Which is the best country for expat?
oyst3rman
Mar 15 2009, 01:06 PM

QUOTE(tkhin @ Mar 15 2009, 12:53 PM) sg = low income tax / cost of living / near hometown[malaysia] but lifestyle sucks. In my opinion, looking for a career in overseas right now is not a good choice. You just wasted your time. Local people will have more advantages compared to expat. Worse case scenario you might receive the offer but compensation wise probably lower than locals whose on the same job! Don't think you want that either... A PHD holder with no/less working experience wont buy you a ticket for a fast career track. Most companies are looking someone with right balance between education and work experience.
oyst3rman
Mar 15 2009, 02:20 PM

QUOTE(EasyLife @ Mar 15 2009, 02:10 PM) I intend to be an academic. I agree with you that working experience is important, but I think it is more important to have valuable experience. It is obviously better to be a DESIGN ENGINEER rather than a SALES ENGINEER. I worked as design engineer in an MNC in Penang for 1 year. I got first class honour degree from a bolehland Uni, a Masters from National Uni of Singapore (gold medalist for being the best graduate), and PhD from Auckland Uni (NZ govt scholar). I think I'm competetive enough to secure most high end jobs.In terms of education you may look quiet attractive. Let me share with you a classic case. A friend of mine, he's Cambridge Graduate (Degree, Master and Phd in Maths),Chevening scholar and completed all those course when he was 24 years old. Lucky him!  However, from what he shared with me he only earns +-MYR10,000 only after 6 years of working experience (4 years in king's college and 2 years local uni). Personally I encourage you to explore and collect some more experience before start to demand in terms of salary
oyst3rman
Mar 15 2009, 02:45 PM

QUOTE(EasyLife @ Mar 15 2009, 02:35 PM) You might be right. As I have said, I am interested in academic field, which I feel that the design experience that I earned was more relevant to research. I somehow do not see how sales engineer is going to help with research, you might need to enlighten me  Easylife, I guess you just off the hook! You shouldn't compare these jobs apple's like. By doing this, makes one look better than another. Both fields are important and do help each other.. without good selling skills, no matter how good your design is... its going no where! Although I'm not salesman myself, but I do believe before you start selling stuff, salesman do need to know what are they selling