Screamyx: 115 IP Range, CORE IP NETWORK DEVELOPMENT

tarpaucase
post Mar 20 2009, 07:47 PM

3,469 posts

There's a simple explanation for why it's so hard to get good IP range such as 60.x.x.x

There's just a MUCH BIGGER chunk of 115.x.x.x and 118.x.x.x IPs lying around unused.

Also, depending on your account, you're assigned to what most engineers call a BRAS(pronounced bee-raaaas) - where there's a certain IP pool allocated to you.

So if you have never gotten a certain good IP your friend has gotten before, you can stop trying, that IP group? it's probably not in the list.

We should be complaining to TM/MCMC about why is there difference in routing for these different IP ranges. They may have commercial implications, I suspect 60.x.x.x is probably assigned to their business streamyx users (just maybe, i'm guessing here) - hence they probably get some kind of a better routing I guess.

But all in all, 115.x and 118.x is okaaaaaaay for surfing? but 124.x.x.x is ... you guys should try it. It's great for downloading stuff? but when it comes to gaming you're just screwed. Packet loss of 20-30% to the US.

It's just unbelievable.

Edit : Btw from what I heard from my friend, IP Core is just this new backbone they're building that will support a whole range of network services on top(over IP).. it's supposedly better in terms of bandwidth (eg. think 10gigabit for the trunks)

This post has been edited by tarpaucase: Mar 20 2009, 07:48 PM
tarpaucase
post Mar 20 2009, 08:49 PM

3,469 posts

QUOTE(hih @ Mar 20 2009, 08:44 PM)
Why you so sure about this?
I read some of your posts.
You seem you know much about TM things.

Please share your evident about this.
As we can use it to prove that we are not get proper service from TM.
Thanks in advance.
I know some friends who work at TM, and hence they got access to certain limited information such as these things I just told you.

But the screwed up routing based on what IP you get.. that's a complete mystery to me as to why it would happen.

There's no 'evidence' that i could provide - this is just based on my experience of working at an ISP myself before this. (no it's not TM hehe)

Edit : you know, sometimes I just wish TM would hire people who are really truly PASSIONATE users of the internet. People who jump on it and rely on it everyday for everything. Instead of the chap who .. you know, who is really knowledgeable and all but gets so busy with actual work that he hardly use the Internet at all - and hence doesn't really know if things work or not. :/ I see this happening a lot of times in ISPs - those really technical staff.. at the end of the day the last thing they would want to do is log on the net lol...

This post has been edited by tarpaucase: Mar 20 2009, 08:51 PM
tarpaucase
post Mar 23 2009, 04:03 PM

3,469 posts

QUOTE(hih @ Mar 20 2009, 11:15 PM)
Thanks for your reply tarpaucase.
I was thinking if somebody can prove that certain IPs are no good.
For example x.x.x.x are always disconnect IPs, or y.y.y. are log in only download NG IPs,
and known widely by all the user of TM.
Then if I complain to TM, I just need to tell them  x.x.x.x are no good and is proved, I don't want it. Maybe the answer is simply "sorry sir, we will change it"

But now if I tell them which IP is no good and I don't want it,
The answer will be ----right click start .......  type cmd........  sir your report number.....

Bye.
For this problem to be solve, there's a way you can prove it to them. I've.. always wanted to do this because my new home? I'm stuck on 124.x.x.x which is extremely bad if you're a gamer. I suspect it could be due to a couple of things.. my guess is..

1) different IP routes you through different gateways that TM has. Some gateways are congested as hell, and the routing is just not good to where you want to go..
2) some block of IPs probably go through some (call me paranoid but..) packetshaper-like devices - and misconfiguration of these devices are more often than not, the culprit for most applications(the ones that don't use common ports) not behaving properly. to the people who sold these devices to TM, and misconfigured them, I hope you rot in hell for all eternity.

Calling the helpdesk won't do any good. I doubt they know what's going on with your connection - it's hard to blame them as I don't think they're also given the relevant information to help you in the first place.

What I plan to do (when I have the time) - or if anyone has the time to do so for that matter, set up something like a smokeping server, ping to each of the hops to.. say a destination to the US (not the actual US hops itself) and see which hop in the network is the packet loss happening, and this has to be done over a period of 24 hours and if possible, over a week - to see if it's a congestion issue or not(well it's more like to prove if it is, i highly doubt it's a congestion thing - because latency is normal, and with congestion, it's usually associated with a rise in latency... usually)

And this ping has to be done from good IPs and bad IPs so we can see the difference.

Once that's done, I plan to email it to TM somehow and hopefully get a response from them.

