i'm getting worried about it since i rarely go to clubs.....
now form 4 already.....it's too late?
Does co-curriculum matters?, for scholarship or university entrance
Mar 17 2009, 10:38 AM, updated 17y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
232 posts Joined: Oct 2008 |
as title...
i'm getting worried about it since i rarely go to clubs..... now form 4 already.....it's too late? |
Mar 17 2009, 10:42 AM
157 posts Joined: May 2008 |
Scholarships and Public Uni's will care of this things...atleast go for some la...
Join only..its never too late |
Mar 17 2009, 10:56 AM
834 posts Joined: Sep 2006 |
if you want to get scholarship, it's a must.
Mar 17 2009, 11:03 AM
617 posts Joined: Feb 2006 From: Kuala Lumpur, MALAYSIA |
During my time, the teachers were kinda lenient when it comes to our co-curriculum marks -- kids that weren't that active in clubs oso got okay scores and references. I was either secretary, or chairperson or whatnot during those days, so I was made privy of some the scores the teachers were giving.
But then again, I was a bit on the more active side. Just go and join la. One or two here and there... |
Mar 17 2009, 11:06 AM
1,072 posts Joined: Jan 2008 From: MY |
Better late than never~~good for your health also~~
This post has been edited by n0v4m4r1n3: Mar 17 2009, 11:08 AM |
Mar 17 2009, 12:42 PM
1,053 posts Joined: Nov 2006 From: 我来无影,去无踪。 |
Co-curriculum DOESN'T matter if you wanna go for college.
If you're applying scholarships or going Public University, it is strongly recommended that you join. And get some posts to boost your chance of getting a place in Public University or scholarship. This link should helps: http://www.malaysia-students.com/2007/02/a...r-activity.html This pdf document explains on how the marks counted. http://smktc.edu.my/coco_marks.pdf Kokurikulum marks are counted based on the highest 2 years of kokurikulum marks from Form 1 to form 5. If you are active on any 2 years i don't think it is a problem too. Form 4 is not really too late. You can get a credit on your Kokurikulum marks if you're active. |
Mar 17 2009, 01:47 PM
1,196 posts Joined: Jan 2008 |
if IPTA, faster join!!!
if is IPTS, dun care abt it la... But for job interview, if u dun hv cert, u abit rugi lo... |
Mar 17 2009, 02:24 PM
144 posts Joined: Sep 2008 From: Malaysia |
join whatever clubs....
and take part in competitions....as many as you can.... like school representative....doesn't matter if you lose or win.... at least get a cert for it... |
Mar 17 2009, 04:21 PM
246 posts Joined: Jun 2008 |
when im form 4,
i didnt bother about it. but this year form 5, i dont care whether isit important, just join a few la. since its ur last year in school already when u enter college, they dont really care about it. |
Mar 17 2009, 04:29 PM
546 posts Joined: Jul 2007 |
try to join 1 or 2 club is enough.
Better late than never... |
Mar 17 2009, 04:45 PM
127 posts Joined: Jan 2009 |
join some slacking club, awhile only, years passed and you got it
Mar 17 2009, 04:53 PM
2,047 posts Joined: Dec 2004 From: Kampong Pisang |
I'm in form 4 too
But I'm really worry now Coz my old school teacher didnt bother to give me mark or key in the mark in the system.Though I join and participate lot of sport and koko competition until there were'nt enough space to write in the buku koko during my form 2 and form 3 . So should I go to my old school and ask my teacher to give mark and sign ature ? or should I just put it aside I opt for IPTA or MARA scholarship in the future since i was from mrsm Thanks This post has been edited by QD_buyer: Mar 17 2009, 04:55 PM |
Mar 17 2009, 04:56 PM
213 posts Joined: May 2008 From: /k/ |
if want join...go for top post(president, vice). no point being a normal member...
