(need comment) Iphone, serious talk or u will be reported

TSxixo_12
post Mar 18 2009, 08:38 AM, updated 17y ago

i!Retired!i
7,318 posts

why i saw a lot of ppl selling their iphone 2G?

i want the reason other than chasing the 3G feature or other phone.

please be serious, because i need to know smile.gif

This post has been edited by xixo_12: Mar 18 2009, 08:39 AM
shiniraz
post Mar 18 2009, 08:51 AM

221 posts

iphone 2G : quit thicker than iphone 3G
iphone 3G : of course the 3G functionality, thinner.
TSxixo_12
post Mar 18 2009, 08:54 AM

i!Retired!i
7,318 posts

owh see.. how about the default software? or it come with empty?

any other comment?

This post has been edited by xixo_12: Mar 18 2009, 08:58 AM
TakanoKyohei
post Mar 18 2009, 09:27 AM

959 posts

there are some features that iphone 2g dont have and iphone 3g have, most of it 3g signal, and with the new firmware update this summer, iphone 3.0 will be fully suport for mms but 2g dont, but can use swirlymms fr that, and mostly,

apple seems only targeting to update and update for iphone 3G only( correct me if im wrong)
Shock
post Mar 18 2009, 09:28 AM

518 posts

Just annouce that new os3 is coming in summer with a lot features for 3g. As software,u will have basic software by apple and if u jailbreak u can have free add on from cydia. If u dun mind pay abit iTunes do offer nice apps for cheap price. Os3 come with a2dp bt ,mms which only for 3g iphone
TSxixo_12
post Mar 18 2009, 11:45 AM

i!Retired!i
7,318 posts

that mean, by using iphone 2g refrain me from using latest 3.0?

so, basically it's about satisfaction to upgrade the software..

any weird issue on iphone 2g?
tinkerbel
post Mar 18 2009, 11:51 AM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@xixo_12,
Possibly because that's the latest and most hyped gadget in town?! It is only normal for people to want to purchase the latest models, right?
vandetta
post Mar 18 2009, 11:58 AM

658 posts

The only thing stops me from buying iPhone is the lack of video call, hopefully next update will upgrade and include the capability!

This post has been edited by vandetta: Mar 18 2009, 11:58 AM
LaskarCinta
post Mar 18 2009, 12:07 PM

?
1,651 posts

QUOTE(xixo_12 @ Mar 18 2009, 11:45 AM)
that mean, by using iphone 2g refrain me from using latest 3.0?

so, basically it's about satisfaction to upgrade the software..

any weird issue on iphone 2g?
nope it's not like that.
the new version of OS will be available for all devices.
only that the firmware (OS) release is specified for each device (means different installation for different generation).
and there will be some features that will be left out for 1st gen iPhones in the same OS3 release (which is still on developer beta), while the features are making their way to iPhone 3G. some is due to hardware limitation in the previous gen.
Ndrew
post Mar 18 2009, 12:10 PM

192 posts

i'm using iphone 2G so far no weird issues...just tat no 3G (doesn't matter i don't use it anyway, i use wifi) and GPS (don really use it also). Thickness doesn't bother me (iphone 2G is thin enuf)

other than that i think it's pretty much the same as iphone 3G? battery life is ok since no 3G and GPS usage... tat's also one of the reasons why i chose 2G instead of 3G...
Now with the new OS3 we'll see the diff what can be done on 3G that cannot be done on 2G.. i think then u'll have a better picture which one is better and weda worth getting or not based on ur usage...
TSxixo_12
post Mar 18 2009, 12:18 PM

i!Retired!i
7,318 posts

ok guys.. i get what u all mean.. thx for feedback, i appreciate..

it's all enough to satisfy my need..
just weird only, why so many ppl sell their 2G phone..all answered

This post has been edited by xixo_12: Mar 18 2009, 12:19 PM
PeeEl
post Mar 18 2009, 12:26 PM

3,612 posts

Like anything or everything for that matter, that you buy, it hinges on your needs, what you require that appliance/gadget to perform. Thence, with the iPhone, when the new model comes out obviously it has to be 'upgraded' and therefore with new features/functions. And of course along with that comes a higher price tag.

Do the additional features/functions justify the higher price? If you think they do, buy. If not and they are not exactly what you need then make do with the older version which will save you a few bucks.

