University Monash University Thread V2, Malaysia & Aus Campus

Hikari0307
post Jan 9 2011, 03:03 AM

平成の光
4,541 posts

QUOTE(aeg1s @ Jan 9 2011, 02:03 AM)
i thought for the number 3 case, Sunway campus curriculum is the same for Berwick, Gippsland, and Peninsula course, as Clayton and Caulfield offer another type of degree.
That's for Business. Monash Clayton offer Bachelor of Commerce while Cauffield and starting this year Peninsula offers Bachelor of Business which both have higher entry requirements to enter than the others and requires year 12 math as a pre-requisite rather than year 11 maths like Sunway and the others which offer Bachelor of Business & Commerce.

In the case of Engineering they offer the same course which is Bachelor of Engineering in both Sunway and Clayton, as far as I know Monash only offers Engineering programmes in Sunway & Clayton and none in any other campus of Monash except for Bachelor of Civil and Environmental Engineering in Gippsland . There's also a lot of other types of Engineering degres available in Clayton that's not available in any other Monash Campus like Bachelor of Aerospace Engineering,Bachelor of Computer Systems Engineering, Bachelor of Environmental Engineering, Bachelor of Mechatronics Engineering and Bachelor of Software Engineering.

This post has been edited by Hikari0307: Jan 9 2011, 03:05 AM
Hikari0307
post Jan 12 2011, 12:32 AM

平成の光
4,541 posts

QUOTE(masterelr @ Jan 11 2011, 10:48 PM)
I used to study in Sunway College back in 2001-2004 when Sunway college and Monash are still in the same building. Now that Monash has got its own building, how far is it from Sunway College? I know theres a free shuttle bus from Sunway Pyramid to Sunway College but does it also go to Monash?
Monash is basically across the street from Sunway University. It'll take you 10-15 minutes to walk from the entrance of Sunway to Monash. From pyramid the bus would pass by Monash first before it arrives at Sun U.

QUOTE(bluespot @ Jan 11 2011, 11:58 PM)
o..then do u know monash accept which uni to credit transfer? utar can?
not sure you would have to check with Monash and whether their syllabus match and all.
Hikari0307
post Jan 16 2011, 11:09 PM

平成の光
4,541 posts

QUOTE(Clerith @ Jan 16 2011, 01:00 PM)
Hi guys,

I've finished my first year and applied for credit transfer to Monash at Caulfield. I'm doing Bachelor of Business of Commerce at Sunway Campus and applied for Bachelor of Business at Caulfield.  Unfortunately they told me I did not meet their math requirement although i took Business and Econs Stats. I would just like to know what is the math requirement? They told me to take "Math for Engineering" and was a little confuse there. Hopefully you guys can help me to clarify on this matter =D
Bachelor of Business or Bachelor of Commerce have a year 12 Math Pre-requisite. Bachelor of Business & Commerce only needed Year 11 Maths.
Hikari0307
post Jan 20 2011, 02:00 AM

平成の光
4,541 posts

QUOTE(whykidzz @ Jan 20 2011, 01:25 AM)
you taking A level also ? then did u do IELTS ? what course u taking ??

May i know one semester in Monash is how long? (long semester)
Australian Universities mainly have two semesters in a year.
One semester from late February to around June/July.
Then the second semester is from late July to November.

You can take a summer semester if you want from December to Feb.

Monash also follows this system
http://www.adm.monash.edu/execserv/about/p...s/prdsemda.html

Hikari0307
post Jan 21 2011, 09:53 PM

平成の光
4,541 posts

QUOTE(jianxiang @ Jan 21 2011, 09:16 PM)
URGENT!~PLEASE HELP
I am currently taking 1st semester 1st year of my degree in Monash Sunway, plan to transfer during 2nd year 1st semester... i heard that Caulfield campus has a new requirement of maths...is it equivalent to Year 12 maths??i have done mathematics in GCE A-levels and got a B for it...does it meet the requirement???Currently struggling on units to choose for my 2nd semester in order to transfer safely...is Maths FOR ENGINEERING A NECESSARY to transfer now???or just biz stats will do??
I HAVE EMAILED MONASH CAULFIELD AND ASKED IN MONASH SUNWAY..NONE OF THEM REPLY AND HELP
It's not a new requirement. Year 12 math has been needed for years to get into Bachelor of Commerce in Clayton or Bachelor of Business in Cauffield and now in Peninsula as well.