Take note when talking to TM you must stressed that this issue is DOMESTIC. If you tell them "oh I have packet loss when connecting to US" and they'll tell you that networks outside of their jurisdiction, is beyond their control - which is true, there's not much they can do about that. What you need to stress to them when handling this problem is that you need to inform them that this problem is local, it's not overseas. The problem is INSIDE your local network (if it can be proven).

It's a LOT of work.. which is why now I'm THINKING of resigning to the alternative. forking out RM500 bucks for a frickin 3G USB modem to do the job instead of screamyx.. :/

tarpaucase
post Mar 24 2009, 11:16 AM

3,469 posts

QUOTE(vickyrao @ Mar 24 2009, 02:37 AM)
hmmm...finally i see this thread...

damn u guys are all having this problem as well? i thought it was only me... smile.gif

well i have upgraded my 1mb package to 4mb package last year. since then, only ip range of 60.48 or 60.49 is good for me whereby everything i can at 4mb speed. surfing loads really fast, torrenting is awesome and http download speed at max.

however about 2 months ago, i see that my IP range is changed to 124.x.x.x range. no matter how many times i reconnect, its still bad.

i cannot surf properly. every page loads really slow. when i ping to local servers is ok only. but if i start pinging to servers like in indonesia, thailand and so on, packets start to loose its way.

dont need to mention about UK and US. its worst.

i dont really have the time to call and make the complain. but i might do so soon enough.

these packet losts is going crazy. i cant even surf lowyat.net most of the time. i have to refresh a few times for it.

4mb connection is more like a 384 or worst package currently.

but torrenting with utorrent 1.9beta via UDP seems to be not affected. i am able to hit max speed of about 350kbps but depending on the seeders though.

this is really weird. tmnet is really pissing me off....
I have a thread somewhere in here about this.

The problem with 124.x.x.x is that there's a packet loss problem somewhere in the local network. Some screwy equipment which seems to be working .. but is probably faulty dropping packets once awhile.

its about 20-30% packet loss to the US last I check. it's atrocious. I get 0 packet loss with my WIRELESS maxis 3G on a count of 2000 ping test - and I've always been a sceptic when it comes to wireless type connections. sheesh.
tarpaucase
post Mar 25 2009, 11:26 AM

3,469 posts

QUOTE(roy_pck @ Mar 24 2009, 11:02 PM)
just bark them again. they stated that my area is only assigned with 1 IP block. i can prove them wrong because my office, which is just near to my house, is able to get various IPs.

just email to MCMC and ceo of TMNUT. will keep barking them at least once a day. let's see what's next!
if you're going to bark.. erm try to approach them with sensible information so you don't seem like the millions of others whos barked at them before you tongue.gif

Your area is probably assigned 1 IP block because you're connected to a particular bras (not those bras!)
Your office on the other hand, could be connected to another. There are MANY around.

My friend in damansara jaya is connected one that has multiple (bad, unfortunately) ip blocks.
Me in damansara intan just next door - locked to one bloody bad ip block.

How they assign who gets what .. is beyond me. People on the same street probably gets the same allocation but your neighbours behind you could get different ones entirely.

So the point is, it varies... quite without reason.

What we should be barking at them is why the hell different IP blocks get different routing treatment (which could ultimately be their internal policy so i don't know if things like that could be changed or not)

just my 2cents

Added on March 25, 2009, 11:27 am
QUOTE(vickyrao @ Mar 25 2009, 08:56 AM)
rm160
yeah...i realise the packet loss as well when i do ping to us or uk.....damn bad wei... sad.gif
I've more or less given up for the time being.. just bought a 3g usb stick modem which provides me far FAR superior connectivity than streamyx at my area.. sigh. sad day for wired connectivity...

This post has been edited by tarpaucase: Mar 25 2009, 11:30 AM
tarpaucase
post Mar 25 2009, 03:05 PM

3,469 posts

QUOTE(mylinear @ Mar 25 2009, 12:35 PM)
Which area are you located at?

Added on March 25, 2009, 12:44 pm
TM can change anything,  its a matter if they want to or not. You can even get a "good" IP while your next door neighbour gets a "bad" IP.
Is this Maxis broadband? Can you give more details such as initial setup costs, monthly fee and connection speed? Are you getting advertised speeds?
I only use it for gaming. I subscribed to the so-called unlimited data package (i believe there's a 3gb fair use policy per month thing) for rm100 per month. no other cost. speed is not too bad for gaming I guess, its like 800kbps downstream and like 100kbps upstream.. depends on where you are really.. but no packet loss for the mmo that i play which is the important thing.

0.0186sec    0.25    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 11:26 AM