Robbery At Residential Area, Taman Maluri, Cheras

TSgkl83
post Mar 20 2009, 11:09 PM, updated 17y ago

8,377 posts

Ensure there have no suspicious vehicles following you behind before u entering home...

This post has been edited by gkl83: Mar 20 2009, 11:19 PM
sheakhu
post Mar 20 2009, 11:13 PM

248 posts

OMG shocking.gif

And they said, we are the safest nation amongst SE Asia...

My deepest sympathy with victims,

xxmetalhead86xx
post Mar 20 2009, 11:15 PM

223 posts

QUOTE(sheakhu @ Mar 20 2009, 11:13 PM)
OMG shocking.gif
And they said, we are the safest nation amongst SE Asia...

My deepest sympathy with victims,
i wonder how is it in other countries.. i was shocked shocking.gif shocking.gif for a while... looking at how the rob at day time...

This post has been edited by xxmetalhead86xx: Mar 20 2009, 11:18 PM
ronaldoo
post Mar 21 2009, 03:09 AM

526 posts

That's why Gated community is better and to minimise this kind of robbery

ah liew
post Mar 21 2009, 12:28 PM

エンジンオイル
829 posts

daylight robery & lucky there was a camera to film this incident.
b00n
post Mar 21 2009, 12:35 PM

delusional
9,137 posts

QUOTE(ah liew @ Mar 21 2009, 12:28 PM)
daylight robery & lucky there was a camera to film this incident.

What's so lucky with faces being caught on film?
There's millions/billions of face to match.....who's going to do that? shakehead.gif

wodenus
post Mar 21 2009, 08:42 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

Does it strike you as being very coincidental? the houseowner drives in, the man stops in front of the house, gets out, and then the bike drives past. Why does it look so staged ? unless the man always stops in front of that house after the houseowner drives in, they couldn't have known he would do that.

Why did the man stop outside the house and get out of his car? what were they looking for? they didn't steal his handphone (although they could have,) they didn't steal his car (although they could have) what did they take?

This post has been edited by wodenus: Mar 21 2009, 09:20 PM
ed1torz
post Mar 22 2009, 12:10 PM

Обучение на протяжении всей жизни
1,061 posts

cash?
wodenus
post Mar 22 2009, 01:14 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(ed1torz @ Mar 22 2009, 12:10 PM)
cash?
Makes sense.. I'm not sure if I saw the houseowner hand anything over though.

TSgkl83
post Mar 22 2009, 07:15 PM

8,377 posts

QUOTE(wodenus @ Mar 21 2009, 08:42 PM)
Does it strike you as being very coincidental? the houseowner drives in, the man stops in front of the house, gets out, and then the bike drives past. Why does it look so staged ? unless the man always stops in front of that house after the houseowner drives in, they couldn't have known he would do that.

Why did the man stop outside the house and get out of his car? what were they looking for? they didn't steal his handphone (although they could have,) they didn't steal his car (although they could have)  what did they take?

maybe the man's car parked outside the house...
and the house owner tended to park his car into car...
the man forced to drive his car aside in order to allow house owner park his car into house...
so the man drive back in front the house and the bikes arrived at the same time...
Lawyer1
post Mar 28 2009, 10:19 AM

Validating
338 posts

Someone said to watch and to ensure there are no suspicious vehicles following behind before u entering home... But how to do this all the while ?

Surely at times when we are tired after work, and arrived home, we won't have a mind to look back and forth anymore.

And what about if we arrived home at night ? Hopefully the streetlights are bright enough for us to look all around before we open our car-doors ?

I believed at times, there will be events like this happening to us. The best way is not to fight and give them what we have in our pockets and wallets.

Don't carry too much money around, and don't put too much cash, jewellery and other 'carryable' or movable properties in the house. Then there is a chance to minimise our losses.

Problem is these things always HAPPENED WHEN WE LEAST EXPECTED THEM TO. Then boom ! They come !

I think it's better to traet this as a way and fact of life.

Of course, we must always do our part to ensure our own security and safety. But that's the best we can do..lah !

Lawyer1
post Mar 28 2009, 10:25 AM

Validating
338 posts

QUOTE(b00n @ Mar 21 2009, 12:35 PM)
What's so lucky with faces being caught on film?
There's millions/billions of face to match.....who's going to do that?  shakehead.gif
Yes, I thoroughly agree with this !!!

I see my friends installing camera systems worth thousands, trying to capture and record all events everyday. So what if captured, it will not be easy to id and apprehend the culprits even if their faces caught on camera. You think the cops are so free to go around trying to catch these people whose faces are caught on your video recorder ?

