8 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 >Bottom

iPhone OS 3.0(OUT NOW!) + iPhone 3GS(Late July?), Apple Store Italy sells 3G[S] UNLOCKED!

TSstringfellow
post Jun 19 2009, 11:09 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Okay, awesome news just came in.

I have a single slot for a 32GB iPhone 3G[S] from either Vodafone Italy or TIM. My understanding is that the Italian iPhones are fully unlocked officially because of their law (similar to Malaysian and Singaporean iPhones), and I have two very good friends there on an extended stay in Rome, Italy starting on the 29th this month. If anyone is interested on a chance to get the iPhone 3G[S] before Maxis even have the balls to finally decide their release date/price, this is it.

My contacts had prior experience buying iPhone 3G from Rome before, so they know the basics on getting the iPhone (unlock status, buying outright not contract plan) so I'm more than relieved that they are there on my behalf looking for the 3G[S].

Once the details on the Italian iPhone 3G[S] comes in and their unlock status is confirmed (I am already more than confirmed about this, but just for the peace of mind), I will proceed with this.

This ship is about to set sail, and there's only one seat left in this voyage. Your call.

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Jun 19 2009, 11:10 AM
TSstringfellow
post Jun 19 2009, 11:19 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jun 19 2009, 11:17 AM)
@stringfellow,
AhHh.. so you're more e. stable now? biggrin.gif
Even more unstable! I'm too happy I can't sleep now! laugh.gif But I never actually thanked you for listening to my grumblings and ramblings that day, thanks for the company, Tink. wub.gif
TSstringfellow
post Jun 19 2009, 11:26 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

*imagines Tink singing "Lalalalalala" loudly to ignore my comments*

*shouts "EU719, Tink!" laugh.gif
TSstringfellow
post Jun 19 2009, 11:55 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jun 19 2009, 11:31 AM)
**keeps $ aside for USA trip instead**

@stringfellow,
U go ahead and enjoy the iPhone 3G S ! smile.gif 

How're you doing on filling the visa form? tongue.gif

QUOTE(thaisxs @ Jun 19 2009, 11:32 AM)
stringfellow i want to get 1. would u mind to pm me ur contact?
PM me instead, I'll talk you through there.

I will respond later though, I need to get some sleep. happy.gif
TSstringfellow
post Jun 19 2009, 06:16 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Holy shit the thread is moving like a bullet train. I'm brushing my eyes to check whether I am really on the iPhone section or if the thread had been moved to Kopitiam. tongue.gif

QUOTE(xaw5126 @ Jun 19 2009, 02:48 PM)
eh String, I try later with your 3G [S] okay?
Sure can. Then later gimme good price for the 2.13Ghz MBA can aa?tongue.gif

DG bro, it is futile I know. Your efforts are always appreciated bro, never forget that. notworthy.gif

Slot is taken for the 3G[S]. I'm proceeding with the procuring prep, see which Voda/TIM store in Italy has it. That has to happen as we inch closer towards 29th.

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Jun 19 2009, 06:17 PM
TSstringfellow
post Jun 19 2009, 06:29 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

I've done my part on the working settings for Celcom 3G Postpaid MMS + Tethering on Mac OS X 10.5.7. Others who have your setting/setup differently, please submit your working settings to DG, so he can compile these into the pinned thread.
TSstringfellow
post Jun 19 2009, 09:04 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

It is at times like this that I am on full,raging-hardon jealous of the folks at Fifth Avenue NY Apple Store. Just once I'd like to feel how it is to be at one of these launches. sad.gif
TSstringfellow
post Jun 19 2009, 10:26 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Apple now selling unlocked iPhones in Italy.

Apple now selling unlocked iPhones in Italy

By Charles Starrett
Senior Editor, iLounge
Published: Friday, June 19, 2009
News Category: iPhone

Apple has begun direct sales of unlocked phones in Italy, the first time the handset has been offered outside of carrier stores in the country. SetteB.IT reports (Translated Link) that the change was just recently confirmed by employees at the Roma Apple Store, who had previously denied any plans to offer the handsets directly. Macity goes on to explain (Translated Link) that while the phones were offered unlocked through TIM and Vodafone previously, neither would sell the phone without forcing the customer to sign a contract. iPhones purchased through Apple, by comparison, are free to be used on any service. Pricing for the iPhone 3G S is €599 for 16GB models and €699 for 32GB units through Apple, and €619 and €719, respectively, through TIM and Vodafone; the iPhone 3G S goes on sale in Italy today.

DELICIOUS! Not just Voda or TIM, even Apple is getting on the whole thing! Plan goes full speed ahead! rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Jun 19 2009, 11:09 PM
TSstringfellow
post Jun 19 2009, 11:23 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(Buzza @ Jun 19 2009, 11:20 PM)
hope it will happen too at here.. Open sales at apple stores..  cool2.gif

I doubt that. Maxis would run amok if they lose their exclusivity.