Mar 17 2009, 04:58 PM
2,047 posts Joined: Dec 2004 From: Kampong Pisang |
Mar 17 2009, 05:39 PM
31 posts Joined: Mar 2009 |
I facing problem wit co-corriculum la
my grade is D lor ... but i am a tressurer of MM club n none 4 uniform Btw i kena NS .. is it affect me to get jpa scholarship??? I got 12A1 n 1A2 4 my spm result... |
Mar 17 2009, 07:31 PM
232 posts Joined: Oct 2008 |
QUOTE(kumiko_91 @ Mar 17 2009, 12:42 PM) Co-curriculum DOESN'T matter if you wanna go for college. hey the link is damx99 useful If you're applying scholarships or going Public University, it is strongly recommended that you join. And get some posts to boost your chance of getting a place in Public University or scholarship. This link should helps: http://www.malaysia-students.com/2007/02/a...r-activity.html This pdf document explains on how the marks counted. http://smktc.edu.my/coco_marks.pdf Kokurikulum marks are counted based on the highest 2 years of kokurikulum marks from Form 1 to form 5. If you are active on any 2 years i don't think it is a problem too. Form 4 is not really too late. You can get a credit on your Kokurikulum marks if you're active. i'm not hoping for JPA-like scholarship which i noe it is skyhigh hard to get it i'm looking for NUS or some good uni to pursue maybe medicine... |
Mar 17 2009, 08:43 PM
963 posts Joined: Dec 2007 |
For scholarships, ko-ku is really important. Form 4 is never too late. I myself only started to get active in Form 4(but really hectic, go for club meetings every week and represent school for competition every month).
Also for public uni you need ko-ku. But don't need to overdo it... become a prefect and get one or two high positions in clubs would be enough. Private unis and colleges don't bother. |
Mar 17 2009, 08:47 PM
3,466 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: PJ, Malaysia |
personally, when I hire ppl I look for their curricular activities.. and not so much on their academic...
'nerds' tend to excel doing a certain job only but not many can multi-task... those ppl who is outgoing i.e involve in xtra curricular (not only sports) tend to be more versatile.... |
Mar 17 2009, 08:55 PM
289 posts Joined: Jun 2008 |
Lol... I find co-curriculum fun. Time 2 relax perhaps? So I think no harm joining. And if u enter competitions, u'll b able to get quite a lot of marks from there.
Btw, U still hav form 5 to fight for a post if u cant get 1 this year. Good luck! |
Mar 17 2009, 08:56 PM
711 posts Joined: Jun 2008 |
omg im in form 5 now,
and im not active in my school co-curricular at all!what should i do? |
Mar 17 2009, 11:06 PM
173 posts Joined: Jan 2009 From: in your heart |
its never too late to stay active in co-curricular now as long as ur still in school...
i score B in my coco although i only started active in my senior year... it's so much fun and good for ur future... if only i had realised it sooner... |
Mar 18 2009, 10:23 AM
22 posts Joined: Feb 2009 |
form 4 is never too late! I joined marching band when form 4, and now I graduated wif a high CGPA(is it the higher the best?I dunno..) for ko-kum... and I hav chance 2 go evrywhere wif my frens... 2007 we went 2 KL for national parade day, 2008 we went 2 KL for competition...etc... its really a gud time wif ur frens!
Mar 18 2009, 07:32 PM
Mar 18 2009, 09:20 PM
245 posts Joined: Jun 2008 |
Cocurricular activities are excellent points for you to differentiate yourself from all other top-scorers. Form 4 is never too late for you to join meaningful activities. Go for club recruitments, competition tryouts, etc. Network with seniors and teachers.
Participate in competitions and try to win them. Or you could join clubs and run for leadership positions. Anything that will help you improve as a person, or help you display your qualities would be fine. I still have hiring managers ask about my activities way back to form 4 when I apply for internships. (I'm in uni year 2 now) Employers love team players, leaders, winners, independent people who have good communication skills, determination, passion, etc. Try to flesh these qualities out by joining cocu activities. You'll never regret them. I learn the most useful things in life from cocu, not textbooks. This post has been edited by Tangiers: Mar 18 2009, 09:21 PM |
Mar 18 2009, 09:33 PM
38 posts Joined: Apr 2008 |
never too late. if u wan to get high post fast, just join the clubs which have less member. high chances to get selected. smart eh? heh heh heh
Mar 18 2009, 10:31 PM
QUOTE(EastSoil @ Mar 18 2009, 09:33 PM) never too late. if u wan to get high post fast, just join the clubs which have less member. high chances to get selected. smart eh? heh heh heh Ya right! I joined club which has only 20+ members lol, and get a post as Vice-Secretary and Pemeriksa Akaun. Lol. Then meeting also everytime late, go for 15 minutes also considered attended. |
Mar 18 2009, 10:50 PM
399 posts Joined: Mar 2009 From: Bangi |
Oh how sweet my kumiko is.
