8 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

iPhone OS 3.0(OUT NOW!) + iPhone 3GS(Late July?), Apple Store Italy sells 3G[S] UNLOCKED!

TSstringfellow
post Jun 18 2009, 12:38 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

I'm more worried about apps compatibility. The apps I use for work, none of them are updated to be compatible with 3.0.

EDIT: Wait a minute. Looking at the app requirements, it says "Requires iPhone OS 2.2.1 or later". I suppose it should work with 3.0, since it is "later".

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Jun 18 2009, 12:41 AM
TSstringfellow
post Jun 18 2009, 01:25 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Click "Check for Update" now on your iTunes. It is available there for download.
TSstringfellow
post Jun 18 2009, 01:32 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Direct link is showing 18 minutes for me. iTunes is clocking at 35 minutes and racing down. Which will arrive first? hmm.gif
TSstringfellow
post Jun 18 2009, 01:38 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

First thing I am going to do is pair my Aifontriji with my Sony stereo Bluetooth headphones and cry tears of joy when I hear sweet Diana Krall crooning in my ears in wireless BT stereo. Can't wait! rclxm9.gif
TSstringfellow
post Jun 18 2009, 01:42 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(akeys @ Jun 18 2009, 01:39 AM)
well, in my case, i'll pair it with my Jabra BT620s.. yeah..

btw, can i share the downloaded 3.0 for iPhone with my iPod Touch..??
Two different models. Plug in your iPod Touch and it will prompt a different download. Control-clicking will result in pop-up telling you it is not meant for the iPod Touch.

I'm keeping my iPod Touch at 2.2.1. Until I test-drive it on my iPhone and make sure all apps are running smoothly.

Added on June 18, 2009, 1:43 am
QUOTE(thaisxs @ Jun 18 2009, 01:42 AM)
stringfellow which model of sony bluetooth earphone u using now ?
This is OT, I'm using Sony DR-BT50.

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Jun 18 2009, 01:43 AM
TSstringfellow
post Jun 18 2009, 03:31 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Those who had problems with iTunes error, it has something to do with your carrier signal.

My experience:-

Update to 3.0 iPhone says plug into iTunes. But before I updated, forgot to turn off 3G(I'm using Celcom). 3G signal strength is crappy at my place, so it looped on and on forever trying to capture a decent signal. That is when connected to iTunes, it kept on spitting out Error -4. Frustrated, I went to the balcony, with my Macbook Air and iPhone in tow. Logged into iTunes, connect iPhone, decent 3G signal and voila! iPhone is activated! For the record, my iPhone 3G is from Auckland.

So, if your signal strength is crappy, turn off 3G first. The iPhone needs carrier signal validation when connected to iTunes to make sure that either your iPhone is officially unlocked, or if locked to a carrier, is identified with a proper carrier signal a.k.a strong reception of that carrier.

On my way to restoring from the 2.2.1, so it should be fine after this. Neekun, I noticed you had the same problem as I am, but I'm glad you got over it quickly.

So to those who have the inclination to update to 3.0 tonight or in the near future, make sure your signal coverage is strong. iTunes validates that signal, together with the nature of your iPhone (official unlock or if carrier-locked, a strong signal of that carrier) to activate your iPhone.

Yup, nearly heart attack just now with my iPhone, but BP dropped down to stable conditions now. Otherwise, that'll be the first case of high blood pressure due to iPhone refusing to activate on the eve of 3.0! laugh.gif
TSstringfellow
post Jun 18 2009, 07:20 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Those who managed to successfully send MMS messages on 3.0, and you're on Celcom Postpaid/3G, I'd appreciate it very much if I can get your settings for this. I've tried many variations/combos with no success.

