University Monash University Thread V2, Malaysia & Aus Campus

Grimm
post Jan 4 2010, 10:42 PM

I don't know anymore
2,030 posts

First of all, congrats for graduating! Did you apply for graduation here or in Aus? I'll finish next sem. Dunno where to have my grad. Prolly in Aus xD

QUOTE(lemonade90 @ Jan 2 2010, 10:53 PM)
HI, i am a prospective monash student.

I did science for my a levels. Now i decide to do business and commerce at monash. Will it be difficult for me? Will they start from the basic? How r the lecturers there? R they friendly and approachable? Generally what u think about this course offered by monash. Ur comment is greatly appreciated.
Same case here. I did engineering a levels. Now I'm doing pretty well in 3rd year.

It's easy if you come from a background with a reading habit. You just need to have a habit of reading, good writing skills, read widely, have an interest in one of the various fields in business/commerce... and be a little bit smart. And all Ds and HDs will come your way wink.gif

Basically, study smart and don't get distracted/lazy to go to class. That will be your downfall (as i experienced in first year).

Advice from a "Pass" grade in year 1, currently performing with a "High Distinction" grade student cool2.gif
Grimm
post Jan 22 2010, 12:12 PM

I don't know anymore
2,030 posts

QUOTE(ostangel @ Jan 18 2010, 06:13 PM)
has anyone lived on campus at the clayton hall of residences before? I managed to get a room there but I'm not sure what they provide. I heard that they provide bedsheets and pillows?

I plan to buy my own bedsheets anyway, but is it expensive there?
Yo.

The room has everything you need. You can go there almost empty handed.

2 bedsheets and a pillowcase (and pillow) provided. Also, if you get Normanby House, 1 quilt provided. Other Halls, 1 blanket provided (pokey pokey 1 sad.gif)

You'll need a quilt/thicker blanket for autumn/winter/cold days in summer. Unless you LOVE 10-15 degree temperatures biggrin.gif

Oh yeah, bedsheets/pillowcase you can change every week. They have bed linen services every week. Every Tuesday starting from 6.30pm till 8.30pm.

Anything else, please ask. If I don't come, please PM! ;D

Signing off,

your halls of residence consultant.

LOAL
Grimm
post Jan 22 2010, 12:20 PM

I don't know anymore
2,030 posts

All Halls have their own kitchen.

All floors have their own kitchenette.

Kitchens (are common areas which are NOT located near rooms. can be separate building on their own or a connected building near the common room AKA living area)

- Have electric stovetops/hotplate cookers
- Have lockers (don't worry, you'll DEFINITELY get one unless you fail to write your name down during orientation)
- No fridges
- Cooking EQ and cutleries not provided (you bring your own)
- However, there are certain people (usually locals) who will just leave their cooking stuff there and are kind enough to let everyone use it. These are called "common" equipment. Usually people use liao, never wash properly.... then the locals just wash them before using them again. Usually too disgusting for me to contemplate using.

Kitchenettes (are located on your floor usually damn near the rooms)

- Have 0 or 1 or 2 fridges
- Have 1 sink
- Have cupboards to keep your personal stuff

Fun tip 1 : Having a cooking group is fun and cuts your cost down like crazehhh.
Grimm
post Jan 25 2010, 09:06 AM

I don't know anymore
2,030 posts

QUOTE(baoz @ Jan 22 2010, 12:32 PM)
How much can you cut down on by cooking?

As in, averagely how much does it cost to eat out there?

I'll be going over to the Parkville campus soon... no hostels so I gotta rent on my own (unless I wanna join the Melbourne Uni people). My concern is mainly on food since I'll be eating out in the city. sad.gif
Eating out WILL cost you $6-$15 for a simple meal. Food will be around $6-$12. Drinks will be around $3. Depends on your eating habits.

Cooking for dinner costs me $0.50 ~ $6.00 (per person) depending on what dishes we cook. Chinese cooking freaking easy.

Rice, 1 soup, 1 veg, 1 meat/egg/tofu/beans (for protein) - this is what my cooking group usually cooks (4 of us in the group).