Perhaps only acting as a very small deterrent. But I would think professional thieves would know that even if their faces captured on film, so what ?????

No point spending that amount of money-lah,.... I think.

Maybe put a fake one to scare off, perhaps okay ?

Put a guard dog, I would think this is a good way. The dog would help if someone tries anything. And if we arrived home and the dog has been drugged or not seen in the carporch welcoming us home, then we must be alert already, knowing someone is planning something, and there is impending risk at that moment !

So don't open the car-doors, and drive away first from the house !

This post has been edited by Lawyer1: Mar 28 2009, 10:28 AM
TSgkl83
post Mar 28 2009, 11:05 AM

8,377 posts

QUOTE(Lawyer1 @ Mar 28 2009, 10:19 AM)
Someone said to watch and to ensure there are no suspicious vehicles following behind before u entering home... But how to do this all the while ?

Surely at times when we are tired after work, and arrived home, we won't have a mind to look back and forth anymore.

u said that impossible bcos u dont have usual practices to overcome this issues...

definitely we will use the rear mirror to look the traffic condition behind, we should able identify the car model and color
it can easily spot unless the driver dont use rear mirror while driving at all... hmm.gif

if there have vehicles following us for few streets, we can stop aside to let the vehicles overtake 1st...
but if we stop aside, the vehicles stop aside too... something wrong...
try to drive again and check whether the vehicle following again or not... if the vehicles follow again, by tat time i will drive my car to prime area such as petrol station or mamak stall have a sit there with tea tarik, do a challenge how patient the robber was...

i always did practices to check whether any suspicious ppl around me/my car before i getting down my car, if nothing i will open my gate to park my car inside there... FYI, sometimes i even let my car engine running with key to open or close my gate... if there have strangers around, definitely i will pull out my car key to avoid robbery and pay attention on that strangers...

what robber required is opportunity or chances to success it no matter we have RM10 or RM10k if they choose the victims randomly... for those ppl carrying out huge amount money from bank, better pay attention on any suspicious vehicles because may targeted earlier and easy to spot if they keep follow...

This post has been edited by gkl83: Mar 28 2009, 11:06 AM
Lawyer1
post Mar 28 2009, 12:00 PM

Validating
338 posts

QUOTE(gkl83 @ Mar 28 2009, 11:05 AM)
u said that impossible bcos u dont have usual practices to overcome this issues...

definitely we will use the rear mirror to look the traffic condition behind, we should able identify the car model and color
it can easily spot unless the driver dont use rear mirror while driving at all...  hmm.gif

if there have vehicles following us for few streets, we can stop aside to let the vehicles overtake 1st...
but if we stop aside, the vehicles stop aside too... something wrong...
try to drive again and check whether the vehicle following again or not... if the vehicles follow again, by tat time i will drive my car to prime area such as petrol station or mamak stall have a sit there with tea tarik, do a challenge how patient the robber was...

i always did practices to check whether any suspicious ppl around me/my car before i getting down my car, if nothing i will open my gate to park my car inside there... FYI, sometimes i even let my car engine running with key to open or close my gate... if there have strangers around, definitely i will pull out my car key to avoid robbery and pay attention on that strangers...

what robber required is opportunity or chances to success it no matter we have RM10 or RM10k if they choose the victims randomly... for those ppl carrying out huge amount money from bank, better pay attention on any suspicious vehicles because may targeted earlier and easy to spot if they keep follow...
GKL, many thanks for your good points, truely treasured them.

Perhaps after reading your post here, I will emulate all that you have written,... I have a very big concern over security because the house I am staying in is situated in a very low occupancy area. I don't have neighbours around my house at all. My family lived alone on the hilltop.

The nearest neighbour is situated at the bottom of the hill which is 0.5 km away.

I am most worried whenever I reach home late at night. Some no-good characters might be lurking in some bushes waiting to pounce on me.

I am thinking of applying for and carry firearms. Is this a good idea ?
TSgkl83
post Mar 31 2009, 12:14 PM

8,377 posts

QUOTE(Lawyer1 @ Mar 28 2009, 12:00 PM)
GKL, many thanks for your good points, truely treasured them.

Perhaps after reading your post here, I will emulate all that you have written,... I have a very big concern over security because the house I am staying in is situated in a very low occupancy area. I don't have neighbours around my house at all. My family lived alone on the hilltop.

The nearest neighbour is situated at the bottom of the hill which is 0.5 km away.

I am most worried whenever I reach home late at night. Some no-good characters might be lurking in some bushes waiting to pounce on me.