TSstringfellow
post Jun 18 2009, 07:47 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

The camera icon will appear but it does not necessarily means MMS sending is guaranteed.
TSstringfellow
post Jun 18 2009, 07:52 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Glad it works for the Maxis and Digi folks. Celcom people, where are you?
TSstringfellow
post Jun 18 2009, 08:02 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

3.0 REQUIRES iTunes 8.2. When you are prompted download via iTunes that would have been in the requirement page.

Celcom's Tech Support is helpless when it comes to MMS settings on the iPhone. The best I've got is being passed to a female tech support who is holding her iPhone reading her SwirlyMMS settings to me. Sigh.....sad.gif

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Jun 18 2009, 08:05 AM
TSstringfellow
post Jun 18 2009, 08:21 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

FINALLY! MMS went through, although settings given by Celcom Tech support is not accurately spelt out verbatim.

I am going to bed. Have not slept yet since finished updating it this morning.
TSstringfellow
post Jun 18 2009, 03:23 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Good morning! Just woke up after sleeping at 6am just now.

1 - As I've said before, Stereo Bluetooth audio works like a dream! Using Sony DR-BT50, audio gets piped into the headphone, and fades away as phone call comes in. You just need to pair with the iPhone and off you go. Also, during the call or audio while still in Bluetooth Audio mode to your respective listening equipment, the opo-up option is available to repipe the audio between the different available equipments (if you have paired two or more headphones/BT speakers) or pipe it back to the iPhone speakers itself. Hell, it even works with my Sony Rolly! My Rolly now effectively has 16GB worth of songs, and it DANCES to these songs! AWESOME! rclxm9.gif

2 - MMS setting, I was wrestling with it this morning, until the very last minute. These are the settings that works on mine:-

APN: celcom3g
Username:
Password:
MMSC: http://mms.celcom.net.my
MMS Proxy: 10.128.1.242:8080
MMS Max Message Size:
MMS UA Prof URL:

Sent my ugly mug of a pic to myself, and got the message back shortly after, picture pinned and all, pops up just like how SMS does , even when the screen is locked. Awesome!

3 - Caller ID is fixed! I can finally remove the double entries I had for all my contacts! rclxms.gif

4 - All my other apps works beautifully, particularly the ones I use for work. Specifically, the Foreflight app,...but I need to redownload the AOPA airport diagrams and 3 others 20MB+ heavy bundles back into the iPhone after the restoration. No biggie, done in less than 10 minutes. I dont mind losing the games before they make it work for 3.0, but losing my work-related apps are a big no-no!

5 - The "Shake to Shuffle" feature takes getting used to. Not sure about others, but my "shake" requires subtle shake not the violent "shake a kitty to death" kinda shake. A mild flick and it does the Shuffle. Dont know if it is because I have the Mophie Juice Pack on that made it so, but I'm glad that I dont have to like I'm shaking a marimba in public to get the shuffle going! laugh.gif

TSstringfellow
post Jun 18 2009, 03:49 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Also remember to TURN OFF YOUR iPHONE AND RESTART your iPhone to make the MMs setting stick. This is the pain in the posterior that I had to endure when I was trying different variations of the settings given to me by Celcom Tech Support. Every time had to turn off and on again.

Just make sure you have the correct settings and you dont have to go through the cycle again.

Tethering, to me, is one of the enticing option that may tilt me over to Maxis, should the crafty iPhone community fail to provide alternative to do so on Celcom. C'mon Maxis, all you have to do now is release the damned pricelist and release date and I'm halfway into your fold already! mad.gif
TSstringfellow
post Jun 18 2009, 03:55 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(CooLeRthings @ Jun 18 2009, 03:49 PM)
nice one biggrin.gif

the only unsolved problem is the tethering.
Did you called celcom?
Do you think celcom will do something for us iphone user that using their telco?
I hassled them this early morning, and was passed around to 3 different person, until I get to the lady with SwirlyMMS in her iPhone. The setting she gave me, quite confidently, according to her , will work, but initially it didn't. I had to tinker a little more before the MMS was successfully sent. The moment I hear that "whoosh" sound of SMS being sent, but MMS here instead, I literally screamed "YES!" while doing this on my balcony. Orang gila ke apa! laugh.gif

I foresee options for non-supported carriers to be provided by the community itself, for example, someone "rajin" enough to tinker with the IPCC carrier file and modify it according to the carriers they need. I'm too bloody lazy to do that. I don't see Celcom getting off their comfortable arses to do anything that does not says as "supported" inside their list of supported devices for their MMS. Plus, it deters people from using their MMS service to the point of overcongestion.

