Contact lens information, as requested by members

audy
post Jan 25 2016, 03:30 PM

460 posts

What contact lens brand has multifocal lens and can correct astigmatism as well?
audy
post Jan 25 2016, 04:21 PM

460 posts

QUOTE(jialat @ Jan 25 2016, 04:13 PM)
Malaysian suppliers dont carry it, have to custom made but they are either 3 monthly silicone hydrogel lens or yearly conventional lens.

you should consider multifocal semi rigid gas permeable (RGP) lens because it can masked some amount of astig and do not cause dry eyes. It last for good few years too if take good care of them.
What are some of the brands for the custom made?

I am a bit fearful of RGP as I've tried that before and I find it less comfortable compared to soft lens.
audy
post Jul 4 2017, 02:06 PM

460 posts

I am looking for soft contact lens that can cater for myopia, high astigmatism and presbyopia conditions. Any recommended solution? Am currently using iGel toric lens but it doesn't cater for presbyopia.
audy
post Jul 4 2017, 04:06 PM

460 posts

QUOTE(jialat @ Jul 4 2017, 03:04 PM)
igel toric has stopped production at least 2 years ago, but they never do multifocal toric soft lens.

there is multifocal toric soft lens but they cost very high (ard 3k+ a pair) and vision not 100% clear due to small lens cant fit in all power nicely.
What would be a recommended replacement for igel toric lens then for both permanent and disposable type? Thanks.

audy
post Jul 4 2017, 05:01 PM

460 posts

QUOTE(jialat @ Jul 4 2017, 04:10 PM)
how high is your astigmatism?

flexcon toric is the only permanent toric lens available in local market unless u order oversea lens but expensive.
I can't recall the exact number but it is somewhere between 1.0 and 1.75 on both sides. I know is on the high side.
audy
post Jul 4 2017, 05:36 PM

460 posts

QUOTE(jialat @ Jul 4 2017, 05:24 PM)
its actually very low, u get me the exact power then i can recommend you better lens than those yearly lenses.
Ok, great. Will need to go hunt down those numbers.
audy
post Jul 7 2017, 08:24 AM

460 posts

QUOTE(jialat @ Jul 5 2017, 11:37 AM)
you can go for eye check by optometrist and get the latest power is better.
My regular optometrist has my records, I just haven't visited them for some time.

0.0544sec    0.68    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 01:46 PM