Well, u can always start engaging with co-cu activities. It's not as bad as u think it is. True, it's indeed tiring but profitable (in terms of marks and experience). It's ok to just get involved in the co-cu and not hold any important positions. being a normal member would be ok but please do engage with the activities like camps or charity works. Ur involvement in such activities will help u much in boosting ur co-cu marks. And if u just attend the clubs meetings for once or twice but u get involve in their activities at national level, u can ignore attending the rest of the club meetings as ur attendance will be counted full. I was once one lazy ass for thise kind of craps. But trust me, it's exciting after u get into it. Back when i was in form 4 and form 5, i went to national camps alot, and i got to make friends. It's seriously exciting to meet new friends and 'makan angin' at the same time. |
Mar 18 2009, 11:29 PM
QUOTE(Elven @ Mar 18 2009, 10:50 PM) Oh how sweet my kumiko is. I told you i am not your kumiko!!! Well, u can always start engaging with co-cu activities. It's not as bad as u think it is. True, it's indeed tiring but profitable (in terms of marks and experience). It's ok to just get involved in the co-cu and not hold any important positions. being a normal member would be ok but please do engage with the activities like camps or charity works. Ur involvement in such activities will help u much in boosting ur co-cu marks. And if u just attend the clubs meetings for once or twice but u get involve in their activities at national level, u can ignore attending the rest of the club meetings as ur attendance will be counted full. I was once one lazy ass for thise kind of craps. But trust me, it's exciting after u get into it. Back when i was in form 4 and form 5, i went to national camps alot, and i got to make friends. It's seriously exciting to meet new friends and 'makan angin' at the same time. Form 4 and form 5 active, then it's enough for co-curriculum. This post has been edited by kumiko_91: Mar 18 2009, 11:30 PM |
Mar 18 2009, 11:36 PM
2,950 posts Joined: Aug 2008 |
QUOTE(Elven @ Mar 18 2009, 10:50 PM) Oh how sweet my kumiko is. Well...Like what you said...joining national level camps can allow you to get some extra koko marks.Well, u can always start engaging with co-cu activities. It's not as bad as u think it is. True, it's indeed tiring but profitable (in terms of marks and experience). It's ok to just get involved in the co-cu and not hold any important positions. being a normal member would be ok but please do engage with the activities like camps or charity works. Ur involvement in such activities will help u much in boosting ur co-cu marks. And if u just attend the clubs meetings for once or twice but u get involve in their activities at national level, u can ignore attending the rest of the club meetings as ur attendance will be counted full. I was once one lazy ass for thise kind of craps. But trust me, it's exciting after u get into it. Back when i was in form 4 and form 5, i went to national camps alot, and i got to make friends. It's seriously exciting to meet new friends and 'makan angin' at the same time. Joining scout jamboree is very fun i can say. off topic : Kumiko is not yours. dude. QUOTE(kumiko_91 @ Mar 18 2009, 11:29 PM) But the system changed. Now MOE monitor one's koko marks based on your performance starting form 1 to form 5. |
Mar 19 2009, 01:28 AM
337 posts Joined: Nov 2006 From: University of Oxford, United Kingdom. |
Is co-curriculum important? Well, it depends.
If you are trying to get into a local private college, no. Just meet the minimum academic requirements, pay the fees and attend your classes. If you are applying for a scholarship or trying to get into a public university in Malaysia, yes. The higher your level of participation [national level, international level, etc], the better. If you are applying to a US university, yes. The more the better, and they also want to see high involvement. If you are applying to a UK university, not quite as important as if you're trying to get into US unis, but you do at least need to have one or two which are relevant to the course you are applying for for optimum chances of success. If you are applying for a job or an internship, you only need a few [maybe one to three] to show that you have interests outside of your studies. Also, do remember that you are not strictly confined to school activities. Attending youth conferences, doing volunteer charity work, etc all also count. |
Mar 19 2009, 01:47 AM
QUOTE(Glassy @ Mar 19 2009, 02:28 AM) Is co-curriculum important? Well, it depends. I must add, self-sponsored activities will be counted as well.If you are trying to get into a local private college, no. Just meet the minimum academic requirements, pay the fees and attend your classes. If you are applying for a scholarship or trying to get into a public university in Malaysia, yes. The higher your level of participation [national level, international level, etc], the better. If you are applying to a US university, yes. The more the better, and they also want to see high involvement. If you are applying to a UK university, not quite as important as if you're trying to get into US unis, but you do at least need to have one or two which are relevant to the course you are applying for for optimum chances of success. If you are applying for a job or an internship, you only need a few [maybe one to three] to show that you have interests outside of your studies. Also, do remember that you are not strictly confined to school activities. Attending youth conferences, doing volunteer charity work, etc all also count. QUOTE(Forgotten06 @ Mar 19 2009, 12:36 AM) Well...Like what you said...joining national level camps can allow you to get some extra koko marks. Say my co-cu marks for form 4 and form 5 are the highest of all the co-cu in the 5 years, so that still means the MOE will count my co-cu marks for my Form 4 and Form 5. Hence, it doesn't matter how the system is gonna change. Most importantly, do the best out of the 2 years for the co-cu.Joining scout jamboree is very fun i can say. off topic : Kumiko is not yours. dude. But the system changed. Now MOE monitor one's koko marks based on your performance starting form 1 to form 5. QUOTE(kumiko_91 @ Mar 19 2009, 12:29 AM) @off-topic: Yeah u aren't, But still I wanna call u that way. |
Mar 19 2009, 01:53 AM
102 posts Joined: Mar 2009 |
It's quite important if you ask me. You benefit not only from the extra marks for scholarships,etc. you'll be getting tons of experience from socializing to management/minor leading and some minor human political issues.