TSstringfellow
post Jun 20 2009, 01:04 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Thanks Neekun. As the saying goes "Pics or GTFO" (not Pics OF GTFOlaugh.gif), here's the pictorial evidence:-

TSstringfellow
post Jun 20 2009, 01:27 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Smooth sailing here as well. the only hint of a lag is when swiping left to Spotlight. If I would compare the 3.0 firmware, the lag, when present, is less or equal to 2.2.1.
TSstringfellow
post Jun 20 2009, 01:50 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(nokia2003 @ Jun 20 2009, 01:39 AM)
you shouldn't patronise kopitiam so often... just look at the latest dispute at Main Site/Forum Feedback and Helpdesk. utterly disgusting i tell you...
I frequent that cesspool for personal comedic fill, so it probably is harmless. As for what's happening in that other section you mention, it just shows that even the tag berwarna-warni are asses, but with a "cover my track" clause in their appointment letter, of course. Sorta proven my point from all the previous encounters I've had with them. wink.gif
TSstringfellow
post Jun 20 2009, 02:00 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(Mike3300 @ Jun 20 2009, 01:52 AM)
When I use Shake To Shuffle, it only shuffles the songs inside an album and not the entire music collection. Is this how it works or a bug?
Depends on the last entry you got into when you picked that song in the iPod screen. For example, if I picked a song while I was browsing for that song in a playlist, it will shuffle that entire playlist. If I looked through it through the songs list (A to Z) it will shuffle your entire iPod song content. If I looked at it from inside an album, only that album will be shuffled.

QUOTE(jonest @ Jun 20 2009, 01:54 AM)
Finally it's here!!!! iPhone Dev-Team Releases PwnageTool 3.0 Jailbreak for Mac

Source: http://www.iclarified.com/entry/index.php?enid=4298
Please post this in the relevant thread.
TSstringfellow
post Jun 20 2009, 03:56 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

If you have apps that introduces Push Notification, make sure you get that at least once. That may be the reason why your battery drains faster. Your iPhone is struggling to push those notification for the first time to your relevant app, and couple that with low signal strength, that takes a toll on your battery endurance. I use AP News app to get my daily news for my place back in the States, and it has been a whole before the first notification arrives. Before that happens, I left the iPhone charging in area where the iPhone struggles to latch on to 3G network. The new firmware apparently have problems switching between GSM and 3G smoothly and when I checked back, the pop-up stating that the iPhone has problems connecting to my preferred network comes out. Only after I manually pick "My Celcom" network and toggle the 3G switch off then on again, that I get my first notification from AP News. After this, battery drain remains normal. Which is why I suspected the Push Notification being the culprit.

Also, until you get your first push notification, the "Push Notification" option will not be available on the Settings page.
TSstringfellow
post Jun 20 2009, 05:29 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(harmeet15 @ Jun 20 2009, 05:24 PM)
yup noticed tat.. i wud agree on tat with u...smile.gif
on a side note, thr was a video by cnet comparing da startup of palm pre, 3g and 3gs...
3gS 20sec
3g 40 sec

and brace urself...
palm 1min 30 i tink...smile.gif

but then on da same vid, browsing speed was much faster on palm...tongue.gif
That browsing speed on the CNET video is skewed towards Palm based on what WWAN network both devices are connected. Notice that the Pre is using Sprint's network, while the iPhone is using AT&T. That introduces the variable that does not put both devices on equal footing. If both devices are loggeed onto one singular Wifi access point, that would give a more credible comparison about the browser speed. We all know how crowded the AT&T wireless network is, compared to the relative loneliness of Sprint's. tongue.gif
TSstringfellow
post Jun 20 2009, 05:51 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

I would appreciate co-operation from everyone to only keep this thread posted on news regarding the OS 3.0 AND the iPhone 3G[S] only. After all, that is what the thread title is about. All jailbreaking and news related to jailbreaking, please proceed to that pinned thread on top of the iPhone forum. I don't want to have to ask DG to keep on cleaning this thread of these "excursions".

Also, since the telcos are closely tied to the procurement of the iPhone 3G[S}, news about them, their pricing plans, are also relevant to this thread. Anything else, please post them on the relevant threads. I dont want to posters to inadvertantly turning this thread into anything other than what it is intended.

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Jun 20 2009, 05:53 PM
TSstringfellow
post Jun 20 2009, 09:41 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

More Push Notifications just came in from AP News. Just like SMS popups. thumbup.gif
TSstringfellow
post Jun 20 2009, 09:49 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

LOL Tink has been advocating the same thing since yesterday. Go Tink! tongue.gif
TSstringfellow
post Jun 20 2009, 10:06 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

HK iPhones has always been officially unlocked version. What that page shows is what is left of the 3G model. HK will be launching at the same time as Malaysia.
TSstringfellow
post Jun 20 2009, 10:23 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Does TTR employs a sign-in account? If it does, then if you sign in into the same account into both your iPhone and iPod touch, the push notification for challenge will not work, because.....well, you are challenging yourself?

8 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 >Top

0.0246sec    0.58    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 05:17 AM