Go and check the equivalency here
http://www.buseco.monash.edu.au/undergrad/in2monash/
Hikari0307
post Jan 22 2011, 09:54 PM

平成の光
4,541 posts

like I said before use this
There will be a part where you can check what subjects are equivalent to the year 12 math pre-requisite.
Hikari0307
post Jan 23 2011, 07:46 PM

平成の光
4,541 posts

QUOTE(janice17 @ Jan 23 2011, 08:05 AM)
i think it doesnt matter with what pre-u i took..
because the staff never asked me about this.. hmm.gif
It does matter if you have already did a year 12 equivalent subject.
For example if you did SAM before and did Math so you would have cleared the year 12 math pre-requisite.

The person probably assumed most people there have not cleared it since the Bachelor of Business & Commerce which is offered in Sunway only requires year 11 math.
Hikari0307
post Jan 24 2011, 06:12 PM

平成の光
4,541 posts

QUOTE(t(-_-t) @ Jan 24 2011, 05:26 PM)
when exactly is orientation eih? on the school of business site there are two enrollment sessions, one ofr 8th feb and another on the 23rd feb. which do i go to? @>@
Go according to your offer letter. The earlier one is probably for returning students?
Hikari0307
post Jan 25 2011, 08:22 PM

平成の光
4,541 posts

QUOTE(ryan18 @ Jan 25 2011, 08:08 PM)
its boring haha but at least it does not go overboard like singapore uni orientation
lol there will be some pieces which are important. It's not that long so you guys should just endure it ^^"
Hikari0307
post Feb 15 2011, 07:50 PM

平成の光
4,541 posts

QUOTE(Iliveunderwater @ Feb 15 2011, 07:33 PM)
What is a suburb actually? Sattelite towns?? Name me an example of suburbs in Malaysia and whats not a suburb, sorry n00b question lol. But i think the layout in our country is diff right.
Imagine KL where KLCC,Pavilion all those stuff as the CBD like in Aussie. Suburbs are where all those residential areas are. For KL some examples would be like Wangsa Maju, Bandar Tun Razak, Setiawangsa, Sungai Besi etc.
Hikari0307
post Feb 21 2011, 10:02 PM

平成の光
4,541 posts

QUOTE(thenemesis @ Feb 21 2011, 09:53 PM)
ooo. thanks. actually, with or without researches, what differences they make?

Oh yea, here comes my first question, is it necessary to do transfer with the Aus campus?  icon_question.gif
The researches done have very little impact on undergraduate students. It's more important for post grads.

Since Monash Sunway is a full fledged campus you don't need to go to Aussie to finish your Degree.
You can transfer to Aussie for certain programmes after doing some time in Monash Sunway or if you can try going on exchange for a semester while paying Malaysian fees then come back to Malaysia though places for those are limited so for both you need to have certain results.
Hikari0307
post Feb 22 2011, 03:34 PM

平成の光
4,541 posts

QUOTE(janice17 @ Feb 22 2011, 10:40 AM)
anybody here planning to transfer to australia, and was told to take engineering maths?

I was assured by the director of my pre-u course that the mathematics i did during pre-u is equivalent to year 12 maths.
However, i took Biz statictics instead of Biz & Econ Stats during my first yr in monash.
Does this matter?
Check here
to see if the math you did in pre-u is recognized by Monash as equivalent to year 12 math or not.
Hikari0307
post Feb 25 2011, 01:20 PM

平成の光
4,541 posts

QUOTE(Jason3399 @ Feb 25 2011, 12:21 AM)
guys.. does monash provide double degree course for accounting and finance? and which uni does it collaborate with?
QUOTE(Jason3399 @ Feb 25 2011, 10:26 AM)
like sunway got link with Victoria University, Melbourne.. wat about Monash? which 1 of it is more reputable? One more thing, wat is double major and double degree? does tat means we`ll get 2 certificate upon graduation?
Monash doesn't need to collaborate with other Unis in terms of offering a Degree. In the first place Monash came to Malaysia due to a collaboration with Sunway then MOHE invited to open a full fledged campus in Malaysia. It's already a godd University which is part of Australia's group of 8.

Double Major means you have two concentrations in your Degree, usually in a business degree you'll be able to take enough subjects to do 1 major plus enough electives to form another major or two minors. You'll only get one degree but in your transcripts it'll mention you majored in this two fields if you choose two major in two things.

