Apple iPhone vs. Nokia 5800

TeK_KeN
post Mar 13 2009, 04:37 PM

rcctl
1,540 posts

you post your curiosity at iphone section.

sure people here will say iphone is the best tongue.gif
rx330
post Mar 13 2009, 04:43 PM

11,811 posts

iphone has its flaws as well, it aint the best
Shock
post Mar 13 2009, 04:46 PM

518 posts

if you planing to get a long term phone and video call is not your concern like me, iphone is your choice. i have tried my fren 5800, yeah for a phone with all features that offered is a bargain but just the touch screen really suck, it not really multi touch, and not responsive.

alot apps can be found (3rd party) for iphone. such as SmS software and bluetooth. but OS3 coming out soon, expect something nicer.
Alternation
post Mar 13 2009, 04:55 PM

912 posts

5800 comes with warranty where else iphone is not warranted. Its officially coming in tru maxis end of this month though. But i believe the maxis iphone package wont be cheap at all.
rx330
post Mar 13 2009, 04:56 PM

11,811 posts

no need to belip or not, the pricing is aredi out
Ndrew
post Mar 13 2009, 05:04 PM

192 posts

iphone user interface is very good and very user friendly to me... after using it i feel that the ppl at Apple really have put in a lot of thought about the way ppl use their phones and made their UI to suit the daily usage of most ppl...

no messy menus, big and nice icons to touch, simple and effective interface... so far it's the best i've used, plus it's cool.....

on the other hand Nokia 5800 looks not bad, has a lot of features that iphone is lacking (better camera, video calling etc) but somehow the symbian interface is not so appealing to me.... i tested some symbian phones (older versions) and the interface looks sophisticated and very business like... but not so user friendly i would say...

so it's up to u which one to choose.. but 1K is a lot of money nowadays... spend wisely. hehehe
lencent
post Mar 13 2009, 05:08 PM

1,719 posts

but after 25 posts, besides the OS and the touch screen sensitivity, no one can counter the claims made by first post tongue.gif well, i think iphone has more games compare to 5800 and it is more fun to play wit accelerometer xD
kornelius
post Mar 13 2009, 05:10 PM

All Star Player
781 posts

ada wang ada iphone... tarak wang go for sumthing cheaper and tahan ur gatalness from iphone... story end...
g3n0c1d3
post Mar 13 2009, 05:43 PM

hai hai... kazuma dayo....
6,497 posts

QUOTE(Alternation @ Mar 13 2009, 04:55 PM)
5800 comes with warranty where else iphone is not warranted. Its officially coming in tru maxis end of this month though. But i believe the maxis iphone package wont be cheap at all.
the warranty comes from apple inc. where if u registered ur iphone.... i will give u warranty for a year..., but not locally... still u got warranty right?
icechiller555
post Mar 13 2009, 06:00 PM

iLife
715 posts

5800 user here. Well firstly to ts the location of your comparison is in the iphone section so it is going to be biased. However, there are many things going for the two.

1. 5800: cheap, and I mean really cheap for the features that it offers. The first touch screen to roll out from Nokia, so there are bugs. Resistive screen, because it can be used with a stylus. However no multiple touch screen. As far as 3rd party applications, there are so many symbian 3rd party apps and best of all is styletap, where i can use palm software on the nokia. I think styletap for iphone is still in the works. Build quality is not great but then there is the gps... true gps. Installed garmin and it works like a charm. So the 5800 is extreme bang for you buck. RM1400 for a touch phone + full functional garmin gps (which usually costs 1k as a standalone unit)

2. iphone: fashion statement. Most users who buy the iphone buy it to be "in" with the fashion and to be noticed. However there are a select few who are power users who can indeed use it to its true potential. One of the forumers mentioned that there are 3rd party software that allow one to do other functions like video recording etc. However in order to do so you have to jailbreak the phone. Thus, with the new maxis phones it will void the warranty. No need to void warranty to install applications in the 5800. However, the multi touch screen is really good and it still has the best os among the two. So if you have the extra money to burn, then go with the iphone.

If you want to be at the cutting edge of technology get the 5800.
If you want to be at the cutting edge of fashion get the iphone.

All this will change with the launch of the new iphone, rumoured to be out 2010. But it might be out this year too. Rumors of 64 - 128 gb coming out with a whole bunch of upgrades.

