University Monash University Thread V2, Malaysia & Aus Campus

zstan
post Oct 29 2010, 12:50 AM

15,856 posts

at KL sentral n Pasar seni there's rapid kl bus to sunway pyramid, from there u can go to pyramid and then take shuttle bus to monash.
zstan
post Nov 5 2010, 10:22 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(ryan18 @ Nov 5 2010, 08:46 AM)
exchange seems to be a cheaper option right if I am going to Monash Australia just for a change of study environment since transfer will costs more.anyhow which is better exchange or transfer?
depends on your budget. some might be contented with 6 months at Aus, some might prefer 1 -2 years there..or some might not just come back after going aussie.... biggrin.gif

of course..exchange programme will cost a lot lesser as you will be paying malaysian fees...
zstan
post Nov 5 2010, 10:43 AM

15,856 posts

if i not mistaken...exchange programme need see results...need to be the top 5-10 in the class? not everybody can get it. biggrin.gif
zstan
post Nov 5 2010, 11:00 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(jazzy89 @ Nov 5 2010, 07:15 PM)
Hey everyone, I will be joining Monash for the Bachelor of Business and Commerce/Communications Feb 2011 intake. Could anyone offer me any advice for the course or school?

Thank you : )
welcome. i will join the same time too. biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
zstan
post Nov 6 2010, 12:45 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(jazzy89 @ Nov 5 2010, 11:37 PM)
I did do accounts before but it was only for my O levels so I hope that'll help in some way or another haha How's the schools atmosphere?

Oh sztan, what course did you apply for?
pharmacy. biggrin.gif school atmosphere...no civil war so far..
zstan
post Nov 6 2010, 11:55 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(baoz @ Nov 6 2010, 11:53 PM)
yeah... going. but haven't received my offer letter yet. you attended the briefing the other day?

i'm doing pharmacy btw.
u going next sem? can't see you liao then. biggrin.gif
zstan
post Nov 7 2010, 06:43 PM

15,856 posts

eh baoz...how much u scored to qualify for that exchange program? blush.gif
zstan
post Nov 7 2010, 10:57 PM

15,856 posts

hmmm. why not interested? i heard the pharm campus is a bit ulu though.
zstan
post Nov 7 2010, 11:17 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(baoz @ Nov 7 2010, 11:12 PM)
well.. there are various reasons why people are not interest. the atmosphere in sunway is nice. i personally don't want to go if not for my parents.

pharm campus is ulu? you're kidding me. the pharm campus in Australia is right in Melbourne city. Compared to all the other Monash campuses, it's the place with most facilities already.
eh? that WG told me its at ulu place. =S rclxub.gif claufield is it? hmmm. u will be going for one semester right? 6 months?
zstan
post Nov 7 2010, 11:33 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(baoz @ Nov 7 2010, 11:27 PM)
ahh... looks like you need to do some background reading on our pharmacy program.

the campus is at Parkville.

and yeah going for 1 semester/6 months.
oh parkville. ><

i see i see...but there are some electives offered there which are not offered here right? and vice versa. for the 3rd year programme one. so parkville is in the middle of melbourne la? notworthy.gif
zstan
post Nov 8 2010, 09:38 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(baoz @ Nov 7 2010, 11:45 PM)
Under the new syllabus the electives are the same for both sides. Last I checked, both campuses are offering the same electives except for ONE elective which only Sunway has and another elective which only Parkville offers. Either way, the semester where I exchange to Parkville is NOT the semester where I will be doing my electives. So makes no difference as I will have to do my electives in Sunway.

Yes, Parkville is in Melbourne CBD. Right across Melbourne Uni.
was refering to this: hmm.gif for 3rd year 2nd sem one. laugh.gif

PAC3542 Leadership*
PAC3552 Community engagement**
PSC3032 Current aspects of pharmaceutical biology*
PSC3112 Drug discovery and development*

* Parkville campus only.