Double Degree means you are doing two degrees at the same time for example a Bachelor of Business and Bachelor of IT. You'll still do the same amount of subjects as somebody doing one degree but it'll take longer for you to graduate since you need to fulfill the requirements of both degrees. You'll be doing equal amount of subjects for each degree each semester. For two degrees that each would take three years to graduate from would take four years to finish if done as a double degree. At the end when you graduate you will get two degrees.
Hikari0307
post Feb 26 2011, 11:58 AM

平成の光
4,541 posts

QUOTE(Jason3399 @ Feb 26 2011, 01:20 AM)
single degree takes 3 years whereas double degree take 4 years am i right? tat is so much faster..
That is if both degrees are 3 years. If one of them is 4 years then combined with a 3 year degree would become 5 years for a double degree.

QUOTE(Jason3399 @ Feb 26 2011, 11:46 AM)
but the cost for double degree is almost the same as single degree am i right? i was given the list stated so.. dont know whether i got it wrong or wat.. rclxub.gif
If your paying around 30k a year then a double degree which is one year more than a normal degree would cost you 30k more on tuition fees
Hikari0307
post Feb 26 2011, 07:23 PM

平成の光
4,541 posts

QUOTE(Jason3399 @ Feb 26 2011, 07:12 PM)
lets calculate it like this.
Single degree for 3 years, total=70k++
Double degree for 3 years, total=140k++

Am i right?
no, there's no difference for the first three years unless of course say you do an engineering degree with a business degree than the tuition fee for the engineering subjects would be more than than the business subjects.
What I meant was total fees when you finish the course.
Hikari0307
post Mar 9 2011, 05:34 PM

平成の光
4,541 posts

QUOTE(jun6065168 @ Mar 9 2011, 05:23 PM)
Emm i'm kinda new to all these but isn't the max for stpm is 4.00?
Total of 3 SGP academic subjects excluding local language.

Basically you add the GPA for three subjects. If you have 3As then each is 4.0 so it becomes 12.

So if you need 8.67 then you need something like BBB-, AB-C or any combination that'll get you that amount

Added on March 9, 2011, 5:36 pm
QUOTE(jun6065168 @ Mar 9 2011, 05:34 PM)
So is thr any twinning program for Bachelor of Commerce and Bachelor of Aerospace Engineering or i have to go to Clayton to attend the course?
basically there's no twinning programmes at all in Monash Sunway. They are all individual full programmes. You'll be looking at doing an inter-campus transfer if you want to transfer over to Australia.

This post has been edited by Hikari0307: Mar 9 2011, 05:36 PM
Hikari0307
post Mar 18 2011, 12:42 AM

平成の光
4,541 posts

QUOTE(kayson93 @ Mar 18 2011, 12:21 AM)
what course should i take before entering Monash Uni ?
Thier MUFY is way too expensive.
Is there any other better options ?
I want fast and cheap course to enter Monash Uni.
if you want faster than choose from one of the one year pre-u programmes like CPU,CIMP,Ausmat,SAM etc. shop around to find a place that's in your budget.
You want cheap go for STPM though it's not short.
A-Levels is not that short as well but if you want cheap you can go and do it in TAR College or something.
Hikari0307
post Mar 25 2011, 01:49 PM

平成の光
4,541 posts

QUOTE(abang brother @ Mar 25 2011, 12:30 PM)
Hey guys, do Monash offer foundation in science? If so, what are the requirements, the price range and how many intakes are there per year? Thanks
There is no Foundation courses at all being run in Monash University. However there is a foundation course for Monash which is the Monash University Foundation Year (MUFY) offered by Sunway University across the street =D
Hikari0307
post Mar 27 2011, 12:37 PM

平成の光
4,541 posts

QUOTE(joybutterable @ Mar 27 2011, 12:30 PM)
how much is the course fees for accounting course there?
i checked from the website is Rm37000. is it correct?
what is it different between
Bachelor of Commerce (Accounting)
Bachelor of Business and Commerce (Accounting)

i will be graduated from my current diploma course in ftms kuching here in coming august..
does anyone knows does the school accept credit transfer from other school's diploma?
Diploma grads are always handled on a case-by-case basis.
it's RM37,000 per year for Bachelor of Commerce and RM31,000 per year for Bachelor of Business and Commerce
Hikari0307
post Mar 29 2011, 05:13 PM

平成の光
4,541 posts

QUOTE(abyone @ Mar 29 2011, 03:46 PM)
Is it possible to transfer to other Universities in US or UK which doesn't collaborate with Monash Uni during my second year? I'm concerned regarding the credits problem. Don't wanna extend any sems after transfer.
generally speaking it's possible.
It's on a case-by-case basis as different universities and even different faculties in one university might have different policies and views regarding credit transfer.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0577sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 11:20 PM