8 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 >Bottom

iPhone OS 3.0(OUT NOW!) + iPhone 3GS(Late July?), Apple Store Italy sells 3G[S] UNLOCKED!

TSstringfellow
post Jun 18 2009, 06:51 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

I may be blind all this while but here goes:-

On your iTunes screen, does the section under phone number, finally now lists your actual phone number? Before this it was either labeled "Unknown" or "Unavailable", but now it finally lists down my actual number!

If this is old, then I'll just slink into the darkness. tongue.gif
TSstringfellow
post Jun 18 2009, 06:57 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Probably enforced by the fact that Caller ID works finally for Malaysian cellphone numbers.

This update, frankly, BLEW all the previous update out of the water! Awesome job Apple! rclxms.gif
TSstringfellow
post Jun 18 2009, 07:57 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Xaw,

I find it odd that you are having problems with MMS. I assume you are using the same Celcom 3G service as I am, do out setting should be the same. I thunk my settings are the same as shinobi's. Make sure after all data entry is completed, you restart the iPhone. Otherwise the settings will not stick.

From what I understand, MMS piggybacks onto whichever data carrier assigned to your account. That is why the APN is still "celcom3g", it uses the 3G service as its mode of transport. The rest are just filling the right MMSC data(URL, and proxy).
TSstringfellow
post Jun 18 2009, 08:29 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Congrats Tink! Next up will be the Bluetooth tethering. No more wires, stick your iPhone in your pocket or in your case, a purse, and be done with. VoilĂ , Internet anywhere! rclxms.gif

The next excitement for be would be seeing push notification to work on Beejive. My next tear of joy, after listening to Krall crooning wirelessly to my ears on BT. biggrin.gif
TSstringfellow
post Jun 18 2009, 08:35 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Just tested another message on "Find My iPhone" feature on MobileMe while at Machines KLCC, saw thus guy walks in with his Maxis-working girlfriend, beaming with pride on his newly purchased iPhone 3G. I just don't have the heart to break it to him that he's buying a lapsed model at this late in the game.

Kesian........
TSstringfellow
post Jun 18 2009, 08:44 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Tink,

Click your System Update. There's a Bluetooth firmware update just posted by Apple amidst the 3.0 launch. I faced the same problem you have now: the MBA just refuses to connect with it even though paired correctly. I then clicked System Update which prompts the download and installation of the new BT firmware. But before that, I've removed the iPhone from the list of paired items on the MBA as well as the same setting within the iPhone itself. Applied the firmware update, re-paired the iPhone again, and also you need to set Internet sharing via Bluetooth from your Network Preference pane. Once that is done, voilĂ ! The mega-awesome blue tag showing Internet tethering lights up on the iPhone! rclxms.gif

I wonder if I can pair my Logitech diNovo Mini thumbboard to the iPhone as a mini Bluetooth keyboard now. hmm.gif
TSstringfellow
post Jun 18 2009, 08:49 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Lol Nokia and DavidMak, if that is the case, Maxis should be employing better looking seducers-cum-girlfriends, this is absolutely generic looking. tongue.gif

Go crazy with your BT devices guys! See what else you can pair with your iPhones! Already my Rolly and my Iphone are of best of friends. laugh.gif
TSstringfellow
post Jun 18 2009, 09:40 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Thread title. This is one of those times where I'd love to be proven wrong. In fact I welcome it.
TSstringfellow
post Jun 18 2009, 09:48 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Played the MMS-sending game between Neekun and myself. I now have a very nice tiger-stripe wallpaper(RAWR!) and Neekun has a sneak peek at Superman's weird brother, Bizarro. The MMS sending timeframe is very fast, I treat it like sending SMS already.

Who wants to test MMS sending, you're welcomed to use me. tongue.gif
TSstringfellow
post Jun 18 2009, 10:32 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jun 18 2009, 10:24 PM)
@TakanoKyohei,
stringfellow's on Celcom and neekun's on DiGi.

I'm on Maxis and I've no problems sending MMS.  As stringfellow has reported, sending of MMS is as quick as SMS biggrin.gif

Back to the mobileconfig & IPCC stuff - since my tethering is oredi working on the MBP, I think I shouldn't mess with the configs just to get Vista to work, rite?!
That is correct, saya wilayah Celcom. tongue.gif I dont think Vista would inadvertantly change the setting in your iPhone to mess with your previous OS X setting you've done. The iPhone has been pretty much a closed-platform all this while.

