Life Sciences The PHARMACY Thread, everything you need to know/ask

sandrateoh
post Aug 4 2010, 01:14 AM

65 posts

Hi,guys..i did the stupid-est mistake in my life which was doing diploma in pharmacy so i end up cant enter any university in Msia as they need more than 3.8 cgpa only can enter 1st year and no one in my class reach 3.8,and most funny thing was we actually combined class and study with the degree in pharmacy student.
so i gonna work first and continue my degree in indonesia next year.so please do not do diploma in pharmacy or else going to end up like me and the rest of my classmates.
sandrateoh
post Aug 5 2010, 08:05 PM

65 posts

Btw,i plan to do my A level as private candidates,do u guys think that this can work out?will it be very tough?besides self study,i will find tutor for A level to teach me the subject lor..cos i m had wated 3 years for dip.pharm d,so now if wan to do a level,register as private candidates is the fastest way for pre-u lo..any idea???thanks..
sandrateoh
post Aug 5 2010, 08:42 PM

65 posts

hi,i just found out that university of sunderland is accepting diploma with cgpa 3.0 above,and the fees is ard rm200k,last time i tot it was 600k..well,now have one more option..
sandrateoh
post Aug 5 2010, 09:03 PM

65 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Aug 5 2010, 08:50 PM)
have u included cost of living and everything else?
not yet,but the fees still can cover,living cost another 200k(hostel 185 pound/mth) plus i can work part time there lor..but rather than stuck in diploma lo,i really wanted to become a pharmacist badly,its my dream since i m 15 yrs old but i choose the wrong path earlier lo,so end up like this.if they are accepting me,mayb i can work 1st then enroll next year degree,at least work 1 year can get ard 30k,not much but i does help lo.anyway,will call the UoS in charge person tomolo to ask for details.
sandrateoh
post Aug 5 2010, 09:45 PM

65 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Aug 5 2010, 09:28 PM)
how many years will u be exempted from?
i dun think got exemption lor,cos in malysia if u got 3.8 oso u oso need to start from 1st year.other oversea uni like indonesia,australia oso cant do credit transfer.last time in msia can straight get into 2 yr degree but when im halfway diploma,pharm board change the rules..many of my fren go do medic after diploma as the requirement oni cgpa 3.0,very funny rite,qualified for medic but not qualified for pharm degree..btw,tomolo will cal the international office od UoS and ask further details lo.. biggrin.gif
sandrateoh
post Aug 6 2010, 10:56 PM

65 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Aug 5 2010, 11:55 PM)
so u r doing 4 years all over again??  blink.gif
yup..doin 4 yrs all over again..btw,went to the UoS office today and submitted my application,the application still available,but not so sure can get o not lor.the person in charge say shud be no prob but will be rush lor..hope for the best lor..
sandrateoh
post Aug 8 2010, 07:02 PM

65 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Aug 7 2010, 08:36 AM)
all 4 years at UoS? unsure.gif
yup..all 4 yrs at UoS..$$$$ is big prob now as my parents were worried bout the currency might went high while i was still studying and its v risky..so not going d..do foundation in science instead,spend 1 more yr and continue degree in b.pharm,its kinda waste of time i think but as long as i can grad as a pharmacist,age is not a problem..was thinking of mahsa foundation in science as they hv intake next month and by next yr can complete d..i m more confident in doing foundation in science rather than other Pre-u such as A level o SAM.most university do take foundation in science rite?how bout IMU?do they take foundation in science?thanks..
sandrateoh
post Aug 8 2010, 07:27 PM

65 posts

QUOTE(loveless90 @ Aug 8 2010, 07:16 PM)
Why not take SAM? The duration is the same as foundation in science. And its much more recognized than fd in science.

And if you cant do well in SAM, what makes you think you can handle Bpharm? U've gone thru diploma in pharmacy, i believe taking SAM will not be a big trouble for u...i personally do not advise you to go for foundation in science, not to mention that its MAHSA's fd in science. Recognition is only limited to MAHSA college IINM.

