Engineering UTAR vs MMU, Electronic Enginnering

TSsasaug
post Mar 14 2009, 08:33 PM, updated 17y ago

Small Fud
1,936 posts

I just want some advise on which uni will be better?UTAR or MMU?In terms of Electronic engineering(more to computer engineering)..

How abt the study life over there?Lecturer? blink.gif

I am a chinese btw...

I get 7As(6A1) for my spm..Physic,admath,math got A1
onimusha_m16
post Mar 14 2009, 08:34 PM

Mr Bean
1,239 posts

QUOTE(sasaug @ Mar 14 2009, 08:33 PM)
I just want some advise on which uni will be better?UTAR or MMU?In terms of Electronic engineering(more to computer engineering)..

How abt the study life over there?Lecturer? blink.gif
I am a chinese btw...

I get 7As(6A1) for my spm..Physic,admath,math got A1
MMU is better - http://foe.mmu.edu.my/v2/main/undergrad/beng_comp.html
SUSedmunz
post Mar 14 2009, 08:36 PM

dupe buster..since 2010
900 posts

SPM u need to take foundation b4 u can take degree.. personally i think MMU Electronic engineering hav better carrier prospect [no offense].. coz lot of company searching this kind of student
gigohlo
post Mar 14 2009, 08:36 PM

204 posts

Facilities, MMU thumbup.gif
Lecturers, UTAR thumbup.gif
i study in mmu. All the good lec all lari to UTAR adi vmad.gif kena pull by Prof Chuah HT doh.gif Why la Prof Chuah HT must leave sad.gif
Faith+1
post Mar 14 2009, 08:37 PM

1,420 posts

Definitely MMU. Their facilities are good.

thumbup.gif
TSsasaug
post Mar 14 2009, 08:43 PM

Small Fud
1,936 posts

QUOTE(gigohlo @ Mar 14 2009, 08:36 PM)
Facilities, MMU thumbup.gif
Lecturers, UTAR thumbup.gif
i study in mmu. All the good lec all lari to UTAR adi  vmad.gif kena pull by Prof Chuah HT  doh.gif Why la Prof Chuah HT must leave  sad.gif
Means I should go UTAR?I just asked my dad and he say good lecturer is better wor....facilities I think UTAR wont teruk until tak boleh tengok gua... hmm.gif
Faith+1
post Mar 14 2009, 08:46 PM

1,420 posts

QUOTE(sasaug @ Mar 14 2009, 08:43 PM)
Means I should go UTAR?I just asked my dad and he say good lecturer is better wor....facilities I think UTAR wont teruk until tak boleh tengok gua... hmm.gif
Not really. Sometimes bad facilities can piss you off. biggrin.gif

UTAR also good for those who facing financial problem. Can easily get PTPTN.

wink.gif
TSsasaug
post Mar 15 2009, 12:18 AM

Small Fud
1,936 posts

Hmmm...so overall everybody still prefer MMU?
yanniieee
post Mar 15 2009, 12:23 AM

Starsss!
564 posts

MMU, i vote for MMU
Faith+1
post Mar 15 2009, 12:27 AM

1,420 posts

QUOTE(sasaug @ Mar 15 2009, 12:18 AM)
Hmmm...so overall everybody still prefer MMU?
To me, facilities are very important. MMU is the way to go.

rejected
post Mar 15 2009, 01:46 AM

19 posts

QUOTE(Faith+1 @ Mar 14 2009, 08:37 PM)
Definitely MMU. Their facilities are good.

thumbup.gif
if cert leh?(for business studies)

Faith+1
post Mar 15 2009, 01:58 AM

1,420 posts

QUOTE(rejected @ Mar 15 2009, 01:46 AM)
if cert leh?(for business studies)
Business studies I'm not sure already. But heard that MMU also famous for their business studies. Wait for MMU students to confirm this.

sweat.gif
skzisghost
post Mar 15 2009, 02:38 AM

267 posts

i heard my fren from mmu say there class very boring and no leng lui but juz mmu melaka have alot of entertainment compare to cyberjaya one is it true?

i plan to enter mmu actually but after the comment from my friends then er....
Faith+1
post Mar 15 2009, 03:14 AM

1,420 posts

QUOTE(skzisghost @ Mar 15 2009, 02:38 AM)
i heard my fren from mmu say there class very boring and no leng lui but juz mmu melaka have alot of entertainment compare to cyberjaya one is it true?

So entertainment and girls are more important to you right? Good for you.

shakehead.gif
TSsasaug
post Mar 15 2009, 01:34 PM

Small Fud
1,936 posts

Wan entertainment can go KL wat... sweat.gif

This post has been edited by sasaug: Mar 15 2009, 01:34 PM
gigohlo
post Mar 15 2009, 01:38 PM

204 posts

MMU cyberjaya.. No car = die a slow death.
During weekends, the town is dead. If you don't have a transport/don't know how to take public transport.. u slowly rot at home la tongue.gif
In MMU melaka can save more money. food is cheap. and its nearby. Not cyberjaya.
syuk
post Mar 15 2009, 05:56 PM

121 posts

MMU lor, good facility...
deejay220989
post Mar 15 2009, 06:00 PM

1,141 posts

MMU course FTW!!

Currently studying MMU Bach in Engineering Electronics programme in Disted Stamford Penang..hehe..enjoying it to the max!

QUOTE(skzisghost @ Mar 15 2009, 02:38 AM)

Only rich ppl like you can afford to go to uni for entertainment cool2.gif

Cyberjaya is like kampung..nothing much to enjoy but thats the benefit..so that you concentrate on your studies.

If you really wanna take MMU's electronic engineering programme..better prepare yourself. You need good Maths, Add Maths and Physics or else you'll suffer. I can tell you coz I'm currently in 3rd trimester 1st year Bachelor in Engineering (Electronic) and I have friends who really study last minute and fail 4 out of 6 subjects in a trimester!

This post has been edited by deejay220989: Mar 15 2009, 06:05 PM
Faith+1
post Mar 15 2009, 06:22 PM

1,420 posts

QUOTE(deejay220989 @ Mar 15 2009, 06:00 PM)
MMU course FTW!!

Currently studying MMU Bach in Engineering Electronics programme in Disted Stamford Penang..hehe..enjoying it to the max!
Only rich ppl like you can afford to go to uni for entertainment  cool2.gif

Cyberjaya is like kampung..nothing much to enjoy but thats the benefit..so that you concentrate on your studies.

If you really wanna take MMU's electronic engineering programme..better prepare yourself. You need good Maths, Add Maths and Physics or else you'll suffer. I can tell you coz I'm currently in 3rd trimester 1st year Bachelor in Engineering (Electronic) and I have friends who really study last minute and fail 4 out of 6 subjects in a trimester!
How's the lecturer in Disted? Are they good? Just want to know because that coll not famous for Engineering.

andylylow
post Mar 16 2009, 01:48 PM

Hi all,

A university is just a platform for one to learn...whether the lecturers are good or facilities are the best are just secondary importance. We should have a positive mindset when it comes to learning. Learning by adapting with the environment is also a skill that one must have when it comes to workplace in future. I knew some friends of mine graduated from top-notch universities around the world but when it comes to work, they are not so shining as per what we perceived they should be.

MMU Vs. UTAR? I do not think we can compare apple and orange in life, right? No doubts that some of the lecturers from MMU did leave to UTAR but it does not mean MMU will collapse by quality, right? Say an example, if we place Singapore Prime Minister in Malaysia, will he be able to develop Malaysia like he did in Singapore? On the other hand, I also noticed we discussed about facilities here...but do undergraduates really need to use those facilities???

