Contact lens information, as requested by members
Disciple
Nov 20 2009, 04:33 PM
jialat, what kinda contact lense do you suggest a first timer to wear?
my power is around 950 both eyes, the doc says i have long eyeball or something, and my eyes get red easily...any type of lense that you recommend?
first timer here
Disciple
Nov 21 2009, 08:30 AM
QUOTE(jialat @ Nov 20 2009, 08:25 PM) -9.50 is very high power, and most likely ur eyes are dry too as they turn red easily. thus i strongly recommend RGP, rigid gas permeable lens for you as it cant help slow the progression of short sightedness and suitable for dry and allergy eyes too. i can recommend u good optometrist for rgp fitting, just tell me which area u live in. thanks thanks jialat! this RGP lense, can i just tell the optician i want this kinda lense? i have never heard of any RGP brand lenses, so far i've seen omega and baush and lomb. im in jalan ipoh area btw dawg. first timers like me, you mean the optician will try out different lenses for me depending on the curvature of my cornea? sorry for those questions, totally new
Disciple
Nov 22 2009, 07:56 AM
QUOTE(jialat @ Nov 21 2009, 08:25 PM) hi, its best to look for optometrist for RGP fitting because it involves some test that require very accurate measurement, and not many opticians are trained for that. besides jalan ipoh, where else do u go frequently coz i dont really know that place. the optometrist will usually check your eye and from the test result, recommendation can be made. u can try soft lens too but u must learn to wear and take care of it, go to any optical shop and ask to buy 1 pair 1st and make sure they teach u. thanks thanks for the advice jialat. the air optix youre selling, those are soft lens? i mean the optician will find one brand that fits the curvature of my eye right? since im new
Disciple
Nov 22 2009, 04:19 PM
QUOTE(jialat @ Nov 22 2009, 01:03 PM) yes, air optix is soft lens. if u r going to get soft lens, then unlikely they will check the curvature of ur eyes becoz softlens can pretty much fit on all normal, non diseased eyes. thanks much appreciated jialat. thank you very much, respect.
Disciple
Nov 26 2009, 04:43 PM
jialat, just got my lense and is wearing them now, is it normal to feel a little uncomfortable for the first time im wearing it?
the moment i wore it and saw my face, f***, i really feel damn weird looking at myself without spectacles for the first time man. all this while never really had the chance to see myself without specs coz high power i got encore comfort by the way.
Disciple
Nov 27 2009, 09:04 AM
QUOTE(jialat @ Nov 27 2009, 12:49 AM) igel encore lens is a crappy lens, anyway just use it till expire then switch to a much better quality lens or else u will end up with a lot of complications esp if u wear it for long hours every day. thanks oh crap, i bought like 2 months supply of that...what kinda complications may i ask? got me worried coz i'll most probably wear it for about 12 hours a day. the girl gave me a few different brands to try on, accuvue, that optix2 and a few more but this encore comfort is the most comfy one
Disciple
Nov 27 2009, 07:30 PM
QUOTE(dokidoki @ Nov 27 2009, 12:08 PM) wow..which shop u go?..can give so many free sample.. dont know, first timer here also, aiya just tell the girl she's pretty in her dress, and she lost some weight already, that will get her all wet and she'll start flirting around already...
Disciple
Nov 28 2009, 09:31 AM
QUOTE(jialat @ Nov 27 2009, 11:12 PM) long hours daily usage for long period will made ur cornea lack of oxygen, thus oedema (swelling), thats when ur vision turn blur even with lens removed. new blood vessels formed which normal cornea suppose to have no blood vessel at all. the crappy igel lens is comfortable because the edge of lens is like stick on ur cornea, so very little interaction with ur eyelids, but it does not encourage tears to go beneath the lens and ur cornea, so cut off alot of oxygen supply. its a terrible lens design, many shop ppl do not know this coz they dont do research on the design on all lens. wow, bro u really got skill.  power la u.  alamak...if this is the case i think i need to go back to the shop and exchange for another brand...for soft lens, what kinda brand you reckon again? i mean a lil bit comfy type...because i do notice that whenever i wear it, my vision gets blurry sometimes, then i would have to blink and close my eyes a while then it returns to normal back...its like you're seeing double sometimes is this what you meant by the blurry sensation in your above post? This post has been edited by Disciple: Nov 28 2009, 11:19 AM
Disciple
Nov 30 2009, 09:05 AM
QUOTE(jialat @ Nov 28 2009, 12:14 PM) oedema only happen after long period of long hours wear, esp using crappy lens like igel. other lens will happen also but risk is very much lower. ur blur vision is caused by dryness. when u blink, the tears secreted and moisture the lens, thus ur vision clear back. so u cant really wear high water content lens, u need lens like air optix, purevision or acuvue oasys. they are more expensive but very much better quality lens than all igel lens. if u look at my blog post, i dont sell any of igel lens just simply because they are craps. thanks once again, much appreciated bro. respect
Disciple
Dec 5 2009, 02:57 AM
QUOTE(jialat @ Dec 4 2009, 09:28 AM) hi, if u r using those artificial tears, then its ok to keep dropping them when wearing lens but u should not keep using eye drops that contained chemical, ie eyemo. u cant change ur tears, thus u need to change ur lens to those low water content type. thanks hi jialat, may i ask why should we wear low water content type of lenses when our eyes dry up easily? isn't it the other way round, as in eyes dry up fast = use high water content lenses
Disciple
Dec 5 2009, 03:47 PM
QUOTE(jialat @ Dec 5 2009, 03:01 PM) high water content lens will absorb more water from ur tears to maintain its moisture to provide u clear vision, if ur eyes are dry and yet u wear high water content lens, then congratulation, u will end up with uncomfortable red eyes, worse case will be ur lens will drop out due to dryness. if some1 in the optical shops ask u to use high water content lens even with dry eyes, then u seriously should not go back to that shop again. pls do all of us a favor, announce the name of shop here so that we can beware of the place. thanks bro, the chick gave me accuvue moist daily lens for trial, one more oasis or something and one more air optix to try on...im now wearing the moist one...so far so good larr...is this better than the igel thing? This post has been edited by Disciple: Dec 5 2009, 03:51 PM
Disciple
Feb 22 2010, 01:47 PM
bro just wanna ask, what are monthly toric lenses?
im using acuvue moist daily now but would like to switch to something more affordable. doc says i have this internal astig and cannot wear thick lenses, what other lenses are as thin as acuvue moist? bioclear? biomedic?
Disciple
Dec 29 2010, 11:53 AM
jialat, how much you selling ciba vision air optix aqua?