Hi,loveless90,if i take SAM i can only enter degree in2012 as next yr jan is the intake n november oni will be the exam but with foun. in science,i might as well enter b.pharm by next yr so i m gonna call up all the available university for b.pharm tomolo and ask whther they do accept foundation,and some fren told me some uni willl accept foun in science,i hv fren who did foun.in sci in aismt but he got dentistry for other uni .and for my diploma,i have combined class with degree student and study the same thing and have the same exam,so basically i m doing a degree syllabus diploma in pharm,so after entering degree,everything will be v easy for me as i have gone through most of the subject.thanks o...
sandrateoh
post Aug 9 2010, 11:49 PM

65 posts

Dear Jerk,

thanks a lot for ur reply.i m diploma form aimst,and i have asked whole msia university that hv b.pharm,they will only take student with 3.8 cgpa above for diploma..after thinking ur words,u r right with the pre-u thing,SAM will be more recognize compare to foun in sci..then next yr sit for indonesia uni entrance exam and if got,withdraw from SAM and go indo..

sandrateoh
post Aug 12 2010, 10:45 AM

65 posts

QUOTE(jerk @ Aug 10 2010, 12:16 PM)
@sandrateoh

i didnt know aimst was offering a course in pharmacy at diploma level in the past. did they phaze it out?

the bottom line is, to try to keep your options in the future wide open.

i am sure your knowledge and experience would be of great help to others in this thread.

Added on August 10, 2010, 4:08 pm@sandrateoh

anyway, just take a look at curtin australia. as far as i am aware of, curtin do offer credit for previous unit done.

"If you have previously worked or studied in this field, you are encouraged to contact the Faculty to discuss eligibility for recognition of prior learning."

if not, they might be willing to let you join the first years February 2011. skipping any pre-u qualification years straight would be better if your parents can afford to send you overseas.
Dear jerk,

my class is the one and only batch for diploma in pharmacy in AIMST. Its a long story to explain why would i end up like this. After thinking quite a long time,i've decided to apply for indo university(gadjah mada and padjadjaran) next year via sitting for their entrance exam.uni of sunderland UK do ooffer me d,but the currency might went high when i m half way doing my degree then my mum cant afford if like this,so its kinda risky.Btw,curtin do offer credit transfer?where can i find the details?ausssie wil be cheaper than UK is it?thanks a lot for ur information o..
sandrateoh
post Aug 12 2010, 11:18 AM

65 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Aug 12 2010, 11:11 AM)
so u will working for the time being?

it depends. if you compare 4 years in aus and 4 years in uk, aus will be cheaper. i dun think courses like pharmacy offer credit transfers. even if i study at monash sunway, i can't transfer over to monash parkville at my own will.
not sure what m i goin to do..dun think will go work,if work oso will only help out my family business,cos since i m goin to continue my study,no point working,its better if i prepare for my next yr indo entrance exam.got agent told me that studying in aus will be more expensive compare to Uk so i didn think of uni in aus..but if they do can oofer credit transfer like wat jerk say,then can be consider lor..will call up IDP and ask c how lor..haiz..so miserable.. cry.gif

Added on August 12, 2010, 11:23 am
QUOTE(jerk @ Aug 12 2010, 11:15 AM)
@sandrateoh

but SEGi is offering 2+2 wiith university of sunderland, that should work out to be cheaper than all 4 years at UoS.

i would not say that all four years in aus will turn out to be cheaper than uk but 400k malaysian ringgit should be quite a safe figure to complete 4 years degree all in.

fees would cause around 12 - 13 k AUD per semester. the exchange rate now is lingering at near 3.0. rent is normally 130 per week. a meal take away would cost 8 AUD. just in case you want to do some calculation.

curtin do offers recognition of prior learning, that is what they call it.
http://international.curtin.edu.au/recogni...or-learning.htm
http://rpl.students.curtin.edu.au/searchBy...CourseStudy.jsf

it works on the principle of credit transfer i guess, but they do exempt you from taking some first year units.
Jerk,

SEGI 2+2 twinning also require 3.8 cgpa above..=(..i can only study in UK for 4 yrs if i wan m.pharm from sunderland...400k is definitely more than enuf d..but if currency when to 1 pounds=rm8..then i sure die thr..aus de fees more expensive than UoS,UoS fees for 4 yrs is rm150k is convert busing currency now..per year 7050 pounds..but if aus can offer credit transfer,then can think of it lor..

This post has been edited by sandrateoh: Aug 12 2010, 11:23 AM
sandrateoh
post Aug 12 2010, 11:57 AM

65 posts

QUOTE(jerk @ Aug 12 2010, 11:41 AM)
@sandrateoh

i think UoS has one of the cheapest pharmacy course over in uk. i am not sure where curtin stands but i suppose they are not the most expensive. the cost of living in aus on a first look is quite expensive, but if you are working part time, then you could easily cut the cost into half or more.

considering the exchange rate when i calculated quite some time ago, i dont think 4 years in uk or aus made that much difference.

but anything is worth trying.
Dear jerk,

really thanks a lot for ur information,everytime when i think of giving up,there's a new hope again..haha..hope everytinh will be smooth,i check the website for curtin uni,their sylabbus and the credit course,i have ald taken most of the sunject but dun know how they will look into this.as i m dong degree based diploma so the subject is just same as degree.u doing b.pharm also?in malaysia?