In short, we should not be comparing apple with orange...
heloelaine
post Mar 16 2009, 01:59 PM

350 posts

Supporting MMU for good career prospects... thumbup.gif
Faith+1
post Mar 16 2009, 02:11 PM

1,420 posts

QUOTE(heloelaine @ Mar 16 2009, 01:59 PM)
Supporting MMU for good career prospects... thumbup.gif
UTAR students have a good career prospects too, like what the newspaper claimed it few days ago.

rehtselei
post Mar 16 2009, 03:24 PM

29 posts

Hello all,

As a graduate from MMU, let me share my experience here. And btw, I took Electronics Engineering course too.

Qualification: I got 8A's for SPM, add math, math is A1, but physic A2. When I got my SPM result, I was kinda lost, I do not know what I want to do, I just do not want to take F6. I was not so sure what engineering is about, but it 99% sounds cool, I am a female btw.

Financial worry: In case you are worry of the fee(but I assume you are not, bcoz both UTAR and MMU is in par in fees), I can assure you almost all if not ALL of us, the mmu-ian get loan easily from PTPTN. Except the first time payment(less than RM 2k), I had never forked out any $ for the tuition fees. But be prepared that you need to have pocket money from your parents as allowances.

Pre- University: Engineering Course in MMU requires 5 years for SPM leaver. 1 year for Foundation Year(mine in Melaka, not sure now if they have Pre-U in Cyberjaya) and 4 years with Faculty Year(either Cyberjaya or Melaka). Most of the engineering subject for Engineering Pre-U are to general physic instead of electronics.

Lecturer : On my experience, if you are more to spoon-fed education, MMU is not really the one for you. Here, you will only get 30% of the lecturer to spoon-fed you, if you were lucky enough. I myself, believe that lecturer=10% while your own effort is 90%. Fully attendance doesn't ensure you pass the subject. Your own effort make you score the papers.
You might met some lecturer that was not good at teacing, that will make you hate that subject if you are the type that are counting on GOOD lecturers to teach you everything.

Facilities : The library was good, and the best (my opinion) is the online system, we call it MMLS, where is the place the lecturer will upload all their teaching material so that the student can have a copy prior to class. I always use only this notes as my revision material. Same applies to tutorial, some lecturer will be kind enough to upload the answer of the tutorial for your reference(I mean after the tutorial discussion)

Exam: Normally, it is 60% on final project and 40% on coursework which involve mid term paper

Culture : On my observation, the majority of student in Engineering Course were Chinese. Most of the assignments(calculation type) solution will be circulated a day before the due date. So, I don't really bother to finish my own assignment, unless the nature of assignment is on programming or paper writing. Think of "sharing is caring" for assignment. Yeah, that also applied before exam, the culture of "pinjam tutorial" aka. copying solved tutorial for own revision.

Food: Cyberjaya is really lacked of entertainment and food. Without a car, getting decent chinese food nearby is quite a tedius task. As for entertainment, computer will be you best friend I can say. Melaka is good with food but I somehow feel that Cyberjaya have more university life. Don't ask me why, maybe Melaka is surrounded by lots of houseing area smile.gif

Hope this helps you. And during my batch, MMU graduate get more advantages to compare with UTAR in job hunting.

Faith+1
post Mar 16 2009, 05:46 PM

1,420 posts

QUOTE(rehtselei @ Mar 16 2009, 03:24 PM)
Good piece of MMU review.

thumbup.gif

We shouldn't expect to be spoon-feed by lecturer, come one, college already. Be independent.

wink.gif

rehtselei
post Mar 17 2009, 11:21 AM

29 posts

Yeah, i think we grow up in spoon feed education, that is why lots assume university way of study is this way too.
Faith+1
post Mar 17 2009, 11:44 AM

1,420 posts

QUOTE(rehtselei @ Mar 17 2009, 11:21 AM)
Yeah, i think we grow up in spoon feed education, that is why lots assume university way of study is this way too.
Huh, at my college, lecturer spoon feed us by giving a lot of questions until we fainted.

sweat.gif
jacktmj
post Mar 17 2009, 07:12 PM

130 posts

MMU = GREAT facilities, real education

UTAR = Lenglui a lot a lot a lot alot alot alot aaalllllllooooootttttt.................................................................................................
UTAR = i've been there once, hard to concentrate, too much students in the freaking lecture hall....

UTAR, i meant Kampar UTAR, the PJ branch one, still not bad.

As for price range, i think their differences is not that much?
Not sure bout it.

Faith+1
post Mar 17 2009, 08:18 PM

1,420 posts

QUOTE(jacktmj @ Mar 17 2009, 07:12 PM)
MMU = GREAT facilities, real education

UTAR = Lenglui a lot a lot a lot alot alot alot aaalllllllooooootttttt.................................................................................................
UTAR = i've been there once, hard to concentrate, too much students in the freaking lecture hall....

UTAR, i meant Kampar UTAR, the PJ branch one, still not bad.

As for price range, i think their differences is not that much?
Not sure bout it.
Busy concentrating at girls? Too much students? Too much girls students in lecture hall izzit?

brows.gif

Btw, I prefer a uni with better facilities.

This post has been edited by Faith+1: Mar 17 2009, 08:18 PM
RainJR
post Mar 17 2009, 11:03 PM

342 posts

but comparing the fees..MMU expensive than UTAR lo
rejected
post Mar 17 2009, 11:16 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(RainJR @ Mar 17 2009, 11:03 PM)
but comparing the fees..MMU expensive than UTAR lo
reali?i tot the same. . .
RainJR
post Mar 17 2009, 11:19 PM

342 posts

ya..the foundation in UTAR 6.5k << for science stream..and in MMU is 9.1k..big difference
rejected
post Mar 17 2009, 11:40 PM

19 posts

thn hw bout degree course?
RainJR
post Mar 17 2009, 11:49 PM

342 posts

degree in UTAR about 30k..in MMU about 45k
Faith+1
post Mar 18 2009, 02:09 AM

1,420 posts

MMU is expensive than UTAR. But based on what they provide, such as facilites, I think worth it.

saturn85
post Mar 24 2009, 03:02 AM

Folding@home
8,686 posts

go for MMU la, i think MMU campus should be better than UTAR campus..

tell you, other than lecturers, campus life is also very important, and the activities inside.. nod.gif
big campus always better than small campus in term of activities, and you can meet more people, make more friends when joining activities.. icon_rolleyes.gif
the feeling is totally different between big campus and small campus..

campus life is only once in your life time, dont make yourself regret.. as i m a victim from small campus.. sad.gif

feel regret when visiting big campus.. cry.gif
sexualpower
post Mar 24 2009, 09:24 AM

1,964 posts

getting 7A, i think it won't be a problem to be in an institution, scholarships or partial ones should be made available and one of the priorities~

here are some factors in helping you make decisions, from what I wrote in MMU thread

QUOTE(RainJR @ Mar 21 2009, 01:14 PM)
i send adi my application to MMU,but i havent receive any letter which inform me they had receive my application. when i'm checking online admission status, keep on error. I sent my application also to TAR College on the same day with MMU's. But,TAR College already replied and my application at there under consideration. May I know what is going on ?
do u even see any MMU advertisement in The Star newspaper? i see none, this is how serious the admin of MMu has become~

Added on March 22, 2009, 10:56 pm
QUOTE(RainJR @ Mar 21 2009, 01:47 PM)
Oh ya,does MMU Law CLP recognised ?
Law faculty started for an estimated 3 years, it's best that you call MMu to ask~ by the way, also bear in mind that MMu has not been providing information regarding policy change that may be a valid reason for accreditation termination~

Added on March 22, 2009, 10:58 pm
QUOTE(ISFJ @ Mar 21 2009, 04:04 PM)
Can I know the fees for a bachelor's degree in Electric & Electronic Engineering or Electronic Engineering majoring in Telecommunications in MMU for the 2009/2010 intake? I've searched the MMU website but I couldn't find anything about it.

Also, when is the deadline for the application for the June intake?

