Changing Kancil Gear Oil, Is is easy to DIY?

TSandrewshim
post Mar 20 2009, 06:00 PM, updated 17y ago

77 posts

Hi Car Sifus...

I started changing my own engine oil, plugs etc this year and found it really easy/convenient/economical. Plus gives me a sense of satisfaction - must be that male ego thing - but I actually did most of my own motorbike work years ago.

Now, I'm wondering if it's possible to DIY gear oil change. Some questions :

1. Where the heck are the drain and fill plugs to change gear oil? (Don't Laugh...) I kinda know roughly but I don't suppose there are pics online to show me where these things are.
2. How much gear oil goes into a Kancil 850? What type is best?
3. How do I get the gear oil in? I notice they use a kind of pump for that. Is there any other way?
4. Are there any other things I need to do?

Thanks friends.
TSandrewshim
post Mar 20 2009, 11:28 PM

77 posts

change gear oil need to jack up the car wor...  how to do?
and also where to buy gear oil... normally service centre supplied by barrel 50L 1...
I have 2 big jacks (my father in law passed them to me before he passed away)

I saw Castrol gear oil in 1 litre packs.

But you Sifus sound a bit uncertain. Maybe not a good idea to attempt myself. Just that every time I see my mechanic do it, seems like it's not THAT difficult. In any case, better to be cautious.

0.0155sec    0.85    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 12:54 AM