Mar 21 2009, 05:33 AM
1,180 posts Joined: Jan 2007 From: *awaiting GPS accuracy* |
Hi guys! Good morning!
I'm leaving to KLIA now. I'll be offline until Sunday, 22/3/2009, about 12:35pm Malaysian Time, as soon as I have access to the Internet. See you guys tomorrow! Bye! |
Mar 21 2009, 03:18 PM
Hi guys! This is geekster129 reporting from Taoyuan International Airport, Taipei, Taiwan.
I'm bound for my next transit flight to Los Angeles, California, U.S.A., at 4:00pm Malaysian Time. Will be scheduled to reached LA by 12:35pm Mountain Time (GMT -7) and will reach Phoenix, Arizona, U.S.A. at 7:30pm, same time zone. |
Mar 22 2009, 02:58 PM
Hi guys! I think it should be afternoon in KL now. So, happy Sunday afternoon!
I have reached Phoenix, Arizona USA 4 hours ago and just checked in. It is now 12:00 in the midnight, Sunday. Really miss you guys, and I miss home. I'm now 18,000km away from home The entire journey took me about 24 hours 30 minutes. I'm glad I've completed the journey and now I really need a good rest. Didn't sleep much in the plane. Economy class |
Mar 22 2009, 03:08 PM
Mar 23 2009, 06:26 AM
Mar 23 2009, 10:03 AM
Just had dinner... Time to mandi now...
Mar 23 2009, 12:04 PM
QUOTE(kiasu6 @ Mar 23 2009, 10:19 AM) Well, the weather that is quite nice. Temperature is around 19 deg C. But dry. Glad that I managed to get used to the time pretty quickly. Afternoon is sunny, but there are winds constantly blowing. So, I didn't sweat much. My colleague rented a car. I have to make sure that he's driving on the RIGHT lane. Turning there is a bit different than KL. There were two times I mistakenly entered the driver's seat. LOL. The traffic here are far more consistent and systematic than Malaysia, because of the grid design of the town. So, you can expect all the main junctions to be always in the same pattern all the time. But Internet access here in hotel is damn expensive. $14.95 per day. Luckily company covered everything already, if not... Basically there are two main languages being spoken here. English and Spanish. When I bought McD at the airport yesterday, the cashier was communicating with her colleague in Spanish. I think she should be a Hispanic American. (Latin American). Added on March 23, 2009, 12:05 pmHappy Birthday, Fruity! This post has been edited by geekster129: Mar 23 2009, 12:05 PM |
Mar 23 2009, 12:06 PM
Mar 23 2009, 12:10 PM
QUOTE(WhiteWing @ Mar 23 2009, 12:06 PM) Well, yeah. It's a great a journey, and crazy too. Spent almost 26 hours traveling, starting from KLIA, then to Taipei, then to LA, then finally reached Phoenix. Anyhow, I didn't slept much. Glad that I passed through immigration smoothly. My colleague kept on scaring me to be careful when answering immigration questions. Was so worried during the journey, caused I already got a bad experience getting my US visa two weeks ago.Added on March 23, 2009, 12:12 pm QUOTE(hairyLGS @ Mar 23 2009, 12:07 PM) Chuckle... welcome to America, bro... Yeah, my colleague asked me not to compare also because the price is pound-to-pound. It's just the matter of the currency.Internet access there to you is expensive... but to them is cheap... don't calculate the cost of comparison... This post has been edited by geekster129: Mar 23 2009, 12:12 PM |
Mar 23 2009, 12:18 PM
QUOTE(hairyLGS @ Mar 23 2009, 12:13 PM) Actually, your colleague isn't scaring you... he just wants you to be careful when answering since after all, we come from a Muslim country. Security measures are rather high... even me gotten the Visa I still need screening. You are lucky you did not... Thanks bro. Well, not all foods are suitable to me. It took me one whole day for me to get used to the environment. Yeah even their McDonald's is so much different.If you are not careful, the thing they do is ask you to follow them - be photographed, thumbprint and answer some questions. Even departing is the same thing. Its for their security measures. But your face so smiley... don't think will have problems anyway Furthermore - not every immigration officer is nice. So just be yourself and while you're at it - Enjoy the food there! And remember - Don't go to KFC and ask for "Hot & Spicy" - they will think you're mad! Well, I don't think they'll think I'm crazy guar if I do so at KFC. Probably they'll just politely say: "I'm sorry sir, but we don't have Hot & Spicy. Would you like to have other meals instead?" Well, I do realize that no matter what kind of business they are working, it seems that the customer will always be their first priority than anyone else. Even when they are on the phone in front of the customer, they will keep the conversation short. |