Thank you  smile.gif
should be around 44k

Added on March 22, 2009, 11:03 pm
QUOTE(Bigblock @ Mar 21 2009, 04:37 PM)
Hows is mechanical eng in MMU? in melaka?the lecturers and all? i am a diploma tele grad from there, but i left in 2008. never knewe much bout the university after that since the new president took over Dr.ghauth's seat. I heard the situation is getting bad is it true?
2nd year students amounting to 50% had failed their Fluid Mechanics and the appeal to have a class to avoid prolonging graduation has been replied with 3 words -> "not enough manpower" pls look at the earlier link regarding the abolishment of W model issue for the answer to your question regarding the new administration after Prof Ghauth went to UM, 1 dean and 2 lecturers went over to UTAR

Added on March 22, 2009, 11:06 pm
QUOTE(Bigblock @ Mar 21 2009, 04:55 PM)
I see... but what are the current prices? hows the new president?since your an src rep in melaka?
there has been rumours on TM giving out MMU tender but no one accepted~ if this were to be true, is it a case of TM selling MMu? could it be linked to the lack of advertisements and sudden increase of failure rates if all these are true? just food for thought

Added on March 22, 2009, 11:10 pm
QUOTE(Bigblock @ Mar 21 2009, 05:13 PM)
Coz i heard the situation is gettin bad there? but what else to do bro so thats why i am askin you since you opened this thread for any inquiry. So i dont thing its right you answer me in this manner, not to flame you here but its best if you answer the questions correctly not by saying "u want to know u talk to him urself and see lo... muahaha". This aint funny to me by any means.
i believe that enquiring is good only if u get answers~ here, take a look, u be the judge~ President's "Foreword" page, "Coming Soon" even when the President is here for almost a year

Added on March 22, 2009, 11:12 pm
QUOTE(gavinfernando @ Mar 21 2009, 05:31 PM)
sorry but i dont mean anything much... truly apologize... Let me put it this way, since im in src, i can barely see the president in melaka.. mostly he will be in cyebr except wednesday where he will be in the office... but the thing is, much thing has happen before... They had change the president. The first president then went to utar... on the way, some lecturers left mmu for utar as well.. and now he is in UM. Then comes in this president... I really cannot comment on this part cox personally I carnt see him often. So, I could not comment. The sentense i put, might upset u or what... and again a apologise.. The meaning behind it... was that even most of us carnt get to see him, and u think everyone can see him? thats the idea... and i dun think u catch it... so, im here to make it clear...

and again... sorry.
it's true that Ghauth is no more in MMu and that lecturers and even a Dean of FOE has went to UTAR, are the new policies which are implemented even in the exam unit and the bell curve from the new president?

QUOTE(corallinkz @ Mar 21 2009, 06:54 PM)
which courses is popular in MMU? can u recommended me courses under engineering, IT related.do u have IMs (msn/ym/gtalk etc) so that i can further ask u there? Please PM me smile.gif
I recommend software engineering and ISE under FIST faculty~ basically based on the fair pricing for having the priviledge of having lecturers who actually do research and development in the university itself~ lecturers who do that are actually very much towards the academic side~ as for engineering courses, I'm not so sure but I'd strongly recommend that u stay away from mechanical as the failure rate is very high, u can check the failure rates by downloading the list of students who failed in the bulletin board -> bulletin.mmu.edu.my

i happen to have a downloaded file, sem1 of 2008/2009 (change the extention from .doc to .xls as .xls is not allowed in LYN), i counted 83 students failing fluid mechanics, total students were 160, that's 50%

QUOTE(Bigblock @ Mar 22 2009, 11:56 PM)
Failure retes are very high in MMU i see..."not enough man power" is really a bad excuse to them paying students.I heard ISO is being used as a standsrd for marking and thats the reason y students fail?
The new president aint doin all good i see...
well, from my opinion, i don't see why MMu don't wanna earn more if they can~ i think u can check from bulletin board that one of the SRC had put on a thread on starting a class, poor fella~ my advice is that u check the bulletin board for the last semester and then talk directly to him and ask, he's still in SRC after all

Added on March 23, 2009, 12:08 am
Failure retes are very high in MMU i see..."not enough man power" is really a bad excuse to them paying students.I heard ISO is being used as a standsrd for marking and thats the reason y students fail?
The new president aint doin all good i see...And which faculty are you from sexualpower?
standard depends on many factors, supply and demand being one, the government & money being another and nearer to student, it's the professional bodies and in-campus politics~ let me tell u, CPA reported last month that they were not aware of the policy change of MMu, they didn't know about the W model~ so account students, take note~ when a new president comes in with new policies, can u say no to it, i wonder~ will a Dean say no? everyone is working for a payslip at the end of the month and dare u say no to the boss?

as for the W model, it has been implemented and will not be changed from what I've read in the SRC blog

i'm in social university aka working, fortunately~ my sis is in MMu~

QUOTE(corallinkz @ Mar 23 2009, 04:05 AM)
thanks for the recommendation. just want to confirm, SE is not under any of the ENGINEERING in the MMU?
and any chances to go to abroad in MMU? there is no twinning program ?
the word "engineering" means "the process of making"~ most of the time, in profession, the word refers to physical and tangible objects and therefore, we get electrical and electronics engineerings (circuit board), mechanical engineering (engine), robotics engineering (automation) but when it comes to software engineering, u'll be making softwares through building computer codes and then compiling them to become programs~

Added on March 23, 2009, 8:07 pm
QUOTE(elhh82 @ Mar 23 2009, 08:01 AM)
I don't think it is a fair comment to say that just because a university has a high failure rate, therefore it is bad. For certain truly difficult subjects, it should not be unexpected to have failures.
u're right, it's not fair to say that high failure rates makes a university bad~ in my opinion, asking "why would high failure rate happen in the first place?" would be a better question~ thanks for your post and lets have a look. here are some possible opinions to why there are high failure rates :
- One of Utar's professor who is an associate dean mentioned that there are measures that ensure that failure rates as high as 50% would not happen (logic : there may be a thorough discussion prior to a policy and not just implementing)

I would be worried if nobody fails in a particular university. That would mean that the standards in that university is extremely poor, and any tom d*** and harry will graduate. In the long run, someone who has a degree from there would find it worthless as potential employees would shun it like the plague (ask around the industry and most hiring managers have a list of local unis to avoid for particular fields).
- who will be responsible when students fail? (logic : 1) the intake policy, 2) lecturers' final questions relating to what he/she has taught 3) the quality of the education from the aforementioned lecturer, 4) policies which does not have space for any adjustments in case of human error like the abolished W model, 5) the students' studies) even if it is the students who are at fault here, it wouldn't be as logic as the aforementioned logic 1 - 4, i wonder "which student doesn't want to pass?" by the way, do u know that if u get just a credit in science and maths, you can be admitted to MMu in the year I enrolled?

