University Monash University Thread V2, Malaysia & Aus Campus

Steel Up
post Jul 8 2009, 02:09 PM

156 posts

I made another thread about this question since I did not see the Monash thread. Worth asking again, eh?

Anyone studying in Business faculty successfully enrolled into one of the Business programmes despite not taking Math for their A Levels? I really, really want to study Management and International Business but they told me that a good grade for A Level Economics simply won't cut it.

Is there really no way to appeal, or has anyone been successful in doing so? ohmy.gif
Steel Up
post Jan 26 2011, 12:17 AM

156 posts

Will I be completely lost as far as subject planning is concerned if I don't attend the first day of orientation? I don't really mind the boring-ness, but I'm planning to skip the entire thing to attend intensive Japanese classes, really.

QUOTE(FlyingCloset @ Jan 25 2011, 10:47 PM)
Hie ! I Was just wondering if there were any students that transfer from :

VU program ( Sunway ) or UniSA ( Taylors ) to the monash campus?

If you dont mind letting me know how many exemptions you guys got? smile.gif
did any of you by chance get into 2nd year immediately?
i tried comparing syllabus.. but im still pretty unsure.

thanks in advance!!
I transferred from UniSA to Monash last year. Got about 7 exemptions.
Steel Up
post Feb 14 2011, 07:44 PM

156 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Feb 7 2011, 11:44 AM)
orientation schedule is out.

http://www.monash.edu.my/Student-services/...es-program.html

buahaha my registration is at 10.45am. don't need early early go there avoid jam. XD problem now is finding parking........... hmm.gif
Thanks for the link. Hmm, I don't really see anything crucial in the timetable. As far as the systems go, they've already taught us about WES and Allocate+ around 2 weeks ago. Unless I missed something else here, could someone highlight to me what is so important about the orientation?

Seems like it's mostly about briefings and workshops, and based on my experience of past orientations, I tend to forget all that within weeks. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Steel Up: Feb 14 2011, 07:53 PM
Steel Up
post Feb 19 2011, 04:06 PM

156 posts

I registered in November, but I've yet to get any offer letter posted to me. Well, I printed out the one they scanned and emailed and it turned out fine, but still...

Anyway, when will the timetable be generated? biggrin.gif
Steel Up
post Feb 19 2011, 04:41 PM

156 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Feb 19 2011, 04:29 PM)
for the record, i registered in april, got it 2 weeks later.  biggrin.gif

what course are you in? i think you need to pick your own timetable  hmm.gif
Bbuss Com 2224. We're the same aren't we? biggrin.gif

Also, I did pick. Allocate+ wasn't it? I read something about them only generating the timetables later?
Steel Up
post Feb 22 2011, 08:34 PM

156 posts

Bagero lah, on Wednesday, my timetable has a 4 hour gap. What to do?! And it's impossible to rearrange the timetable since all law tutorials are full. Someone please tell me this is just a temporary problem. cry.gif

If nothing can be done, then could someone please tell me the available, comfortable spots to sleep on. tongue.gif
Steel Up
post Feb 27 2011, 05:05 PM

156 posts

QUOTE(hadoupening @ Feb 27 2011, 03:54 PM)

I've got a tut at 8am tomorrow, so not sure if I should go? Next class is at 12, so it would be a ton of time wasted if I went and there isn't a class.  sweat.gif
Got the same problem, here. My timetable says that my tutorial starts on the 1st of March. But it's pretty standard for Australian universities to only hold tutorials in the second week, right? At least, that's how it was during my time in UniSA. hmm.gif
Steel Up
post Feb 28 2011, 02:39 PM

156 posts

So anyone else from BBuss Comm 2224 having tutorials this week? It's so strange to have tutorials without going for lectures first. Oh well.
Steel Up
post Mar 4 2011, 09:02 AM

156 posts

QUOTE(mshunny @ Mar 4 2011, 08:26 AM)
who's taking mgw 1010 or who has completed it?where do you get your managers?sigh.
so many assignments already.
Taking MGW1010 too. Tempted to make up my own bullshit. This interview thing is really stupid and unnecessary, imo. shakehead.gif
Steel Up
post Mar 5 2011, 02:08 PM

156 posts

QUOTE(ryan18 @ Mar 4 2011, 05:03 PM)
if you have twitter, there are a lot of big boss/CEO there.You can ask them, some of them are very nice. For example I got 8TV boss
So geng can get 8TV boss? I thought all those CEOs are always busy! tongue.gif

Haih, I'll just attach someone's business card and then answer the questionnaire myself.
Steel Up
post Mar 8 2011, 08:36 PM

156 posts

QUOTE(eclipsed @ Mar 8 2011, 05:12 PM)

Btw, do you consider the business course tough? (in comparison to other business courses and to other faculties)
Depends, I guess? It's rather similar to what I experienced in Taylor's UniSA business program, difficulty-wise. Well, maybe a bit tougher in terms of assignments since the lecturers/tutors here aren't allowed to help you out at all, it seems.

