My Comments on Maxis's Iphone 3G plan, Discussion..

zer0hour
post Mar 13 2009, 05:59 PM

Unlike Any Other
1,864 posts

Err you're ignoring the value of included airtime. So, to properly compare a black market Iphone with i-value 4 (for example) you should be comparing with Value Plus 250+unlimited data plan; i.e. RM2250+ (RM349x24) = RM10,626. Vs i-value 4 (using your value) of RM9260, a user should clearly subscribe to i-value 4 vs buying a black market phone given that usage profile.
zer0hour
post Mar 13 2009, 09:21 PM

Unlike Any Other
1,864 posts

QUOTE(raycol97 @ Mar 13 2009, 06:33 PM)
yeah. if u really need the airtime, you should compare it that way. my illustration only opt for the cheapest way. sorry. smile.gif
Np, I know a complete statistical analysis would take too much time =p
I only did the math for i-value 4 cos I'm actually the user in my post, I'm currently on Value Plus 250+unlimited data. i-value 4 is clearly superior for me =p

QUOTE(Syd G @ Mar 13 2009, 06:37 PM)
btw, i-Value 4 is excluding SMS, whilst Value Plus 250 includes SMS/MMS/additional Maxis hidden fees which counts for a huge chunk of my phone bills.

If an i-Value 4 user uses more than RM56.92 worth of SMS/MMS/etc every month, the price is equal; in addition to the freedom to switch telco and (sell phone + change plan) without paying additional $$ to Maxis.

My personal action : 1) wait for the new iPhone refresh (which is due sometime this year) 2) switch to DiGi 50 + the rumoured rm49 unlimited digi 3g brows.gif
Well, that's not 100% true. Yes, SMS/MMS is included with a Value Plus Plan, but you don't get any free SMSes. You still have to pay, i.e. the cost for them still comes out of your plan.
So under Value Plus 250 your hypothesis only holds if your usage is at or under (2500-x)mins, where x is the amount of SMSes you send, given that 1min=1SMS (both at 10 sen).
zer0hour
post Mar 17 2009, 02:42 AM

Unlike Any Other
1,864 posts

Also, if you live and work in KL you'll find that you're pretty much in the constant glow of a Wi-Fi hotspot. Mobile data's pretty much only useful in the car.
zer0hour
post Mar 17 2009, 03:47 PM

Unlike Any Other
1,864 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Mar 17 2009, 01:10 PM)
@zer0hour,
Well... it's always good to have data connectivity wherever you are, plus generally most of us here do not work and live in KL where there's wifi everywhere! tongue.gif
Yupz, I know, mobile data is important for those outside KL. I'm just saying, for someone like me 2-3GB is way more than enough cos of wifi.
Office (KLCC) wifi, home (Bangsar) wifi, most cafes+restaurants, even my gym, wifi. That pretty much leaves car+kopitiam as places I would use mobile data =p
zer0hour
post Mar 17 2009, 04:29 PM

Unlike Any Other
1,864 posts

QUOTE(raycol97 @ Mar 17 2009, 04:17 PM)
I purchased my iphone 3G in Aug '08.

Personally, I think most of the free wifi services in kl sxxks. Most of the time, I would rather use the 3G service, as it is fast enough to surf net or other fuctions (I have tried both the 3G services of Maxis and Celcom).. 

So, for me, unlimited data plan is CRUCIAL.. smile.gif
Really? I had the Iphone 2G for a year, and the HTC Touch HD after. Wifi speed>3G speed at most of the places I visit.
Dodgy cafes are the exception of cos, some of those places are terrible.
zer0hour
post Mar 17 2009, 05:19 PM

Unlike Any Other
1,864 posts

QUOTE(raycol97 @ Mar 17 2009, 04:44 PM)
Theoritically, WIFI should be faster than 3G... However, the only place I found wifi most reliable is... my house.. tongue.gif

Anyway, once u get used to 3G, u will be lazy to search around for the WIFI spot.. just my 2 cents.  smile.gif
Nah I don't mean theoretically. As for searching around for Wifi spots, the ones I use are pretty much all the same network name, so it autoconnects.
Examples: WirelessKL, starbucks, timezone, etc.
zer0hour
post Mar 19 2009, 03:09 PM

Unlike Any Other
1,864 posts

QUOTE(timothyy @ Mar 19 2009, 10:04 AM)
Guys... good calculation there. I believe if you are using the data and enough talktime, Maxis plan is always the best way to go about getting the iphone.

But I believe for people like me, who only uses Value 50 and not thinking of using more, then, it becomes expensive.

Let's say for 16G i-value 1, 24 months. RM1890. And additional of RM50 x 24 = RM1890+1200 = 3190.00. If I get from outside, probably I need to pay RM2600...
Hmmm.... How? Actually it is dilemma...
Well as you stated the additional cost of RM590 buys you two things:
1. Additional RM50 worth of services per month; i.e. 500MB of data. However there's one caveat here: your Value Plus 50 airtime costs RM0.12 per min, which translates to 416min of airtime.
I-value 1 only provides 333min. So you're effectively losing 83min. Also, your SMSes are charged separately, unlike now where it's part of your plan.
Mathematical note: to obtain those 83min again, you have to pay 15sen per min, or RM12.45 per month. That adds another RM298.8 to your cost. Thus total cost = RM590+RM298.8 = RM888.8
2. Maxis 12 month exchange warranty.

So the question to ask yourself is 'Is it worth it to pay RM888.8 over 24 months for 12GB of mobile data + maxis exchange warranty'?

Another consideration is that your upfront cost is lower, whereas your 'upkeep' cost is higher with i-value, whereas the reverse is true with Value Plus+black market phone.

zer0hour
post Mar 19 2009, 03:33 PM

Unlike Any Other
1,864 posts

QUOTE(yewjin @ Mar 19 2009, 03:23 PM)
then I will lose my phone every month.
This is exactly why maxis 'won't be that good'. They take a significant financial risk with these contracts.
And who do you think pays the risk premium for unscrupulous behavior like this? Us, the consumer.

This post has been edited by zer0hour: Mar 19 2009, 03:33 PM
zer0hour
post Mar 19 2009, 03:54 PM

Unlike Any Other
1,864 posts

QUOTE(raycol97 @ Mar 19 2009, 03:44 PM)
Hi zer,

There are a lots of people out there don't really bother about Airtime, as they won't really fully use the RM50 (calls + sms) everymonth.

For example, I was a Hotlink user, paying only RM30.00 to top up per month, and "wifing" during the original iphone era. (Cost per month: < RM30, as you can bought after the unuse balance)

Then, last year, I bought iphone 3g, sadly, I have to convert to Value Plus 50, pay RM50 + RM99 unlimited data plan + 5% tax + other billing charges somemore.  rclxub.gif  (Cost per month: ~RM161)

Only after MNP, I shift to Celcom's Exec 20, so cost reduced to RM20 + monthly usage + RM99 + tax + others (Cost per month: ~RM140)

So, for me, what is MOST important is UNLIMITED DATA PLAN!!!  thumbup.gif
Yep I know. There was an earlier post of mine I think where I said that ppl with these usage profiles weren't the target market for Maxis' Iphone launch at all.
My most recent post (the one you replied to) was a mathematical comparison for timothyy between i-value 1 and VP50.

Just so happens that the math also shows that people with low usage profiles shouldn't sign up with Maxis =p

This post has been edited by zer0hour: Mar 19 2009, 06:26 PM

0.0200sec    0.73    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 09:33 PM