I think prior to abolishing the Bell Curve marking system, the quality in MMU has been in decline (have been hearing this often from my friends in industry) due to looser enrollment standards (bound to happen as we have far too many unis, and there are only so many top quality students, universities have to cari makan and will have to let in a quota every year) and poor quality control.
- quality of MMu declining before the abolishment of W model? any proof on this one? (logic : I've seen with my own eyes the past year question papers available from the library and I advice u to have a look as well)

I think seeing more failures in MMU is a positive development. It is not like you have only 1 chance to pass the subject. If you couldn't make it through the first time, retake the subject and work harder the next time around.
- pls be aware that there has been pre-requisites in all courses in MMu at this moment~ any failure of most of the subjects, i estimate 90% of the subjects, would mean that a student has to extend at least 1 year in order to graduate if he/she doesn't want to squeeze that particular subject into the already packed university schedule (logic : an estimated 95% of the subjects offered will only be offered in 1 specified semester and none other, if a person fails a subject, he/she has to wait 1 academic year in order to retake it) will the future students of MMu have to grad with 4 - 6years as opposed to other university students? we're here to learn, not only here to be forced to waste time and be graded~

Lecturer quality can of course still be improved, and i think it is being done with the new policy that is targeting full PhD. academic staff in the near future. The new administration is also taking complaints against lecturers seriously. I know of some who have been hauled up to the disciplinary board because of their poor class performance.
full PhD academic staff... I'll vote u as student representative, my friend~ but not as a president~ no pain no gain~ full PhD academic staff would burn a hole in every student's wallet, as well as having low efficiency for those PhD staffs because they are the only ones who can provide Masters~ if they are going to provide Masters, these students have to choose between part-time or full-time~ If part-time Masters pursuers are not allowed to be lecturers, the cost of maintaining the academic staff would be tremendous and then the square one question arises, why not let Masters qualified PhD pursuers be part-time lecturers to save cost? I guess that shed some light~

thanks for your questions, I think u helped a lot in clearing doubts~
vickizack
post Mar 24 2009, 10:39 AM

246 posts

MMU, better study environment... nice library..
but lots of rich second generation... whistling.gif

thken
post Mar 24 2009, 11:31 AM

keep walking
938 posts

QUOTE(vickizack @ Mar 24 2009, 10:39 AM)
MMU, better study environment... nice library..
but lots of rich second generation... whistling.gif
u mean those rich kids? i thought they went to sunway and taylor?
btw, the new UTAR campus in kampar is ready last year, facilities should be better i think.
electronic engineering is conducted in there too. but i wonder why parent likes to recommend MMU......
jasperng
post Mar 24 2009, 11:39 AM

- Eminent Leader -
1,264 posts

MMU hands down! ... MMU reputation in Malaysia is better than UTAR. I would strongly recommend MMU if you have to choose between this two.
thken
post Mar 24 2009, 11:52 AM

keep walking
938 posts

QUOTE(jasperng @ Mar 24 2009, 11:39 AM)
MMU hands down! ... MMU reputation in Malaysia is better than UTAR.  I would strongly recommend MMU if you have to choose between this two.
and MMU reputation is not so good since the dean of engineering moved to UTAR, i wonder reputation of MMU still can remain for 5 years or not
RainJR
post Mar 24 2009, 11:53 AM

342 posts

ya..i doubt that too..since there are too many inner problem in MMU as what sexualpower said.
jasperng
post Mar 24 2009, 11:55 AM

- Eminent Leader -
1,264 posts

QUOTE(thken @ Mar 24 2009, 11:52 AM)
and MMU reputation is not so good since the dean of engineering moved to UTAR, i wonder reputation of MMU still can remain for 5 years or not
Oh izzit ? ... mmm didnt know that .... However, will losing a dean be a factor of their downfall ? ... I doubt it .. What really matters are the lecturer and the quality of teaching.

This post has been edited by jasperng: Mar 24 2009, 11:55 AM
thken
post Mar 24 2009, 11:56 AM

keep walking
938 posts

now the problem is whether UTAR can overtake MMU in the next five years...
i planed to go UTAR and take EE, putting a bet there, hope that UTAR will be better than MMU

This post has been edited by thken: Mar 24 2009, 12:00 PM
jasperng
post Mar 24 2009, 12:01 PM

- Eminent Leader -
1,264 posts

why not consider UNITEN ? MMU and UNITEN are two well-known private universities
thken
post Mar 24 2009, 12:08 PM

keep walking
938 posts

QUOTE(jasperng @ Mar 24 2009, 12:01 PM)
why not consider UNITEN ? MMU and UNITEN are two well-known private universities
UNITEN reputation droped adi+no good+no gal+boring life
jasperng
post Mar 24 2009, 12:11 PM

- Eminent Leader -
1,264 posts

what proof do you have to utter such assertion ?

This post has been edited by jasperng: Mar 24 2009, 12:12 PM
thken
post Mar 24 2009, 12:15 PM

keep walking
938 posts

well, i have read almost all tread in LYN education essential in these 3 month and heard many story about them flaming their college/U which i believe it is quite true.
i also heard form fren which study there. fair enough?
zyong88
post Mar 24 2009, 12:16 PM

26 posts

MMU? i am the student who study in mmu..
the admin of mmu is so..."good"...
u know? every semester, the lecturer will be changed without any reason...
summore, they will send some lecturer who is lack with experience one come to teach us...like teaching engineering graphic one's lecturer can be send to teach workshop technology...

Added on March 24, 2009, 12:17 pmand the lecturer will also ask us that y he was sent to teach this subject?

This post has been edited by zyong88: Mar 24 2009, 12:17 PM
vickizack
post Mar 24 2009, 01:42 PM

246 posts

QUOTE(zyong88 @ Mar 24 2009, 12:16 PM)
MMU? i am the student who study in mmu..
the admin of mmu is so..."good"...
u know? every semester, the lecturer will be changed without any reason...
summore, they will send some lecturer who is lack with experience one come to teach us...like teaching engineering graphic one's lecturer can be send to teach workshop technology...

Added on March 24, 2009, 12:17 pmand the lecturer will also ask us that y he was sent to teach this subject?
eh, i study for ee in local uni.. y not the lecturer will change for every sem? hmm.gif
different subject need different lecturer for sure..
i don't think one lecturer can so powerful until can teach all the subject..
antu007
post Mar 24 2009, 01:48 PM

QUOTE(thken @ Mar 24 2009, 11:52 AM)
Hey .. deans/president they come and go ... ur Uni also changed the president rite ??

For 11 years.. MMU under the same admin. We have the reputation that far beyond UTAR.. even some students A-Level Utar/foundation take degree course in MMU rite ??

Added on March 24, 2009, 1:52 pm
QUOTE(thken @ Mar 24 2009, 12:08 PM)
UNITEN reputation droped adi+no good+no gal+boring life
Haha .. reputation = number of gals and how 'cool' is that campus ...

I know got one uni, a lot of gals .. but too many ah bengs

This post has been edited by antu007: Mar 24 2009, 01:52 PM
hsienhsien
post Mar 24 2009, 01:56 PM

Safe Trader
1,490 posts

MMU for sure:)
saturn85
post Mar 24 2009, 05:49 PM

Folding@home
8,686 posts

QUOTE(antu007 @ Mar 24 2009, 01:48 PM)

Added on March 24, 2009, 1:52 pm
Haha .. reputation = number of gals and how 'cool' is that campus ... 

I know got one uni, a lot of gals .. but too many ah bengs
haha, what uni is that? drool.gif
zyong88
post Mar 24 2009, 06:59 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(vickizack @ Mar 24 2009, 01:42 PM)
eh, i study for ee in local uni.. y not the lecturer will change for every sem? hmm.gif
different subject need different lecturer for sure..
i don't think one lecturer can so powerful until can teach all the subject..
no lah, i mean , in 1 sem, the lecturer for 1 subject will be changed to another one without any reason, haha, not each sem change lecturer i mean
saturn85
post Mar 24 2009, 07:05 PM

Folding@home
8,686 posts

QUOTE(zyong88 @ Mar 24 2009, 06:59 PM)
no lah, i mean , in 1 sem, the lecturer for 1 subject will be changed to another one without any reason, haha, not each sem change lecturer i mean
yaya, in 1 sem, 1 subject can be teach by 2 or 3 lecturers..
zyong88
post Mar 24 2009, 07:08 PM

26 posts

summore the english of the lecturer is very "good".
even my friend hwo is very pro one also dunno wat he talking about..
How about other university? also same with mine?
saturn85
post Mar 24 2009, 08:22 PM

