what is gce-o

TSskydust91
post Mar 13 2009, 03:55 PM, updated 17y ago

19 posts

there is something written in my spm slip next to my grades.its GCE-O.what is it actually and why does it only state my grades for english 1119.i didn't remember i had taken any GCE-O english test.i got A1 for it btw and does it made any difference to the number of A's that i got...?

This post has been edited by skydust91: Mar 13 2009, 03:56 PM
feynman
post Mar 13 2009, 03:57 PM

4,781 posts

It's nothing and it doesn't count as an additional A.
limeuu
post Mar 13 2009, 04:02 PM

12,290 posts

1119 is you bi paper (essay) marked to gce-o-levels standard..........it's an attempt at international benchmarking of english standards........mostly ignored by unis, although some will accept a good grade in lieu of ielts/toefl.........
pinknotebook

291 posts

Did you know your english paper is marked twice? smile.gif your normal grade is marked locally. But for 1119 your paper is marked on an international standard.

Congratulations! Give yourself a pat on the back because your English is Internationally 'keng' biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by pinknotebook: Mar 13 2009, 04:03 PM
RainJR

342 posts

that's another grade given by british according o-level grading..

fearlessloser
post Mar 13 2009, 08:13 PM

gosh!! i gt c6 for gce-o!!
Faith+1
post Mar 13 2009, 08:27 PM

1,420 posts

QUOTE(RainJR @ Mar 13 2009, 04:02 PM)
that's another grade given by british according o-level grading..
And their grade always lower then the original grade one.
Visualize
post Mar 13 2009, 08:29 PM

557 posts

QUOTE(Faith+1 @ Mar 13 2009, 08:27 PM)
And their grade always lower then the original grade one.
Not true. Many still get A1's for both.
limeuu
post Mar 13 2009, 08:49 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(Visualize @ Mar 13 2009, 08:29 PM)
Not true. Many still get A1's for both.
obviously somebody who is getting a1 in 1119 will also get a1 in spm.........

but some a1's in spm will actually be a2 or b3 in 1119......

generally, for lower grades, expect to get 1-3 grades lower in 1119 compared to spm.......
Faith+1
post Mar 13 2009, 08:53 PM

1,420 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Mar 13 2009, 08:49 PM)

generally, for lower grades, expect to get 1-3 grades lower in 1119 compared to spm.......
Second that.

nod.gif
Visualize
post Mar 13 2009, 08:55 PM

557 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Mar 13 2009, 08:49 PM)

Yeah, I do realize that. Was just correcting the person above me indicating that one will always get lower grades for GCE-O than their SPM grade.
Faith+1
post Mar 13 2009, 09:02 PM

1,420 posts

QUOTE(Visualize @ Mar 13 2009, 08:55 PM)
Yeah, I do realize that. Was just correcting the person above me indicating that one will always get lower grades for GCE-O than their SPM grade.
Maybe my statement a little bit blur lah. laugh.gif
SUSStatorio
post Mar 13 2009, 09:27 PM

84 posts

QUOTE(Statorio @ Mar 12 2009, 10:04 PM)
99.9% are marked by local senior english teachers ...the britain examiners just observe and provide guidances  whistling.gif
yingyi6
post Mar 14 2009, 06:51 PM

103 posts

The use of GCE Olevels English is so that you won't need to take IELTS if you wanna go to UK to study.

As long as you have a B for GCEOlevels then can go to unis in UK.
Angel01
post Mar 14 2009, 07:36 PM

Stars @_@
1,487 posts

jajaj, got A1 for both @_@
Raymonddigimon
post Mar 12 2010, 11:16 AM

18 posts

Me too A+ for english and a1 for gceo..but dontknow whether it is marked in malaysia or singapore?
heike
post Mar 12 2010, 12:00 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(yingyi6 @ Mar 14 2009, 06:51 PM)
The use of GCE Olevels English is so that you won't need to take IELTS if you wanna go to UK to study.

As long as you have a B for GCEOlevels then can go to unis in UK.
Really? I got 1A for GCE but I registered for the IELTS course offered by my college. The exam fee isn't cheap..

Anyway, I think I'll still need it if I wanna further my studies at Australia or NZ.
kristenkimkim
post Mar 12 2010, 01:31 PM

75 posts

A+ A1 respectively haha.
but many also got this...nothing to be proud of...
chungdavi
post Mar 12 2010, 01:47 PM

Keep Calm and Keep Cubing
620 posts

QUOTE(skydust91 @ Mar 13 2009, 03:55 PM)
there is something written in my spm slip next to my grades.its GCE-O.what is it actually and why does it only state my grades for english 1119.i didn't remember i had taken any GCE-O english test.i got A1 for it btw and does it made any difference to the number of A's that i got...?
Hmm, if I'm not mistaken, GCE-O grade for your English subject is graded by Singaporean or something like that, which has higher marking standard.....so it's like you only did 1 paper, and it's marked by 2 different person......
So normally, GCE-O grade would be lower than your normal English grade....

And no, it doesn't change anything for your overall SPM results, you're still getting the same number of 'A's....
In fact, when I applied for degree course, they looked on my normal English grade, not the GCE-O grade.....
Hikari0307
post Mar 12 2010, 03:20 PM

平成の光
4,541 posts

QUOTE(heike @ Mar 12 2010, 12:00 PM)
Really? I got 1A for GCE but I registered for the IELTS course offered by my college. The exam fee isn't cheap..

Anyway, I think I'll still need it if I wanna further my studies at Australia or NZ.
Most unis in Australia also accept the GCE-O marks to replace IELTS =) Last time when I spammed applications to Aussie unis only Monash and UNSW did not accept the GCE-O levels ^^
HazardXZ
post Mar 13 2010, 05:00 AM

105 posts

I'm abit blurry here...what does English 1119 / GCE O-level does actually do here?

i got solid B(damn doh.gif ) but English 1119 / GCE O-level i got a 7D?! mad.gif

did i fail in english... icon_question.gif sad.gif

can i also continue my studies in uni cry.gif unsure.gif

This post has been edited by HazardXZ: Mar 13 2010, 05:25 AM

0.0214sec    0.27    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 07:18 PM