i heard this place offers A levels..
anyone studied there?
think its a good place to learn A levels???
i like the location coz its not so far away from where i stay.
http://www.ktj.edu.my
Kolej Tuanku Ja'afar
Mar 20 2009, 03:20 PM, updated 17y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
123 posts Joined: Dec 2008 |
i heard this place offers A levels..
anyone studied there? think its a good place to learn A levels??? i like the location coz its not so far away from where i stay. http://www.ktj.edu.my |
Mar 20 2009, 03:21 PM
1,239 posts Joined: Oct 2005 From: Malacca |
I heard my friend said the total fees for KTJ's A-level is around RM80k++.
Mar 20 2009, 03:25 PM
1,273 posts Joined: Apr 2008 From: cheras,kl |
Mar 20 2009, 03:33 PM
123 posts Joined: Dec 2008 |
ermm the website says its like 8.5k per semester..?
but they didnt mention its for A levels or what la. |
Mar 20 2009, 03:36 PM
359 posts Joined: Jan 2007 From: KL |
well if u get the scholarship frm the coll fees will be halved... so around 40000.... but quality of education there is quite high according to my fren whu's studying there...
Mar 20 2009, 08:47 PM
342 posts Joined: Dec 2008 From: KL |
Mar 20 2009, 09:29 PM
12,290 posts Joined: Aug 2006 |
it's a boarding school.......based on the boarding schools in uk.....in fact, the headmaster is an angmoh......the fees includes the boarding fees........
it is an elite school (eg like garden international etc), so those who talks about expensive fees, this is out of your league........ but for parents who contemplate sending their children to the likes of concorde college in uk (200k for 1 1/2 years), this is an alternative..... |
Mar 20 2009, 10:20 PM
4,122 posts Joined: Jul 2008 From: Malaysia |
Cannot be 80k la...
At such remote area.. I every week also pass by, from Nottingham to Seremban and the other way. Hey, the most expensive degree course in Malaysia belongs to Nottingham Pharmacy PhD 2+1 split scheme which is at about 80+k and also to Monash Medicine that comes around 80+k per year. Be rational. You won't be selling a Honda City (read A-Level) for 130k when most people (Taylors, Inti, Sunway) are selling at 90k but still providing the similar quality and some lower quality but at cheaper rate. On business thought, 80k simply doesn't make sense, not to mention it's at such remote area. If it's near, then pay a visit to ask for it la. http://www.ktj.edu.my/?page=pri&pid=197 They say visit them for extra info wor.. Added on March 20, 2009, 10:21 pmAdd on. But, their reputation is very good, producing very good students every year. Not sure with statistics though. This post has been edited by tanjinjack: Mar 20 2009, 10:21 PM |
Mar 20 2009, 11:08 PM
12,290 posts Joined: Aug 2006 |
they are not expecting people who compare them to taylors, inti etc........like i said, this is a premier boarding school, modeled after the elite boarding schools in uk.........
there is also strict discipline, like all boarding schools......curfews, light outs etc......definitely NO dota at 1am and mamak at 2am....... the clientèle are mostly families who want boarding arrangements, and want strict discipline for their kids, as an alternative to uk boarding schools...... total fees (tuition and boarding) is rm15k/term, and a levels will be a 5 term programme (starting Jan), so total fees is about 80k........which is still cheaper than similar boarding schools in uk, which would be cheapest 200k........ |
Mar 21 2009, 02:11 AM
337 posts Joined: Nov 2006 From: University of Oxford, United Kingdom. |
QUOTE(tanjinjack @ Mar 20 2009, 10:20 PM) Cannot be 80k la... Er, what does being in a remote area have to do with anything? At such remote area.. I every week also pass by, from Nottingham to Seremban and the other way. Hey, the most expensive degree course in Malaysia belongs to Nottingham Pharmacy PhD 2+1 split scheme which is at about 80+k and also to Monash Medicine that comes around 80+k per year. Be rational. You won't be selling a Honda City (read A-Level) for 130k when most people (Taylors, Inti, Sunway) are selling at 90k but still providing the similar quality and some lower quality but at cheaper rate. On business thought, 80k simply doesn't make sense, not to mention it's at such remote area. If it's near, then pay a visit to ask for it la. http://www.ktj.edu.my/?page=pri&pid=197 They say visit them for extra info wor.. Added on March 20, 2009, 10:21 pmAdd on. But, their reputation is very good, producing very good students every year. Not sure with statistics though. There's something I need to clarify here. KTJ isn't one of those commercialized pre-university mills like Taylor's, HELP, INTI where middle-class kids flock to. KTJ is THE school that all those Datuks, Datins and high-ranking politicians and royalty send their children to. The students there eat gourmet buffet on a daily basis, laundry [washing, drying and ironing] is done and delivered the next day for them, and they're the upper crust kids who have limousines to come pick them up when it's vacation time, and they actually have maids to help pack their stuff up for them before vacating their rooms. RM80K+? Peanuts for this kind of people. The only non upper-crust people who study there are the ones who got a scholarship/fee waiver. |
Mar 21 2009, 02:18 AM
4,122 posts Joined: Jul 2008 From: Malaysia |
Wow, sounds like the prestigious school seen in the Japanese Anime. Ouran?
LOL.. Sorry for the mistake for my earlier post. |
Mar 21 2009, 02:20 AM
244 posts Joined: Jun 2007 From: Georgetown,PG |
i have been there before,
RM80k for sixth form(a lvl) school RM65K |
Mar 21 2009, 02:29 PM
557 posts Joined: Oct 2008 |
Like Glassy said, it's a prestigious institution. The sports they play ain't common too. I heard they do horse-riding(polo) for sports.
Mar 21 2009, 02:42 PM
4,781 posts Joined: Dec 2004 |
It's basically like Harrow and Eton......
Mar 21 2009, 02:47 PM
Mar 21 2009, 03:17 PM
4,781 posts Joined: Dec 2004 |
What makes you think that I am studying there?
Mar 21 2009, 03:47 PM
342 posts Joined: Dec 2008 From: KL |
just very rich ppl can afford their kids study thr..
but..tat is not study already..is like vacation at thr = = |
Mar 21 2009, 04:29 PM
Apr 1 2022, 12:36 PM
Probation
2 posts Joined: Jan 2020 |
QUOTE(RainJR @ Mar 20 2009, 08:47 PM) Yes. RM 89,400 / year for sixth form(A LEVELS ) With such architecture and design… And it’s famous for sending many students to reputable universities such as Cambridge , Oxford , Harvard,… |
Apr 1 2022, 07:14 PM
4,496 posts Joined: Jun 2011 |
QUOTE(Go away Anxiety @ Apr 1 2022, 12:36 PM) Yes. RM 89,400 / year for sixth form(A LEVELS ) Not sure "KTJ" can bring you to Harvard. With such architecture and design… And it’s famous for sending many students to reputable universities such as Cambridge , Oxford , Harvard,… That one might need SATs? The recent ones I heard students getting into Harvard was Kolej Yayasan UEM. KTJ is doing EdExcel A Levels not mistaken. Cambridge, Imperial and Oxford normally you will get accepted. If you Personal Statement did well. |
| Change to: | 0.0222sec
5 queries
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 07:18 PM |