Folding@home
8,686 posts

QUOTE(zyong88 @ Mar 24 2009, 07:08 PM)
summore the english of the lecturer is very "good".
even my friend hwo is very pro one also dunno wat he talking about..
How about other university? also same with mine?
really got many types of lecturers.. so are good, some are bad, some are really bad until everybody want spoil his car.. vmad.gif
xenith
post Mar 24 2009, 08:42 PM

409 posts

in my opinion, i'm supporting for MMU !! if u prefer english educated girl, then go for mmu lo.. But if u prefer chinese educated le, then utar has higher probability lo..
sexualpower
post Mar 24 2009, 08:43 PM

1,964 posts

Multimedia University thread

QUOTE(RainJR @ Mar 21 2009, 01:14 PM)
i send adi my application to MMU,but i havent receive any letter which inform me they had receive my application. when i'm checking online admission status, keep on error. I sent my application also to TAR College on the same day with MMU's. But,TAR College already replied and my application at there under consideration. May I know what is going on ?
do u even see any MMU advertisement in The Star newspaper? i see none, this is how serious the admin of MMu has become~

Added on March 22, 2009, 10:56 pm
QUOTE(RainJR @ Mar 21 2009, 01:47 PM)
Oh ya,does MMU Law CLP recognised ?
Law faculty started for an estimated 3 years, it's best that you call MMu to ask~ by the way, also bear in mind that MMu has not been providing information regarding policy change that may be a valid reason for accreditation termination~

Added on March 22, 2009, 10:58 pm
QUOTE(ISFJ @ Mar 21 2009, 04:04 PM)
Can I know the fees for a bachelor's degree in Electric & Electronic Engineering or Electronic Engineering majoring in Telecommunications in MMU for the 2009/2010 intake? I've searched the MMU website but I couldn't find anything about it.

Also, when is the deadline for the application for the June intake?

Thank you  smile.gif
should be around 44k

Added on March 22, 2009, 11:03 pm
QUOTE(Bigblock @ Mar 21 2009, 04:37 PM)
Hows is mechanical eng in MMU? in melaka?the lecturers and all? i am a diploma tele grad from there, but i left in 2008. never knewe much bout the university after that since the new president took over Dr.ghauth's seat. I heard the situation is getting bad is it true?
2nd year students amounting to 50% had failed their Fluid Mechanics and the appeal to have a class to avoid prolonging graduation has been replied with 3 words -> "not enough manpower" pls look at the earlier link regarding the abolishment of W model issue for the answer to your question regarding the new administration after Prof Ghauth went to UM, 1 dean and 2 lecturers went over to UTAR

Added on March 22, 2009, 11:06 pm
QUOTE(Bigblock @ Mar 21 2009, 04:55 PM)
I see... but what are the current prices? hows the new president?since your an src rep in melaka?
there has been rumours on TM giving out MMU tender but no one accepted~ if this were to be true, is it a case of TM selling MMu? could it be linked to the lack of advertisements and sudden increase of failure rates if all these are true? just food for thought

Added on March 22, 2009, 11:10 pm
QUOTE(Bigblock @ Mar 21 2009, 05:13 PM)
Coz i heard the situation is gettin bad there? but what else to do bro so thats why i am askin you since you opened this thread for any inquiry. So i dont thing its right you answer me in this manner, not to flame you here but its best if you answer the questions correctly not by saying "u want to know u talk to him urself and see lo... muahaha". This aint funny to me by any means.
i believe that enquiring is good only if u get answers~ here, take a look, u be the judge~ President's "Foreword" page, "Coming Soon" even when the President is here for almost a year

Added on March 22, 2009, 11:12 pm
QUOTE(gavinfernando @ Mar 21 2009, 05:31 PM)
sorry but i dont mean anything much... truly apologize... Let me put it this way, since im in src, i can barely see the president in melaka.. mostly he will be in cyebr except wednesday where he will be in the office... but the thing is, much thing has happen before... They had change the president. The first president then went to utar... on the way, some lecturers left mmu for utar as well.. and now he is in UM. Then comes in this president... I really cannot comment on this part cox personally I carnt see him often. So, I could not comment. The sentense i put, might upset u or what... and again a apologise.. The meaning behind it... was that even most of us carnt get to see him, and u think everyone can see him? thats the idea... and i dun think u catch it... so, im here to make it clear...

and again... sorry.
it's true that Ghauth is no more in MMu and that lecturers and even a Dean of FOE has went to UTAR, are the new policies which are implemented even in the exam unit and the bell curve from the new president?
QUOTE(corallinkz @ Mar 21 2009, 06:54 PM)
which courses is popular in MMU? can u recommended me courses under engineering, IT related.do u have IMs (msn/ym/gtalk etc) so that i can further ask u there? Please PM me smile.gif
I'd strongly recommend that u stay away from mechanical as the failure rate is very high, u can check the failure rates by downloading the list of students who failed in the bulletin board -> bulletin.mmu.edu.my

i happen to have a downloaded file, sem1 of 2008/2009 (change the extention from .doc to .xls as .xls is not allowed in LYN), i counted 83 students failing fluid mechanics, total students were 160, that's 50%

The new president aint doin all good i see...
well, from my opinion, i don't see why MMu don't wanna earn more if they can~ i think u can check from bulletin board that one of the SRC had put on a thread on starting a class, poor fella~ my advice is that u check the bulletin board for the last semester and then talk directly to him and ask, he's still in SRC after all

Added on March 23, 2009, 12:08 am
The new president aint doin all good i see...And which faculty are you from sexualpower?
standard depends on many factors, supply and demand being one, the government & money being another and nearer to student, it's the professional bodies and in-campus politics~ let me tell u, CPA reported last month that they were not aware of the policy change of MMu, they didn't know about the W model~ so account students, take note~ when a new president comes in with new policies, can u say no to it, i wonder~ will a Dean say no? everyone is working for a payslip at the end of the month and dare u say no to the boss?

as for the W model, it has been implemented and will not be changed from what I've read in the SRC blog

i'm in social university aka working, fortunately~ my sis is in MMu~

QUOTE(corallinkz @ Mar 23 2009, 04:05 AM)
thanks for the recommendation. just want to confirm, SE is not under any of the ENGINEERING in the MMU?
and any chances to go to abroad in MMU? there is no twinning program ?
the word "engineering" means "the process of making"~ most of the time, in profession, the word refers to physical and tangible objects and therefore, we get electrical and electronics engineerings (circuit board), mechanical engineering (engine), robotics engineering (automation) but when it comes to software engineering, u'll be making softwares through building computer codes and then compiling them to become programs~

Added on March 23, 2009, 8:07 pm
I don't think it is a fair comment to say that just because a university has a high failure rate, therefore it is bad. For certain truly difficult subjects, it should not be unexpected to have failures.
u're right, it's not fair to say that high failure rates makes a university bad~ in my opinion, asking "why would high failure rate happen in the first place?" would be a better question~ thanks for your post and lets have a look. here are some possible opinions to why there are high failure rates :
- One of Utar's professor who is an associate dean mentioned that there are measures that ensure that failure rates as high as 50% would not happen (logic : there may be a thorough discussion prior to a policy and not just implementing)

I would be worried if nobody fails in a particular university. That would mean that the standards in that university is extremely poor, and any tom d*** and harry will graduate. In the long run, someone who has a degree from there would find it worthless as potential employees would shun it like the plague (ask around the industry and most hiring managers have a list of local unis to avoid for particular fields).
- who will be responsible when students fail? (logic : 1) the intake policy, 2) lecturers' final questions relating to what he/she has taught 3) the quality of the education from the aforementioned lecturer, 4) policies which does not have space for any adjustments in case of human error like the abolished W model, 5) the students' studies) even if it is the students who are at fault here, it wouldn't be as logic as the aforementioned logic 1 - 4, i wonder "which student doesn't want to pass?" by the way, do u know that if u get just a credit in science and maths, you can be admitted to MMu in the year I enrolled?