This post has been edited by Grimm: Jan 25 2010, 09:12 AM
Grimm
post Jan 25 2010, 09:13 AM

I don't know anymore
2,030 posts

QUOTE(ostangel @ Jan 22 2010, 03:18 PM)
Ahhh! Got another question!

So I already paid all my fees etc to Clayton campus. Then today, I received an invoice from the sunway campus. I called them up and they told me I need to submit a withdrawal form but the thing I don't understand its..

In WES, my units are still enrolled in Malaysia. Is this normal? They only change to the clayton units once I enroll at their side?

Added on January 22, 2010, 3:21 pm
Thanks for the tips/advice. I'll be missing a few days of the orientation actually. The move in date is 20th but will only be able to move in on the 24th!  shakehead.gif is there like a place where I can inform them in case I don't get a locker? hehe

thanks again.
Yup you do need to submit a withdrawal form to withdraw from Monash Sunway to declare that you are NO LONGER a student in monash sunway wink.gif

Your WES units will not change throughout the course. What you have taken will remain. You will be doing a totally different ENROL - manually - in Clayton.

Missing the few days in orientation is ok... but I seriously suggest you attend orientation if you want loads of friends. That is where most people bond and form their groups/clicks. After that it might be hard to enter groups. Orientation is where everyone is new and you can get to know their personalities/hobbies/traits through the various games/activities/outings and visitations-to-each-other's-rooms-and-getting-to-know-them-personally lol.

Its okay to be moving in the 24th though. I myself will only be going back on 28th, but thats ok coz I am not allowed to join the orientation anyway sleep.gif

You can tell me your name, and I'll try to get you a locker if you want. Oh... but i'll need your room number and hall name too =/

Added on January 25, 2010, 9:14 am
QUOTE(choyster @ Jan 24 2010, 05:41 AM)
i was told not to enroll in WES , suppose to be enrolling on the spot there(aus campus) , i'm going to caulfield btw and i am transferring. Hope it helps.
You are right. You will be enrolling manually in Caulfield. You have to bring your CoE and stuff. Students services center building A caulfield campus. The shuttle bus stops right there, you won't miss it.

This post has been edited by Grimm: Jan 25 2010, 09:14 AM
Grimm
post Jan 26 2010, 12:06 PM

I don't know anymore
2,030 posts

QUOTE(baoz @ Jan 25 2010, 09:25 AM)
That sure is ex. But no point for me to get cooking utensils if I'm only gonna be there for one semester...

I guess I can cut down on the drinks part. Maybe buy cereal and make my own sandwiches for lunch too. smile.gif
Nah, you can get em. They're cheap. Like seriously cheap, if you get them from Asian shops. But I'm sure they're all from China. Non-stick material might come off easily. I think I have plenty of it in my body already vmad.gif

Yeah, I always make sandwiches for lunch! Yes, try to stay off the expensive drinks too. But sometimes, you just can't resist that bloody pearl milk tea/bubble tea shop that is right smack in the MIDDLE of caulfield campus.
Grimm
post Jan 26 2010, 02:44 PM

I don't know anymore
2,030 posts

QUOTE(nokia2003 @ Jan 25 2010, 10:47 AM)
the statements above caused me to reminisce the times, my brother and i, patronising urban asia in chadstone

we do that like at least once a week

guess that's what i'll be doing once i fly home
soon!
You sound a little bit like Chuck...
Grimm
post Jan 26 2010, 02:46 PM

I don't know anymore
2,030 posts

@ ostangel and Adri@n

A$ 3.50 if i'm not mistaken?

They got damn nice ones too. Haha. It is one of the best in fact... I know a lot of students tar pau 3 or 4 cups to take back to Clayton or wherever they stay (those who live out of Caulfield).

Added on January 26, 2010, 2:49 pm
QUOTE(zacktan @ Jan 25 2010, 10:48 AM)
Guys I just applied for business course and am on conditional offer.
Now my results are out and I'm short of 1 point. Will they kick me out?  cry.gif
Where was your conditional offer to? You mean Bachelor of Biz and Commerce in Sunway? Don't worry lah, they will still take you in.

