33 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Bottom

First review of the Proton Exora

topimerah
post Mar 18 2009, 02:20 AM

38 posts

This is my opinion and experience only

Proton must use the 1.6 CPS engine as a budget car for exora, because with 125bhp and 150Nm Torque just nice to move the car for long journey , but for traveling examples start from Kuala Lipis to Kota Bharu for overtake another car I think have some difficulties.

I have try between 1.6 Livina and 1.8 Livina feel the different to overtake at Kuala Lipis to Kota Bharu highway with 6 adult (average 80kg per person) and each people each bag. The 1.8 Livina feel confort to overtake but for 1.6 Livina need to work hard. From Gombak to Kuala Lipis not feel any big different.

My suggestion Proton need to remain the 1.6L CPS for budget MPV but for enhancement need to have either 1.6 CPS Turbo or 1.8 L engine, if 125bhp for horsepower is just nice (if more is better but must consider also fuel consumption) but to get comfortable at almost state highway the Exora need to get additional at least minimum 180Nm for torque to ensure weight to power ratio is suitable.

My 1st car kancil use 850 auto and then change to 660 Turbo auto L2s angine, a lot of different in term of power but fuel consumption thumbs up to Turbo engine. What I mean is small engine with suitable power, torque and good fuel consumption will give an advantage to the car.

mockv1per
post Mar 18 2009, 04:46 AM

ܝܘܚܢܢ ܒܝܬ ܐܦܪܝܡ
4,010 posts

watonk, the MOU with Mitsu should be involving waja replacement model with the new Lancer, all parts including the GEMA engine with only minor changes in body parts.

Exora will be equip with turbo charger maybe in late 2010 or early 2011, new facelift maybe...?
but i really hope that it will be powered by E01 engine family instead of campro cps turbo.
ridox_orimabu
post Mar 18 2009, 07:53 AM

Rightly Guided Leadership
1,872 posts

I think Exora pricing is ok. coz its an MPV. neo cps already cost like 60k. add more practicality and seats will cost more. so 70k++ is alrite for an MPV. even if its Proton.
hazremi
post Mar 18 2009, 08:57 AM

1million people saved this avatar bcoz she's too cute!
5,676 posts

when proton makes a MPV with 1.6 engine, ppl scream like hell

but when toyota makes avanza with 1.6 and even 1.3 engine,nobody said anything...

bias
SUSaaswan91
post Mar 18 2009, 09:00 AM

but the name was so uncool.
if i buy one,gonna cjange the name to
proton ikan basung(oolala..my favorite fish,laparla)

Added on March 18, 2009, 9:01 ambut the name was so uncool.
if i buy one,gonna cjange the name to
proton ikan basung(oolala..my favorite fish,laparla)

This post has been edited by aaswan91: Mar 18 2009, 09:01 AM
death_nite
post Mar 18 2009, 09:05 AM

Lossless Land...
2,366 posts

QUOTE(hazremi @ Mar 18 2009, 08:57 AM)

but when toyota makes avanza with 1.5 and even 1.3 engine,nobody said anything...

bias
fixed for ya.

the upcoming p2 mpv oso use 1.5 engine if notmistaken. sweat.gif
ridox_orimabu
post Mar 18 2009, 09:08 AM

Rightly Guided Leadership
1,872 posts

Toyota Rush also. altho its a non mpv..but still..that car..aihh...fail!
sphiroth
post Mar 18 2009, 09:14 AM

2,804 posts

Come on Proton, come out with a light pressure turbo for the MPV and make BOT for all Campro. I'm sure many will be happy (including me ofcoz brows.gif)

Added on March 18, 2009, 9:16 am

but when toyota makes avanza with 1.6 and even 1.3 engine,nobody said anything...

bias
Dont you know that by putting the T badge it add another 30% power and use less 50% fuel. whistling.gif laugh.gif

This post has been edited by sphiroth: Mar 18 2009, 09:16 AM
RCrex
post Mar 18 2009, 10:03 AM

The man who turn impossible to possible...
2,251 posts

who know maybe this mpv will success?

This post has been edited by RCrex: Mar 18 2009, 10:03 AM
xshiro
post Mar 18 2009, 10:26 AM

133 posts

QUOTE(mockv1per @ Mar 18 2009, 04:46 AM)
watonk, the MOU with Mitsu should be involving waja replacement model with the new Lancer, all parts including the GEMA engine with only minor changes in body parts.

Exora will be equip with turbo charger maybe in late 2010 or early 2011, new facelift maybe...?
but i really hope that it will be powered by E01 engine family instead of campro cps turbo.
2010 is just next year...so its not so long until we can see upgraded campro

This post has been edited by xshiro: Mar 18 2009, 10:34 AM
imperialrealcs
post Mar 18 2009, 10:50 AM

IMPERIAL DEATH STAR!
6,724 posts

75k with no isofix failure? explain 1xxK honda civic
hazremi
post Mar 18 2009, 12:12 PM

1million people saved this avatar bcoz she's too cute!
5,676 posts

QUOTE(sphiroth @ Mar 18 2009, 09:14 AM)
Come on Proton, come out with a light pressure turbo for the MPV and make BOT for all Campro. I'm sure many will be happy (including me ofcoz brows.gif)

Added on March 18, 2009, 9:16 am

Dont you know that by putting the T badge it add another 30% power and use less 50% fuel.  whistling.gif  laugh.gif
i just learn something new today. T or H badge will add another 30% power and use less 50% fuel
Dovienya
post Mar 18 2009, 12:18 PM

293 posts

Wrong!!