I think prior to abolishing the Bell Curve marking system, the quality in MMU has been in decline (have been hearing this often from my friends in industry) due to looser enrollment standards (bound to happen as we have far too many unis, and there are only so many top quality students, universities have to cari makan and will have to let in a quota every year) and poor quality control.
- quality of MMu declining before the abolishment of W model? any proof on this one? (logic : I've seen with my own eyes the past year question papers available from the library and I advice u to have a look as well)

I think seeing more failures in MMU is a positive development. It is not like you have only 1 chance to pass the subject. If you couldn't make it through the first time, retake the subject and work harder the next time around.
- pls be aware that there has been pre-requisites in all courses in MMu at this moment~ any failure of most of the subjects, i estimate 90% of the subjects, would mean that a student has to extend at least 1 year in order to graduate if he/she doesn't want to squeeze that particular subject into the already packed university schedule (logic : an estimated 95% of the subjects offered will only be offered in 1 specified semester and none other, if a person fails a subject, he/she has to wait 1 academic year in order to retake it) will the future students of MMu have to grad with 4 - 6years as opposed to other university students? we're here to learn, not only here to be forced to waste time and be graded~

Lecturer quality can of course still be improved, and i think it is being done with the new policy that is targeting full PhD. academic staff in the near future. The new administration is also taking complaints against lecturers seriously. I know of some who have been hauled up to the disciplinary board because of their poor class performance.
full PhD academic staff... I'll vote u as student representative, my friend~ but not as a president~ no pain no gain~ full PhD academic staff would burn a hole in every student's wallet, as well as having low efficiency for those PhD staffs because they are the only ones who can provide Masters~ if they are going to provide Masters, these students have to choose between part-time or full-time~ If part-time Masters pursuers are not allowed to be lecturers, the cost of maintaining the academic staff would be tremendous and then the square one question arises, why not let Masters qualified PhD pursuers be part-time lecturers to save cost? I guess that shed some light~

thanks for your questions, I think u helped a lot in clearing doubts~
xenith
post Mar 24 2009, 08:43 PM

409 posts

in my opinion, i'm supporting for MMU !! if u prefer english educated girl, then go for mmu lo.. But if u prefer chinese educated le, then utar has higher probability lo..
sexualpower
post Mar 24 2009, 08:46 PM

1,964 posts

QUOTE(xenith @ Mar 24 2009, 08:43 PM)
in my opinion, i'm supporting for MMU !!  if u prefer english educated girl, then go for mmu lo.. But if u prefer chinese educated le, then utar has higher probability lo..
if u prefer english + chinese educated, where would you go? back to square 1?~ no education would mean no girl~ food for thought~
saturn85
post Mar 24 2009, 09:32 PM

Folding@home
8,686 posts

feel that some of the english educated girls are very cool and untouchable, just that you only can see them like walk through the cafe, but you never got chance to make friend with them lo.. sad.gif
sexualpower
post Mar 24 2009, 09:40 PM

1,964 posts

QUOTE(saturn85 @ Mar 24 2009, 09:32 PM)
feel that some of the english educated girls are very cool and untouchable, just that you only can see them like walk through the cafe, but you never got chance to make friend with them lo..  sad.gif
surely everyone is approachable, the ratio of girls to guys are approximately 2 to 1~ where will all the girls get sex?~
RainJR
post Mar 24 2009, 09:48 PM

342 posts

walao = = study place,become the place to kao lui ?
saturn85
post Mar 24 2009, 09:57 PM

Folding@home
8,686 posts

QUOTE(sexualpower @ Mar 24 2009, 09:40 PM)
surely everyone is approachable, the ratio of girls to guys are approximately 2 to 1~ where will all the girls get sex?~
wao, you there really can call guys' heaven.. 2 to 1.. rclxm9.gif so good..
sexualpower
post Mar 24 2009, 10:08 PM

1,964 posts

QUOTE(saturn85 @ Mar 24 2009, 09:57 PM)
wao, you there really can call guys' heaven..  2 to 1..  rclxm9.gif so good..
i was and i am referring to the whole world in general~ the ratio seems like moving towards a 5:2 from the past statistics, good heaven time happy.gifv
saturn85
post Mar 24 2009, 10:42 PM

Folding@home
8,686 posts

QUOTE(sexualpower @ Mar 24 2009, 10:08 PM)
i was and i am referring to the whole world in general~ the ratio seems like moving towards a 5:2 from the past statistics, good heaven time happy.gifv
but unfortunely not all the places are heaven, some places are called desert..

heaven definition: full of flowers inside, where also can see beautiful flowers.. rclxm9.gif
desert definition: no flowers inside, but instead, cactus.. cry.gif

Added on March 24, 2009, 10:50 pm
QUOTE(RainJR @ Mar 24 2009, 09:48 PM)
walao = = study place,become the place to kao lui ?
around this age, guys normally will looks for girls la..
university is a good place to kao lui, nobody will refurse about it.. icon_rolleyes.gif
from a student view, university is for kao lui one.. brows.gif

This post has been edited by saturn85: Mar 24 2009, 10:50 PM
jacktmj
post Mar 25 2009, 11:55 AM

130 posts

QUOTE(Faith+1 @ Mar 17 2009, 08:18 PM)
Busy concentrating at girls? Too much students? Too much girls students in lecture hall izzit?

brows.gif

Btw, I prefer a uni with better facilities.
Ya... Talking about facilities...
Im having a "Tri"-lemma actually...wanna ask u sumtin abt it... will start a thread about it...

Lowyathttp://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=976033
jki
post Mar 30 2009, 03:54 PM

Apparently, the new UTAR campus in Kampar are completed with facilities, so i think the study environment should be ok.

I'm graduated from UTAR (got an offer from MMU too, MMU campus is really big biggrin.gif ), i didnt face any problem in job hunting. After graduated from UTAR, i send my 1st resume & got my 1st job.
1yr worked with my previous company, i send 3 resume & 3 interviewed, got 2 offer -> one is my current company which is a Public listed & another is an international company manufacture Tobacco. I sacrifice the Inter. Company which i regretted now blush.gif ........

But i think since its economy recession, it would be hard to get a job regardless of the graduate university. For me, i choose UTAR bcoz of the cost is cheaper than MMU & the campus is nearer to my house, thats all.... tongue.gif..........I have to admit that UTAR really got a lot of leng lui......sometimes really hard to concentrate 1 la......but no leng chai.......... brows.gif

This post has been edited by jki: Mar 30 2009, 03:57 PM
jasperng
post Mar 30 2009, 05:03 PM

- Eminent Leader -
1,264 posts

are you working at BAT ? since it is Tobacco ....

what course did you study ?
ron4
post Mar 30 2009, 05:15 PM

1,123 posts

Of coz lah, MMU is better
matti
post Mar 30 2009, 05:58 PM

66 posts

agree rclxms.gif
stevenchang
post Mar 31 2009, 06:12 PM

160 posts

UTAR Kampar got a very good study environment. The scenery is great. The campus and the place you're staying will be far from those cyber cafes. In fact, you can hardly get one near UTAR Kampar. Can only get lots of cyber cafes at KTAR there. So you can concentrate on your studies? =)

And yea, the best thing in UTAR Kampar is that you will get to know the best chinese girls from Malaysia. hahahaha!
Layman-kun
post Mar 31 2009, 09:06 PM

26 posts

lol, 4 me i like education rather than leng lui lo, but sometimes c leng lui can make study less stressful. biggrin.gif No offense to females or anyone else.
saturn85
post Mar 31 2009, 10:58 PM

Folding@home
8,686 posts

QUOTE(stevenchang @ Mar 31 2009, 06:12 PM)
And yea, the best thing in UTAR Kampar is that you will get to know the best chinese girls from Malaysia. hahahaha!
wao, sure ah? the best girl? drool.gif
stevenchang
post Mar 31 2009, 11:24 PM