No joy on the Bluetooth keyboard. Not on the Mini, not on the diNovo Edge, not even on Apple's own Wireless keyboard. sad.gif

EDIT: Hey, cool picture, Tink, thanks! You got my response regarding your question on my replied MMS......please dont kill me.....laugh.gif

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Jun 18 2009, 10:33 PM
TSstringfellow
post Jun 19 2009, 12:02 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

3.0 Hidden Features - 96 found so far

Credit goes to bndoarn of the Macrumors forum for compiling all this. Some of the more significant features found:-

- There is no limit to the number of apps that can be installed (beside storage space). Once you reach the home screen limit, Apps installed after that are installed without an icon but can be accessed in Spotlight. You can also use this to hide any apple application (i.e. weather and stocks)
- In the Settings -> General -> Home Button you can now set the double click to the new search feature or the camera
- Notes now has data detectors. Links are clickable, phone numbers are callable, email address are emailable, and address are locatable (using Maps)
- When a phone call interrupts you, after the phone call you are taken back to the app you were in before you were interrupted
- You can now have 11 home screen pages instead of nine
- Now there is a different way to force quit apps. now you have to hold the sleep/wake button until the red slider appears, then you press and hold down the home button to quit the app

There are NO LIMIT to how many apps you can install! You just cant see them, but still able to access them via Spotlight. shocking.gif
TSstringfellow
post Jun 19 2009, 12:49 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Goddamn Yanks are getting them tomorrow while everyone else are stuck with their drools dripping on the floor. sad.gif

iPhone distribution center at AT&T HQ, folks. Phone-locking has never felt more idiotic and stupid for moments like this. mad.gif

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Jun 19 2009, 12:53 AM
TSstringfellow
post Jun 19 2009, 02:25 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

3.0? Check!

iPhone 3G[S]? This 27th. If all goes well, I will be getting mine before the end of this month from Vodafone Italy. EU719 32GB. Painful yes, but major consolation would be not tied to Maxis, plus officially unlocked.

God, I hope this works!
TSstringfellow
post Jun 19 2009, 02:49 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(rawn @ Jun 19 2009, 02:36 AM)
i may be the last loser on the planet to have just downloaded the OS3.0 like 5 mins ago.
As long as you get it bro. tongue.gif
TSstringfellow
post Jun 19 2009, 05:45 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

For those keeping tab on the iPhone 3G[S] scene, some good news. Remember this link? Before this it shows which country provides unlocked iPhones based on their carriers. Now, it has been updated to include columns on which carrier provides MMS and Internet Tethering as well. I would presume, since these two new columns marks as new updates, the state of "which carrier/country provides unlocked iPhones" are also updated as well, and the list is now updated to include the state of unlocks for the 3G[S] as well.

If that is the case, these following countries are the countries are currently still providing unlocked iPhones to their customers, and presumably the same state of unlocks for the upcoming 3G[S]:-

Countries with officially unlocked iPhone 3G, and therefore presumably, the iPhone 3G[S]

CODE
Belgium(Mobistar), Czech Republic(O2, T-Mobile, Vodafone), Greece(Vodafone, Cosmote), Italy(TIM, Vodafone), Luxembourg (Vox, LUXGSM), Russia(Megafon, MTS, Beeline), Turkey(Turkcell), Hong Kong(3), Macau(3), Malaysia(Maxis), New Zealand(Vodafone), Singapore(SingTel), Taiwan(Chunghwa Telecom), Thailand(Truecom), Saudi Arabia(Mobily), UAE(Etisalat), South Africa(Vodacom)

There are a list of countries whose carrier provides official unlocks for their iPhones even though the initial state of the iPhone is locked, but I wont bother posting those. The process of these unlocks REQUIRES the presence of these iPhones to be within the country which provides these unlocks, and such logistics and planning can throw a lot of the planning off. My targets are the iPhones from countries above because they are more than likely, because of their law, REQUIRES their iPhones to remain unlocked officially.

Among the countries listed above, here are their release dates:-

First Wave
CODE
Italy - June 19th

Second Wave
CODE
Belgium - June 26th

Third Wave
CODE
Czech Republic, Hong Kong, Luxembourg, Malaysia, New Zealand, Singapore, South Africa - July 2009

The rest are on the Fourth Wave which is in August 2009, and is deemed "too late" for me to consider getting from them. tongue.gif

My options: - Colleague going to Rome on June 27th (others I dont trust enough to do this tongue.gif). If this fails, then me as a backup considering crossing the Netherlands border to either Belgium or Italy myself to get one on my trip to Amsterdam on the 26th. If all fails, the wait will be excruciating and long, not to mention riddled with uncertainty as well, to wait for the countries from the Third Wave.