This post has been edited by Grimm: Jan 26 2010, 02:49 PM
Grimm
post Jan 26 2010, 02:51 PM

I don't know anymore
2,030 posts

QUOTE(hondavtec @ Jan 26 2010, 11:49 AM)
hey adrian,

sure man why not? almost all the australian unis accept any foundation/year12 programs offered by an australian institution. if im not mistaken, UWAFP stands for Uni of Western Australia Foundation Program right? if yea, then there wouldnt be a problem.

just use this database to find ur minimum entry requirement as i dont know what stream you want to go into as science is quite a wide scope.

http://www.monash.edu.au/study/internation...s-database.html

from there press start, then they will ask u for the country, choose australia, then next. then find ur foundation program and select which science stream you want. voila! there you go, ur minimum requirement for the course u want.
+1 for high quality reply wink.gif
Grimm
post Jan 27 2010, 12:30 PM

I don't know anymore
2,030 posts

You could do what baoz suggested. Parking in the jungle is not that bad... never had any of those dusty/muddy/insecty incidences before. PLUS! That parking is shaded. Lol. Free SHADED parking, what else could you ask for xD

Or carpool. Many people carpool and meet new friends.

So all your offer letters got stuck? You applied to OZ and Sunway as well? biggrin.gif

@ ReaperOfSoul : It will help quite a bit. I took the same thing in Taylors also last time ;D Didn't get so good results and turned to Accounting/Finance for my bachelor.

Added on January 27, 2010, 2:11 pm
QUOTE(nokia2003 @ Jan 26 2010, 02:51 PM)
ssshhhhh...

*not too loud*  whistling.gif  whistling.gif  whistling.gif
You betul betul Chuck ar? :3

This post has been edited by Grimm: Jan 27 2010, 02:11 PM
Grimm
post Jan 27 2010, 11:27 PM

I don't know anymore
2,030 posts

There really is no such course in Australia

Clayton has - Bachelor of Commerce. Most of the time, you can only do a 1+2 to get here. For rare cases, you could do a 1.5+1.5. Most units here are different from Sunway.

Caulfield has - Bachelor of Business. You would need to do a 1+2 or 1.5+1.5 to get here. 2+1 is kind of hard, since most of the core units are different from Sunway.

The whole problem is, that the core major units are different from the Sunway campus one.
Grimm
post Jan 28 2010, 10:34 AM

I don't know anymore
2,030 posts

QUOTE(fyire @ Jan 28 2010, 12:03 AM)
Dude, there IS such a course in Australia. It just happened to be not at Clayton or Caulfield.

Its offered at Berwick, Gippsland & Peninsula.

http://www.monash.edu.au/study/coursefinder/course/2224/
Gahhh! My bad! I forgot about the other 3 campuses. But people generally want to get into Clayton or Caulfield if given a choice. :3

Anyway yeah, like nokia2003 said - SOME units you took as a core finance major might be only be treated as an elective. This might screw up your plans for majoring in certain fields.

So it is best not to come for 2+1. Many units are different. They have a larger variety of accounting and finance units in caulfield though. Some clayton friends come over to take electives because the choices at clayton are simply too narrow (especially for finance) shakehead.gif
Grimm
post Jan 28 2010, 02:58 PM

I don't know anymore
2,030 posts

QUOTE(fyire @ Jan 28 2010, 01:40 PM)
yup, the first thing in ppl's mind is either Clayton or Caulfield, and that does mess things up quite a bit. But think about it, the mess is to be expected anyways, as wanting to get into these 2 campuses involves switching to a different course with different entry requirements. Which means that in order to make the switch, you'll need to have your grades at a certain level too (check with the school manager on the exact specifics)
Exactly. This is the messed up part about Monash. Clayton and Caulfield campuses are like an upper-tier inside Monash University itself. Its like, they do not cater for the Bachelor of Business and Commerce degree for people from Sunway and South Africa.

