Contact lens information, as requested by members

TSjialat
post Feb 4 2016, 12:27 AM

2,364 posts

QUOTE(SkyHermit @ Feb 3 2016, 07:01 PM)
Jialat,  can you list all the brands and price you sell for daily lens with high astig?

L : -175 200
R : -150 225
Will pm u.

If u want high oxygen flux lens then clariti toric daily. Otherwise B&L or acuvue moist daily toric will do.
TSjialat
post Feb 14 2016, 10:29 PM

2,364 posts

QUOTE(ltvl0929 @ Feb 14 2016, 06:11 PM)
Hi there, I've been wearing contact lenses for a couple of years now using a brand called "Clarity". Bought it from an optic shop in USJ. I feel like changing lenses now cause I feel tired and uncomfortable after about 4 hours. I'm looking to have lenses which could last me a full day eg. 10-12 hours. I could be wrong but I feel I might have dry eyes? Cause I always yawn to produce tears when wearing lenses.

Any recommendations? I have heard of Air Optix but have not tried them before, what is their average price like?

My power is -6.50 and -8.00
Hi, you should try biotrue daily or acuvue trueye. Wear the contact lens and let your optometrist do over refraction to find the suitable power.

Air optix is monthly len and they are quite dry and stick to eyes pretty tight after wearing long hours.
TSjialat
post Feb 15 2016, 01:45 AM

2,364 posts

QUOTE(ltvl0929 @ Feb 14 2016, 11:58 PM)
Thanks for your reply. Any recommendations for monthly lenses instead? More like lenses that I can wear almost everyday for extended hours smile.gif
U can try biofinity, its better than air optix.
TSjialat
post Feb 15 2016, 06:13 PM

2,364 posts

QUOTE(ltvl0929 @ Feb 15 2016, 06:00 PM)
Thanks for your help smile.gif

I haven't gotten my eyes checked for close to 3 years. Didn't note any vision impairment so I assumed my power has stabilized. Is it normal practice for optometrists to check your power themselves before selling the lenses? I remembered the last time I bought, they just checked the power of my glasses.
optometrist normally will do over refraction on top of contact lens to get the most accurate lens power, but if your glasses still seeing clear, then they will follow if its the same after running a computer scan.

This post has been edited by jialat: Feb 15 2016, 06:14 PM
TSjialat
post Feb 22 2016, 12:31 AM

2,364 posts

QUOTE(raiiny1013 @ Feb 21 2016, 08:51 PM)
Jialat, good evening to you.
You have been very helpful regarding the informations about lenses
And helping us since years ago and still replying when someone asks for help!
Now I need your help tongue.gif

I have high short sightedness, each eye -1050
Also astig, about 100-200 (cant rmb exactly)
Prev tried cuxtomized soft lens for a year
subsequently tried RGP: menicon Z, but dunno why always felt the sensation of lens dropping down when i blink
therefore the optometrist in UKM suggested i-gel instead.
but i am not compliance to it. so it is still very clean now even comes to third year of usage.

I would like to purchase RGP again, not sure if u will suggest me to continue stick with this brand (since im comfortable with it)
or there is recent newer and better RGP that you can share? thanks!
According to my optometrist, you can try the Achievement rgp which is more customised, can fit better on your eyes. The skill of the fitter is also very important.
TSjialat
post Feb 27 2016, 08:48 PM

2,364 posts

QUOTE(lestelle @ Feb 27 2016, 07:20 PM)
Hi jialat & all, may I know roughly how much is RGP hard lens multifocal now? I tried ALL multifocal soft lens but none can see clear. I guess problem is my estig. Thinking of trying out hard lens. Thanks.
multifocal rgp is like RM 3000++ a pair esp given USD is much more higher now.
TSjialat
post Feb 28 2016, 11:25 AM

2,364 posts

QUOTE(lestelle @ Feb 28 2016, 08:21 AM)
thanks Jialat. this is what i expect...  cry.gif
its expected because like spectacle lens if just to see far or just near, u can get it like 100+, but multifocal spectacle lens can cost 10 times more.
TSjialat
post Mar 2 2016, 11:34 AM

2,364 posts

QUOTE(nfmbf @ Mar 1 2016, 12:00 AM)
How much is biofinity toric and air optix toric since USD is expensive now? I'm gonna buy 4th purchase with you as soon I got my budget. No more lens stock in my House ady
i pm the prices. its still cheap now before end of the month. 1/4/16 price increase.

QUOTE(zeedwolf @ Mar 1 2016, 02:21 PM)
May I know what is the different between biofinity multifocal vs  pro clear multifocal. Produce by same company....
msia supplier does not carried biofinity multifocal yet. biofinity is silicone hydrogel, proclear is made of old material.
TSjialat
post Mar 9 2016, 11:54 AM

2,364 posts

QUOTE(anna est moi @ Mar 9 2016, 01:03 AM)
Hi, need some advice here...my power is -5.75 and astig around -1.0, currently using monthly acuvue clear but with long hours ( > 8 hours) won't feel comfortable. Any recommendations and roughly how much ? Thanks
acuvue clear is not a good lens and J&J has stopped production now, they are just clearing old stock now.

u need astig correction lens, i recommend biofinity toric. i pm u now. thanks

QUOTE(Neema Raja @ Mar 9 2016, 10:53 AM)
I am working in majlis optik malaysia, please private message me your name and registration number of your NPC if you have. I shall verify before i notify my head of department.
ok will do. i heard MOC planning to raid those unlicensed optical outlets.
TSjialat
post Mar 11 2016, 03:29 PM

