TCS3211 Algorithm Analysis
TDM3341 Data Mining and Machine Learning Systems

Please mail your Name, ID, Subject & Contact no. to ganeshjiwa51@hotmail.com. As these subjects are not being offered during next semester!

Regards,
Ganesh Jiwa

Added on January 25, 2010, 1:25 am@chittyserv: You should include how many students you need in order for the classes be made available.

This post has been edited by NoiZy: Jan 25 2010, 01:25 AM
NoiZy
post Feb 2 2010, 02:11 PM

460 posts

QUOTE(Mesosmagnet @ Feb 1 2010, 03:59 PM)
Question on accommodation:
What are the accommodation facilities available for MMU students besides the hostels and their average rental cost? (Cyberjaya campus)
Also regarding MMU on-campus hostels, do you get to choose your room-mates?
RM1100++ per unit (can share with up as many as you like, I've seen 12person in a house with 1master room, 2average room, and 1tiny room, there are even people who want to save on rental go to the extend of sleeping in the kitchen! No kidding!) on average (Cyberia) I'not sure about The Domain and the rest though

QUOTE(h0riz0nLine @ Feb 1 2010, 09:12 PM)
How come there's nobody here talking about the law faculty in melaka here?

I'm a post STPM student, and I'm considering the law faculty there. Can someone kind enough to enlighten me a bit?

I'm thinking about the public you, but I'm not smart enough (need at least 4.0, and I'm not even a bumis), heh heh. So I'm considering about some alternatives... such as private u.

I have read almost all the pages in this thread and I found no information regarding my question, and of course, the official site says that they are good, can be trusted or whatever. I only want some opinions here.

Can somebody tell me about the law faculty there? Thanks.

Maybe we can become course mate later, who knows? smile.gif

Added on February 1, 2010, 9:33 pmdoesn't see there's another thread about my question, sorry. i'll go there now.

ah, damn it, there's not many reply there... i'm back.
Sorry, cant help, but try the MMU thread at Kopitiam, there more MMU Malacca students. They are the ones you should be asking.

QUOTE(eternity4av @ Feb 2 2010, 08:34 AM)
i need someone studying mmu to help me clarify on this, is it foundation in arts (business) in utar is not recognized in mmu? this is because i did called to the admission yesterday, they say i can, as long as the course that i'm going to enroll will be those courses in faculty of management, but i did read some posts by the thread starter that utar foundation is not recognized, which make me clueless, please help thx!
Art? Are you referring to FCM (Faculty of Creative Multimedia) or FOM (Faculty of Management)??? Whats the course you intend on taking?
If Admin says ok, then its ok. Just make sure you print all the subjects you've taken in UTAR and consult again with admin just to get things confirmed.
NoiZy
post Feb 2 2010, 02:43 PM

460 posts

QUOTE(eternity4av @ Feb 2 2010, 02:19 PM)
@NoiZy, erm thanks for the reply, by the way, I'm referring to FOM (Faculty of Management), if possible I would like to take Multimedia (Media Innovation & Entrepreneurship)
I thought they are going to stop that course already? I'm not too sure, but have you checked with FOM admin? Rumours has it (my GF taking this course and is now in Final Semester), they will not offer it anymore, they will only continue on the course BMIM (Media Innovation & Management) and not BMIE (Media Innovation & Entrepreneurship)

QUOTE(gavinfernando @ Feb 2 2010, 02:21 PM)
Whoa.. I was not here for some time. Sorry.
Busy with too many things. haha. Just finish orientation and this week has quite a number of activities too!. sorry guys!
Lol, haha, I saw My FM cars yest at campus, you had any part of it? There are tons of things going on now. Hehe. But the most anticipated one is the CNY for the chinese. thumbup.gif
NoiZy
post Feb 2 2010, 04:35 PM

460 posts

QUOTE(eternity4av @ Feb 2 2010, 03:47 PM)
i contacted the admin officer through e-mail just now, she said that i would be able to apply, if what you've said is correct, then i might be disappointed,
What you mean?
Able to apply because of the UTA thing?
or
Able to apply for B.MIE?
NoiZy
post Feb 2 2010, 10:40 PM

460 posts

QUOTE(eternity4av @ Feb 2 2010, 04:51 PM)
able to apply B.MIE, i had asked the admission officer, So far she do not get any news on that.
Then don't worry, now all you need is the black and white. Sure no problem already one. rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif

0.0229sec    0.70    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 07:41 PM