And yea, you won't be getting question like "Why are you not involving yourself in co cu activities?" in an interview which will sucks the fun out >_< Anyway, it's fun so you're in a win-win situation..But if you really are bored and sick of it, join clubs that have a lot of hot women(rarely =_=) or hot guys. I'm sure that'll spice things up a bit ;p This post has been edited by fcfreak: Mar 19 2009, 01:55 AM |
Mar 19 2009, 01:58 AM
816 posts Joined: Nov 2008 |
form1, =2 n 3 i never bother going for this thingy... now oni i started goin coz it will effect our leaving certificate.. its still early bro.. they oni take our form 4 or form 5 marks..i think
Mar 19 2009, 02:01 AM
QUOTE(Deswin @ Mar 19 2009, 02:58 AM) form1, =2 n 3 i never bother going for this thingy... now oni i started goin coz it will effect our leaving certificate.. its still early bro.. they oni take our form 4 or form 5 marks..i think Like I said. Just do the best out of ur form 4 and form 5 for ur co-cu. At least get an average of B from the caculation of the 2 years marks. And that should be it. |
Mar 19 2009, 09:48 AM
1,487 posts Joined: Jan 2008 From: Penang |
You can backup ur co-curriculum, by JOIning the new south wales english competition, national physics competition, take chance any competition , lose also nvm.
Mar 19 2009, 11:16 AM
QUOTE(Elven @ Mar 19 2009, 01:47 AM) I must add, self-sponsored activities will be counted as well. Elven, stop calling me as your kumiko! Say my co-cu marks for form 4 and form 5 are the highest of all the co-cu in the 5 years, so that still means the MOE will count my co-cu marks for my Form 4 and Form 5. Hence, it doesn't matter how the system is gonna change. Most importantly, do the best out of the 2 years for the co-cu. @off-topic: Yeah u aren't, But still I wanna call u that way. QUOTE You can backup ur co-curriculum, by JOIning the new south wales english competition, national physics competition, take chance any competition , lose also nvm. Ya competitions can really boost your co-curriculum marks. |
Mar 19 2009, 12:32 PM
i joined drama to perform on special occasions...
a bit embarassed but fun! |
Mar 19 2009, 12:50 PM
QUOTE(thebayang @ Mar 19 2009, 01:32 PM) My class represented my school in a drama competition at district level. There were 5 schools competing, but our team was no where near the 3 places. Might be placed in the 4th or 5th places (which is the last place) |
Mar 19 2009, 01:00 PM
4,893 posts Joined: May 2008 |
Act smart lah guise
I only join interact club, and yet Im listed as AJK/Setiausaha in 2 other clubs and 1 uniform group. Why? cuz 3 of my friends are pengerusi of their respective club. Ada lobang, ada jalan! |
Mar 19 2009, 01:22 PM
i joined living skill club but more like a boys club...
when we gather we chat about games, girls, and condemn our teachers... really fun! |
Mar 19 2009, 06:53 PM
4,893 posts Joined: May 2008 |
Mar 19 2009, 09:37 PM
149 posts Joined: Mar 2009 |
i have just finished my f5, i got b in my coco, isnt that bad? =(
Mar 19 2009, 09:39 PM
48 posts Joined: Apr 2008 |
I have to say, that doesnt really matter in applying scholarships in malaysia. I myself scoring full A1 in SPM and yet active in many co-curricular activities, somemore I manage to hit MSSM for my sport, but then, what did I get? All of those scholarships held by the gov are based on your INCOME TAX. so, dream on if you father's driving a S class mersc.