Just by removing the P-badge will add 30% power, use 50% less fuel and improve factory QC by 100%. tongue.gif

QUOTE(hazremi @ Mar 18 2009, 12:12 PM)
i just learn something new today. T or H badge will add another 30% power and use less 50% fuel
SUSaaswan91
post Mar 18 2009, 12:54 PM

put r3 or lotus add 5 hp only,
put t logo,plus 30 hp.
if after t got r and d,plus 40 hp more
sphiroth
post Mar 18 2009, 12:56 PM

2,804 posts

QUOTE(hazremi @ Mar 18 2009, 12:12 PM)
QUOTE(Dovienya @ Mar 18 2009, 12:18 PM)
Wrong!!

Just by removing the P-badge will add 30% power, use 50% less fuel and improve factory QC by 100%.  tongue.gif
That is brand power. Since Proton has bad reputation for scamming malaysian for so long, it will take time before the brand will be aceepted.
clawhammer
post Mar 18 2009, 01:59 PM

///M
8,788 posts

bias
Did you also take into account the weight of the Avanza compared to Exora? What's the power/weight ratio like, etc? smile.gif Are you saying the kerb weight of the car is never a concern?
sphiroth
post Mar 18 2009, 02:53 PM

2,804 posts

QUOTE(clawhammer @ Mar 18 2009, 01:59 PM)
Did you also take into account the weight of the Avanza compared to Exora? What's the power/weight ratio like, etc? smile.gif Are you saying the kerb weight of the car is never a concern?
I think power to weight ratio is also a part of the whole performance. Need to look at the torque curve. No point having a high power but thin powerband.

Anyway, you can look at the table here http://paultan.org/archives/2009/03/16/pro...ive/#more-13404 for comparison between several mpv.
clawhammer
post Mar 18 2009, 02:56 PM

///M
8,788 posts

Thanks sphiroth smile.gif I'm just highlighting the power to weight ratio part because certain people never thought of that. Obviously the Exora weights more compared to some of its rivals.
Kampung2005
post Mar 18 2009, 03:52 PM

Proudly Kampungite, will always be one.
3,028 posts

Source : http://www.btimes.com.my/Current_News/BTIM.../zorra/Article/

Proton Exora launch set for April 15
By Zuraimi Abdullah              Published: 2009/03/18

Proton Holdings Bhd's (5304) maiden multi-purpose vehicle (MPV), the Exora, is scheduled to be launched on April 15, some buyers who had test-driven the MPV disclosed.

A top convention centre in the heart of Kuala Lumpur will be the launch pad, they added.

They said the on-the-road price of the 1.6-litre Exora, excluding insurance, will be not more than RM77,000.

"Two versions are available, with the entry-level unit selling at about RM72,000," one of them said.

"If you add another RM4,000, you will get the high-line unit with extra features including leather seats and a navigational system with DVD-playing capability," he added.

Company officials, meanwhile, said orders for some 1,500 units of the 1.6-litre MPV were already secured since unofficial sales kicked off on February 21.

"The Exora is value for money. It is good-looking, spacious and cramped with attractive features," said Saaidan Lateh.

Saaidan, a father of four and drives a Proton Waja, was one of the first few members of the public to have taken the Exora for a short spin at the Proton test track last month.

They were selected among those who had made early orders for the MPV by placing a RM1,000 booking fee.

Saaidan said he was most impressed with the Exora's ample and comfortable seating space for seven people as well as its high-performing but quiet Campro CPS engine.

As a lady driver and a mother of several children, Noraseidah Mokhtar liked the Exora's safety features particularly the innovative door lock system.

"You can unlock the driver's door without unlocking any other door. This helps when you don't want any stranger to hop into the car via any of the passenger doors.

Noraseidah also liked the Exora's ability to continue to "brighten up", albeit for a brief moment, after the key is taken out.

"Even when the engine or lights have been switched off, the car can continue to light up for some time. This is enough to let me get inside my house at night before everything turns dark again," she explained.

Another buyer who was also impressed with the Exora's performance, design, features and price is T.K. How.

How, owner of a Puchong-based fabricating company, is buying a unit for his wife.

"I've been using and changing six Proton cars all these years. I don't find much problems with the cars.

"I originally wanted to buy a Proton Satria Neo CPS for my wife, who likes driving fast. But to curb her interest for her own good, I decided to get her an Exora," he said.

"She doesn't know that I'm buying her the car. If she doesn't like it, I may have to buy her the Neo CPS," How said.

biggie
post Mar 18 2009, 04:20 PM

1,291 posts

btw Avanza has ladder chassis and you be good at driving a boat after driving it for a month or two.

33 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0380sec    0.51    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 05:25 AM