That is all I got going, and if others have any other extra info on how. where and when to get the 3G[S] from, and wants to pool resources and share info, I'm all ears. I've been scheming this since the keynote already, and knowing myself, I wont rest until the damned thing is in my hands.

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Jun 19 2009, 05:53 AM
TSstringfellow
post Jun 19 2009, 08:37 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

LOL, my "spy" just sent me a snapshot through his iPhone via MMS. Really like spy wun. laugh.gif

What's the content you ask?

Internal email about the appropriate responses when asked about the iPhone 3G[S] by the general public or media.

In short,.......FRAKKING DISAPPOINTING! This sound more like an act of denial rather than anything substantial. Except....for that last question. Dont tell me Maxis is still attempting to sell the old stocks of iPhone 3G 16GB model in addition to the 3G[S] and the 8GB model once the launch happens? All the more indicates that they have boatloads of those iPhone 3G units unsold, and my post about them selling off 10% of their quota rings truer every day. laugh.gif

If anyone wants the MMS pic, hit me with your number. I'll pass it to you.

My plan stays. I've never banked on any Malaysian company for reliability before, and that is not going to change with Maxis.

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Jun 19 2009, 08:37 AM
TSstringfellow
post Jun 19 2009, 08:45 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

A recent discovery I've made is this:-

If you have added a Microsoft Exchange email account to your iPhone, on iPhone OS 3.0, your Auto-Lock will lose the "Never" option. Maximum is "5 Minutes" only. Deleting that account off your email inbox inside the iPhone regains the "Never" setting. The Exchange mailbox is to sync between my MAS mailbox at work and the iPhone.
TSstringfellow
post Jun 19 2009, 08:51 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Which is why, like I said, I never banked or put much hope on these third-world mentality companies. If it so happens that I can get one from them, then good, but relying on them? I'll invest my money somewhere else, thank you very much.

Reliability AND accountability is something sorely lacking, a concept alien to these folks. Eh, .....that's your Malaysia Boleh thing I guess. *shrugs*
TSstringfellow
post Jun 19 2009, 09:20 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(davidmak @ Jun 19 2009, 09:08 AM)
Well most companies are very tight-lipped and outright deny everything thrown to them prior to a product launch. Could be NDA, could be other arrangements, or to preserve stealth. But yes, a lot of Malaysian companies are losers. But some choose to be a loser because there is no incentive for them to be more competent than the other average performer. From here, you know where am I going. There's the big head behind every thing.
LOL NDA? Stealth? The entire world already knows about the 3G[S], hell, Maxis was even portrayed as one of the carriers carrying the 3G[S] in the keynote! Who are they trying to lie to?

The very fact that this FAQSheet exists shows that THEY KNOW that WE KNOW about the existence of the 3G[S], INCLUDING its supposed release date. The only thing they are holding tight to their collective chests is the price. Like I said, the secret's out, the cat is out of the bag, better come clean rather than prolong the embarassment. The type that I've described last night (the beaming-with-joy-about-his-new-Maxis-iPhone-purchase-when-the-whole-world-knows-3G[S]-is-impending type) is far and few in between, and I'd like to think that all of us here are smart people. No point waving the veil infront of what is already blatantly obvious.

All I see of all these shenanigans and "no-comment" attitude from Maxis is their inability to lead and decide on a course of action, INCLUDING the pricetag. Price them too low, and watch the whinings of the past Maxis iPhone subscribers grow to a deafening roar, price them to high, watch the sale plateau and trickle to an unsustainable business standpoint. I think I've said this before, if I am Maxis, I'd say screw the current crop, cut your losses and start anew with the 3G[S]. You know that you're at a loss for your current allotment of your iPhone 3G, your time already ran out, and you're running on fumes from the excess potential customer base who are oblivious of the new iPhone model coming out next month. How much more can you sustain your business model like this? Grow some balls and take charge lah, Maxis! doh.gif

BE a leader, not a follower. The more you just follow the posterior of someone else, the more likely you are sipping off just the "tempias" and not the real reward.
TSstringfellow
post Jun 19 2009, 09:46 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Neekun,

Spyshot coming your way. *cue James Bond theme*

8 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 >Top

0.0463sec    0.78    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 08:49 PM