160 posts

QUOTE(saturn85 @ Mar 31 2009, 10:58 PM)
wao, sure ah? the best girl?  drool.gif
yea. Ipoh is the best! hehe!
sexualpower
post Apr 1 2009, 12:22 AM

1,964 posts

zzz~ girls also a factor? u can go to work at ipoh ma~ then walk up and get phone number + email~
saturn85
post Apr 1 2009, 01:07 AM

Folding@home
8,686 posts

QUOTE(stevenchang @ Mar 31 2009, 11:24 PM)
yea. Ipoh is the best! hehe!
haha, but feel that KL girls lagi leng lui wor.. whistling.gif
PlaYBoyiscool
post Apr 1 2009, 09:51 PM

34 posts

of coz KL have alot leng lui compare to melaka,im from melaka and sometime its hard to spot any leng lui in shopping mall but in kl go to midvalley everyday also can see many leng lui @@..
saturn85
post Apr 1 2009, 10:25 PM

Folding@home
8,686 posts

QUOTE(PlaYBoyiscool @ Apr 1 2009, 09:51 PM)
of coz KL have alot leng lui compare to melaka,im from melaka and sometime its hard to spot any leng lui in shopping mall but in kl go to midvalley everyday also can see many leng lui @@..
haha, move your house to KL.. good for you.. thumbup.gif
LilCroSs
post Apr 2 2009, 12:21 PM

46 posts

QUOTE(jki @ Mar 30 2009, 03:54 PM)
Apparently, the new UTAR campus in Kampar are completed with facilities, so i think the study environment should be ok.

I'm graduated from UTAR (got an offer from MMU too, MMU campus is really big biggrin.gif ), i didnt face any problem in job hunting. After graduated from UTAR, i send my 1st resume & got my 1st job.
1yr worked with my previous company, i send 3 resume & 3 interviewed, got 2 offer -> one is my current company which is a Public listed & another is an international company manufacture Tobacco. I sacrifice the Inter. Company which i regretted now  blush.gif ........

But i think since its economy recession, it would be hard to get a job regardless of the graduate university. For me, i choose UTAR bcoz of the cost is cheaper than MMU & the campus is nearer to my house, thats all.... tongue.gif..........I have to admit that UTAR really got a lot of leng lui......sometimes really hard to concentrate 1 la......but no leng chai.......... :hehe:
I agreed wif this smile.gif Sometime cant even pay attention in class xD
saturn85
post Apr 2 2009, 10:09 PM

Folding@home
8,686 posts

QUOTE(jki @ Mar 30 2009, 03:54 PM)
I have to admit that UTAR really got a lot of leng lui......sometimes really hard to concentrate 1 la......but no leng chai.......... brows.gif
another heaven for guys.. drool.gif
why i damn unfortune.. live in desert.. cry.gif
kentaresquah
post Apr 2 2009, 11:50 PM

skip the lenglui part, Do Utar have good lecturers?
saturn85
post Apr 3 2009, 02:01 AM

Folding@home
8,686 posts

i think every uni also got good lecturers la, but not all of them are good, got some are bad and make students angry one.. mad.gif
ice.alan
post Apr 3 2009, 02:06 PM

67 posts

hey guys...I gonna submit my offered letter to MMU soon.I taking business studeis in MMU...How is the Business studies offered in MMU??

MMU(malacca) got lots leng lui?
just curious about it..
haha
saturn85
post Apr 3 2009, 11:05 PM

Folding@home
8,686 posts

QUOTE(ice.alan @ Apr 3 2009, 02:06 PM)
just curious about it..
haha
i think got la, and mostly are rich girls, from rich family.. brows.gif
ice.alan
post Apr 4 2009, 02:36 PM

67 posts

QUOTE(saturn85 @ Apr 3 2009, 11:05 PM)
i think got la, and mostly are rich girls, from rich family..  brows.gif
how you know?you studying there?

sexualpower
post Apr 4 2009, 03:17 PM

1,964 posts

QUOTE(ice.alan @ Apr 3 2009, 02:06 PM)
hey guys...I gonna submit my offered letter to MMU soon.I taking business studeis in MMU...How is the Business studies offered in MMU??

just curious about it..
haha
no leng lui~ u can check out pics at chinese cari and Chinese Language Society forum (MMU)~
saturn85
post Apr 4 2009, 10:45 PM

Folding@home
8,686 posts

QUOTE(ice.alan @ Apr 4 2009, 02:36 PM)
how you know?you studying there?
hehe, i listen my friend said only, dont know true or not.. hmm.gif
bro sexualpower say dont have, then maybe really dont have.. cry.gif
thken
post Apr 8 2009, 12:41 PM

keep walking
938 posts

QUOTE(kentaresquah @ Apr 2 2009, 11:50 PM)
skip the lenglui  part, Do Utar have  good lecturers?
i think this shouldn't be a problem. MMU engineering dean moved to UTAR adi.
some more lecturers in UTAR are mostly chinese graduated from overseas

Added on April 8, 2009, 12:41 pm
QUOTE(sexualpower @ Apr 4 2009, 03:17 PM)
no leng lui~ u can check out pics at chinese cari and Chinese Language Society forum (MMU)~
wow, u did research!!! thumbup.gif

Added on April 8, 2009, 12:42 pm
QUOTE(saturn85 @ Apr 4 2009, 10:45 PM)
hehe, i listen my friend said only, dont know true or not..   hmm.gif
bro sexualpower say dont have, then maybe really dont have..   cry.gif
Beauty is in the eye of the beholder

Added on April 8, 2009, 12:44 pmbtw, what is the ratio of gals to boys in UTAR, i want to know!!!

This post has been edited by thken: Apr 8 2009, 12:44 PM
saturn85
post Apr 9 2009, 03:53 AM

Folding@home
8,686 posts

QUOTE(thken @ Apr 8 2009, 12:41 PM)
btw, what is the ratio of gals to boys in UTAR, i want to know!!!
i think is around 60 girls, 40 guys.. hmm.gif
but not so sure la, heard from my friend..
LilCroSs
post Apr 9 2009, 11:24 AM

46 posts

QUOTE(saturn85 @ Apr 9 2009, 03:53 AM)
i think is around 60 girls, 40 guys..  hmm.gif
but not so sure la, heard from my friend..
It's depends on courses, for IT stream girl's ratio will be 1:7 compared to boy.
ice.alan
post Apr 9 2009, 06:42 PM

67 posts

haiz...no leng lui.....

wait for my answer I gonna study in MMU malacca..very soon

This post has been edited by ice.alan: Apr 9 2009, 06:45 PM
macaulai
post Apr 10 2009, 10:10 PM

63 posts

MMU malacca not bad lar, low living cost, a lot of great food, a lot of night life, and girl from pei feng middle school not bad at all.
sexualpower
post Apr 11 2009, 12:17 AM

1,964 posts

QUOTE(macaulai @ Apr 10 2009, 10:10 PM)
MMU malacca not bad lar, low living cost, a lot of great food, a lot of night life, and girl from pei feng middle school not bad at all.
QUOTE(macaulai @ Apr 10 2009, 10:12 PM)
MMU malacca campus not bad also. smile.gif
up to 50% failure rate, lack of staff, president, a dean, an associate dean and 2 lecturers left, unusual KPI for lecturers, abolishment of W model aka bell curve and still requiring 4 years for subjects which internationally require 3~ u call that "not bad"? i think u r either very positive or ignorant~
saturn85
post Apr 11 2009, 03:19 AM

Folding@home
8,686 posts

QUOTE(macaulai @ Apr 10 2009, 10:10 PM)
most like the night life.. thumbup.gif
girl from pei feng middle school not bad at all? brows.gif
skzisghost
post Apr 11 2009, 09:45 AM