EDIT: Looks like I'll be bringing my Sony Rolly together with my iPhone wherever I go from now on. Portable speakers on the go, and dances to boot! Looks like nightstops and cabin rests during long haul flights will be much livelier from now on, we'll just sneak into the galley area or the crew rest area and blast "Ace of Spades" and have our own mini-party while we're at it! laugh.gif rclxm9.gif

EDIT 2: Personal achievement for me. I never had a thread with views clambering up to 100,000 views and this much of a response. Thank you everyone. notworthy.gif blush.gif

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Jun 18 2009, 04:03 PM
TSstringfellow
post Jun 18 2009, 04:48 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Wasn't this like this a long time ago? I dont see this as a new feature, and with the advent of Spotlight, searching by album/artist is obsolete to me. The only reason why I wanna go to the iPod screen is if I want to play songs by Playlist now.
TSstringfellow
post Jun 18 2009, 05:21 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(krux @ Jun 18 2009, 05:01 PM)
Here you go for tethering on Celcom. Suprisingly easy to create. I used the settings from SG telcos on http://help.benm.at/help.php.

To get this on your phone, you either need to click the link using MobileSafari or email it to yourself and open it in Mail.app on the phone.

I tested this and can tether over USB and Bluetooth.

http://files.getdropbox.com/u/238893/my_celcom.mobileconfig
I can confirm that Krux's mobileconfig works on Celcom 3G USB Tethering, but not on Bluetooth at the moment. My MBA does the pair completely, but when it comes to the iPhone it refuses to connect. Currently researching on how to rectify this, possibly with the new Bluetooth firmware update via System Update that has just came up yesterday as well.
TSstringfellow
post Jun 18 2009, 05:27 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

DG bro, once these mobileconfigs files are confirmed to work, maybe you can add them into the FAQs you've created. Saves a lot of hassle later once the newbies starts pouring in with their questions.
TSstringfellow
post Jun 18 2009, 05:30 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(xaw5126 @ Jun 18 2009, 05:29 PM)
yes! the file from krux works!
stringfellow... go test?

i gonna try MMS now...
I've had MMS earlier. The tethering is the only thing I need to rectify. USB works, but Bluetooth doesn't.

Or was it you wanna try MMS with me? Hit me up with your cellphone detail in PM.
TSstringfellow
post Jun 18 2009, 05:36 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(wei @ Jun 18 2009, 05:29 PM)
Not sure where to ask this. Does Find my iPhones ever works?
As in I have more than 1 iPhones but only 1 MobileMe, can track multiple iPhones? Anyone tried??
MobileMe kept timing out on me, otherwise I'd be reporting in sooner with this. sad.gif
TSstringfellow
post Jun 18 2009, 05:57 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

I can now confirm that Krux setting works on Bluetooth tethering as well! I needed to update the Bluetooth firmware on my MBA and configure Internet sharing via Bluetooth on the Network Preferance pane. The full power of 3.0 is unleashed! rclxm9.gif

DG bro, MMS/USB Tethering/Bluetooth Tethering works on Celcom 3G Postpaid. If you need the details I'll be glad to furnish those settings.

Also, finally manages to use "Find My iPhone" via MobileMe. Approximate location is pretty accurate, and the message sent and displayed back to my iPhone when prompted from within MobileMe. Also played the alarm sound as well. Wei, berani try the Remote Wipe? tongue.gif

8 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0218sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 07:50 AM