Contact lens information, as requested by members

FLampard
post Jun 2 2011, 02:10 AM

590 posts

nowadays there are a lot of other contact lens brands, the one i am using is acuvue, is there such a thing which brand is better than which brand of contact lens?

because the shop recommand me another brand and i dunno which one to choose, there are like so many of them.

btw i m using acuvue currently.

if someone asked this question b4, im sorry cause i have to go through 45 pages to search one by one ... =,=

This post has been edited by FLampard: Jun 2 2011, 02:21 AM
FLampard
post Jun 2 2011, 10:12 AM

590 posts

QUOTE(jialat @ Jun 2 2011, 09:39 AM)
No worries Frank Lampard, there is no 1 lens that works best for all ppl. Its very much depend on ur eye power, purpose of wearing lens, hours of usage, and any dry eye problem, etc.

No 1 can recommend a suitable lens without asking common questions like above. If those ppl in optical shop keep telling u a brand is much better than the others without taking a history, then most likely they getting high commission or its a high profit margin item. Or may be thats the only stock they have in store at that time and they just want to close the sale. So beware and good luck.

Acuvue is a popular brand, it has many types but not all acuvue lens are great. Oasys is by far the best in their range, acuvue clear is the worst and not suitable for 1 month wear. Thanks
erm eye power 5.25/5.75 , purpose of wearing lens - for sports only , hours of usage, around 4-5 hour max. dont think i have any dry eye problem.

and i heard there is this myopia correcting lense. but sadly the effect is just temporary = (
FLampard
post Jun 2 2011, 11:49 PM

590 posts

lol i just bought acuvue, they gave me 5 pieces free for each box.

FLampard
post Jun 3 2011, 02:47 PM

590 posts

QUOTE(jialat @ Jun 3 2011, 12:31 AM)
ic, just make sure u clean and soak it overnight with the solution esp after sport.
nope... its daily
FLampard
post Jul 1 2011, 01:11 PM

590 posts

expert jialat, i am back with more questions.

i discovered that there are sometimes in a box of contact lenses there will be a few of them that will give me extreme unpleasant feeling when i put it on. Almost feel like there is something inside my lenses, and i feel pain to put it on. When i take out, and put it on again, sometimes its gone, sometimes its still there. If i try to tolerate it, after a while it will be gone. Why does that happens?

Also sometimes certain lenses doesnt seem to fit, especially when i have rapid eyeball movement, eg i look to the left and switch quickly to the right, when i look to the corner of my vision, i find the image blurish, and no, i didnt wear it inside out. Its just annoying. Its like its not sticking perfectly.

Added on July 1, 2011, 1:12 pm
QUOTE(stacko @ Jun 27 2011, 02:27 PM)
My son is only in Standard 2 (8 years old) but his short-sightedness already 800-900 degrees for both eyes. It will be very soon touching 1,000. I have discovered about ortho-K, but a lot of comments seem to discourage ortho-K treatment. Is there anything I can do besides giving him Vitamin A and carrot?
damn! thats pretty serious...

This post has been edited by FLampard: Jul 1 2011, 10:13 PM
FLampard
post Oct 17 2011, 03:40 PM

590 posts

jialat, is it true that eyes can premature cornea ageing due to lack of oxygen in the cornea?
FLampard
post Aug 6 2012, 12:56 AM

590 posts

oh man..i switched brand to new day now! i am starting to hate acuvue...their contact lenses sux!

anyway jialat..do u know whether contact lenses are cheaper to buy at UK or at Malaysia?
FLampard
post Aug 6 2012, 01:40 AM

590 posts

QUOTE(jialat @ Aug 6 2012, 01:35 AM)
hi, are u referring to Sauflon New Day lens? yes, its good lens.

All contact lens are cheaper in Msia than UK, because I have many UK students come back to get loads of supply from me for themselves and sell to their friends in UK, and they made much more than me.
yes it is! i switched many brands so far new day is the best.

thanks!! i shud buy more while im here. but i doubt what u said...everyone has different power...how is he gonna buy from msia and sell at UK? theres a good chance his lenses power doesnt match the buyer..
FLampard
post Aug 16 2012, 12:56 AM

590 posts

jialat i face this problem when using contact lenses ..

when i move my eyeballs and look at btm left (for left eye) and btm right (for right eye) ...then i move the focus back to middle, my sight will become blur for a short while....it happens to every contact lenses i wear.

may i know why is this happening..and i didnt wear it on the wrong side
FLampard
post Aug 16 2012, 06:27 PM

590 posts

QUOTE(jialat @ Aug 16 2012, 11:19 AM)
When ur eyes moved to the extreme gaze, the contact lag behind because ur eye has no space for the contact lens to sit at extreme gaze. When u look back the front, the contact lens optic zone is out of ur pupil, these create blur vision. U can blink a few times after extreme gaze, then the lens will sit well n u can see clear.

Added on August 16, 2012, 1:03 pm
Best solution in market now is Biotrue from Bausch & Lomb. can keep the moist in lens for 20 hours. thanks
is it considered a defect? what should i do to stop this from happening?
FLampard
post Aug 25 2012, 04:01 PM

590 posts

jialat...can i order newday daily contact lenses from u? how much would it costs? i want asy many as 6 boxes. may i know how many lenses are there in one box?
FLampard
post Aug 25 2012, 09:32 PM

590 posts

QUOTE(jialat @ Aug 25 2012, 06:53 PM)
pm sent, thanks.
yup, u can order from me, Rm 75 a box. 32 pieces in a box. thanks
ur blog never say how to bank in money...? anyway where is ur shop? if in ipoh or kl i can go ur shop buy..
FLampard
post Sep 6 2012, 10:11 PM

590 posts

item received, thank u jialat
FLampard
post Oct 20 2012, 10:58 PM

590 posts

jialat...contact lenses here at UK are not really expensive. they are more or less the same price wif Malaysia, if not cheaper..

even got brand that sells only 7 pound + ...

http://www.contactlenses.co.uk/details787_167.html
FLampard
post Nov 26 2012, 05:01 AM

590 posts

jialat...i went to see an opticion/optometrist some time ago,i was told that i am not "blinking fully" and that might be the source of all my eye problems.

but how do i train myself to "blink fully" ?

0.0576sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 07:09 AM