Those taking a BBCom can only do some sort of a seamless internal transfer to Australia only to Gippsland, Berwick or Peninsula. In order to get into Caulfield and Clayton these are the things to be met:

1) Higher English proficiency (wth)
2) Higher Math proficiency (wth)
3) Better grades (hmm)
4) You apply as if you're coming from another university altogether - your course name is different, your unit names and codes are different, even if they were the same units, the syllabus in those units might be different and stuff like that.

I know, because I did the transfer. Company reporting AFW2491 (Sunway) and Company reporting AFF2491 (Caulf) had different syllabus, and other units are the same as well.

Can't they just integrate them all into one vmad.gif

And then some degrees only available for locals : Bachelor of Accounting, Bachelor of Accounting and Finance. What we get is Bachelor of Commerce and Bachelor of Business mad.gif mad.gif vmad.gif vmad.gif
Grimm
post Jan 29 2010, 04:32 PM

I don't know anymore
2,030 posts

Huh? Malaysia campus gonna adopt the BCom ah? LOL wei. Entry requirement is gonna be crazy, and Clayton ppl gonna compare results with Sunway and all hell would break loose. Lol.

nokia2003, where are you interning? Wow, 4 days of hols... thats awesome shitz. I'm going melancong to enjoy the final week of hols and OZ SUMMER! lol. Go burn under the sun naked. w00t.
Grimm
post Feb 1 2010, 08:43 PM

I don't know anymore
2,030 posts

Oh yeah. I forgot I know you. Haha...

Hmm I remember my friend telling me CBA and ANZ kept PUSHING him to sign up under their credit card. I think there's a low cap for students. A$ 500 or 1000 or something.

Added on February 1, 2010, 8:44 pmAnd yes, there is

CBA, ANZ and Westpac in clayton itself

CBA and St. George somewhere in Caulfield town (and i bet there are other banks on the other side of Caulfield which I have not yet explored)

This post has been edited by Grimm: Feb 1 2010, 08:44 PM
Grimm
post Feb 2 2010, 09:22 AM

I don't know anymore
2,030 posts

Lol. They won't inform you. How can they when there are thousands of people paying through various ways? biggrin.gif

The only thing you need to be sure of is you paid no less than the total amount required, and you got their account number correct. Reference number isn't that important I think.

Anyway, I always save a screenshot and print the receipt out just for reference.
Grimm
post Feb 5 2010, 09:16 AM

I don't know anymore
2,030 posts

I bought some at 3.16 :<

Was afraid the RBA would increase. I need insider information from people who works in RBA >_>

What are the predictions for the next RBA meeting?
Grimm
post Mar 1 2010, 11:51 AM

I don't know anymore
2,030 posts

QUOTE(rhapsodie @ Feb 28 2010, 03:21 PM)
business & commerce (acc & finance major) students,

can anyone list down the 8 subjects taken this year?
i know 6 of the core are:
AFC1000 Principles of accounting and finance
BTC1110 Business law
ECC1000 Principles of microeconomics
ETC1000 Business and economic statistics
MGC1010 Introduction to management
MKC1200 Principles of marketing

are the other 2 electives?
and what about year 2's subjects? thanks (:
Yup. Depends on what you want to major in. I took Accounting B (acc major) and Money and Capital Markets (fin major).

Added on March 1, 2010, 11:53 amBtw, I'm back in the Halls of Residences (Clayton).

Any Monashians need help, feel free to visit me in Roberts/Richardson. I'm always hanging around here wink.gif

Also can meet up with me in Caulfield (my study campus). PM for aussie number and msn. Need any help, give me a holler. This is my final sem, be friendly and you might inherit some stuff tongue.gif

Have fun in Monash!

This post has been edited by Grimm: Mar 1 2010, 11:53 AM
Grimm
post Mar 1 2010, 02:39 PM

I don't know anymore
2,030 posts

^
lolololol. tongue.gif

@ ostangel - I have a few friends in Howitt. Lets meet up and then I can show u ur friendly seniors. smile.gif

Grimm
post Mar 1 2010, 03:09 PM

I don't know anymore
2,030 posts

Eyer... btw its so hard to find a part time job on campus now >_>

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0480sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 03:10 AM