Are you nervous to meet your bf's family?

TSvelvetfong
post Mar 15 2009, 04:54 PM, updated 17y ago

Are you nervous meeting your bf's parents / family for the FIRST TIME? Or have you met your bf's parents/family before... Did it go well? Please share some experience here... I have not met my bf's family yet... and they know about me... and I just do not think I am ready for it yet... But what would my bf's parents think of me for not meeting them sooner? And how can you make yourself to treat them as your family?
fatw3apon
post Mar 15 2009, 06:42 PM

263 posts

Make your self natural, don't go and purposely make up or wear until like prom night. Well, just be yourself.
map
post Mar 15 2009, 10:39 PM

Moonlight Healing Escalation!
675 posts

i brought a hamper when i first visit his parents, then his mom asked, "why you give me present?" ah then i panicked and just smiled, dunno what to say sleep.gif"

and the worst part is they were celebrating his dad's birthday that day but my lousy bf didn't even tell me so i didn't wish his dad happy birthday sleep.gif"

and then i wanted to say hi to his sister, but she was on the phone. later when i went out to talk to her, i found out she already left the house sleep.gif"

but... i guess it turned out OK, cos now his mom is asking him to bring me back to the house again biggrin.gif i just wear shorts and a tshirt, be polite and emit good girl vibe, can d la... good luck hun happy.gif
~WhiteChocolate~
post Mar 16 2009, 12:03 AM

Mine is during Chinese New Year.So wear new cloth and go "pai nian".

Erm..the parent is ok ok le.Now sometimes also got go for dinner.
TSvelvetfong
post Mar 16 2009, 09:15 AM

To me, meeting the parents is heavy stuff... It's like after I met his parents, I have the responsibilities to be nice to them & look after them...

Do you see them as your own parents? I meet they are not related to you directly... They are just your bf's parents and not your parents... but what can you do to change your mindset for better?
mizzilli
post Mar 16 2009, 09:22 AM

24 posts

QUOTE(velvetfong @ Mar 15 2009, 04:54 PM)
Are you nervous meeting your bf's parents / family for the FIRST TIME? Or have you met your bf's parents/family before... Did it go well? Please share some experience here... I have not met my bf's family yet... and they know about me... and I just do not think I am ready for it yet... But what would my bf's parents think of me for not meeting them sooner? And how can you make yourself to treat them as your family?
for me its scary... read my thread for more info =)

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f=89&t=925297&st=0
pennee86
post Mar 16 2009, 10:28 AM

58 posts

just be your self, dear..everything will be ok as long as u polite when meet his parents..remember to buy some souvenier....tongue.gif..remember dont wear too sexy even though i know ur are not typical malay....
well, i have my own experience..i was so nervous when the first time i went to my bf house..luckily his parent were so friendly..now i go there every weekend and they treat me like their daughter.... tongue.gif
a_pearl
post Mar 16 2009, 10:45 AM

50 posts

erm...lets see...
1st time i met his parents i bought some fruits and tidbits. tongue.gif sort of like souvenir la...
haha...thank God i met them for the reason of picking them up from airport. so just give them a warm welcome to Malaysia and that souvenir. sweat.gif

u can imagine how nervous and how hypocrite i am the moment we went out together for 2 days in a row!!! sleep.gif
have to cover my attitude n being a very nice gal doh.gif
i'm the one who always start the conversation. haih... just to show them i'm kinda friendly gal. tongue.gif

their next visit, they stay at my house!!! rclxub.gif
wahaha...after that, everything goes well. my parents and his parents are ok with it. the only thing is my parents can't communicate well with his parents cause diff language n their english also doh.gif with different accent.
juzsell
post Mar 16 2009, 11:14 AM

Trade Dispute
1,840 posts

the nervous ur which mean the LESS understanding batween u n ur BF of coz wit his family too...

B4 u (ALL) go see their parentz make sure u get the WHOLE LOTT of info bout his family....
like wat language their usin during communication,what his mth or father like to hear>>POLITICS(WHICH SIDE),drama...and so on.//////
kissydust
post Mar 17 2009, 10:02 PM

I usually go my bf's house empty handed...
( as i'm still a student, I don't want his parents to think that I spend my parent's money for the others )
but I bring my biggest smile on my face n try to chat with them blush.gif
Polka_Dot
post Mar 18 2009, 05:05 PM

TS, just be natural and be urself.. nothing to scare about.. if you are scare, then jus keep quiet and smile..
when they ask u things, u jus answer.. is ok for wat.. slowly then, u will get used to it..

my bf stay with his grandma.. almost everyday im going there for lunch.. if i din go, his grandma will ask "y i din go and so on"..

they treat me nicely.. biggrin.gif i didn't bought anything when i go also..

jus occasionally will buy something for them.. depends on what festival..

mizzilli
post Mar 19 2009, 02:59 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(pennee86 @ Mar 16 2009, 10:28 AM)
just be your self, dear..everything will be ok as long as u polite when meet his parents..remember to buy some souvenier....tongue.gif..remember dont wear too sexy even though i know ur are not typical malay....
well, i have my own experience..i was so nervous when the first time i went to my bf house..luckily his parent were so friendly..now i go there every weekend and they treat me like their daughter.... tongue.gif
lucky u rclxms.gif
nichole2400
post Mar 19 2009, 04:13 PM

hmm... depends on ur bf's family like u or not... my case is a bit special where i m a vegetarian n my ex mother not really like me so make it a bit hard at the moment i meet his family...
so at the first time i wan to meet my current bf family i oso very nervous afraid that history will repeated but surprise to find out they didnt oppose our relationship n treat me like a family now... n they always send gifts for me which make me very pai seh...
daminoster
post Mar 19 2009, 05:02 PM

my first time meet his parents, i bought them the egg tart, lolz. and there is my funny experienced. remember the first time i went to his home, his parents was home and took care a new born baby. So when i arrived, i sent the egg tart, but then i dunno how to address his mom, because she is took care the baby,and i though she was his's brother wife. OMG. His mother is so young. Until he told me she is his mother, MY MIND OS.. " die, sure aunty will dislike me, because i m so unpolite." LOLz...

Lucky, there was no, now they treat me as family , because when the time i stay hostel alone, she give a key to asked my bf to give me, and ask me to move to his house smile.gif

Added on March 19, 2009, 5:10 pmmy first time meet his parents, i bought them the egg tart, lolz. and there is my funny experienced. remember the first time i went to his home, his parents was home and took care a new born baby. So when i arrived, i sent the egg tart, but then i dunno how to address his mom, because she is took care the baby,and i though she was his's brother wife. OMG. His mother is so young. Until he told me she is his mother, MY MIND OS.. " die, sure aunty will dislike me, because i m so unpolite." LOLz...

Lucky, there was no, now they treat me as family , because when the time i stay hostel alone, she give a key to asked my bf to give me, and ask me to move to his house smile.gif

This post has been edited by daminoster: Mar 19 2009, 05:10 PM

0.0151sec    0.50    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 05:57 PM