QUOTE(corallinkz @ Mar 23 2009, 04:05 AM)
thanks for the recommendation. just want to confirm, SE is not under any of the ENGINEERING in the MMU?
and any chances to go to abroad in MMU? there is no twinning program ?
the word "engineering" means "the process of making"~ most of the time, in profession, the word refers to physical and tangible objects and therefore, we get electrical and electronics engineerings (circuit board), mechanical engineering (engine), robotics engineering (automation) but when it comes to software engineering, u'll be making softwares through building computer codes and then compiling them to become programs~
Added on March 23, 2009, 8:07 pmQUOTE(elhh82 @ Mar 23 2009, 08:01 AM)
I don't think it is a fair comment to say that just because a university has a high failure rate, therefore it is bad. For certain truly difficult subjects, it should not be unexpected to have failures.
u're right, it's not fair to say that high failure rates makes a university bad~ in my opinion, asking "why would high failure rate happen in the first place?" would be a better question~ thanks for your post and lets have a look. here are some possible opinions to why there are high failure rates :
- One of Utar's professor who is an associate dean mentioned that there are measures that ensure that failure rates as high as 50% would not happen (logic : there may be a thorough discussion prior to a policy and not just implementing)
QUOTE(elhh82 @ Mar 23 2009, 08:01 AM)
I would be worried if nobody fails in a particular university. That would mean that the standards in that university is extremely poor, and any tom d*** and harry will graduate. In the long run, someone who has a degree from there would find it worthless as potential employees would shun it like the plague (ask around the industry and most hiring managers have a list of local unis to avoid for particular fields).
- who will be responsible when students fail? (logic : 1) the intake policy, 2) lecturers' final questions relating to what he/she has taught 3) the quality of the education from the aforementioned lecturer, 4) policies which does not have space for any adjustments in case of human error like the abolished W model, 5) the students' studies) even if it is the students who are at fault here, it wouldn't be as logic as the aforementioned logic 1 - 4, i wonder "which student doesn't want to pass?"
by the way, do u know that if u get just a credit in science and maths, you can be admitted to MMu in the year I enrolled?QUOTE(elhh82 @ Mar 23 2009, 08:01 AM)
I think prior to abolishing the Bell Curve marking system, the quality in MMU has been in decline (have been hearing this often from my friends in industry) due to looser enrollment standards (bound to happen as we have far too many unis, and there are only so many top quality students, universities have to cari makan and will have to let in a quota every year) and poor quality control.
- quality of MMu declining before the abolishment of W model? any proof on this one? (logic : I've seen with my own eyes the past year question papers available from the library and I advice u to have a look as well)
I think seeing more failures in MMU is a positive development. It is not like you have only 1 chance to pass the subject. If you couldn't make it through the first time, retake the subject and work harder the next time around.
- pls be aware that there has been pre-requisites in all courses in MMu at this moment~ any failure of most of the subjects, i estimate 90% of the subjects, would mean that a student has to extend at least 1 year in order to graduate if he/she doesn't want to squeeze that particular subject into the already packed university schedule (logic : an estimated 95% of the subjects offered will only be offered in 1 specified semester and none other, if a person fails a subject, he/she has to wait 1 academic year in order to retake it) will the future students of MMu have to grad with 4 - 6years as opposed to other university students? we're here to learn, not only here to be forced to waste time and be graded~
Lecturer quality can of course still be improved, and i think it is being done with the new policy that is targeting full PhD. academic staff in the near future. The new administration is also taking complaints against lecturers seriously. I know of some who have been hauled up to the disciplinary board because of their poor class performance.
full PhD academic staff... I'll vote u as student representative, my friend~ but not as a president~ no pain no gain~ full PhD academic staff would burn a hole in every student's wallet, as well as having low efficiency for those PhD staffs because they are the only ones who can provide Masters~ if they are going to provide Masters, these students have to choose between part-time or full-time~ If part-time Masters pursuers are not allowed to be lecturers, the cost of maintaining the academic staff would be tremendous and then the square one question arises, why not let Masters qualified PhD pursuers be part-time lecturers to save cost? I guess that shed some light~
thanks for your questions, I think u helped a lot in clearing doubts~
This post has been edited by sexualpower: Mar 23 2009, 08:07 PM