Mar 23 2009, 12:21 PM
QUOTE(WhiteWing @ Mar 23 2009, 12:15 PM) Tarak guna punya Big ear hole ... LOL... Well, about 30mins before arrival at the LA international airport, the cabin crew made an announcement that we MUST fill in all the particulars in the CUSTOMS and the Immigration form. Then announcement continues:Hahaha ... birthday must kena slap baru become adult Wow ... like this one .. becareful answer the question also ... next time I must try and see how .. hehe ~ "Tuan-tuan dan puan-puan, Kerajaan Amerika Syarikat mewajibkan supaya semua penumpang-penumpang agar mengisi borang I-94 dengan lengkap. Kegagalan tuan-tuan dan puan-puan mengisi borang dengan lengkap mungkin menyebabkan anda didenda tiga ratus dolar Amerika Syarikat.." |
Mar 23 2009, 12:27 PM
QUOTE(hairyLGS @ Mar 23 2009, 12:21 PM) Most probably they will... unless you meet someone much older and they give you a funny look. Which it did happen to me. Everything over there is in large portions. When I was there, I really lose weight a lot. It's great and can still eat so much. I never being to Phoenix but L.A. is just nice... although most of the people there are superficial that I can tell you. I love their McDonald's... but for breakfast meals... I go for Denny's. The pancakes... mmmm Talking about superficial, I find it funny. At LA yesterday, the guy at the information counter, his main intention is to guide passengers to use the eTicket. But he sounded like he's a game show host, or advertisement or a radio deejay, or something. I can still remember his line:Maybe it's just me but really... I just love their food. Shopping electronic goods - Paradise! Not to mention the prices are good even. Problem would be how to bring back only... "Ladies and gentlemen, if you got an eTicket or an Electronic Ticket, you can check-in at the following machines on your left. It is self-serve. Thank You.".. and he repeat that line every five minutes. Yeah, electronic goods are dirt cheap. Sony Bravia 52" FOR ONLY $1499.99 only. Imagine that! I saw some PS3 games also, but those games are very old. Assassin's Creed R1(duh!) sells for $29.99. Added on March 23, 2009, 12:28 pm QUOTE(WhiteWing @ Mar 23 2009, 12:22 PM) Err... Malaysian Airlines mar... They announce in Chinese too.. heheThis post has been edited by geekster129: Mar 23 2009, 12:28 PM |
Mar 23 2009, 12:33 PM
Mar 23 2009, 12:35 PM
QUOTE(hairyLGS @ Mar 23 2009, 12:33 PM) Well, off to lunch... Well, sure bro. Tomorrow will be working day to me. Attending a 5-day developers conference. Now is 9:34pm in Phoenix. Probably need to fetch my boss at PHX (Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport) later at 12:00am. Geek - write down your entire journey... and can you PM me your FB? Enjoy your stay there bro... Will post some photos for our guys to see later. |
Mar 23 2009, 12:38 PM
QUOTE(gsrc @ Mar 23 2009, 12:34 PM) Oooh... got new toy d lar now, no wonder didn't see her lately. Well, what you said is so true.Yes, that's really the cultural difference between Western country and Asian one. Ours one ah? If nice, "Sorry sir but it's out of stock", if not nice, "Sorry no more!" But surely very rarely will you find someone who's really good and will follow up with another recommendation. If you just being nice and say. No thanks. Then they will continue to ask you: "Is there anything else I can help you sir?" Then when you say: "No, I think that should be fine." He/She will say: "Thank you sir, please enjoy your stay. Goodbye!" |
Mar 23 2009, 12:46 PM
Mar 23 2009, 01:04 PM