267 posts

nightlife juz pub and dota oni still got what ???btw who say low living cost in malacca??unless your a nerd who stay in home always to study la....but the food in melacca is delicious..its true ;D...how to have chance to get to know pei feng girl leh??coz the distance between mmu n those secondary school such as gbs and pei feng is quiet far...and not much leng lui in these school oso..alot of my friend going mmu melacca without doing any research just because they stay in melacca..im sure someday they will regret about it lol.
stevenchang
post Apr 11 2009, 12:24 PM

160 posts

UTAR Kampar got the best girls around in Malaysia, no doubt about it. But it's quite bored there. The best we could get is just Tesco. haha! Do u want to have a date in Tesco? LOL!
konbawa
post Apr 11 2009, 12:27 PM

423 posts

although MMU reputation is dacaying, but in term of electronic course MMU still defeat Utar.
winter-X
post Apr 11 2009, 12:47 PM

458 posts

lol...i wonder u all discussing abt gals or the education...can i know how u all get ur fees for foundation since there is no loan for foundation?
my spm results is 4a1 7b3...phy add-math math A1...but i dun think there is a 'space' for scholarship to me...
stevenchang
post Apr 11 2009, 08:05 PM

160 posts

QUOTE(winter-X @ Apr 11 2009, 12:47 PM)
lol...i wonder u all discussing abt gals or the education...can i know how u all get ur fees for foundation since there is no loan for foundation?
my spm results is 4a1 7b3...phy add-math math A1...but i dun think there is a 'space' for scholarship to me...
yo bro. lol. there's time to have fun when we talk about girls and there's time to be serious when we talk about education. =) so, kinda balance here. haha!

to prove to u that i'm a man on my words, i'll answer ur questions. =)

the fees for foundation is around 6.2k for foundation in arts. scienece would be slightly a bit expensive cause got lab work but the fees won't be more than 7k. u pay the amount of $ separately in 2 semesters. unless u're rich, u can pay all at once. base on ur result, u wont get any scholarship. u need at least 7As. u can get some loans if u want. but PTPTN doesn't provide loan for foundation if i'm not mistaken.
winter-X
post Apr 12 2009, 12:00 AM

458 posts

ya...thats the problem...actually my original plan is go study foundation on Engineering in APIIT...but ptptn doesn't provide loan for foundation...and my family cant afford the fees...so i had to go form6...but i heard utar foundation fees quite cheap...maybe my parents will consider utar...but can i take degree course on APIIT if i take foundation on UTAR?

conclusion is utar better than mmu in term of lecturer but mmu better than utar in term of facilities...am i correct?
stevenchang
post Apr 12 2009, 12:08 AM

160 posts

erm, ur conclusion. i think lecturers n facilities from mmu are better than utar just for now. but i heard many ppl saying mmu is decaying. so it's sooner or rather later utar will take over as a better one. especially the facilities there in utar kampar. u should have a look at the buildings and the environment there. gonna be as huge as UM in the future and hopefully better. =)
sexualpower
post Apr 13 2009, 09:37 PM

1,964 posts

QUOTE(winter-X @ Apr 12 2009, 12:00 AM)
ya...thats the problem...actually my original plan is go study foundation on Engineering in APIIT...but ptptn doesn't provide loan for foundation...and my family cant afford the fees...so i had to go form6...but i heard utar foundation fees quite cheap...maybe my parents will consider utar...but can i take degree course on APIIT if i take foundation on UTAR?

conclusion is utar better than mmu in term of lecturer but mmu better than utar in term of facilities...am i correct?
i strongly recommend aiming for IPTA~ form6 is better in all aspects except the security in getting the course u want~ with the new cabinet, i'm confident that things will be fair and good~

ipta allows u to regain part of the money your parents have paid as taxes to the government that is used partially to subsidize IPTA education~ there is about 20 IPTA that u are allowed to get a place at and facilities is top in the whole country~ i've no idea about the lecturers as I've only seen the lab facilities and the lakes... and the large campuses~ maybe u can ask about the lecturers and how 2 years ago's form 6 grads for their intake easiness~
harvster
post Apr 13 2009, 10:07 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(sexualpower @ Apr 13 2009, 09:37 PM)
i strongly recommend aiming for IPTA~ form6 is better in all aspects except the security in getting the course u want~ with the new cabinet, i'm confident that things will be fair and good~

ipta allows u to regain part of the money your parents have paid as taxes to the government that is used partially to subsidize IPTA education~ there is about 20 IPTA that u are allowed to get a place at and facilities is top in the whole country~ i've no idea about the lecturers as I've only seen the lab facilities and the lakes... and the large campuses~ maybe u can ask about the lecturers and how 2 years ago's form 6 grads for their intake easiness~
government only gives diploma courses for ipta if u are a nonbumi. if u want degree then u gotta do f6.
saturn85
post Apr 13 2009, 10:15 PM

Folding@home
8,686 posts

form 6 and matriculation is easier to get into uni compare to diploma holder..
sexualpower
post Apr 13 2009, 10:16 PM

1,964 posts

i recommend form6, what is wrong with form 6? i'd like to know~ i've taken form 6 when i was in the high school days and have chosen MMU in the end and regreted~
saturn85
post Apr 14 2009, 01:28 AM

Folding@home
8,686 posts

QUOTE(sexualpower @ Apr 13 2009, 10:16 PM)
i recommend form6, what is wrong with form 6? i'd like to know~ i've taken form 6 when i was in the high school days and have chosen MMU in the end and regreted~
looks like you got nightmare in MMU..
what happen actually?
shohoku_14
post May 10 2009, 11:05 PM

89 posts

Hello all,

Facilities : The library was good, and the best (my opinion) is the online system, we call it MMLS, where is the place the lecturer will upload all their teaching material so that the student can have a copy prior to class. I always use only this notes as my revision material. Same applies to tutorial, some lecturer will be kind enough to upload the answer of the tutorial for your reference(I mean after the tutorial discussion)

MMLS, sometimes still occur network time up or bla bla blah. and most worst is Online System. This online system like already put on AI. Whenever time to register subject online, it will crash... Whenever want to download Exam slip, it will crash.. Whenever no do with it, it will smooth... F***

kayexem
post Mar 18 2010, 07:45 PM

93 posts

can give me some insight on BEng Electronics majoring in Multimedia? thanks =)
PikachuPikachu
post Mar 19 2010, 02:06 AM

175 posts

QUOTE(kayexem @ Mar 18 2010, 07:45 PM)
can give me some insight on BEng Electronics majoring in Multimedia? thanks =)
http://foe.mmu.edu.my/v2/main/undergrad/beng_multi.html
EvanSoon
post Mar 19 2010, 09:21 AM

Young and Sexy!
865 posts

QUOTE(sexualpower @ Apr 13 2009, 10:16 PM)
form 6 is nice but its not always the smarter choice.. there is no placing to IPTA for students with average results other than pertanian? thats what i got.. i dun like to read from the books but learn practically.. I am in MMU too because the "fair" gov gave me pertanian.. i am not grateful to MMU for accepting me in cos they just want my parent's money n i agree it kind of sucks here A LOT~
but i dun think i would do any better in any local IPTS also..

but on the other hand.. form 6 made me grow up a lot.. compared to my other coursemates i can consider myself a more mature guy then them although maybe they can get better results than me but my way of thinking is more practical for the future and not to just score A. its a good life experience in form 6..
fastreader
post Mar 19 2010, 10:42 AM

4,554 posts

well, if living cost is a concern...maybe MMU melaka would b better...

otherwise for Utar, maybe try the perak campus....BOTH would b fine....all are recognised
worrying spm result
post Jan 10 2015, 10:43 PM

does anyone take the law course in mmu? i wish to know some information .thank you!

0.0496sec    0.35    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 07:00 AM