Mar 19 2009, 10:35 PM
QUOTE(Time-Interval @ Mar 19 2009, 09:39 PM) I have to say, that doesnt really matter in applying scholarships in malaysia. I myself scoring full A1 in SPM and yet active in many co-curricular activities, somemore I manage to hit MSSM for my sport, but then, what did I get? All of those scholarships held by the gov are based on your INCOME TAX. so, dream on if you father's driving a S class mersc. just sell the mersc n buy a kancil lor... |
Mar 19 2009, 10:51 PM
Mar 20 2009, 12:29 AM
48 posts Joined: Apr 2008 |
Mar 20 2009, 08:11 AM
Mar 19 2011, 10:33 PM
6 posts Joined: Mar 2011 |
if join civil defance or pertahanan awan for 1 year, can it as replacement for coco mark,
Mar 19 2011, 10:52 PM
843 posts Joined: Apr 2008 |
if u wan scholarship after SPM with JPA especially, involve yourself with activities that gives u certificates. I have friends that needed a big folder to organize their certs.
But what is more important, get the EXCELLENT results. |
Mar 19 2011, 10:59 PM
6 posts Joined: Mar 2011 |
also for getting place at ipta for high requirment course, can i use civil defense certificate , i have emailed BPKP mohe, it was 1 week, don't get any replay, just it state "review"
also, how to fill coco mark form at upu form, need i write 7% |
Mar 20 2011, 07:18 AM
528 posts Joined: Nov 2008 From: Google It! |
QUOTE(Glassy @ Mar 19 2009, 01:28 AM) Is co-curriculum important? Well, it depends. Hi Glassy,If you are trying to get into a local private college, no. Just meet the minimum academic requirements, pay the fees and attend your classes. If you are applying for a scholarship or trying to get into a public university in Malaysia, yes. The higher your level of participation [national level, international level, etc], the better. If you are applying to a US university, yes. The more the better, and they also want to see high involvement. If you are applying to a UK university, not quite as important as if you're trying to get into US unis, but you do at least need to have one or two which are relevant to the course you are applying for for optimum chances of success. If you are applying for a job or an internship, you only need a few [maybe one to three] to show that you have interests outside of your studies. Also, do remember that you are not strictly confined to school activities. Attending youth conferences, doing volunteer charity work, etc all also count. Can you elaborate more on the points that had been bold? For the past 3 years, I've participated in a few youth conferences, youth engagement programmes, and volunteering stuffs. But, my counsellor said, it doesn't count in the co-cu system. Confused already BTW, to the others, I've also participated in a few programmes (virtually) outside the country, standalone/on my own (in other word, not representing the school, although when they ask me, from which school I come, I give them my school name). And I got a few referral letters from the organizers. Can it be used as a backup/support for me to enter uni, if my co-cu marks are low? And I'm F5, and rarely active in co-cu Thanks! |
Mar 20 2011, 07:08 PM
1,154 posts Joined: Dec 2010 From: Arts Industry |
I have quit as a member of my school's marching band.
May 4 2016, 05:12 PM
111 posts Joined: Mar 2014 |
Sometimes it does
May 7 2016, 03:49 AM
19 posts Joined: Aug 2015 From: Selangor, Malaysia |
Depends on what course you intend to do in the future. If it's something competitive, yes, you would need an edge over other applications because remember, most people applying will have good enough academic achievements. Choose something you will enjoy and even better, something relevant to your future course.
Join something that is active and something that you feel you can learn from. Many people join and get positions for the sake of how it looks on paper, but is that all you can get from co-curricular activities? Don't forget if you have to write personal statements or do interviews for university entrance, you will need to talk about how your co-curricular involvement has shaped you, not how many things you have done or how many positions you have held. If you find it hard to get involved cause you are form 4 in school, don't forget that there's much more things you can get involved in outside of school. All I can say is that those little skills I picked up from co-curricular activities were heck loads more beneficial than what those As on my exam slip could get me. This post has been edited by ayamFriendly: May 7 2016, 03:51 AM |
| Change to: | 0.0344sec
5 queries
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 11:12 PM |