Contact lens information, as requested by members

munkeyflo
post Dec 13 2011, 03:25 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

I used to use Acuvue 2 biweekly contacts. I wear on average about 4-5 days per week, morning till late afternoon. In the beginning it was all good, much more comfortable than B&L which I used to use when I first started. Then after a few weeks, my eyes get dry very fast and the contacts get very uncomfortable.

So now I switch to Acuvue Oasys, which was also so very awesome and comfortable (like wearing nothing) for the first few weeks of wearing. But now even with a newly opened pair of contacts on the first day, I find my eyes uncomfortable even after 2 hours of wearing contacts. Its really frustrating and nowadays I rather wear specs than contacts already. sad.gif

Does this mean I have dry eyes? Or should I change to other contacts? Or its the contacts solution? I use B&L Renu Fresh solution. What other ways to overcome this problem?
munkeyflo
post Dec 14 2011, 03:02 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(jialat @ Dec 14 2011, 02:56 PM)
i think you have PC due to chronic prolong contact lens wear, its best to consult an optometrist to make sure and lay off lens temporary. pls bring along ur lens so that they can check and recommend solution. thanks
Can I know the full word for PC, haven't heard of it before. I'll go check with an optometrist.

Last time I used to wear those Korean colour contact lens bought online, for long hours as well. That was about 3 years ago.
Then one day my eyes felt like there was something inside even when I was not wearing any contacts. So I did went to check with an optometrist and she say under my eyelid got like bumps so have to stay off contacts a while and I was given eyedrops and some gel to put under the eyelid as well. From then on I've never use any colour contacts anymore and stop wearing contacts for about half a year. But now still like this. sad.gif
munkeyflo
post Dec 15 2011, 10:28 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(jialat @ Dec 15 2011, 08:22 PM)
papillary conjunctivitis.

u not wearing lens for long time now? yet u still getting this problem?
I went to see doctor about 3 years ago, then after that stop wearing lens for 6 months. After that I started wearing lens again but mainly for short period (around 5 hours max) and have been more aware of taking good care of lens and eyes. But have still been feeling uncomfortable for very long already, that's why I have tried many types of lens and also contact lens solution until now.

Nowadays I hardly wear lens already, only on special occasions like formal dinner only wear. Other than that all wear specs, but whenever I wear lens also will feel uncomfortable even if its for an hour.
munkeyflo
post Dec 17 2011, 01:51 AM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(jialat @ Dec 16 2011, 12:19 AM)
ic ic, what lens have u tried before and among those, which u felt is the best?
I started out with B&L monthly lens. I can't remember the exact name of it but I know I've tried two types of B&L lens.
Then after that change to Acuvue monthly lens, more comfortable than B&L but still uncomfortable sometimes. After that see doctor then I changed to Acuvue 2 lens which was much more comfortable in the beginning but after a while also not very comfortable. Latest one used was Acuvue Oasys which I would say is the best among all the other lens that I've used in the past. When I first wore it, it was like completely not wearing lens at all, don't feel anything at all. Of course price also more expensive compared to the rest.

As for solution, I find solocare aqua better. Is there a difference? Cause I see normally Guardian/Watsons also sell them almost same price.
munkeyflo
post Aug 22 2012, 11:46 AM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

Hi jialat, wanna ask about toric lens. If the shortsightedness is around 400 and astig is around 200, means have to custom make the toric lens? Are there different brands if custom make and which are the brands that you recommend, also the price range if possible.

I was also told that wearing toric lens can prevent the astig and shortsightedness to go worst. How true is this? And are the toric lens monthly or yearly or daily disposable? Completely no idea on toric lens. tongue.gif Thanks for your attention.
munkeyflo
post Aug 22 2012, 04:32 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(jialat @ Aug 22 2012, 04:25 PM)
no need to custom made la, astig so low, can use monthly disposable toric lens.

Its nonsense that soft toric lens can prevent astig from getting worse, the person that told u this must be non qualified, for ur eyes sake, pls go see an optometrist, always look for their certificate, many fake optom outside, called themselves optometrist but no green cert and dont use slit lamp to check contact lens fitting.
Oops sorry its the other way round, Astig is 400 and short sighted is 200. The last time I asked, I remember they say need to custom make as the ready made ones does not have that high astig.

I see. Will take note on the optometrist part.
munkeyflo
post Aug 22 2012, 04:44 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(jialat @ Aug 22 2012, 04:40 PM)
if astig is 400 then yes, it has to be custom made.
Are there any brands available? Or can just go to any optometrist to make. And roughly how much is it. It's a yearly or monthly lens?
munkeyflo
post Aug 22 2012, 07:52 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(jialat @ Aug 22 2012, 06:17 PM)
Many brands available, yes u need to see an optometrist to do trial fitting, check the base curve and diameter, its a totally custom made lens. its yearly lens, thanks
Okay, thanks for the info.
munkeyflo
post Aug 23 2012, 08:49 AM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(jialat @ Aug 22 2012, 08:44 PM)
Not all optical shops have keratometer to check base curve, slit lamp to check fitting of contact lens and mostly they just dont care, for yearly its best to get those with warranty, otherwise once ordered wrong, you cant change like monthly disposable lens. Beware of the price too, many charged ard rm 600 for a pair. U can get them much lesser than that, thanks
I see! Do you have any optical shops to recommend around klang valley to make toric lens?
Don't wanna spend RM600 on a pair andden find out that they didn't check properly. doh.gif
munkeyflo
post Aug 23 2012, 04:49 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(jialat @ Aug 23 2012, 01:16 PM)
I send a lot of my keratoconus and contact lens patient to my eye clinic ex teammate, he works in USJ Optometrist in taipan subang jaya now. Just tell him that you are recommended by jialat from lowyat, then they will give u a good price on contact lens and glasses.

Jialat, can I have their office number? And also the optometrist name? Planning to go tomorrow if possible. Need to make appointment right?

0.0517sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 07:12 AM