2,364 posts

QUOTE(doubledoublefish @ Mar 11 2016, 03:04 PM)
Hi , how about daily toric lens? Any suggestion ? tsk
clariti daily toric if u want high oxygen lens for long hours, i pm u the price. its cheap and good.
TSjialat
post Mar 22 2016, 10:40 PM

2,364 posts

QUOTE(bereev @ Mar 22 2016, 09:52 AM)
any good multipurpose solution for contact lens, was using B&L Bio true but not easy to find Bio true
where is your location?
TSjialat
post Mar 24 2016, 01:56 AM

2,364 posts

QUOTE(bereev @ Mar 23 2016, 07:18 AM)
puchong
u can get them cheap from usj optometrist in taipan subang jaya, buy the 2 big bottles in a set free the travel kit.

QUOTE(ajiqah @ Mar 23 2016, 02:10 PM)
normally i wear air optix supposedly  for more than 12 hours wear.. any other brands that i can use for more than 12 hours?
u can try biofinity or miacare for monthly usage.

or acuvue oasys but its for 2 weekly usage.
TSjialat
post Apr 1 2016, 07:29 PM

2,364 posts

QUOTE(NOX @ Apr 1 2016, 04:03 PM)
can 650 range power use contact?
of course, image size will appear more natural than spectacle.
TSjialat
post Apr 3 2016, 11:25 PM

2,364 posts

QUOTE(malaysianminion @ Apr 3 2016, 10:45 PM)
Hi Jialat,

I have been going to opticians at malls etc, most of them don't look qualified to me. Could you recommend me an optometrist where I can get my eye checked and at the same time there is a good range of prescription frames to choose from. Someone recommended Malaya Optical but I think they are pricey.

Thanks for your help.
I used to go to a shop with optometrist in ss15 subang because i live in ss19. Nowadays i go to usj optometrist in taipan subang, its much cheaper and have wider selection of frames. They have both my favourite sunglasses brands, oakley and rayban. I buy from them and can resell it to my colleagues in hospital to make some extra income, lol.
TSjialat
post Apr 8 2016, 09:04 PM

2,364 posts

QUOTE(ripplezone @ Apr 8 2016, 09:29 AM)
Hi Jialat, I need to get a pair of spectacles soon.

I was thinking to save cost while maximizing quality, whether I can get a prescription from a qualified optometrist, for example those prominent/veteran practitioners in the industry who either graduated form Australia or UK during the 1990s or early 2000s.

Then bring their prescription to an experienced shop to order some of the best lens, value for money frames, and cutting service as per prescription.

Do you think this would work?

Do you have recommendations of which optometrists and which reseller shops I should visit?
yes, you can do that but which one will you go to if there is a problem with the prescription and focus? most likely you will have to run to both side again if they blame each other.
TSjialat
post Apr 10 2016, 08:35 PM

2,364 posts

QUOTE(ripplezone @ Apr 10 2016, 07:43 PM)
What qould you recommend then, go to USJ optometrist directly?

May I know what's the optometrist's name?
you can go to any optometrist that can do both prescription and clinical check. usj optometrist there got a few practitioners, if normal eyes then any of them can check because each of them have their own specialization.
TSjialat
post Apr 16 2016, 11:30 AM

2,364 posts

QUOTE(MrAvatar @ Apr 15 2016, 05:16 PM)
Hi, currently I'm using B&L Soft toric lens for astigmatism (Left power -8.00, asti -2.25, Right power -7.50, asti -2.25). But i realize my right eye vision will get blurry after some time wearing the lenses. The  contact lenses are around 2 weeks old out from the box. Any idea what is the problem for this?
go see an optometrist, they will check on top of the contact lens and corneal health and tears condition.
TSjialat
post Apr 16 2016, 01:58 PM

2,364 posts

QUOTE(MrAvatar @ Apr 16 2016, 12:35 PM)
Would u recommend Usj Optometrist?
you can go back to your own optometrist since its nearer to you and they should provide the service if you get the lens there.
TSjialat
post May 5 2016, 07:54 PM

2,364 posts

QUOTE(messi.78 @ May 5 2016, 07:16 PM)
Hi jialat,

Would like to get your advice. I have very dry eyes and thus unable to wear contact lens especially in aircond room.

However now i am interested in using contact lens during my outdoor activities. I am using B&L soflens daily disposable (Rt: -5.25/-0.75 and Lt: -2.75/-1.25) but I still feel uncomfortable and not very clear after few hours. Can u recommend a better brand?

Thank you
If daily lens and need astigmatism correction, then i recommend clariti daily toric lens, its very comfortable with high oxygen flux. Suitable for dry eyes too.
TSjialat
post May 6 2016, 12:56 AM

2,364 posts

QUOTE(messi.78 @ May 5 2016, 09:07 PM)
Can u pm me the price for 1 box of clariti  daily toric. Tq
Ok, will pm u now. Thank you

QUOTE(NightHeart @ May 5 2016, 09:44 PM)
The one in Taipan USJ, is it Menara Optometry?
Menara optometry sell glasses and contact lens much more expensive than most shops. U can go to USJ Optometrist, opposite nandos in taipan. I get my contact lens from there, cheaper than most shops. They got 4 optometrist there. I think recently they open one branch inside SJMC because i saw their banner near hospital ground floor starbucks.

This post has been edited by jialat: May 6 2016, 12:59 AM

61 Pages « < 49 50 51 52 53 > » Top

0.0432sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 05:18 AM