Having said that, there are people out there willing to fork out the extra ringgit just to make a fashion or trend statement. And that's why some people (I said some, not all or even most) are chasing the 3G!
deepan84
post Mar 18 2009, 12:38 PM

White Rider
2,200 posts

wen d new iphone gets released in june, maxis shud price it similar to wat they're doin now wit the 3g. so if u can wait, jus wait lar.. im jus wonderin wat maxis will do wit d excess 3g stock..lolz.
TSxixo_12
post Mar 18 2009, 12:45 PM

i!Retired!i
7,318 posts

i'm thinkign about it too, trendy for the ppl, not for all but some of them,
but i'm juz wondering there is a lot of selling there and here.. make we wonder, not good ha with that iphone 2g

aside, maxis give low price later laugh.gif

time to close for this topic, coz it alredy satisfied my need.. thx for contribute thumbup.gif

but temporary open for any other point of view wink.gif

This post has been edited by xixo_12: Mar 18 2009, 12:49 PM
nokia2003
post Mar 18 2009, 12:46 PM

5,786 posts

choices like these are not necessarily motivated by the greed of wanting the latest gadget/to be fashionable. those are just plain superficial necessities. having said that, humans tend not to look beyond sometimes.

there is always an option to purchase an official unlocked unit for the 3G version, whilst the first generation unit remains locked to the country of origin (albeit soft- and hardware unlock techniques)

i will always advocate for the official unlocked 3G version simply because i don't like playing the hide and seek game when it comes to artificially unlocking my iphone or relying on dev team to fuel my desire of using the latest firmwares.

oh man, not to mention the number of failed call attempts when i was on the first generation iphone.

This post has been edited by nokia2003: Mar 18 2009, 12:54 PM
tinkerbel
post Mar 18 2009, 12:48 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@nokia2003,
Did U read the other post I made on the other thread about my phone's data connectivity (APN) being locked ?! sad.gif
TSxixo_12
post Mar 18 2009, 12:49 PM

i!Retired!i
7,318 posts

guys, there is possiblity, eventhough u already unlocked it, there is another function cannot be use?

This post has been edited by xixo_12: Mar 18 2009, 12:50 PM
drunkenmaster
post Mar 18 2009, 12:49 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(shiniraz @ Mar 18 2009, 08:51 AM)
iphone 2G : quit thicker than iphone 3G
iphone 3G : of course the 3G functionality, thinner.
This is incorrect

2G: 115mm high, is 61mm wide and 11.6mm thick, weighs 135g.
3G: 115.5mm high, 62.1mm wide and 12.3mm thick, weighs 133g.

Ask yourself what you need it for, and how will it serve you. Dont fall into the abyss of the typical mentality where newer always equals better.

I believe PeeEl best described it, extending further,
While one might be better technologically, it might not necessarily be better for your application. If you simply want to buy it to look cool, then lol by all means, many buy a car just to look cool and not utilise it to the fullest (Such as running the 'ring in X:XX:XX), or actually jungling a 4x4. Though you should be aware, that youd be severely under-utilising it, should it just be derived from looks.

My advice is for you to wait if and when the new iPhone is released, at least then, you might have 3 options in which to weigh your decision from. smile.gif If patience is not one of your better qualities, then weigh the 2G and the 3G against YOUR wants and needs.

Cheers
tinkerbel
post Mar 18 2009, 12:52 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@xixo_12,
Yes because some function needs support from telco, for example the Voice Mail thingy smile.gif
TSxixo_12
post Mar 18 2009, 12:53 PM

i!Retired!i
7,318 posts

QUOTE(drunkenmaster @ Mar 18 2009, 12:49 PM)
This is incorrect

2G: 115mm high, is 61mm wide and 11.6mm thick, weighs 135g.
3G: 115.5mm high, 62.1mm wide and 12.3mm thick, weighs 133g.

Ask yourself what you need it for, and how will it serve you. Dont fall into the abyss of the typical mentality where newer always equals better.

I believe PeeEl best described it, extending further,
While one might be better technologically, it might not necessarily be better for your application. If you simply want to buy it to look cool, then lol by all means, many buy a car just to look cool and not utilise it to the fullest (Such as running the 'ring in X:XX:XX), or actually jungling a 4x4. Though you should be aware, that youd be severely under-utilising it, should it just be derived from looks.

My advice is for you to wait if and when the new iPhone is released, at least then, you might have 3 options in which to weigh your decision from. smile.gif If patience is not one of your better qualities, then weigh the 2G and the 3G against YOUR wants and needs.

Cheers
emm.. i wonder too.. am i want to buy it coz it look so cool hmm.gif
but in the same time i think i need wifi on it.. better than bring laptop all the time.. haiz.. doh.gif

Added on March 18, 2009, 12:55 pm
QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Mar 18 2009, 12:52 PM)
@xixo_12,
Yes because some function needs support from telco, for example the Voice Mail thingy smile.gif
emm i also didn't use it for my nokia now.. blush.gif doh.gif

This post has been edited by xixo_12: Mar 18 2009, 12:55 PM

0.0180sec    0.89    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 07:54 PM