I am thinking of applying for and carry firearms. Is this a good idea ?

maybe the auto-gate is one of the solutions for u... at least no required to step down from car to open gate which increased the risks on us and provide chances to robbers like what u said... remain the car door in lock condition while opening the gate remotely... drive ur car into house and lock the gate remotely, once the gate closed completely then only step down from car... but if the robber lurking in our houses, nothing much we can do about it... sweat.gif
Lawyer1
post Mar 31 2009, 05:30 PM

Validating
338 posts

QUOTE(gkl83 @ Mar 31 2009, 12:14 PM)
maybe the auto-gate is one of the solutions for u... at least no required to step down from car to open gate which increased the risks on us and provide chances to robbers like what u said... remain the car door in lock condition while opening the gate remotely... drive ur car into house and lock the gate remotely, once the gate closed completely then only step down from car... but if the robber lurking in our houses, nothing much we can do about it... sweat.gif
gkl,.. thank you. But when we arrived home, and the gate opens, the robbers around could always rushed towards us and into the house too, we may keep ourselves in the car, however, they would already be in the house compound or car-porch.

What do we do then,... keep ourselves locked in the car and make phonecalls ?

I am open to suggestions on what actions to take from that point.

I believed if there is a big and fierce dog around, the dog would pounce on the intruder first. ......

Quite a good discussion here,.......
sportivo55
post Mar 31 2009, 11:26 PM

17 posts

Keep compound clear of places where someone can hide. So before exiting the car, check that house is empty.
Also use an auto gate to avaoid having to get out of the car...especially late night outs.
Finally always reverse park the car in the compund, this way we can see clearly is anyone is attempting to enter after us. And if we need to escape, just step on the accelarator to get out of the situation.
Putraskyline
post Apr 1 2009, 05:33 PM

Non-Regular
1,269 posts

YouTube attack: Cops act
By AIZAT SHARIF    March 30, 2009      Categories: News

FAST and furious. That was the reaction of the police barely 24 hours after Malay Mail hit the streets
on Friday with the frontpage report on the brazen assault on a couple’s house in Taman Maluri, Cheras, on March 16.

The cops are looking into the possibility that the 11 Mat Rempit they arrested early Saturday morning
could have been involved in that attack.

Police swooped in on Saturday and hauled up the 11 Mat Rempit in two separate locations in Cheras.

The bikers were arrested mainly on suspicion of being involved in several cases of gang-robbery and
snatch thefts around the Cheras district.

Police zeroed in on nine of the suspects while they were hanging around outside a house in Taman
Dahlia, Cheras. The two other suspects were arrested elsewhere in Cheras.

Cheras district police chief ACP Ahmad Amer Mohd Hashim said the arrests came after a tipoff
from the public. The suspects had been under police surveillance for the past one week.

“Those detained were aged between 17 and 18. They were arrested on suspicion of being involved
in robberies and snatch thefts,” he said.

The suspects were mostly secondary school students and school leavers. Five of them also tested positive for cannabis and the drug “ice”.

“We believe that the gang became active about a month ago. They are opportunists who preyed on those  walking home alone or had stopped by the roadside.”

With the arrests, police believe they have solved at least five robbery and snatch theft cases in and
around Cheras. “Police also seized several items like cheques, credit cards and handphones, believed to have been stolen.”

Asked if the suspects were also involved in the daring robbery at Taman Maluri on March 16, Ahmad Amer said police were still piecing it together. He added that investigators were analysing the 78 terrifying seconds of footage captured in horrifying detail by the couple’s CCTV camera.

The suspects are being remanded for seven days at the Cheras district police headquarters.

In the attack that day, six men, clad in black, rode in on three motorcycles and stormed the house belonging to 37-year-old clerk Candy Teoh. She had just pulled into the porch after doing her
grocery shopping when her husband’s friend, Alvin Chua, 39, pulled up outside the house in his Nissan Cefiro.

Chua had dropped by to see his friend, and Teoh’s husband, Lim Gim Leong, who was not at home at
the time. Just as Chua pulled up, the six men stopped alongside him. One of them got off the bike
and began running toward him. He was armed with a machete. Chua ran for the safety of the house but it was too late.

The armed Mat Rempit cornered the frightened occupants and relieved them of cash and valuables as his accomplices secured the perimeter. A minute later, they were gone. The clip has been posted on the video-sharing website YouTube.

http://www.mmail.com.my/YouTube_attack-c-_Cops_act.aspx
TSgkl83
post Apr 1 2009, 06:45 PM

8,377 posts

QUOTE(Putraskyline @ Apr 1 2009, 05:33 PM)

arrested? no bad that police manage to catch the robbers within 2 weeks... smile.gif

0.0188sec    0.52    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 02:46 AM