Just my two cents guys smile.gif and girls wink.gif
Playboy21
post Mar 13 2009, 06:10 PM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

I haven't tried the Nokia 5800, but after watching a couple of videos on it, i think i can safely say that it's touch screen is pretty poor if compared to the iPhone's touch screen. Also, the springboard of the iPhone looks way cooler and smoother than the Nokia 5800. Performance wise, i can say nothing as i have not tried the N 5800. tongue.gif
g3n0c1d3
post Mar 13 2009, 06:12 PM

hai hai... kazuma dayo....
6,497 posts

QUOTE(icechiller555 @ Mar 13 2009, 06:00 PM)
5800 user here.  Well firstly to ts the location of your comparison is in the iphone section so it is going to be biased.  However, there are many things going for the two. 

1. 5800: cheap, and I mean really cheap for the features that it offers.  The first touch screen to roll out from Nokia, so there are bugs.  Resistive screen, because it can be used with a stylus.  However no multiple touch screen.  As far as 3rd party applications, there are so many symbian 3rd party apps and best of all is styletap, where i can use palm software on the nokia.  I think styletap for iphone is still in the works.  Build quality is not great but then there is the gps... true gps.  Installed garmin and it works like a charm.  So the 5800 is extreme bang for you buck.  RM1400 for a touch phone + full functional garmin gps (which usually costs 1k as a standalone unit)

2. iphone: fashion statement.  Most users who buy the iphone buy it to be "in" with the fashion and to be noticed.  However there are a select few who are power users who can indeed use it to its true potential.  One of the forumers mentioned that there are 3rd party software that allow one to do other functions like video recording etc.  However in order to do so you have to jailbreak the phone.  Thus, with the new maxis phones it will void the warranty.  No need to void warranty to install applications in the 5800.  However, the multi touch screen is really good and it still has the best os among the two.  So if you have the extra money to burn, then go with the iphone.

If you want to be at the cutting edge of technology get the 5800.
If you want to be at the cutting edge of fashion get the iphone.

All this will change with the launch of the new iphone, rumoured to be out 2010.  But it might be out this year too.  Rumors of 64 - 128 gb coming out with a whole bunch of upgrades. 

Just my two cents guys smile.gif and girls wink.gif
that is maybe ur toughts... and yes.. it might be biased, but edge of fashion? nope sir... i have to decline that....
i use my iphone in my work, and we (i mean most of the iphone users) use iphone not to flash to people, we use it as any other phones.

nod.gif nod.gif nod.gif

stringfellow
post Mar 13 2009, 06:25 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

To the poster saying iPhones are for fashion, I use mine for work. Google "Foreflight". It is so much ingrained in my workflow that I cannot do work without it, at least not without having to go through the archaic process of referring to paper reports and waiting for the hourly weather and NOTAM reports.

So before you generalise, walk a mile in that shoe first. I'm more inclined to say that your 5800 is more on the fashion/social side than technology, seeing what it can do, and how it is advertised here.
frozzbyte
post Mar 13 2009, 07:09 PM

Feeling butthurt lately? Like I care
3,657 posts

I've use my iphone like I use my computer. In a short note, if i malas want to whip out my laptop, then i just whip out my iPhone.

I've tried the 5800 before at Nokia Pavilion and I kept trying to scroll with my finger. Old habit using the iPhone biggrin.gif.

One tag line that I thought after using 5800 ... the phone that lags behind. It's not very responsive, thats what you can expect from a symbian phone. I've used alot of other phone either symbian, WinMo or the ordianry type, but once you use iPhone , you'll notice how easy and mind blowing the the experience is, albeit for a few short comings (no device in this world is perfect).
AiRBooM
post Mar 13 2009, 07:43 PM

超低能,勁搞笑
1,562 posts

I've 1 year warranty from SingTel , as long as you keep the original receipt , of course you need to go down Singapore to claim it.

2. iphone: fashion statement.  Most users who buy the iphone buy it to be "in" with the fashion and to be noticed.  However there are a select few who are power users who can indeed use it to its true potential.  One of the forumers mentioned that there are 3rd party software that allow one to do other functions like video recording etc. However in order to do so you have to jailbreak the phone.  Thus, with the new maxis phones it will void the warranty.  No need to void warranty to install applications in the 5800.  However, the multi touch screen is really good and it still has the best os among the two.  So if you have the extra money to burn, then go with the iphone.