** Sunway campus only.

ohhhh...so nearby a...interesting... so can you choose which sem to apply for?
zstan
post Nov 8 2010, 10:58 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(baoz @ Nov 8 2010, 10:18 AM)
PSC units are of the old syllabus which no longer applies to our batch onwards. All our units are quoted as 'PAC'..

Elective can only be done in 3rd yr 2nd sem or summer semester.. Depending on the unit itself.. So we can't choose actually.

What do you mean by 'which sem to apply for'..? U mean the exchange? Only 2nd yr 2nd sem OR 3rd yr 1st sem. Definitely people will apply for the former cos they're eager to go and it's in winter
ohhhhh.i see. thanks for the info. notworthy.gif do you guys know which hospital u can attach to yet?

so to 'qualify' for this exchange program, they see your results since first year first sem la? blush.gif
zstan
post Nov 8 2010, 12:54 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(baoz @ Nov 8 2010, 11:52 AM)
We don't know which hospitals yet..

Yeah they see all the results right before you apply for the exchange..
hmm.when will they let you guys know about the hospital placement? takkan go Sunway Med right? sweat.gif

ah i see. thanks for the info. happy birthday too btw. laugh.gif
zstan
post Nov 8 2010, 01:52 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(baoz @ Nov 8 2010, 01:48 PM)
Ah... I heard Sunway med might be one of the options. Looking more for gov hospitals though. We'll have placements in hospital, rural and community if I'm not wrong. Not too sure about industry/pharmaceuticals but we can always do that on our own during summer breaks.
Thanks for the bday wish! smile.gif
gov hospital more suitable i guess? at least u can interact with patients in the wards. if at private hospital where can. sad.gif unsure.gif

welcome. have a nice celebration today. smile.gif
zstan
post Nov 8 2010, 11:50 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(Gii @ Nov 8 2010, 09:37 PM)
Reading through sunway university website just now, that seems Monash own hostel is being ready with effective from 1st of July 2011 right? where is it located?

Added on November 8, 2010, 10:52 pmAnd can I opt to transfer to Australian campus to complete the rest of the program? What I mean is not to go for an intercampus exchange but to directly transfer to Aussie.
the hostel is just beside the campus IINM...yes you can..excluding medic n pharm courses though.. smile.gif
zstan
post Nov 9 2010, 09:24 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(Gii @ Nov 9 2010, 09:12 AM)
Is there any underlying condition to be accepted by aussie campus?
Yes. Results & how much money you have, and the availability of that course in the campus you wanna go to.

zstan
post Nov 18 2010, 05:10 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(cohenchow @ Nov 18 2010, 04:57 PM)
life studying at Monash really sucks like what people have thought? ==
to be honest, every uni you go in malaysia sure got people say it sucks, Monash & Nottingham included.
zstan
post Dec 3 2010, 09:56 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(baoz @ Dec 3 2010, 08:21 AM)
cry.gif

Passed everything but my WAM and CGPA just keep dropping and dropping beyond the reach of a 1st class honours or 2nd upper even. sad.gif

I'm taking a science-related course and I wonder if dropping grades is a normal thing or is it just me?
nola..normal in pharm n medical course only cry.gif
zstan
post Dec 8 2010, 11:25 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(mosquitotee @ Dec 8 2010, 12:44 AM)
hi there, im considering to take MUFY next year then continue my degree pharmacy. So i want to ask, how do i proceed to pharmacy course after MUFY? Like can i go overseas or will do it locally? And how bout the fees including my pharmacy degree? Thanks.
Hi, for starters you need really really good grades from your MUFY to be able to proceed to the pharm degree.you will most likely complete all 4 years in Malaysia. However you can opt to transfer to Australia for one semester if your results are good.
Course fees will be about 165k, excluding MUFY. So all in all might reach about 190k?

zstan
post Dec 8 2010, 01:09 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(mosquitotee @ Dec 8 2010, 12:48 PM)
only good grades then only i can proceed to the pharm degree? What if i just pass all?
erm...pass is not enough to gain admission la sweat.gif

http://www.monash.edu.my/advancement/stude...gree/index.html

14 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0442sec    0.60    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 01:33 AM