hey...wanna ask u guys...those who are using L2/L5 engine...when u all service car u all use semi-synthetic or fully synthetic oil for your engine??
LYN Kancil's Owner Club a.k.a SLK V2~, come come join small lil devil in here~
Apr 13 2009, 10:30 PM
275 posts Joined: May 2007 From: Kepong |
hey...wanna ask u guys...those who are using L2/L5 engine...when u all service car u all use semi-synthetic or fully synthetic oil for your engine??
Apr 14 2009, 08:28 PM
haha..icic...so mineral engine oil also can rite??coz i tot of using semi-syn after i transplant..haha...
haha...all the kancil owners are here...just dat sometimes we reply very slow oni...hehhe... |
Apr 16 2009, 05:51 PM
not all L5 engine has turbo..L5 model uses a few type of engine...got 4 cylinder DOHC Turbo...got 3 cylinder SOHC(NA and Turbo) n DOHC(as far as i know only comes with turbocharged)...
Apr 16 2009, 11:37 PM
u all still ok what..mine 660cc MT....40 bucks can only go 280KM max...
actually daihatsu got freaking alot of engine...i also blur sometimes...if get L5 4 cylinder engine its a good thing...but spareparts is heck hard 2 find...n quite expensive too...if possible try 2 find L5 3 cylinder DOHC or SOHC...even now im trying 2 find L502 3 cylinder DOHC halfcut...hehehehe... |
Apr 17 2009, 05:44 PM
L5 4 cylinder is DOHC...i dun think JB series engines comes in SOHC form...i guess..hahaha....
Apr 20 2009, 12:09 AM
guys guys...we all are one happy family...no use arguing and shooting each other like that...calm down guys...hehehe....
Apr 20 2009, 12:19 AM
alahhhh..whatever it is la guys...is not good to argue n shoot each other...we love peace and harmony...hehehe...that is one of the purpose we all joined this club...
Apr 20 2009, 11:08 PM
ahpaul82..u r back...so long nvr c u...where hav u been??
Apr 25 2009, 05:28 PM
ermmmm...im not so sure about that but if they catch u during roadblock..i think they will issue u a letter to ask u to revert back to original bodyparts..
Apr 28 2009, 10:47 PM
u will need to buy quite alot of things actually if u wanna convert to 12v EFI..firstly u need to get the 12v,injectors,fuel pump,manifold,throttle body,wiring n ECU...if im not mistaken u need to change ur fuel tank as well...not too sure about this...need sifu to double confirm...
i dont think anyone of us has done this conversion before..i had the same idea as u too previously but then the cost of buying the parts then the labour charges will sum up to almost the same amount as buying L2 halfcut...plus by doing this conversion u wont get much power gains also...so better go for L2 halfcut.. summore they all racun me to go for turbocharged..kekeke... anyway..nice info from wanek about daihatsu engine code...i guess this should help alot of members in identifying engine code... This post has been edited by tommi88: Apr 28 2009, 10:48 PM |
Apr 29 2009, 09:22 AM
ermmmm....carb got prob kot i think...
Apr 29 2009, 04:56 PM
if that is the case i think u hav not much choice of NA engines to choose from...coz if u transplant back any NA 660cc engine...power gains not much...plus some NA halfcuts wont be cheap also...
choice u hav is L5 SOHC NA,L5 DOHC NA...both r 660cc...the L5 SOHC NA halfcut i think is around 1.8k like that where as L5 DOHC NA cost around 2.5k...as much as a L2 halfcut... if ur car is 850cc then its a totally diff story...can plonk in kelisa/kenari 1000cc engine... i also had the same idea as u to play NA last time...coz turbocharged maintainence is a major issue...but transplanting a NA engine wont giv u much difference and the money u spent in transplant is as much as transplanting a turbo engine...but i have seen turbocharged kancil maintainence is as much as NA kancil...as long as u keep the engine standard then there is no major issue..if u start modding the injectors n turbo then its a different issue... y not consider to plonk in L2 engine??haha... |
Apr 29 2009, 06:10 PM
haha..same here...my kancil also followed my family quite long..its a 10 year car btw...i was my bro car inherited 2 me...but my bro didnt take care of the car really well...dats y my car now got alot of problems..most of the minor problems i solve ady...
even my engine suffers from high FC n loss of power.. i too want to keep my kancil for a very long time as my bro has got himself a new car...n i love kancil alot...its small n ez to handle n most importantly its a pocket rocket capable... i wanted to source for this engine too but its quite rare even in halfcut shop...unless u r able to find a kelisa 850cc owner n he/she is willing to let go of the engine...but then u will have to go through alot of things such as wait till the owner get a new engine into his car...then he go for inspection...then u take the engine n plonk in ur car n bla bla bla... |
Apr 29 2009, 08:04 PM
ooohhh...its good to hear that ur car is back to normal now...haha...
May 5 2009, 09:52 PM
great info there from detamaso...u r really experienced dude...hope we all can share more with you..
anyway...at the end of the day L2s is still the best choice rite???better FC and got heck lot more power rather than throwing money into the stock 660cc 6V engine...but L2s halfcut price is increasing lately...not to forget about the cost of installation...lately i have been thinking about my budget for transplant..honestly its kinda tight...thought of maintain the current engine...just overhaul it n change to 12v head...replace clutch n timing belt... JasonB : if ur budget is 3.5k for transplant process...i think its very tight because L2 halfcut also cost u around 2.4k-2.8k(depending on condition of halfcut)...then installation n replace of tear and wear parts...if u r lucky then u can get a good halfcut...if not then you will have to fork out more money to replace tear and wear parts...but in a long run L2s its a good choice...plug n play straightaway...low maintainence...low FC provided you dont rev all the way to redline then only change gear...if u wanna transplant L2s engine...i think u need to prepare at least 4k... |
May 6 2009, 08:52 AM
wahhhh...dat L2s halfcut really cheap...too bad its auto...if its manual i will go there n c the halfcut ady...tempting!!!!URGHHH!!!!
May 6 2009, 08:55 AM
LOL!!!dunno...haha...now cash not in hand yet...wait till cash in hand then only start going to find halfcut...or else walk in like that scared those people there dont like it...
May 6 2009, 08:58 AM
haha...soon dude...i also just fin my exam yesterday...will start planning soon...hahaha...but i malu la wanna drive my car out when TT...stock standard sia...
May 6 2009, 09:02 AM
ur car stock???impossible...
haha..my FC also killing me what...ask those members who are going then we will decide on location...haha.. |
May 6 2009, 09:16 AM
haha...that i need to scratch my head..LOL...not so good around PJ area...
| Change to: | 0.0375sec
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 08:05 AM |