You can always restore back the iPhone to claim your warranty, Unless it's total spoiled... can't even switch it on... then who would know whether you jailbreak your iphone or not? smile.gif

btw , my iphone was bought from 1 of the forumer here with official singtel receipt.

This post has been edited by AiRBooM: Mar 13 2009, 07:45 PM
frequency
post Mar 13 2009, 08:01 PM

我要挑战十个!
2,567 posts

Ok jst my advice (Iphone user) used to have nokia phone since 3210 series...

if u re not a phone savvy person(make lots call,SMS lots, SMS during driving) go for nokia...

if u re a multimedia fav person (music,youtube), games, I can u tell Iphone is ur best choice provided your budget allows.

None can beat the iphone touch screen responsiveness....

The most important thng, go and touch them and feel them..smile.gif

LaskarCinta
post Mar 13 2009, 08:30 PM

?
1,651 posts

now it's officially available by maxis, although u cant get the device yet. but u can already book for it, and u dont have to wait until the end of this month to receive it.
haha...sounds like advert. but yeah, please get your facts right.
2. iphone: fashion statement.  Most users who buy the iphone buy it to be "in" with the fashion and to be noticed.
i dont see iPhone to be a fashion statement. in fact there are other phones with designer label (G.A., Prada, etc) that targeted that market more properly. but yeah, there r still people flashing around their iPhone and say "I got an iPhone" just to be seen. so it's nothing wrong with the phone, it's the person's.
However there are a select few who are power users who can indeed use it to its true potential.  One of the forumers mentioned that there are 3rd party software that allow one to do other functions like video recording etc.  However in order to do so you have to jailbreak the phone.  Thus, with the new maxis phones it will void the warranty.  No need to void warranty to install applications in the 5800.  However, the multi touch screen is really good and it still has the best os among the two.  So if you have the extra money to burn, then go with the iphone.
just restore the iPhone OS and u have your warranty back.
it's not like u have to burn anything.
All this will change with the launch of the new iphone, rumoured to be out 2010.  But it might be out this year too.  Rumors of 64 - 128 gb coming out with a whole bunch of upgrades.
hmm.gif hmm.gif hmm.gif hmm.gif hmm.gif hmm.gif hmm.gif hmm.gif hmm.gif hmm.gif

btw, if u have tried an iPhone for just minutes doesnt mean u already experienced everything on the iPhone.

oh another thing, it's seems to be unfair to have this posted on the iPhone thread. other than the obvious answer u will get, there will exist some people that always say "mommy this place is full of fanboys [bla bla bla]". so i dont see this question to be fit with the nature of this thread, other than most likely attracting flame.

just my2cents.

This post has been edited by LaskarCinta: Mar 13 2009, 08:55 PM
geo-milano
post Mar 13 2009, 09:30 PM

237 posts

actually many third party application can overcome the problem stated like MMS, cut and paste, video recording, sound recording , bluetooth and etc. Now iPhone users able to do that.
The article u read from , surely doesn't understand or research on iPhone.
Apple Iphone design will win all the market, trust me.
pelvin
post Mar 13 2009, 10:10 PM

521 posts

QUOTE(geo-milano @ Mar 13 2009, 09:30 PM)
actually many third party application can overcome the problem stated like MMS, cut and paste, video recording, sound recording , bluetooth and etc. Now iPhone users able to do that.
The article u read from , surely doesn't understand or research on iPhone.
Apple Iphone design will win all the market, trust me.
the way u say sounds like this video clip.. lol

This post has been edited by pelvin: Mar 13 2009, 10:12 PM
keeting89
post Mar 13 2009, 10:50 PM

=>S@f3 Tr@d3r W1th0ut S@f3 Tr@d3r T@g<=
1,390 posts

i'm having an iphone 2g..
my comments on my phone is.. it has cool interface.. and a lot of interesting game can be installed into it(like hero of spartan, alphat4 and so on) ...
the most important point is.. when u bring out nokia phone.. nobody will curious and ask about it.. but if u bring out an Iphone.. they will say.. "wahh!! Iphone ar"...XD

0.0180sec    0.44    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 03:51 PM