sandrateoh
post Aug 12 2010, 12:00 PM

65 posts

QUOTE(Fantasia @ Aug 12 2010, 11:58 AM)
i'm so close to pharmacy... sad.gif

dear fantasia,

why u say so??wat happen?
sandrateoh
post Aug 12 2010, 12:19 PM

65 posts

Dear jerk,

not sure also will them exempt me and they do charge application fees for the application,not sure how much they going to charge also..for money wise,indonesia is the best choice for now..

fantasia,
u can still apply for other university with ur results ar,i m stuck due to my diploma in pharmacy..haih..
sandrateoh
post Aug 12 2010, 12:48 PM

65 posts

@ fantasia

i took diploma in pharm 3 yrs back cos that time with cgpa 2.5 we can cont degree into 2nd yr 2nd sem of degree but pharm board change the rules suddenly so i end up like this..so pathetic..sad and frustrated..foun in sci can enter degree in pharm with cgpa 3.0 while dip.pharm need 3.8 oni can enter..haih..
sandrateoh
post Aug 12 2010, 01:41 PM

65 posts

@zstan

ya,i have think very clearly d,just as wat one of my favorite pharmacist said : "in the end everyone becomes an frp and whether ur a good pharmacist does not depend on where u graduate but ur working attitude"

then for now,might be goin for some short course lo,i have another 8 month till the entrance exam for next yr so i can start preparing for my entrance exam next yr,or perhaps i can take up some short language course(japanese,france etc),or find some other thing to do lor..8 mth will passed very fast d,u r also waiting for another 6 mth rite,so how u spend ur time?
sandrateoh
post Aug 12 2010, 02:27 PM

65 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Aug 12 2010, 01:58 PM)
if u r doing business course, then yes, no matter where u graduate from its the same(if u only plan to work in Malaysia).

for professional courses, such as pharmacy and medicine, it DOES matter where u come from.

more established unis are more likely to get better hospitals, or better networking with pharmaceutical companies for the student's exposure. the lecturer's in good unis are also generally more experienced. they have more experience to share compared to some lecturers at an unknown uni where they only teach you theories.

the equipments for good unis certainly outweigh those lesser unis as they have more fundings(expensive course fees is one of the contributors).

but having said that, if you just plan to work happily in a pharmacy 9-5 everyday in malaysia, you can ignore what i say above. as long as you know your drugs, and have good working attitude, you are good to go.

erm..working for my dad full time now.  unsure.gif
@zstan

ya,u r right with ur statement..but now i dun hv much choice,for time wise and money wise,go indonesia..for quality wise and time wise but not money wise,go uni of sunderland..haih..its my destiny d.. cry.gif
sandrateoh
post Aug 12 2010, 02:51 PM

65 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Aug 12 2010, 02:38 PM)
@sandra
so u doing 4 years all over in indo? or got exemptions?
ya,even go indo also start from 1st year..most of my clasmates oso gonna do like this..some go work,sun change course..but i not going to work as AP and i wan to continue..it will be easy for me when enter degree time..cos i had study most of the subject d..
sandrateoh
post Aug 12 2010, 02:58 PM

65 posts

@ fantasia

u can go other uni for pharmacy ar,dont waste ur result and do biotech,the job prospect is v much lower than pharmacy..i have a fren did biotech then now she do her degree in pharm,got another finish biotech then do mbbs..íf not u can go UK to cont ur degree..
sandrateoh
post Aug 12 2010, 03:45 PM

65 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Aug 12 2010, 03:12 PM)
both are 2 totaly different course leh... are u sure u know what u want?  shocking.gif
pharmacy in ucsi already about 10 years liao..they have their own issues la..no doubt about it..

for the notts part, that will only be true if u stay back at uk(not really sure about this also), but if u come back to malaysia, you have to work at gov hospital irregardless where u graduate from.

however i do agree that counsellors n marketing people at monash are idiots!!!  shakehead.gif

Added on August 12, 2010, 3:13 pm

when is entrance exam? how much is the course?
@zstan

the entrance exam will be next year May..the fees was cheap thr USD 21k for 4 yrs..and its recognize by Malaysia..so u think worth it?as i said its money wise but the standard of cos cant compare with monash and nottingham lor..those who took the entrance exam gv me advice to prepare earlier then sure no prob d..they said its just a bit more than spm and pre-u standard.the entrance exam will be 100 ques mcq,including phy,bio,chem and math..cant use calculator,but according to those who take exam the ques that need calculation can do by hand,the number will be easy to calculate lo..

0.0399sec    0.78    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 01:13 PM