Also, seems like this thread is mostly used by students of the sciences! Where are my Bbuss Comm homies? sweat.gif
Steel Up
post Mar 9 2011, 08:04 PM

156 posts

QUOTE(hadoupening @ Mar 9 2011, 05:07 PM)
Damn, just walking around the C&S exhibition today, and then without much thought I joined 4 clubs. Even the Animanga club I originally don't want to join, but the girl there was kinda cute, so automatically joined when she asked me to join, like robot...  sweat.gif

Did any of you guys join any clubs?
Joined the anime club also. Too bad by the time I got there, the girls manning the booth were probably too tired to 'pujuk' people to come join. I signed up anyway. tongue.gif

Tomorrow I don't have any class, but I'll probably go to the uni again and check out more clubs. The aikido one seems cool.
Steel Up
post Jul 10 2011, 06:57 PM

156 posts

Hey guys, I need advise. Has anyone here tried overloading a semester before? Or does anyone know someone who has? Please help me out, thank you! smile.gif
Steel Up
post Jul 10 2011, 07:59 PM

156 posts

QUOTE(Monya Meow Meow @ Jul 10 2011, 07:34 PM)
Yes I know a few people who have overloaded.
What kind of advice do you need?
Thanks for the reply! I need to know a rough description of the difficulty of overloading. I realize that it can differ greatly from one student to another, but there has got to be a yardstick I can depend on as an estimate. For these people you know, how did they find it? E.g:

-Is it possible to score 5 distinctions in a semester, provided you put in major effort? (ie. minimal leisure activities, minimum of 5 hours a day of revision). Is this only possible for *extremely* talented and intelligent students?
-Would very early preparation make the above achievable, ie hardcore revision right when the semester starts?
-How hectic is it, in regards to really score during an overload semester? Is dividing time in your life an absolutely pain?
-Effects on mental health, stamina and fatigue? tongue.gif

These are the questions I can think of at the moment. Thank you!
Steel Up
post Jul 11 2011, 05:39 AM

156 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Jul 10 2011, 11:02 PM)
In theory it is very possible to get D in all 5 if the subjects do not involve group projects/assignments. It may be more beneficial to take a summer class instead.
Well, I'm going to take summer class, but they only offer one subject relevant to my majors so I will still need to overload to graduate in time. sad.gif

QUOTE(Monya Meow Meow @ Jul 10 2011, 11:32 PM)
Yes it is very possible since Distinctions are not that hard to get, and it is not restricted to very talented students.
Hardcore preparation is not needed. However, I would suggest constant preparation so that you don't fall behind.
Again, how hard the overload process is depends on the units you are taking. Taking five 3rd year units differ greatly from taking five 2nd year units.
Most of my frens still managed to have leisure time  nod.gif
Thank you! So I need to be careful not to overload on all 5 3rd year subjects and I should be fine, right? What were your friends' majors? I'm planning to go Management/Business Law, and although I'm quite interested in these, I'm afraid I might not have what it takes to overload. Time division shouldn't be too hard right, and your friends didn't end up all tired and stuff every week?
Steel Up
post Jul 11 2011, 08:29 AM

156 posts

QUOTE(Monya Meow Meow @ Jul 11 2011, 07:52 AM)
Yeah that's right, try not to do all 3rd units or you'll just end up pressurizing yourself.
Most of them are majoring in Accounting & Finance.
As I said, they just put in a little extra effort but still managed to have time to go out for drinks and stuff  nod.gif
Thanks, Monya. I think I'll go for an overload with a mix of year 2 and year 3 subjects then. I hope this will work, and wish me luck! biggrin.gif

And congratulations, yezhacolic!
Steel Up
post Jul 12 2011, 01:58 PM

156 posts

LOOKING FOR CAPABLE SENIORS FOR THESE SUBJECTS:

INTERNATIONAL FINANCIAL MANAGEMENT
TRADE FINANCE AND FOREIGN EXCHANGE

Sorry for the caps, but I need to find seniors who could do these subjects very well. Please let me know if you're among them, or if you know people who fit such a description. Thank you, fellow Monashians! I'm counting on you! ohmy.gif

This post has been edited by Steel Up: Jul 12 2011, 02:00 PM
Steel Up
post Jul 12 2011, 05:18 PM

156 posts

QUOTE(Monya Meow Meow @ Jul 12 2011, 05:09 PM)
I did both units almost 3 years ago lolz!
IFM is pretty easy, I got a HD.
Trade Finance is slightly trickier but still not a big problem, got a D for that  smile.gif
I'm very bad with numbers, and one glance at the syllabus made me realize I will need extra help. T_T

I assume you've graduated, though? So you won't be able to tutor or something? unsure.gif

This post has been edited by Steel Up: Jul 12 2011, 05:19 PM
Steel Up
post Jul 13 2011, 05:44 AM

156 posts

QUOTE(Monya Meow Meow @ Jul 12 2011, 10:03 PM)
I have just graduated from Masters  tongue.gif  But I'm in Melbourne so yeah ...
Ah, that's too bad. You'd make a cool tutor too. shocking.gif Did you go straight to MBA?

Also, if anyone else could tutor me on Trade Finance and Exchange and/or International Financial Management, please PM me! Or if you could introduce someone, that'd be great too! Paid, of course! smile.gif
Steel Up
post Jul 16 2011, 05:49 AM

156 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Jul 16 2011, 02:24 AM)
trade finance was a total drag with mr kasi last time ... hahaha..summore in my time it was split into 2 sessions, both 8am..zzz
end up never go for half i think

IFM i think the main point is not to memorise how to do.. understand the concept is better as the questions trick you (its not hard) but tricky. assignment no problem for this i guess? I can help you on IFM but of course cannot guarantee HD lah. smile.gif
Haha, this time Trade Finance will be taught by Dr Grace Lee. She's kinda okay I guess. Do you know any scorer who did this subject? And it would be great to have you tutor me in IFM! Just want a D if that's possible. I just need major help with the mathematical parts. icon_question.gif

0.0503sec    0.85    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 12:20 PM